728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Landscaping or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock

9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock

The Backyard X-Scapes Small Boulder Rock is made of fiberglass, resin and rock particles for lasting durability. The boulder adds lasting beauty to your landscape with acrylic paints that offer UV protection and fade resistance. The rocks can be used around gardens, water features or your home for a handsome and realistic beige rock accent.
Overall rating:
4.806 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(62 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
97%of customersrecommend this product57 of 59reviews
Rating Breakdown 62 reviews
4.8 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(2)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
97%of customersrecommend this product57 of 59reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
Review 1 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock

Most realistic rock this size

PostedJune 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this rock for use in making a geocache, which means that it has to look like a real rock, or somebody is going to walk away with it. Every other rock of this size I've seen just looks like an irregular plastic box. This rock was surprisingly convincing. Sitting in a natural environment next to some real rocks, it's hard to tell which is the fake one. The color of the rock was significantly darker than pictured, but the actual product, in this case, was a better fit than the picture. Dimensions are a little screwy, as this is an irregularly shaped object, so it might be best to plan to use one size larger than would seem necessary.
Pros: Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock

Natural looking

PostedAugust 6, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to cover a double outlet with a short 3-outlet extension cord by my pond. It is big enough to cover the outlets yet low profile enough to blend in with the rest of the landscaping. The grey and brown coloring makes the rock appear more natural than the monotone faux rocks one typically sees.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Dallas/Ft. Worth Area
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Perfect for what I needed

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought two to cover sewer accesses in my front yard. The first one was for in front of a scrub, so the coloring was perfect. The other had to be painted to match the rocks around it but I used 2 exterior paints and it looks great. I really like having those ugly sewer accesses not visible. Huge increase in curb appeal with those ugly white PVC tubes sticking up in my front yard flower beds.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Functionality, Great Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Mansfield, Tx
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent purchase just the token

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The artificial rock was just what we needed to cove a vent pipe in the garden and the color worked well blending in with the mulch.
Pros: Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Los Angeles, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for something to cover a small stump in my yard. This was the perfect size. I like the subtle variations of color that make it look realistic. I sprayed it with a matte clear finish to give it added protection. I am pleased with this purchase, and the price was great.
Pros: Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Oro Valley AZ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Consider it a fair purchase.

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
It came with the finish scuffed off and I was unable to get an adjustment on the cost at the store and didn't have time to reorder another one so I just kept it will find a way to touch it up later. Color is off. But it does work like I wanted it to.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: came with some of the finish scuffed off
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Orange County, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Looks great and met need

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Had the access point to my sewer line moved from inside to outside my home. The access pipe rose about 5 inches above soil level and needed something to disguise it. After searching other sites, I tried Home Depot online, viewed the various options in the size I needed. This artificial landscaping stone looked great in photo and received very high reviews from people who had previously purchased it. It was also well-priced.
I replaced some roses with a native plant design, placed the stone over the access pipe and it looks fantastic. Very realistic appearing and the perfect size.
I'm very please with this stone and would recommend it.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Good Shape, looks realistic in setting
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from RICHFIELD MN

FAKE ROCK

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I LIKED THE SHAPE BUT....THE COLOR WAS ORANGE OR A RUST COLOR..NOT LIKE COLOR FEATURED ON LINE....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Medford OR
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

good quality and looks good

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great quality, wright size, prompt delivery to store and looks very real.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks very real

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Color shadings and tones and the irregular shape make this rock look very real. Nice.
Pros: Multi Use, Easy to Install, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Lewes, De.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

it fooled my landscaper

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great look and it is well made. I used it to cover a drain pipe. could not get over how real it looks.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Multi Use, Easy to Install, Functionality, Strong, Stylish, Great Quality, Good Shape
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

For the price this is a great fake rock.

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
There more convincing fake rocks available but I could not beat the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Tacoma, WA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Faux Rock

PostedJuly 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This faux rock looks pretty realistic and is well suited for decorating around our pondless water feature where we did not want to have a lot a weight burden. Very light. It would likely cover a single low spiget or valve, but not much else. This almost has too much surface variation to look like quarry rock...almost more like a large piece of coral. the coloring on the rock we received was very good, but may be quite variable as the medium size rock we got with it was a ugly creamy yellow and we returned it (which was very easy at our local HD)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock

The faux rock looks very real...

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I wanted a smaller boulder to hide plumbing in my atrium area and this fiberglass/resin boulder worked perfectly.
Pros: Functionality, Good Shape
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

artificial rock

PostedOctober 22, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have purchased artificial rocks in the past and they looked real. Yours does not. It was a lot of money to pay for something that looks like painted cardboard.
Pros: Easy to Install
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from San Diego, CA

Did the job!

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The fake rock covered up an unsightly electric outlet. Looked great in the landscape.
Pros: Easy to Install, Functionality, Stylish, Good Shape, Durable, Great Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Elk River, MN, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

this looks like a real rock.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This fake rock covers our well head and matches the real rocks perfectly. It is heavy duty and well worth the money spent.
Pros: Durable, Strong, Great Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Lower Lake, CA, USA

Natural looking, but...

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I love the look of this mock rock. It is the most natural looking of all the ones I've seen so far. However, it didn't fit the battery I wanted to cover up in the front yard. The rock narrows at the top, which is not in the size description. Also, the color is described as beige/gray. The one I was sent was red/grey, which I thought was pretty ugly. I have to send it back. I do recommend if it is the right color and fit.
Pros: Stylish
Cons: may not fit with narrowing top
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Buffalo, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great looking fake rock

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this rock to cover the stump of a shrub I cut down. It's actually very similar to a real rock in my yard. It more than hides the ugly stump. It enhances the garden and the plant in front of it. If they were slightly cheaper, I'd buy a couple more.
Pros: Durable, Vibrant Color, Stylish
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 9 in. H x 13 in. W x 16 in. L Small Boulder Rock
from Fargo, ND, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very Nice

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This looks really good, very realistic. I ordered online and picked up at the local store, convenient!
Pros: Stylish
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>