728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

The Hampton Bay Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan has reversible black or rosewood blades, a brushed nickel finish and a frosted opal glass light kit that provides an eye-catching accent to your home decor. The Midili offers a contemporary yet compact flywheel design and has a remote control that allows you to choose between 3 speeds and control the light kit. Uses one 14-Watt (60-Watt equivalent) medium-base CFL bulb (included).
Overall rating:
4.021 / 5
4.0
 / 
5
(281 reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product207 of 258reviews
Rating Breakdown 281 reviews
4.0 out of 5
5
(140)
4
(69)
3
(32)
2
(18)
1
(22)
Appearance 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.5 out of 5
3.5 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product207 of 258reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Lakewood, Colorado
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Update after One Year of Use...

PostedJune 17, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan started to fail about a couple of months after I wrote my last review. Here are my main complaints:
1: The screws that hold the blades on come loose WAY to often.
2: The metal brackets are literally falling apart where the 2 pieces are soldered or welded together (not sure how the 2 pieces are held together, see photos to see what I mean)
3: THIS FAN BARELY MOVES ANY AIR AT ALL.
Come on now, $110 for this fan that lasted only a year? At high speed, this fan moves 2843 CFM (cubic feet per minute). For a 44 inch fan, this is very very poor. It is pretty nice looking, but thats about all this fan has going for it.
Another thing that I do not like about this fan is that the maximum wattage light bulb that can be used is 14 watts. And it has to be a CFL (compact fluorescent light) bulb. The fan barely provides any light, and because most CFL bulbs cannot be dimmed, the fan has no dimmer option. Not to mention the fact that this fan does NOT meet energy star requirements.
One other complaint I have is this, but I might just be being a little bit too picky with this one. The remote controller does not have a "reverse" button. The way to reverse the direction of rotation on this fan is by a switch on the top of the fan, and that might be a problem for people that mount this fan on a high ceiling. I however am 6 feet tall and my ceilings are only 7 and a half feet high, so this was not really an issue for me.
If you read my last review... DISREGARD EVERYTHING I SAID. I did recommend this product after about a week of use, but after a year, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: looks fairly decent.
Cons: horrible air movement, fairly slow rpm, light is very dim, and blade brackets are literally falling apart.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Love My Midili fan

PostedMarch 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Because my kitchen is very beachy, we painted the paddles white.. The light isn't very bright, but I have so many other lights in the kitchen, it doesn't matter... My cabinets, handles, lights, wood trim for the tray ceiling, pendants as well as the fan all come from HOME DEPOT... I love my kitchen!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Los Lunas, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You WILL do better if you buy A DIFFERENT FAN

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Install went about as easy as expected. No surprises. Good mounting bracket makes it fairly straightforward.
It ENDS THERE.
Wobbles horribly. It was not the blades, but the housing itself.
MOVES NO AIR on anything but high speed.
Keep the packaging. There's a good chance you'll be returning this one.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great
Cons: poor performing, poor quality, won't balance
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from St louis, MO
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installation is awful

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The directions were poorly written for starters. Hiding the remote receiver was next to impossible. The receiver seems much to large and the developers clearly did not attempt installation after the design. If you are a DIY person avoid this fan.
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Staten Island, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Really Looks Great!

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I love my new ceiling fan. The installation was easy and the fan looks great in my newly renovated kitchen.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Miami, FL
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Our first ceiling fan install

PostedMay 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This was our first ceiling fan install. Instructions were really bad so we just used common sense. It wasn't that difficult at the end of the day. The only complaint we do have is that the light bowl is too dense and barely any light comes out of it. Also, two lights could fit perfectly well in there, not sure why they went with one. The light is not diffused evenly in the room because of this. Now I'm hoping to find a replacement bowl that is a bit more clear or less thick. If anyone finds something please let me know!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, remote
Cons: not very bright, instructions are poorly written
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from reno nv
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

nice

PostedJuly 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to install,has good looks & is very quiet
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Be Careful

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We got a lemon. Don't throw away the packaging until you are sure it's going to work OK (wobbles badly, couldn't correct).
Pros: Easy to Assemble
Cons: wobbled badly distorted
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Dayton, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

very nice fan

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
very good looking fan...we installed in guest room and it made the room even look nicer
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Pasadena, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great fan for the price

PostedJuly 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I didn't really pay attention to the blade length when I purchased it, so I was a little worried it wouldn't perform the way I wanted. However it worked great and I was very pleased with how much circulation it provided especially for the price! The light is nice and bright as well.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from denver
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

fans in this price range...

