728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan

Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan

This attractive Hampton Bay Altura 68 in. Ceiling Fan is an ideal option to circulate air in interior rooms up to 20 ft x 20 ft. The large spread of this fan's five hand-carved wooden blades is matched with a substantial motor. With a slightly contrasting medium walnut and walnut finish for the blades and oil-rubbed bronze accents, this fan will complement many interior decors.
Overall rating:
4.145 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(269 reviews) 269
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product209 of 257reviews
Rating Breakdown 269 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(168)
4
(46)
3
(11)
2
(14)
1
(30)
Appearance 
4.8 out of 5.0
4.8 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product209 of 257reviews
Customer reviews for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Vancouver WA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

It's flush mountable, and I have measurements!

PostedDecember 6, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm an electrician, and I've probably installed over a hundred ceiling fans in the last 15+ years.
I wanted a ceiling fan to circulate the air better when I have a fire in my fireplace. I know from experience building computers, that the larger the fan blades are, the more air a fan can move, with less speed and relative wind noise. This fan delivers that! It spins surprisingly slow, yet moves a lot of air. I think the negative reviewers are trying to judge this fan based on the speed of the moving air that they feel while standing under the fan. This fan won't produce high air speed, because it spins so slowly. This fan is great for air circulation inside a room. It's not good, if you want air speed to help evaporate sweat from your body on your deck.
Fact #1: The curve in the blades cause the fan to work better when it's blowing down, than when it blows up.
Fact #2: When flush mounted, this fan measures from Ceiling to-
A) Top of fan blades =5"
B) Bottom of fan blades =8 1/8"
C) Bottom of fan without light kit =11"
D) Bottom of Hunter light kit (sold here at HD) =18"
Flush mounting is a pain in the keester. Because flush mounting doesn't use a down rod, you can't hang it from the ball while you wire it, so you either need someone to hold the 40 lb fan while you connect wires, or you need to fashion a STRONG hook to hold it up.
I mounted mine on a 9' ceiling with a light kit, and there's still 7.5' of clearance underneath.
Pros: Unique, Looks Great, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design, flush mountable
Cons: screws cross-thread easily, difficult to flush mount
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
 
+41points
43out of 45found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from South East, Wisconsin
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good and works great

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this fan in the great room for close to a year. I'm going to purchase a second one for the master bedroom, a light kit too. The fan is big and it moves a lot of air. I run it mostly on low and medium. The remote control is awesome. I used a 40" extended downrod on mine.
A friend liked mine so I installed one on her living room ceiling. Again, looks and works great!
These fans just look good. Workmanship is excellent. I gave good for ease of installation because the fan is heavy. I really could have used a helper because of the weight. If you want a classy fan that really works then this may be for you.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Richmond, MO 64085, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This fan is an absolute DREAM

PostedSeptember 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have two of these gorgeous fans. Our first we bought a couple of years ago for our living room that has high ceilings. We live in an area that has very hot summers and this is a lifesaver on a humid day. Even on low this fan moves so much air, it's wonderful. We then bought a second one for our cabin and so glad we did. Sure, it is a bit pricey but you really do get more than your moneys worth.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from MN
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fabulous fan!!

PostedMarch 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased two fans for our 15 x 25 great room, and they fit perfectly in the space. The ceiling is 18' so I also bought the 48" down rod that was suggested. The scale of the large blades and down rod work well. I would not change a thing. The top of the fan is easily visible from our second floor, so I would recommend taking off the stickers that are attached to the top of the motor, before you hang them.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan

