728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

The Hampton Bay Midili 44 in. Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan has reversible black or rosewood blades, a brushed nickel finish and a frosted opal glass light kit that provides an eye-catching accent to your home decor. The Midili offers a contemporary yet compact flywheel design and has a remote control that allows you to choose between 3 speeds and control the light kit. Uses one 14-watt (60-watt equivalent) medium-base CFL bulb (included).
Overall rating:
4.076 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(159 reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product122 of 147reviews
Rating Breakdown 159 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(78)
4
(45)
3
(18)
2
(6)
1
(12)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product122 of 147reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Great fan, poor instructions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First off, this fan is great. I searched and searched and finally settled on this. I knew I wanted something modern and with remote, So this fan is great, but Hampton Bay, PLEASE FIX YOUR INSTRUCTIONS!!! The bottom part with the blades and light kit are a breeze! Do those first. The main issue is with the remote receiver and the wiring. After some mass frustration I learned to #1 run your lead ceiling wires BEHIND the ceiling bracket, opposite of open end where ball sits. This allows you to connect those wires and tuck to the side vs the middle. Then run the wires from the fan thru the ball and out the back of the bracket, allowing you to connect this on the other side. This is key because the remote receiver MUST SLIDE IN ABOVE THE BALL! And you have to push it in snug. It will not work if any wires are above it. If you follow these steps I guarantee ease of install. Hampton Bay failed to give these instructions. So again, give room for the receiver to slide in after you sit the ball in the bracket. Then wire up, tuck to side, and slide cover over.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quiet fan

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added this chic little fan to my bathroom during a re-model. I'm in love! it dries up the water in the room quickly and saves me from total make-up meltdown during the humid summer months. Casts a beautiful light as well. The fan speeds are only operated by remote which I found a little odd at first but I've come to like the aesthetic of no chain pulls hanging from the fan. Quality seems very good so far and love that it's quiet. Overall an excellent buy!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote control

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It haven't stop working since installed and it do it perfectly
Pros: Looks Great, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Philadelphia pa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very satisfied!!

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It looks awesome. would purchase another and recommend it!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Charlotte
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Beautiful Fan - AWFUL Instructions

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I gave only 3 Stars since the instructions on where the remote control transmitter is supposed to go are terrible. We had to go to Home Depot with parts to have them explain where to install transmitter into the Canopy The pictures supplied on how to do, do not help AT ALL. I agree with the other review from Josh- follow those instructions and BOOM....much success!
Otherwise this fan is really nice looking and has good air flow on high speed. The remote is a great feature (once you get installed!)
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Loveland, Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Buy

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
My daughter recently purchased an older home. We purchased this for her bedroom. It looks great and the remote is so convenient especially since they have older wiring and don't have the ability to have and on/off switch on the wall.
Pros: Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Chicago IL.

MAJOR DISSAPOINTMENT

PostedAugust 24, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This fan looked great stopped working a week after it was installed. The motor was bad. Remote was a cool idea but was very cheap. Had to be returned and will not buy another.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Atlanta, GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fan motor may be questionable

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought two of two of these and had not got around to installing the second one when the fan motor went out in the first one. This was less than a month. Company offers a lifetime warranty on the motor, but requires the original receipt. Luckily HD policy is better than that. Second fan is now in place the bad first one and working great. Easy to install, looks and works great, when it works. First one may have just been a fluke.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Wisconsin
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked well enough that I bought a second when the first one died

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I installed one of these in my bedroom several years ago, and about two weeks ago it stopped working. I didn't know if it was (most likely) just the receiver that failed, or if the unit itself was shot. My guess was the receiver since I had neither fan nor light anymore. And since this is the sole source of light in my master bedroom, it was annoying.
I searched for another similar unit, but the only one I found that was a similar sleek more contemporary look on Amazon in the right size had bad reviews because of sparking lightbulbs and an apparent recall. I was happy when I checked Home Depot, and found the one I had actually originally put up there. I thought this way I'm not dealing with the mounting hardware or anything, I could just drop the old and put up the new. I even reused the blades.
Installation is simple and relatively quick. The unit has a slight hum when the motor is going, about average for other fans I've had in this price range. You may notice it if small noises like that are an issue when you're trying to go to sleep. I just tune it out.
The looks are nice and sharp, and the remote works well, but there's two problems I have with the unit, although clearly they weren't enough to keep me from replacing it with the same item. First, the fan can't reverse from the remote. You have to hit the switch on top of the fan itself. Second, the light just isn't very bright. But for me, it's the price I pay to not have to have those unattractive bell shaped light cones sticking out in various directions.
The price can't be beat, under 100 dollars, and remote is included. That's why I didn't bother just trying first to see if replacing the remote's receiver fixed the issue in the original one. It's just about disposable at this price, and for me it was worth it to just do the swap rather than to troubleshoot the other first and have to potentially make a few trips back and forth to the store.
I've never had a fan die on me before like this, but I did get tired of the CFL in there, so I put a comparably sized LED light instead in the original. I did not exceed the wattage, and I did not create a heat issue at all, but I'm wondering if swapping the light to the not recommended type may have caused a problem somewhere.
But despite having to replace it, I still like it and would recommend it for someone who wants an attractive looking, attractively priced fan in a bedroom or other smaller area.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: low light level
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Very dim and changed design since 2007

