728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Ceiling Fans or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

The Hampton Bay Midili 44 In. Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan has reversible black or rosewood blades, a brushed nickel finish and a frosted opal glass light kit that provides an eye-catching accent to your home decor. The Midili offers a contemporary yet compact flywheel design and has a remote control that allows you to choose between 3 speeds and control the light kit. Uses one 14-watt (60-watt equivalent) medium-base CFL bulb (included).
Overall rating:
4.099 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(151 reviews) 151
Open Ratings Snapshot
83%of customersrecommend this product116 of 139reviews
Rating Breakdown 151 reviews
4.1 out of 5.0
5
(75)
4
(43)
3
(17)
2
(5)
1
(11)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
83%of customersrecommend this product116 of 139reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
Review 1 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Great fan, poor instructions

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
First off, this fan is great. I searched and searched and finally settled on this. I knew I wanted something modern and with remote, So this fan is great, but Hampton Bay, PLEASE FIX YOUR INSTRUCTIONS!!! The bottom part with the blades and light kit are a breeze! Do those first. The main issue is with the remote receiver and the wiring. After some mass frustration I learned to #1 run your lead ceiling wires BEHIND the ceiling bracket, opposite of open end where ball sits. This allows you to connect those wires and tuck to the side vs the middle. Then run the wires from the fan thru the ball and out the back of the bracket, allowing you to connect this on the other side. This is key because the remote receiver MUST SLIDE IN ABOVE THE BALL! And you have to push it in snug. It will not work if any wires are above it. If you follow these steps I guarantee ease of install. Hampton Bay failed to give these instructions. So again, give room for the receiver to slide in after you sit the ball in the bracket. Then wire up, tuck to side, and slide cover over.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love the remote control

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It haven't stop working since installed and it do it perfectly
Pros: Looks Great, Well Made, Lots of Features, Nice Design, remote
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Houston, Texas
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent quiet fan

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I added this chic little fan to my bathroom during a re-model. I'm in love! it dries up the water in the room quickly and saves me from total make-up meltdown during the humid summer months. Casts a beautiful light as well. The fan speeds are only operated by remote which I found a little odd at first but I've come to like the aesthetic of no chain pulls hanging from the fan. Quality seems very good so far and love that it's quiet. Overall an excellent buy!
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from massapequa ny
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

We love the remote on this fan

PostedApril 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Good looking fan very quiet light not too bright but that is fine with us as we only use it while watching tv
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Awful

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The installation of this fan was ridiculous. Adding the extension rod was quite difficult and there is no way the receiver to make the remote work can fit inside the area as it was designed. Although this fan looks nice, it is not worth the headache.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Colorado
Age Range:17 or under
,
Gender:Male

Very great fan!

PostedJune 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fan is awesome. It looks very nice in my room, cools the room quickly, and was pretty easy to instal! It's not too expensive either. I would definitely recommend this fan to anyone looking for a nice fan.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, cools room quickly
Cons: i have experienced no cons!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Ceiling Fan

PostedJune 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our friend, who has installed 7 fans, helped my husband install the fan. Took them 3 hours as it installed differently from the others. Now that it's installed, it's wonderful! I may want to put in a different bulb to make the room brighter.
Pros: Functional, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Colorado Springs, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice smaller fan

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great smaller fan for small rooms. It was very easy to put together and installation was a breeze. Plus this fan has a remote. The lightbulb that comes with it is a bit dim so I replaced it with a brighter one. If you need circulation in a smaller room you can't go wrong with this fan!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Unique, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Very dim and changed design since 2007

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We purchased this fan in 2007 for our master and loved it. We purchased the same fan in 2012 only to find that the design has changed. You can not flush mount this fan. The lighting is one 60w bulb which is not dimmable like it was in 2007. But even if it was, it doesn't get bright enough to make dimming worth it! The single bulb produces a hot spot on the glass bowl and shines light in one direction only. It might be okay for a room with lots of natural light, but not one where you plan to work in at night!
Pros: Stylish, Good Size & Weight
Cons: dim light, doesnt flush mount
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Clearwater, FL

Poor Design

PostedNovember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The receiver for the remote control does not fit in the canopy cover. The instructions are not useful for this aspect. Very poor design resulting in a frustrating installation.
Dim light.
Cons: Difficult to Assemble, dim light
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Newport Beach, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good looking fan

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This was installed by our handyman in my daughter's bedroom and it is attractive, quiet and does the job. Her room is 10X10 so this works well. Our larger master bedroom has this same fan but the larger version. We love it. Remote is wonderful!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan

Good looking product, installation only so so

PostedMay 27, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
This is very attractive product sold for the good price.
Home Depot online process and pick up was great.
The only difficulty is the installation. Instructions included are not very clear and detailed. HD instructions on the You Tube are more about features and product selling, not installation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Maryland
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very quiet and easy to install.

