728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

The Hampton Bay Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan has reversible black or rosewood blades, a brushed nickel finish and a frosted opal glass light kit that provides an eye-catching accent to your home decor. The Midili offers a contemporary yet compact flywheel design and has a remote control that allows you to choose between 3 speeds and control the light kit. Uses one 14-Watt (60-Watt equivalent) medium-base CFL bulb (included).
Overall rating:
4.045 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(265 reviews) 265
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product196 of 242reviews
Rating Breakdown 265 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(132)
4
(67)
3
(32)
2
(14)
1
(20)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
81%of customersrecommend this product196 of 242reviews
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Love My Midili fan

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Because my kitchen is very beachy, we painted the paddles white.. The light isn't very bright, but I have so many other lights in the kitchen, it doesn't matter... My cabinets, handles, lights, wood trim for the tray ceiling, pendants as well as the fan all come from HOME DEPOT... I love my kitchen!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Miami, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Our first ceiling fan install

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This was our first ceiling fan install. Instructions were really bad so we just used common sense. It wasn't that difficult at the end of the day. The only complaint we do have is that the light bowl is too dense and barely any light comes out of it. Also, two lights could fit perfectly well in there, not sure why they went with one. The light is not diffused evenly in the room because of this. Now I'm hoping to find a replacement bowl that is a bit more clear or less thick. If anyone finds something please let me know!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, remote
Cons: not very bright, instructions are poorly written
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Instructions are Wrong !!! I'm glad I read the Reviews when I got stuck!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Unbelievable! You might think Hampton Bay would update their instruction manual. No need to rewrite the manual - just print an addendum. No Way!
The receiver unit does NOT fit in the ceiling tray. You must place it in the ceiling and extend the wires.
The box said it was able to work as a ceiling light. - without the down rod. Wrong! You must use the down rod.
One minor complaint - no 9 volt battery. It was not mentioned on the "not included" section on the box.
Aside from that, nice fan so far.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Great fan, poor instructions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First off, this fan is great. I searched and searched and finally settled on this. I knew I wanted something modern and with remote, So this fan is great, but Hampton Bay, PLEASE FIX YOUR INSTRUCTIONS!!! The bottom part with the blades and light kit are a breeze! Do those first. The main issue is with the remote receiver and the wiring. After some mass frustration I learned to #1 run your lead ceiling wires BEHIND the ceiling bracket, opposite of open end where ball sits. This allows you to connect those wires and tuck to the side vs the middle. Then run the wires from the fan thru the ball and out the back of the bracket, allowing you to connect this on the other side. This is key because the remote receiver MUST SLIDE IN ABOVE THE BALL! And you have to push it in snug. It will not work if any wires are above it. If you follow these steps I guarantee ease of install. Hampton Bay failed to give these instructions. So again, give room for the receiver to slide in after you sit the ball in the bracket. Then wire up, tuck to side, and slide cover over.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great fan

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The fan was trequired some adaptations to install, but it was fairly easy. We wanted one with a remote wireless, controller. The receiver is big and will not fit in the fan's cradle. I removed the metal pancake mounting box because it was too small. I rewired the receiver and stuck it above the sheetrock out of sight. The builder had already installed wooden studs and this helped tremendously.
Pros: Well Made, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: oversized receiver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quiet fan

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I added this chic little fan to my bathroom during a re-model. I'm in love! it dries up the water in the room quickly and saves me from total make-up meltdown during the humid summer months. Casts a beautiful light as well. The fan speeds are only operated by remote which I found a little odd at first but I've come to like the aesthetic of no chain pulls hanging from the fan. Quality seems very good so far and love that it's quiet. Overall an excellent buy!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best small room fan ever!!!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect fan, quiet and the remote is so convenient.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Very dim and changed design since 2007

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this fan in 2007 for our master and loved it. We purchased the same fan in 2012 only to find that the design has changed. You can not flush mount this fan. The lighting is one 60w bulb which is not dimmable like it was in 2007. But even if it was, it doesn't get bright enough to make dimming worth it! The single bulb produces a hot spot on the glass bowl and shines light in one direction only. It might be okay for a room with lots of natural light, but not one where you plan to work in at night!
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dim light, doesnt flush mount
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from New York, NY

