728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control

The Hunter Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control works with a wide variety of ceiling fans (not included) and provides 3-speed fan operation to meet different air-movement needs and offers full-range light dimming for flexible control options. The control can be mounted on a wall with the wall switch access plate for manual operation.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(6)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(1)
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
Review 1 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
mlsmls
from SW Montana

Hunter Universal Fan Remote

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have purchased one online, liked it, and purchased another in the store. I also purchased a smaller one in the store. Two are used with Hampton Bay fans and the 3rd is used with a Hunter fan. All three are great. I especially like the ones with holders (I have remote overload and the holders help me keep track of the remotes). The one without a remote is on my bedside table. My installer thought they were easy to install.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
pdxHDFAN
from Portland, OR

Fair, but has issues

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just installed this remote (model # 27144). It installs easy like other reviewers have commented. but mine is functioning inconsistently.
First, remote works inconsistently. I have already reset it half dozen times by turning the power off.
Second, the light flickers. Don't know why. It happens inconsistently.
Third, light definitely makes noise with connection through Remote. I went up the ladder and disconnected the remote, the buzzing sound from light went away. Again this noise is inconsistent.
On the good side - It looks very nice.
It installs easy (except for the pain of going up the ladder. If it works first time, it is ok. But I am already hating the idea of going back up to replace it)
Overall, I can't recommend this product at this time.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
IDoneDidItMyself
from Albuquerque, NM

A Fine Remote Device

PostedAugust 18, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This device installed easily (I think -- I had an electrician install the ceiling fan, including the remote control) and works fine.
The four regions on the circular part of the remote operate the fan (three speeds plus "off"). The two buttons operate the light.
(You may need to call the manufacturer of your ceiling fan to be certain you are getting the correct remote control model.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
yumagary
from Yuma, Az

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these remotes to go with 2 Hunter ceiling fans. They are very easily installed especially if you install it at the same time you're installing the fan. One of the two remotes did not work but Home Depot customer service was excellent and are sending me a replacement right away.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
dvsweeper
from Leesburg VA

Great Convenience Item

PostedFebruary 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this in the bedroom, pefect for adjusting the fan in the middle of the night. This allowed us to set the thermostat higher, saving electricty and still being comfrotable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
Freddydoitall

great product and esy to use

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this product makes it very nice to add a ceiling fan anywhere even if you only have one light switch for the room....the remote has big easy to use buttons and puts you in total control.....i would recomend this product to anyone......
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
Joe39
from Wisconsin

Works Great Installs Easily

PostedJuly 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installation of this couldn't be easier. Hook up your standard wires, mount the box above the fan and you are up and running. I have used remotes in the past that have very poor range.....this remote works very well from all over the room and is very predictable (It works when you hit a button).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
LMJJ
from Dallas, TX

HUNTER UNIVERSAL REMOTE, MODEL 27144

PostedJune 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I PURCHASED TWO OF THESE CONTROL ON 29 MAY 2010. EXCELLENT FAN CONTROLS. LIGHTWEIGHT, EASY TO USE. I LIKE TO BE ABLE TO LEAVE IT ON THE WALL OR HOLD IT IN MY HAND; AND I REALLY LIKE THE SEPARATE LIGHT SWITCHES; THAT IS, THE FULL RANGE AND DIMMING SWITCHES.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
Bill
from florida

This is NOT a Universal remote!

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We ( myself and an electrician) could not successfully wire the remote reciever to my Hampton Bay Fan. I had to return the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Universal Ceiling Fan Remote Control
jb10

fantastic fan

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
installed on my back deck and it has been great. Very nice fan , keeps area much cooler...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.