PostedMay 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan was installed in about 30 minutes. It runs very quietly and the remote is very convenient.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Fort Worth, TX
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Might need to hire an installer

PostedMay 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 5 and returned 4 which I could not make work on a sloped ceiling: first, problem finding proper down rods, second, making the silly remote receiver fit on a slope. Oddly, the one fan I kept was no better on a flat ceiling, I tried every which way to make the cover fit with the receiver...
next step: mortise the ceiling to fit the receiver.
Pros: Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice looking, dim light

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The fan looks very nice, sleek yet elegant. However, the light is really dim. It uses only one CFL bulb which is 13 watts. There is no room for a bigger bulb and you are not supposed to. If you do not need to read in your bedroom, this fan would be good.
Installation could be tricky depending on your existing setup. If the wires from your ceiling are long enough, it should not be too hard. If not like mine, it will be more difficult. In this case, you need to insert the down rod before you slip the receiver in the hanging bracket. That means, you need to hook up the motor to the down rod while the down rod is already on. The motor is pretty heavy, so it is not a one-person's job. You need to have somebody hold the motor for you while you put the pin in to secure the motor to the down rod.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish, Quiet
Cons: dim light, installation could be tricky
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great looking fan

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Summary
Pros:
Looks sharp, especially with the black blades combination.
Pretty quiet.
Decent light
Cons
Installation can be tricky.
Almost impossible to install with the remote unit.
Poor quality remote unit.
Details
This has a very nice contemporary look and will go well with most modern decor. Installation is a bit tricky. The shaft is really short, so takes a bit of patience to install the cotter key, etc. and get the wires through. The hanging bracket does not have much space, and the remote unit is an older, larger type, which barely fits in the canopy. Suggest not to install the remote unit unless you really want it.
As the quality of the remote unit did not look or feel good, plus the space to install it was very very tight, I chose to not install the remote unit. Rather, I installed a dimmer switch and fan speed control switch.
This makes it very easy to control the brightness and the speed fan. Also with the dimmer switch, I can now lower the light and it functions like a night light.
Note that at full brigthness the light is more like a soft glow. Its not very bright, so will need to be supplemented with other room lights or lamps if you want to do some reading. However, I am okay with it not being bright, as the soft glow gives it a nice look, and brighter i think would have detracted from the understated polished look it has.
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Miami, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

real good

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Really liked the look and cooling capacity . It has a high end look to it.
Pros: Functional, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Assemble
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from Friendsville, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice fan

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We really like the appearance and performance of the fan. We replaced the light bulb because it was too dim. I contacted customer service on June 19 because a blade arm had a defect in the metal. We did install the fan since we needed it. We have heard nothing from customer service and it is now July 9. Nice fan and works good but we would like to have a replacement arm. I am attaching a photo.
Pros: Looks Great, Stylish
Cons: light is too dim
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
from New York, NY

Great fan, a little tricky to install

PostedMay 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The fan is great, and I'd love to give it 5 stars—I really would! It's a great size, moves a perfect amount of air, it's quiet and not wobbly, it looks good...
...and unfortunately it's a little tricky to install. Everything was going great, and this fan was way easier to put in than the only other fan I'd ever put in before. The problem is that it doesn't say in the directions how the heck you're supposed to fit the remote receiver into the fan base at the ceiling. After maybe 45 minutes of sitting around frustrated, staring at the receiver, I noticed that the thickest piece had a semi circle cutout in the inside edge and finally it got to me that the receiver fit in the small space above the downrod, nestled tightly between the top of the rod and the ceiling mounting electrical bracket thingy. I really wish they could have put that in the directions someplace.
Other than the annoyance of installation, this is a great fan. Great airflow, great looks, great size.
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Midili 44 in. Indoor Brushed Nickel Ceiling Fan
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Unbeatable price for a nice fan

PostedMay 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Lovely fans (I bought 2 for the small upstairs bedrooms that get unbearably hot during the summer); give off adequate light (you may want to look elsewhere if you need a very bright light); fans are practically silent on Low, a bare whisper on Med, a bit louder on High but not so much that you can't carry on a conversation. The only small con is that the woodgrain side of the blades is obviously fake, think low quality laminate flooring (the other side is black, which is what I chose).
My contractor installed, so I can't say whether it was complicated; it took a while to assemble, but he didn't complain and said it installed without a wobble on the first try. Comes with a remote and wallmount bracket - I don't think you can find a better deal.
Pros: Functional, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, Quiet
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>