728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Mold & Mildew Removers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Mold Test Kit

Mold Test Kit

The kit can be used indoors or outdoors to check for airborne mold spores, AC/heating mold presence or surface mold sampling. Results are ready within 48 hours of testing.
Overall rating:
3.04 / 5
3
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 25
Open Ratings Snapshot
56%of customersrecommend this product14 of 25reviews
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(9)
4
(3)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(9)
Quality 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Value 
3.2 out of 5.0
3.2 out of 5
56%of customersrecommend this product14 of 25reviews
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Mold Test Kit
Review 1 for Mold Test Kit
from Woodstock, GA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked good

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I grew some great mold in two days! The wife didnt believe my nose :)
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mold Test Kit

it's been 2 month and i'm still waiting for result of my mold test

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
They cashed my check 3 weeks after I sent the mold sample in and I've never heard from them since. Save your 40$ and get a different brand!!!
+55points
55out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mold Test Kit
from las vegas nv
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

buyer beware

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this did the test and sent it off. Nowhere does it state to send a check or money they don't accept credit cards. I wasted about three weeks on theses people I filled out the info on the card put it inside with my mold sample. they could have at lest contacted and told me what going on. They did no such thing. They said it should have been sent back that did not happen. I'll never use this product or anything affiliated with them again.
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor customer service
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mold Test Kit
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!

PostedOctober 25, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just want to say that I am not usually a review writer but I've had such a nightmare with this company that I must let others know to NOT buy this product.
Not only is their customer service HORRIBLE but I have been waiting over a month for results! There is an additional fee of $40 to have your mold tested which I didn't mind at all, but I have called SEVERAL times and left messages and have had no results yet. Save your $ and get a different brand!
Cons: ineffective
+62points
65out of 68found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mold Test Kit

waste of money

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Product had poor materials and the lab analysis took several weeks and offered no customer support. Results were generic and I would not put any stock in trusting the results. dont waster your money
Cons: ineffective
+49points
50out of 51found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mold Test Kit
from florida

product works as described

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For a simple test for mold this product works great. Followed the directions and sent in to the lab. Got my results with detailed mold glossary in less than 2 weeks.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mold Test Kit
from Midlothian Va
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

not happy with purchase

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Mold test does show mold but mold is everywhere so it doesn't really specify how much mold is in your house, Had questions about test tried to call their 1-800 number on the box they would never answer or reply, Finally I emailed them and they finally called me back after 4 attempts.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mold Test Kit
from Kingman, AZ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

worked as it said

PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The kit was easy to use and gave clear results. The test kit only lets you know if there is any mold, you must pay an additional $40 to find out what type
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mold Test Kit
from california

it did what I wanted...showed me results

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I feel my health was declining do to a mildew /mold
I had mold in aprevious tenant building and the same symptoms ..and once you smell mildew,its in the air!
i had located 1 roof spot,and after I can now monitor
the issue. I placed the petri dish on my side bed table.
it takes 48-72 hrs... white fluffy spores grew.
go google,and its MILDEW, HA!! well ....now I can
go and clean it properly....listen those MOLD service
people can rip you off just easier then you think....so DO THIS FIRST. black,red,brown,or tons of mold is BAD.
I had 3 small spores. not bad.
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Packaging
+39points
47out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mold Test Kit

not worth the money

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the testing sampling material was not well packaged, results were not well explained
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mold Test Kit

Found Mold!

PostedApril 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this to see if there were mold problems in the house. Tons of different colors of mold covered the petri dish! Found the mold and cleaned it up and ran another test, which showed tons of improvement. You don't have to send the dish in to see results, only to identify the type(s) of mold.
+128points
172out of 216found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mold Test Kit
from Katy, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

appeared to work as stated! Got some kind of growth in the Petri dish, but what?

PostedJune 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to follow, but it provides absolutely no indication of the results in the packaging. MUST be sent to a lab for an additional $35 for an evaluation.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: absolutely no indication of results on packaging
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mold Test Kit
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Questionable

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Well they want you to send it off for another $40.00 and when you go to the website it's not there it makes you wonder if its a real lab or what I will be using different test kits from now on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mold Test Kit
from Ada, OK
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Company does not stand behind product

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 packages, 2 for home and 1 for office. The 2 for home only had 1 complete and the other was missing the bacterial growth medium. Contacted company and they said they would get back to me. That was 4 days ago. I would not use their product again. Definitely not worth the money. Found better deals online.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mold Test Kit

Easy, Prompt, & Expired!

PostedApril 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Order process was easy, delivery was very prompt, but the 6 products I received were all past their expiration dates! Even so, they seemed to work as advertised. Clear instructions made them simple to use.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mold Test Kit

Works as it said

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Put test kits in several areas and left for 96 hours and when I checked them , it showed the mold like we suspected.
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mold Test Kit
from louisiana
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Did prove Black Mold

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this mold kit because I have been sick since moving into this upstairs office space. Have been on massive doses of prednisone and getting shots for asthma. I did the open area test as directions stated. Black mold has shown as suspected! We are moving out ASAP!
Pros: Easy to Use
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mold Test Kit
from FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Understanding Results

PostedJune 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The results of this test are live mold spores. If there is any growth there are live mold spores in your home and you should contact a Certified Mold Specialist. The difference between outside and inside counts have no bearing on this type of sampling. If there is growth of any kind it is live mold. I learned this the hard way and it ended up costing me thousands in health cost and remediation from a mold remediation specialist. The test in and of itself is a test for live mold and should not replace professional testing.
+5points
18out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mold Test Kit
from Green Valley, AZ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works as advertized

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
great for the times when leaks happen. To make sure nothing is around to harm you.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mold Test Kit
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Fantastic product

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Followed the directions, sent to the lab and provided an email address. Had results emailed to me within a week. Worked as described!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>