PostedJuly 7, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
is adequate for a small room....installation is not easy.
Pros: Stylish, Functional, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quiet fan

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I added this chic little fan to my bathroom during a re-model. I'm in love! it dries up the water in the room quickly and saves me from total make-up meltdown during the humid summer months. Casts a beautiful light as well. The fan speeds are only operated by remote which I found a little odd at first but I've come to like the aesthetic of no chain pulls hanging from the fan. Quality seems very good so far and love that it's quiet. Overall an excellent buy!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Great fan, poor instructions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
First off, this fan is great. I searched and searched and finally settled on this. I knew I wanted something modern and with remote, So this fan is great, but Hampton Bay, PLEASE FIX YOUR INSTRUCTIONS!!! The bottom part with the blades and light kit are a breeze! Do those first. The main issue is with the remote receiver and the wiring. After some mass frustration I learned to #1 run your lead ceiling wires BEHIND the ceiling bracket, opposite of open end where ball sits. This allows you to connect those wires and tuck to the side vs the middle. Then run the wires from the fan thru the ball and out the back of the bracket, allowing you to connect this on the other side. This is key because the remote receiver MUST SLIDE IN ABOVE THE BALL! And you have to push it in snug. It will not work if any wires are above it. If you follow these steps I guarantee ease of install. Hampton Bay failed to give these instructions. So again, give room for the receiver to slide in after you sit the ball in the bracket. Then wire up, tuck to side, and slide cover over.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Love it.

PostedJune 24, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Got it for kitchen. Very nice. My grandma loves it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan

Very dim and changed design since 2007

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this fan in 2007 for our master and loved it. We purchased the same fan in 2012 only to find that the design has changed. You can not flush mount this fan. The lighting is one 60w bulb which is not dimmable like it was in 2007. But even if it was, it doesn't get bright enough to make dimming worth it! The single bulb produces a hot spot on the glass bowl and shines light in one direction only. It might be okay for a room with lots of natural light, but not one where you plan to work in at night!
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dim light, doesnt flush mount
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

The Instructions are Wrong !!! I'm glad I read the Reviews when I got stuck!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Unbelievable! You might think Hampton Bay would update their instruction manual. No need to rewrite the manual - just print an addendum. No Way!
The receiver unit does NOT fit in the ceiling tray. You must place it in the ceiling and extend the wires.
The box said it was able to work as a ceiling light. - without the down rod. Wrong! You must use the down rod.
One minor complaint - no 9 volt battery. It was not mentioned on the "not included" section on the box.
Aside from that, nice fan so far.
Pros: Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from New York, NY

Great fan, a little tricky to install

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fan is great, and I'd love to give it 5 stars—I really would! It's a great size, moves a perfect amount of air, it's quiet and not wobbly, it looks good...
...and unfortunately it's a little tricky to install. Everything was going great, and this fan was way easier to put in than the only other fan I'd ever put in before. The problem is that it doesn't say in the directions how the heck you're supposed to fit the remote receiver into the fan base at the ceiling. After maybe 45 minutes of sitting around frustrated, staring at the receiver, I noticed that the thickest piece had a semi circle cutout in the inside edge and finally it got to me that the receiver fit in the small space above the downrod, nestled tightly between the top of the rod and the ceiling mounting electrical bracket thingy. I really wish they could have put that in the directions someplace.
Other than the annoyance of installation, this is a great fan. Great airflow, great looks, great size.
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Dallas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lasted just under a year

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Between two people this fan went up in short time. Looks great, however it did not complete a year before the receiver malfunctioned. I will probably replace it and hope that the receiver was a dud, however a google search shows it's happened to others. Replacement part is $25 on ebay.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: lasting quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
from Nashville, TN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great fan

PostedApril 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
The fan was trequired some adaptations to install, but it was fairly easy. We wanted one with a remote wireless, controller. The receiver is big and will not fit in the fan's cradle. I removed the metal pancake mounting box because it was too small. I rewired the receiver and stuck it above the sheetrock out of sight. The builder had already installed wooden studs and this helped tremendously.
Pros: Well Made, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: oversized receiver
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Indoor Ceiling Fan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best small room fan ever!!!

PostedApril 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Perfect fan, quiet and the remote is so convenient.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>