Really Good Looking & Good Air Flow

PostedApril 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have really high ceilings and this fan was the perfect size and look. The air flow is good, we only ever need the low setting, we bought the light kit as well and it looks great. The blades are very high quality and really beautiful. Having the remote is convenient too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Flagstaff, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality-looking fan, but watch out for the bar code number!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like the look of this fan, mainly due to the curved wood blades and that it matches my beam and wood ceiling. I finally bought and eventually installed it. But, the exact same stocked fan will have slightly different options, so watch out. The last 4 digits of the bar code will be either 6068 or 6168. The former has a receiver that is separate and must be installed between the rafters, or maybe the canopy bracket, if you are really good with tight electrical work. The second (6168) has an already-wired receiver in the bottom. It also has a provided 9V battery supplied for the remote. Other than the bar code digits, you can't tell the difference from the outside boxes--they are identical.
I needed the 6168 because I was installing the unit on a solid beam; there was no room for the receiver with my pancake electrical box on the solid beam.
Once I got the fan with correct bar code number, the install was very straightforward. I used a short down tube (6"). I don't know why reviewers state you need a helper. If you set up the fan and run the parts together prior to hanging the fan, you only need to plunk the down tube ball onto the canopy bracket and you can then do the wiring and light kit install (optional) at your leisure.
The lowest speed has no sound at all for my fan. The next two speeds have a slight hum.
The recommended light kit (SKU 568 978) is a bit odd. It comes with two CFL 14W bulbs. So, the kit cannot be used for different light levels, yet the fan instructions state the remote can do that. You do get the on and off control, which is fine for me. Light is a tad dim, though okay for a lower ceiling (mine is 9 feet).
There are no instructions (fan nor light kit) on how to get the fan to adapt to the kit. After some fiddling, I discovered that the very bottom has a cap that unscrews. It is well-put together--I thought for about 20 minutes that the cap was molded into the lower base.
The light kit, however, is low quality. The glass mounting hole was cut askew, so the mounting was initially very tilted. I simply bent the bottom mounting disk to compensate, but it was tricky. Oh, and I returned the kit for exchange as well--the first one I got had a broken CFL (!?) bulb and the other one would not turn on.
The recommended light kit is also ugly, in my opinion. There are some really nice kits out there that are not Hampton Bay that reviewers show here; I like the ones with dark brass trim around the top of the glass. I wish the reviewers would cite the models; someone let me know, if that is possible. I'm going to replace mine when I find a better looking one.
Summary: Very nice fan, easy to install, but bar code indicates a secret model (upgrade?) with no info, and a weird light kit is recommended for it.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: missing info on changes in model., poor recommended light kit in terms of style., poor recommended light kit in terms of quality.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Canton, MI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

AWESOME FAN!

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have 2 story. vaulted ceiling great room that was always difficult to keep cool in the summer. Air conditioning had to be set at 69 just to keep this room cool (afternoon sun in room). Looked at many ceiling fans that were large, no light kit included, that could use a long downrod AND install base at an angle. THIS WAS PERFECT. The slow speed is so you can see each blade, BUt, it is amazing the amount of air it moves....med/high speeds actually cause a chill. We have raised our air conditioner temp to 72! Research does show you can raise air conditioner temp IF you have air circulating via ceiling fan. Quiet (very slight hum if room is silent) and no vibration. I have always had ceiling fans in all my bedrooms, so I know a good one from a bad one. LOVE LOVE LOVE THIS FAN!
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from South Carolina, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Super Easy To Install

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our living room is quite big and has an eleven foot ceiling. We needed a fan that could handle the volume of air so we picked the Hampton Bay 68” to do the job. Assembly was probably one of the easiest I’ve ever done. All the parts were there and with the easy to read instructions it was a breeze to assemble. The entire installation took me under an hour. We especially like the remote control because you don’t have the unsightly chains hanging down in the middle of the room and best of all the remote has a directional reverse switch. I especially like this because now I don’t have to climb the 10’ ladder to reverse direction twice a year. Love it!!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from United States

changing fan blade direction

PostedApril 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
For the people who have problems changing the fan direction. The fan has to be running when you hit the change direction button on the remote for it to change.
This is strange since you turn off most fans to change direction. I thought mine didn't work at first either because I ran it in one direction then hit stop, then hit the change direction button and turned it back on, the fan ran in the same direction as before.
So then I turned the fan on low speed, and hit change direction and it did without any problems.
This fan is beautiful, and we love it on our vaulted ceiling, I don't hear any noise at all from it. I love this fan!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Florida, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect...great features...gentle breeze

PostedApril 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed in a 20 x 14' room with 12 foot ceilings and 18" downrod. Was initially concerned about the 68" size so ordered both the 68" and the 56" fans. Installed the 68" first and was so impressed with the fan quality, design and the gentle breeze on "low" setting, that I kept that one setup in the great room and installed the 56" in the den. Quality of both is excellent, all natural wood blades are a nice decorator touch. Wireless remote worked perfect. A couple of pointers: 1. follow the directions for placement from THE CEILING...this distance is critical in obtaining the correct airflow...if its too close to the ceiling airflow will be reduced dramatically...in my case the bottom of the fan blades is 8 1/2' from the floor, 2. be sure to connect the bottom snap-together electrical connector in the lower switch box...if you do not the remote will not work.
+15points
16out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Orange, CA.