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this fan in 2007 for our master and loved it. We purchased the same fan in 2012 only to find that the design has changed. You can not flush mount this fan. The lighting is one 60w bulb which is not dimmable like it was in 2007. But even if it was, it doesn't get bright enough to make dimming worth it! The single bulb produces a hot spot on the glass bowl and shines light in one direction only. It might be okay for a room with lots of natural light, but not one where you plan to work in at night!
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dim light, doesnt flush mount
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Awful

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of this fan was ridiculous. Adding the extension rod was quite difficult and there is no way the receiver to make the remote work can fit inside the area as it was designed. Although this fan looks nice, it is not worth the headache.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Houston, TX
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking, Issues Encountered..

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought two boxes of this fan, brand new from Home Depot. My husband spent 4 hrs on installing one and couldn't get it to work. We had the professional electrician come, he attempted to install and could not get it to work either. He opened the second new fan from the box and could not get that one to work as well, both fans did not work! The issue was the remote receiver!!! First of all, the instructions were really bad and it was not clear where the receiver should fit. Second, both remote receivers were defective! We came to this conclusion when we connected the wires directly without using the remote receivers, the light and fan/blades worked perfectly. I called GPWarranty, Sonja was rude. I asked if this is a common problem, she said yes for remotes. She said it'll take 7-10 days to ship new ones, they can't ship it faster unless I pay and she'd call me back for the price but never did. I went back to Home Depot and they let me swap out the remote receiver from another new box. Conclusion confirmed, the fan worked perfectly with the new remote receiver. We just can't believe it, two boxes with defective remote receivers, understandably with one but two?!
Aesthetically, it looks very nice and pretty quiet. However like others mentioned before, the lighting is a bit dark. I'm giving it overall rating of 2 for the 2 defective remote receivers.
Pros: Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, beware of defective remote receivers we had 2!, dim lights, bad instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Great product for the price

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is awesome!! I love the fact that it is remote, no pull chains to get caught up in the blades which could damage the performance of the motor. I love this fan so much I brought a second one.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from massapequa ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love the remote on this fan

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good looking fan very quiet light not too bright but that is fine with us as we only use it while watching tv
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Clearwater, FL

Poor Design

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The receiver for the remote control does not fit in the canopy cover. The instructions are not useful for this aspect. Very poor design resulting in a frustrating installation.
Dim light.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, dim light
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from New York, NY

Great fan, a little tricky to install

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan is great, and I'd love to give it 5 stars—I really would! It's a great size, moves a perfect amount of air, it's quiet and not wobbly, it looks good...
...and unfortunately it's a little tricky to install. Everything was going great, and this fan was way easier to put in than the only other fan I'd ever put in before. The problem is that it doesn't say in the directions how the heck you're supposed to fit the remote receiver into the fan base at the ceiling. After maybe 45 minutes of sitting around frustrated, staring at the receiver, I noticed that the thickest piece had a semi circle cutout in the inside edge and finally it got to me that the receiver fit in the small space above the downrod, nestled tightly between the top of the rod and the ceiling mounting electrical bracket thingy. I really wish they could have put that in the directions someplace.
Other than the annoyance of installation, this is a great fan. Great airflow, great looks, great size.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking, dim light

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan looks very nice, sleek yet elegant. However, the light is really dim. It uses only one CFL bulb which is 13 watts. There is no room for a bigger bulb and you are not supposed to. If you do not need to read in your bedroom, this fan would be good.
Installation could be tricky depending on your existing setup. If the wires from your ceiling are long enough, it should not be too hard. If not like mine, it will be more difficult. In this case, you need to insert the down rod before you slip the receiver in the hanging bracket. That means, you need to hook up the motor to the down rod while the down rod is already on. The motor is pretty heavy, so it is not a one-person's job. You need to have somebody hold the motor for you while you put the pin in to secure the motor to the down rod.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Quiet
Cons: dim light, installation could be tricky
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice smaller fan

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great smaller fan for small rooms. It was very easy to put together and installation was a breeze. Plus this fan has a remote. The lightbulb that comes with it is a bit dim so I replaced it with a brighter one. If you need circulation in a smaller room you can't go wrong with this fan!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Friendsville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice fan

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We really like the appearance and performance of the fan. We replaced the light bulb because it was too dim. I contacted customer service on June 19 because a blade arm had a defect in the metal. We did install the fan since we needed it. We have heard nothing from customer service and it is now July 9. Nice fan and works good but we would like to have a replacement arm. I am attaching a photo.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: light is too dim
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Colorado
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male

Very great fan!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is awesome. It looks very nice in my room, cools the room quickly, and was pretty easy to instal! It's not too expensive either. I would definitely recommend this fan to anyone looking for a nice fan.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cools room quickly
Cons: i have experienced no cons!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>