728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Dehumidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier

Royal Sovereign has revolutionized dehumidifiers with a new 55-pint bucket-free design that maximizes convenience and performance. There are no heavy buckets of water to empty. No lifting. No mess. No spills. Homeowners can now truly "set it and forget it". The powerful pumping system can pump up to an amazing 10 vertical feet and condensation can be easily drained into a sink, drain, or even out a window. Conventional dehumidifiers require that buckets are emptied 2 or 3 times a day. Since consumers generally empty buckets once a day, dehumidification power is reduced by 50% to 65%. There are no buckets to empty with the new Royal Sovereign dehumidifiers, so consumers now get full dehumidification power.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Rating Breakdown 64 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(16)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(9)
81%of customersrecommend this product52 of 64reviews
Customer reviews for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
Review 1 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from New Jersey

GREAT Idea/GREAT Product

PostedAugust 29, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I saw this item and decided to give it a try. It has turned out to beat all expectations I have had. My basement was very damp and my old unit was off more than it was on because the tank filled up and I forgot to empty it.
I bought this dehumidifier and I am now pumping it out an 8' high window. I checked on it a few times because I couldn't believe it was working so good. It reduced the humidity from 76RH to 45RH and I have not touched it since I set it up.
I highly recommend this product to all people experiencing high humidity.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Colorado

Works great, bucketless a PLUS, lots of defrosting

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased two of these for use in a 1100 sq ft unfinished basement with dirt floors. I was getting a lot of moisture down there, and was attracted to this product since I wouldn't have to keep emptying both of them.
They're working pretty good, especially given the large area they are servicing. I wasn't sure what the recommended square footage was on these models, since the information doesn't appear in the product literature or on the manufacturer's website. Average humidity has dropped from 73% to around 50%. The pump function works well, although I don't have it pumping too high - only about 2 feet high into a drain.
The one complaint I have is with the amount of defrosting that is going on. The temperature is around 60 degrees down there, but these units still have to constantly defrost, which diminishes it's efficiency. I thought I'd give them a "resting period" every few hours, but the timer function only allows switching off after a certain time period and not switching back on again and cycling on a daily basis. So I was going to attach them to an external electrical timer, but once they turn off at the power source, they do not turn back on again... you have to manually turn them back on if the power source is lost. I'd give this product 5 stars if the timer function allowed you to give the unit a resting period and then turn back on, or if they turned back on once the power source is lost so I can use an external timer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Wakefield, MA

Good unit, great features, bad documentation

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered this with a bit of concern as the reviews here and elsewhere on the web were inconsistent. The dehumidifier itself is quite good and the volume of the unit can be controlled by the fan switch (3 speeds). The documentation is incomplete and wrong with a few important elements, and once these were figured out, I was very happy with the unit.
1) The unit is easier to setup than the documentation implies. Plug the hose in (the documentation is incorrect where the hose connector is; it is a black protrusion near the top of the cord wrap area. Put the small hose clamp (in the bag with the instructions) over the hose, connect to he connector, secure with the clamp, place the other end of the hose into a sink or other drain, and you are now ready to plug the power in and press the Power button on the unit.
2) There is no need to press the Pump button. It will manually turn on the pump, which is loud if it is dry (likely the real problem with other reviewers who read the directions and didn't realize the pump is automatically activated by a float switch as the documentation doesn't mention it!).
3) This unit has a side inlet for airflow and top outflow. This is different from most other units on the market which use a straight pass-thru (in through the back, out through the front). This makes this unit more useful close to a corner. Place the inlet (the side with the air filter) towards the center of the room, not a wall, as the humidistat is attached to the air grates.
4) This unit has an automatic restart and remembers its settings so it can restart unattended if there is a power outage.
5) It really is pretty conservative on energy. I hooked it up to a meter and it was consistently 440 watts/4.0 amps when running (startup was 4.5-4.6 amps). Fan speed makes very little difference in energy consumption while running, but the faster fan speed will have more air cross over the condenser and thus be more efficient overall.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Hopkinton, MA

Outstanding Company and product!