Beautiful Fan- Plenty of air movement as long as you don't flush mount

PostedApril 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have an 8 1/2 foot ceiling so I thought I would try to flush mount this fan. The directions that come with the fan don't even discuss how to do this, but the fan is equipped with the proper hardware to do so if you choose. The installation was fairly simple and the fan looked great. As soon as I turned it on, however, I knew I made a mistake. The top of the fan blades are only 6 inches from the ceiling when flush mounted and this negatively effects any air movement. Even on high you could barely feel the wind. I then decided to use the provided 18 inch down rod and modified it by cutting it down to 6 inches and drilled the required new hole for the mounting pin.... What a difference the extra 6 inches made. Now even on low the breeze you feel is just perfect on a warm day. I doubt we will ever need to use the hight speed, but it is nice to know it is there if required. Any of the reviewers who say there is no air movement must have installed this fan incorrectly. Motor noise is barely audible on high, and the remote works great. I did not install a light kit as there was no need.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Chehalis, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the fan(s) Had trouble getting the long downrods

PostedDecember 15, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These fans are gorgeous, now that I finally got them installed 16 feet up in our great room. Two of them turning majestically, low speed, in opposite directions make a perfect circulation of the warm air from our wood heater, which is heating the whole house. I needed 72" downrods for these fans and was dismayed to find out I couldn't get them from my local Home Depot store. They carry only up to 48" downrods. I had to search quite a bit to find that Hunter Fan company online, who also supply fans to Home Depot under the Hampton Bay name, had the right downrods in the right color. Once I got everything together and got them installed, they are great.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Aptos, CA 95003, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love it! Blows warm air from upstairs to downstairs and makes the whole house warm!!!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Orange, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motor Overheats on High Speed

PostedAugust 17, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this fan in April and wrote a five star review of its performance. Now four months later I am having seconds thoughts. I started hearing a clicking and grinding sound coming from the fan so I checked to see if any of the screws or hardware needed to be tightened on the unit. When I touched the motor casing I was surprised to find it extremely hot near the top of the fan motor. Not just warm mind you, but so hot I immediately shut it down because I was afraid it could become a safety issue. The fan only made this noise on high speed, so I now believe that the motor was being overloaded trying to turn the large fan blades at the highest speed. Home Depot was very accommodating and couldn't have been nicer at letting me bring in my fan motor and swapping it for a new one from an unopened box on the sales floor. Time will tell if the new motor experiences the same overload issues on extended high speed operation.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Bear Valley Springs, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love these fans. Have two in our great room. They are going to save having to put in central air-conditioning. Beautiful!

PostedMay 15, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have one set on pushing air down and one on pulling air up. Makes our great room so comfortable. Thought maybe they were too big (bought two 68" fans) but they work beautifully on low and high. Would buy them again. The wood is magnificent too.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Gilford, New Hampshire

The best ceiling fan we have found

PostedMay 3, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There are only two things wrong with this fan: It doesn't spin fast enough to create a visual disc, and the blade tips aren't painted yellow. ...But you won't care about those if you're not a vintage-aircraft geek. :)
This is a very well made fan, with properly curved aerodynamic blades that move a lot of air virtually silently. There's no yanking on chain switches and counting how many times you pulled the chain; the included remote lets you switch directly to high, medium, low, off or reverse with a single button press, as it should be.
The fan installs easily if you're competent with basic hand tools and electrical wiring, although the step of lifting the motor assembly and downrod into the hanger mount can be quite an effort if you need to do it one-handed. You will need to run a three-core power cable (two cores plus ground) to supply power to it; 16-3 insulated wire is sufficient. I suggest you do not try to screw its hanging bracket directly to the junction box like most fans; this fan weighs almost 50 pounds fully assembled, and that's too much weight to be safe on junction-box screws.
One thing to note is that there are two additional wires in the lower switch housing, one white and one blue with quick-attach connectors; the install instructions do not at any point mention these two wires or what to do (or not do) with them. DO NOT TRY TO CONNECT THEM TOGETHER. They are for an accessory light fitting, and they should not be connected to anything if you are not installing a light fitting onto the fan.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design, silent operation
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Hillsborough, NC 27278, USA

Great fan, Silent! Moves lots of air!

