728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wall Plate Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Switch Guards (2-Pack)

Switch Guards (2-Pack)

Amerelle wall plates do more than just cover electrical boxes. They are an easy and inexpensive way to add a decorative accent to any room in your home. The Amerelle Switch Guards (2-Pack) cover standard toggle switches to help prevent the accidental turning on or off of devices. The sturdy plastic construction provides strength and durability.
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
4.8 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product7 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
Review 1 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from NJ
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great Switch Guard!

PostedAugust 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It was easy to install, does what it should. Unfortunately, when my house was built instead of having electrical that is on all the time they installed light switch to turn it off and on. I stocked up on these and put them on those light switches so I do not accidentally turn them off.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Knoxville
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than tape!

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wish I had come across these years ago. They are really nice when you're selling a home and you don't want Realtors turning off outside lights that are on sensors.
Pros: Compact, Nice Design, Easy Installation
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Westminster, CO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

SImple but genius

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent if you want to avoid accidentally turning off a switch but you still need access to it! Simple, perfect for its mission and aesthetically pleasing.
Pros: Nice Design, Easy Installation
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from East Northport, NY, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Perfect

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I don't know who decided that a light switch should be connected to an outlet, but the one in my room is. This thing is wonderful, it stops people from accidentally turning my "light" off, but allows me to have access if needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, Great Sound Quality, Easy Installation
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Missouri - Lake of the Ozarks

Light Switch Guard

PostedDecember 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great idea and product! Now motion light switch, outlet switch, etc. is "protected" from accidentally being turned off. No more resetting the motion lights and/or clocks!
An inexpensive solution to an aggrevating problem!
Thanks, Home Depot! We appreciate you!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Rochester, NY, USA

still some issues

PostedOctober 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
So i bought this for my entertainment center which has a switch controlled outlet. worked just fine for a while. But in the hands of a exploring 2 year old, nothing is safe, and the fact that it is open on one side means that little fingers can turn off the switch when your watching TV or playing Xbox. it should really state in the descirption that it is open on one side as if i had known that i may not have purchased it.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Durham, NC

Just as described

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These switch guards were easy to install right over swith and plate. Opening on one side does make it possible to shut off. However, it can be seen, so you need to be sure to mount with the "solid" side where it will be seen by most so that the "open" side is hidden. Would have preferred the item to be completely enclosed, but I guess safety first!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Switch Guards (2-Pack)
from Richmond, VA

Switch Guard

PostedNovember 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Keeps someone from accidentally flipping switch. You have to think about it. Use it for where you have a clock plugged into a switch controlled wall outlet. You have to flip the switch lever from the side. Easy to install - just use the screws that are already in the wall plate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.