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an update to a review I posted a few months ago.
With such great reviews I bought one of these machines a few months ago. Two machines later I did not have any success and returned them both. I pretty much gave up on the idea of owning a bucketless and had frankly not bothered getting another dehumidifier.
Well apparently the consumers are not the only ones reading these reviews. Just recently Royal Sovereign contacted me regarding my experience and offered to make things right. I thought it was a joke at first. Such customer service is unheard of these days. To think the company would actually go to the trouble of reading the reviews and even reach out the consumer? Mind you, I did not contact their customer service, they actually contacted Home Depot so they could get the information and permission to reach out to me!
So I have had my new machine for 3 weeks and am happy to report it is working as other reviewers have found, excellent! No issues and I feel so much better knowing what a great company backs this machine. Thank you Royal Sovereign!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from westport ct

great piece of equipment

PostedMay 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We had an unfinished basement for years, recenlty renovated the house included finishing the basement. I always used bucket dehumidifiers with hoses attached in the unfinished basement. These seemed to do the job but always froze. When I finished the basement including its own HVAC system, the humidity level was still in the 60s and 70s. This piece of equipment with its own pump and hose worked a miracle. Over the course of a couple of days, it brought the humidity right down to the low 50s (with help of the AC). The space is probalby 1200 of finished with an additional 700 of crawl. Quite an accomplishment for a small and relatively inexpensive model (compared to the more industrial strenght and expensive like a santa fe).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Canton, GA

Very Satisfied

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After my dehumidifier stopped working it was time to look for a new unit. I was set to purchase an LG but with many unreliable reviews of the units I became unsure about the LG's. I told myself I would not buy a Frigidaire but after reading the reviews I was ready to buy a Frigidaire. I continued to look and then found the Royal Sovereign 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier and ordered it immediately since there is no bucket to empty and the positive reviews. The unit has been running for about a month now and just sucks the humidity right out of the air. I am amazed at how much water it collects. I especially love the built in pump for water extraction. The pump is a touch noisy but it beats having to get up and empty the system. I would recommend this unit to anyone else!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Barre, MA

LOVE It

PostedJune 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had MANY dehumidifiers and have never like one as much as this one. I have a family childcare in the basement of my home and this dehumidifier, within a day made the room so much more comfortable. It's a bit loud especially when the pump turns on but it's worth it. I LOVE IT!!! I've had it for a few weeks now and still find it worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Central Mass

Works great, some minor stuff needed

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
A definite buy if you want a dehumidifier and don't want to deal with buckets and don't have a floor drain.
The machine works well and maintains 55% RH in an 1100sqft finished basement. It wasn't all that bad before, but it's been very hot and humid lately and it has stayed right where I set it.
The pump comes on only when needed, automatically, the button is only for manual operation. The timer works as a delay start or stop only; it will not set it to come on for a set period of time then turn off. The fan has three settings - leave it on high to be most efficient.
The price is also very good as I priced out another unit at another store (didn't have a pump) and a seperate pump - it would have cost me $100-$150 more.
A couple of negatives to note:
High on the fan is loud, maybe like a Dewalt 18v drill.
No manual was received so I downloaded it, it still is missing some basic operational notes, but it can be figured out.
It adds heat to a room, the air coming out of the unit is warm. My 70deg basment is now at 75 I always thought these things cooled areas - hence the defrost mode (which I haven't seen yet).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from New Jersey

Bucketless Humidifier Royal Sov.

PostedMay 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am a single woman maintaining my own home. This is my third dehumidifier for my finished basement. I received it only 2 days after ordering. I actually read the directions first; then set it up. Due to the reviews I expected complicated directions but they weren't. It has been working beautifully so far; very efficient. The best part is not having to empty buckets and I can have it right on the floor. It pumps up into the laundry sink. If it continues to be as efficient as it has been I will be jumping for joy! The others I have had needed to be perched up on a cabinet in order to drain into the sink. This is, by far, the best dehumidifier I have purchased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Chapel Hill, NC

So far, so good

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I read the previous reviews, so I knew the quirks of setting up the product. Actually, there is a new sheet of instructions in the box, (unfortunately, along with the incorrect one), that provides the right information.
I put this in a crawl space, and it is really doing the job. I can hear when the pump kicks in, but that is a good thing. The power cord is way too short, and I had to violate the manufacturer's instructions not to use an extension cord.
Whether or not that is the cause, the unit did not reset and resume operation after a recent power spike, although some have written that theirs does.
If this guy holds up to extended usage, it will have been a very good investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Jacksonville, FL

Works great!

PostedApril 1, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for a large science lab that we were having condensation problems in. The moisture was so bad that we had a block of ice that had formed in the refrigerator that constantly dripped on the supplies. We have had this machine for 4 months. In that time the large block of ice has disappeared from inside the refrigerator, and we no longer have condensation issues. It has run constantly for the 4 months we have had it. It never gets too hot. Our lab is in Florida, where humidity is a problem, but this keeps this large lab at 45% humidity (which is where I set it at on the machine).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Annandale, VA

Works well, directions stink.