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the unique look of this fan and it does it's job even better! I have this fan in a vaulted great room. On the low setting it moves enough air to keep things cool, but you hardly notice the draft and it doesn't make a sound! It's all remote controlled including reverse, which is nice, no climbing ladders any more. The included "downrod" was too short for the vaulted ceiling, so had to buy a longer one. You can buy a light kit separately, but for this fan the kit looked ugly and I didn't need it for for this room.
+8points
9out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Washougal, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Defective remote & what they don't tell you about longer down rod

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is the second identical fan I have installed in the last month. The first one went in like a breeze and works great. The second one not so much. Because of my high ceiling I needed to get a longer down rod. You would think this is an easy thing but it is not. Home Depot stocks only Hunter down rod that do not fit without modification. It took me an extra trip to the store to figure this out. If you want a longer down rod you have two options. 1.) Call Hampton Bay (not HD) and order one. 2.) Modify the Hunter one HD stocks. You can do this by buying a new ball assembly and put it on the unthreaded end of the down rod. The ball will fit into the mounting plate provided. The threaded end will fit into the fan motor assembly using the pin provided.
The second fan had a defective remote control receiver. The factory knew exactly what was wrong and did not argue about sending out a new receiver. Note that even though the remote says dimmable it will NOT dim the new cfl bulbs in the light kit. The two 14 watt bulbs that came in the light kit are very dim. Against factory recomendations I installed 23 watt cfl's (100 watt old school) and they work fine.
I know this sounds very negative but I would still recomend using this product. It looks great and works great once you get past the obsticals.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Pennsylvania, USA

Best Fan Ever Made

PostedMay 28, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We have two of these in our home - one in the living room and one in our bedroom. Really old house, no a/c, very little insulation, 9-11' ceilings. Rooms get very hot and humid in summer! This fan is phenomenal. Whisper quiet, excellent circulation even on low setting. Optional light kit looks great and has a dimmer. Love the remote control. Curved wooden fan blades look classy and keep things breezy and cool - no need for window a/c units or any other fan. We LOVE this fan!! Installation was a little tricky, but no major issues.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Altura 68 in. Indoor Oil Rubbed Bronze Ceiling Fan
from Poway, CA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good, but know what you're getting......

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I had my eye on this fan for MONTHS and finally pulled the trigger. I wasn't disappointed. This fan looks phenomenal and works exactly as I was hoping. This is NOT a fast-moving fan. Instead, it uses the huge surface area and curvature of the blades to create air circulation throughout the main areas of our house. So, if you're looking for a fan that spins at high RPM and feels like it's hitting you directly with a breeze, look elsewhere. If you're looking for one that moves a LOT of air at low speeds over a wide area, this is your guy.
While there are a few extra parts, I didn't find installation of this unit to be significantly more difficult than any other fan I've installed (which is quite a few). The fit and finish of all the pieces is very well engineered, and there were no surprises. I was a bit disappointed that the dimensions given on the outside of the box for the height seemed quite off and didn't seem to match what was found in the owner's manual (which also didn't match the description on Home Depot's website). I couldn't rely on these dimensions to determine the appropriate downrod length and instead had to mock-install the fan first. It was probably for the better anyway, but it's a hassle that wouldn't be necessary if the dimensions in the literature were accurate and consistent.
Function of the fan is good, although I wasn't thrilled with the idea of using a remote since I would either always lose it or have to mount it to the wall. Instead, I opted for a universal remote kit made by Hampton Bay that mounts in the wall like a normal switch. The downside to this is the remote does not have the 'Reverse' function on it, but I still have the original remote that came with the fan should I ever need to use that feature (and yes, both will work if you toggle the programming DIP switches in both remotes the same way).
Some reviews of this fan (especially in other sizes and finishes) make note of a noticeable hum in any speed faster than low. I'd agree that it is somewhat noticeable and would therefore make this fan a bad idea in any room where you want absolute silence (like the bedroom). But for a busy family room or dining room like ours, it's hardly the first noise you would notice and definitely not a large nuisance.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>