Great fan, a little tricky to install

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan is great, and I'd love to give it 5 stars—I really would! It's a great size, moves a perfect amount of air, it's quiet and not wobbly, it looks good...
...and unfortunately it's a little tricky to install. Everything was going great, and this fan was way easier to put in than the only other fan I'd ever put in before. The problem is that it doesn't say in the directions how the heck you're supposed to fit the remote receiver into the fan base at the ceiling. After maybe 45 minutes of sitting around frustrated, staring at the receiver, I noticed that the thickest piece had a semi circle cutout in the inside edge and finally it got to me that the receiver fit in the small space above the downrod, nestled tightly between the top of the rod and the ceiling mounting electrical bracket thingy. I really wish they could have put that in the directions someplace.
Other than the annoyance of installation, this is a great fan. Great airflow, great looks, great size.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from FT Lauderdale, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

A fan we purchased on line

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Overall, everything was pretty good. We are always very happy with HD..
Pros: Well Made, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Dallas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted just under a year

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Between two people this fan went up in short time. Looks great, however it did not complete a year before the receiver malfunctioned. I will probably replace it and hope that the receiver was a dud, however a google search shows it's happened to others. Replacement part is $25 on ebay.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: lasting quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet fan for small rooms.

PostedJune 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this fan for a 10' x 12' kid's bedroom. The size and amount of airflow are perfect. Lighting is adequate and what I would expect of a fan this size. The wiring is built such that you can wire the fan into a single pair of wires/one switch and operate the light and fan separately via the remote. My home was already wired with dual switches so I decided not to hook up the remote control unit (a 2 year old does not need a remote) and wire it direct. It worked fine except that the remote is how the fan speed is controlled; there is no pull chain. I switched the standard rocker switch out for a fan control switch and it works perfectly now.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from NH

Whrere does the remote receiver go...1 light-not 2

PostedApril 27, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought this online and it was delivered in 4 days!! It looks great...but...there really is only 1 bulb not 2 like the description says, it isn't all that bright either but the fan is quiet and runs smoothly. We did spend a lot of time trying to figure out the receiver... finally came to this site and found an answer- the remote goes up in the space between the light holder? and the ceiling bracket but not until the last step before covering everything up- don't put it up first either- then the ball for the fan motor won't fit in! tried that- learn from our mistakes... Also- remember to program the receiver- the directions says it's all set...no... the receiver directions (which of course we read after- like 2 days when the fan would only run on high and turn itself on???) say to program the little box in the ceiling and the remote! So, a week later and all is good!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking, dim light

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The fan looks very nice, sleek yet elegant. However, the light is really dim. It uses only one CFL bulb which is 13 watts. There is no room for a bigger bulb and you are not supposed to. If you do not need to read in your bedroom, this fan would be good.
Installation could be tricky depending on your existing setup. If the wires from your ceiling are long enough, it should not be too hard. If not like mine, it will be more difficult. In this case, you need to insert the down rod before you slip the receiver in the hanging bracket. That means, you need to hook up the motor to the down rod while the down rod is already on. The motor is pretty heavy, so it is not a one-person's job. You need to have somebody hold the motor for you while you put the pin in to secure the motor to the down rod.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Quiet
Cons: dim light, installation could be tricky
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Washington, DC

Fits purpose of cooling bedroom well. Good contemporary style fan.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We needed a fan that hugs the ceiling to hang over a bed. We wanted a style that is not too ornate. Fan was easy enough to hang by a do-it-yourselfer. Installation instructions could have been better. Missing instructions on where to place the remote receiver. (It goes over the wires in the slot provided).
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote control

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It haven't stop working since installed and it do it perfectly
Pros: Looks Great, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

EXCELLENT GREAT SIZE AND PRICE

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am not someone that would be consider HANDY I installed the fan within 30 minutes and it is very sturdy and it looks great
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Friendsville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice fan

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We really like the appearance and performance of the fan. We replaced the light bulb because it was too dim. I contacted customer service on June 19 because a blade arm had a defect in the metal. We did install the fan since we needed it. We have heard nothing from customer service and it is now July 9. Nice fan and works good but we would like to have a replacement arm. I am attaching a photo.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: light is too dim
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Awful

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of this fan was ridiculous. Adding the extension rod was quite difficult and there is no way the receiver to make the remote work can fit inside the area as it was designed. Although this fan looks nice, it is not worth the headache.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unbeatable price for a nice fan

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Lovely fans (I bought 2 for the small upstairs bedrooms that get unbearably hot during the summer); give off adequate light (you may want to look elsewhere if you need a very bright light); fans are practically silent on Low, a bare whisper on Med, a bit louder on High but not so much that you can't carry on a conversation. The only small con is that the woodgrain side of the blades is obviously fake, think low quality laminate flooring (the other side is black, which is what I chose).
My contractor installed, so I can't say whether it was complicated; it took a while to assemble, but he didn't complain and said it installed without a wobble on the first try. Comes with a remote and wallmount bracket - I don't think you can find a better deal.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, Quiet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>