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
When my wife saw this product, she was sold on the bucketless tank. This is the big selling point.
The directions concerning set up of the machine are flat out wrong. (I wish I read the previous review.) The diagram is small and hard to see. There are also grammar errors.
The hose that comes with the machine does not fit in the lower hole as the directions indicate. There is a black nipple near the top of the unit that the tube fits on. After I figured that out, it works like a charm.
The tube itself is extremely long (a plus when a sink is not close). The power cord could be longer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Ellicott City, MD

Disappointing product

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Contrary to other reviewers who stated this product is whisper quiet, it stated out quite loud and only got worse over time. Compressor noise is minimal, but the airflow noise is quite harsh. It's barely tolerable on medium speed. But, when the pump runs it sounds like it's shaking itself apart. After 10 months of intermittent use, the pump quit working. I tried setting it on a table and ran a hose to a drain, but it leaked all over the table and floor. It is still under warranty, but the nearest repair depot is over an hour away. Overall quality is poor. I do not recommend this unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Boston

Dehumidifier

PostedApril 21, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I gave this product a 4 stasr becuase it looks good and it is a great idea. The problem is after I received this product shipped to my house I still can't use it because I have to go back to the store to buy the manual hose. I'm guessing that it costs more in electricity to use the pump and I can drain it into a pit but..I need to go buy the hose. Why don't they tell you this so you can buy it along with the machine? Or why can't they include it?
Shipped great and fast. Didn't have to go to the store and lug it home. Three weeks later I still don't know how it works. Been to busy dealing with the water from the ever rising water table. But I hope it works well. I'll end up going to the store anyway.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Springfield New Hampshire

Does a great job

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have not owned a dehumidifier before and selected this one because it is energy star rated and self draining/with pump. This is the only device I found that could pump 10 ft vertically. After only a few hours of operation I could feel the difference in our basement. It has operated non stop, worry free since we bought it about a month ago. My only concern is that a dehumidifier, energy star or not, is a major household energy consumer. I still intend to look into sealers and other means to help keep the moisture in my basement at an acceptable level.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Greenville, SC

Product redesigned

PostedOctober 29, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on other reviews, I had prepared myself to be confused by the manual and to connect the drain hose to the top of the unit instead of the bottom. However, it appears that the manufacturer must have listened to the warnings from other purchasers. They seem to have redesigned the unit - my unit came with the drain hose permanently attached, coming out of the bottom of the unit. Set-up involved plugging it into the power outlet, unwinding the drain hose to my sump drain, pushing the power button and selecting a humidity level. It has worked like a dream since the first moment, and my basement was noticeably more comfortable within a couple of hours. I do not use the timer feature; the unit goes on and off by itself to keep the humidity at the desired setting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Rockport,Massachusetts

55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had dehumidifiers for over 40 years and the constant need to empty them has rendered them ineffective ,when you run the machine for 12 hours and just start to get the room dry the bucket is full and the machine shuts down. This allows the humidity to build back up and you have wasted time, money and energy.
The bucket less system has solved this problem; I’ve bought two so far and will probably purchase more (different Properties).
The only problem is that the item is not stocked at the store –only available online.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Allentown, PA

Bucketless Dehumidifier - The best!!

PostedAugust 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have tried 3 dehumidifier (with bucket), but this bucketless one is by far the best dehumidifier I have ever had, not only because it's bucketless, but there's a setting that you can set to control humidity, and when it reaches your preference, it stops functioning until the humidity is out of your preference range, it restarts...all by itself. What a product!!
It also includes everything you need to set it up and start. The long hose is a plus! .
The only con is the poor direction & instruction in the manual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from West Haverstraw, New York

Review of Buckless dehumidifier

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We received the dehumidifier on time and it arrived undamaged. What was not included in the box was the required clamp to hook the hose to the machine. We located another clamp and were able to attach the hose. It is now running with no problems and the extruded water is watering my garden. I will see how long it lasts - I hope for some time. I had no trouble understanding the directions and setting the machine for full operation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 55 Pint Bucketless Dehumidifier
from Shapleigh, ME

PERFECT- at a great price!

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this for our finished basement. Within 1 hour of plugging it in, the humidity level went from 91 to 57. I couldn't believe it! The fact that it's bucketless is just the icing on the cake. With our situation, we'd be emptying the bucket every couple of hours.
The system runs fairly quiet, and has the timer so we can run it during the day,when we're out, and shut it off throughout the nght.
We love it! We highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>