728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Refrigerator Water Filters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators

Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators

Renew the fresh taste of your water and ice with this GE Replacement SmartWater Filter for GE Refrigerators. Carbon block technology helps reduce waterborne contaminates for effective water filtration and brings great tasting water and ice to your appliance.
Overall rating:
4.51 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(98 reviews) 98
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product87 of 91reviews
Rating Breakdown 98 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(67)
4
(23)
3
(3)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product87 of 91reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Review 1 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
whoknows
from Little Rock
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product had been used

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Last time I replaced my filter, I bought two (to save me the time of trouble of going back to the store). However, when I recently opened the second one, it had obviously been used, the seal on the cartridge had been broken and the filter showed signs of mold. I think someone used it, then returned it! I've had this experience before - paid for a new tile saw and the surface of the table had numerous scratches. So I bought 3 of these filters online at a place HD won't let me mention for what I would have paid for 2 at HD. I think when people return things at HD, they just put them back on the shelf (without any examination).
+24points
26out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
VC125
from Raleigh, NC, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This washer and dryer has excellent features!

PostedJanuary 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are very happy with our new LG washer and dryer! The many features are so nice. We like how quiet the washer and dryer are! We also like the many load options and special features that are available. Not only do they look great and modern but they do an awesome job! I almost look forward to doing laundry!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-11points
0out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Tigerguy
from Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product, but quite pricey

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The light came on to replace our water filter on our GE refrigerator. I generally reset it twice, and then replace the filter on the 3rd time. All is good about the filter - no leak, great specs on what it removes, easy to install etc. but the price always astounds me. How can a piece of plastic filled with paper cost so much?
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: expensive
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
YonkersHomeOwner
from Yonkers, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Water tastes great but does not last too long.

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The water tastes great but this water filter does not last too long. Typically this water filter lasts about 3 to 4 months. It is a bit expensive at the current price for the amount of time that it lasts. Unfortunately, there aren't too many choices on the market that will remove as much contaminants as this filter does and make the water taste just as good as this filter. Therefore, you might have to go with this after all.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: Not Durable, too expensive
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Lily
from Hialeah, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works a good year!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy to install and is long lasting! Would definately recommend.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
PERRY
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Product appears OK. Purchase experience poor if it were not for store associate.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have it for about 2 months and seems to be OK so far.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
TacomArch
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Easy to install!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
These filters should last longer or be reusable to promote less trash and a better environment
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Anonymous

Been using for years, but why the constant price increases

PostedJune 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
First off, I've been using this filter for about 9 years. The water taste great and I use if from a glass of water, to cooking pasta, to my dogs water. For 2 adults + a dog, it lasts about 6 months. When I was single (plus dog), it probably lasted a year.
Here's an issue I have though...I don't know if it's GE or Home Depot, but when I originally started using this filter back in 2002, it only cost $30. It seems everytime I purchase a replacement, it goes up in price a dollar or 2. So 9 years later, it's gone from $30 to $45!
This isn't new technology GE recently rolled out and still needs to pay it's R&D bill. Why the constant increases? If it wasn't for my refrigerator requiring this, I would switch to a different brand.
I still like the product overall, and if it wasn't for the price increases, I would give 5 stars.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
umstbkdng
from NH
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Far too expensive

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I would avoid a refrigerator with an internal filter in the future. Put one on the line if it is needed. These things are far too expensive for what little they do!!
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
nabil

does a beautifull job but very expensive

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Filters water very good ...no taste for chlorine but very expensive
Pros: Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Stosh
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Product

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Genuine GE filter installed properly and functions well.
Pros: High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Richard
from Florida

Easy to replace

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my 3rd replacement filter for our refrigerator. It is easy to replace. Takes longer to fill it with water before installing, but that way I get water without any spurts. And it has lasted for a year each time, although they say to replace every 6 months. But at this price, I tend to hold off replacing it too soon. GE keeps raising the price, this time by 20% over what I paid last time. Wow!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Nikole
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female

It's a water filter

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The filter was easy to install and worked as expected.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Gtowngirl
from Georgetown, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have replaced my refrigerator filter 4-5 times,it's easy to do.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
smart water refrigerator filter is compact,easy to install,competitively priced and I can easily find it at Home Depot.my filter usually lasts about a year before I get the signal to change it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
lovecleanH2o
from Riverside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Genuine replacement filters do make a difference

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried to spend a little less by purchasing after market replacement filters, there is always a problem. I now stick with the genuine filters and have been very satisfied.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
ruby1014
from Lincolnshire, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

High quality and long lasting.

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This General Electric MWF refrigerator water filter provides great quality for the price and great tasting water on a consistent basis, on average for ten months!!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
RandyV
from Whittier, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

By now I've probably spent more on these filters than the fridge

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I'm pretty sure when I bought the fridge they said the filters would last six months. Hah! Now they're saying three months, which is a lot more realistic. And they were only $30 then. Unfortunately, we have horrible tasting tap water where I live, so I'm over a barrel. And yes, the filter does do a great job for about three months, then the water gets pretty funky again.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: expensive, not very durable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Larry
from Novi, MI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The product does what it's supposed to do!

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
The best feature of this product is it's ease of installation. The old filter just requires a turn to remove and the new filter just a turn to install. There is no water all over the inside of the refrigerator and the filter is easy to access. The water tastes great, so I assume the filter is doing it's job well. The only issue is the price. Seems very costly for a simple filter.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install
Cons: price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
shanmatt72
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great filter

PostedAugust 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My filter was needing to be changed, if i had planned better i would have bought on Ebay because the prove is much better, but hd had it in stock. Ordered online, but the checkout process was so slow i should have just walked in and grabbed it myself
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, High Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Genuine Replacement Water Filter for GE Refrigerators
Broke

Too expensive

PostedFebruary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Too expensive. Especially when you have to change it every 3-4 months. Would be fine for people with softer water.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>