728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set

60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set

The SAKRETE 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set is specially formulated for the filling of paver joints. It is specially mixed with polymers to harden yet remain flexible. It reduces weed growth but will not crack with weather-related ground movement.
Overall rating:
3.25 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
57%of customersrecommend this product4 of 7reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(2)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
57%of customersrecommend this product4 of 7reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
Review 1 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from Pollock Pines
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Worked GREAT!

PostedSeptember 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product @ 4000' elevation between pave stones. I put in a crushed shale base, vibraplated the sand in and then finshed off the joints! Excellent results. No issues except some sand on top of stones in some places. However, I did use quite a bit more than a mist to set. Dried hard 24 hours. Buying more for a connecting walkway to finish the patio.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Seals Well, High Quality
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from Sacramento, CA

Paver Set...unsatisfactory result

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used Sakrete Paver Set on a 45' long walkway. It was easy to use as far as pressing into spaces between paver stones laid on a bed of gravel and sand. I followed directions to the letter by misting 4 times twenty minutes apart being careful not to apply too much water. Product did not set up uniformly. A week later, it still gave way to a gentle press of finger or the brush of a soft broom. It won't hold up. I did another small job (60 sq. ft.) with using brick mortar (sand, portland cement, and lime) from Home Depot by pressing it into the spaces between pavers dry and then misting it down repeatedly. It cured firm and solid and looks great. Use care to remove all dry product from the surface of pavers before misting.
+42points
50out of 58found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set

Works well

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Sand didn't seem to harden, even a few days after misting, but just checked again (a month has passed) and it's rock solid now.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from Lafayette, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent product performed as expected.

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this polymeric sand. I put in a 7' wide paver walkway on the side of my house that sloped 3' over a 25' run. I was concerned about a heavy rain washing out regular sand so I used the polymeric. Couldn't be happier. I like the look of slightly recessed joints so after filling the joints I used a yard blower and brought the level of the sand down a bit. Taking my time was really the key to a great result. Definitely MIST the water on the sand and just moisten it. I you spray on a bunch of water the sand will move and build up in the corners of the joints making an uneven final result. I misted six times, about 10-20 minutes apart. After the second misting, I let it rest about 20 minutes and lightly swept the joints with a broom (basically treated the sand like a mortarted joint). This evened out the sand beautifully. It firmed up overnight; after the next night it was rock hard and came out perfect. There will be a very small amount of sand at the end of the job that does not stick (from being right on top and not sticking) but a good sweeping takes it away.
Pros: Easy to Install, Sharp, Great Quality
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from Chico, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedApril 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When purchasing product make sure you get a bag that has not been too exposed to any rain. That is how lumps are formed. Not the product's fault. Home Depot's fault for where they store it. Some of my joints were up to 3/4", where some pavers met, and product firmed up as advertised. The product is very fine and worked into the smallest gaps easily. I tamped after initial application and again after final application.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Seals Well
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set

works as advertised

PostedJuly 22, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Sakrete 60 lb. Polymeric Sand: I used it to fill in some 1/8th inch wide spaces in my paver patio due to minor shifting over time. I followed the directions precisely, and the result is similar to the original polymeric sand application from the landscapers at the time of original installation. The sand did firm up to the touch after drying, as polymeric sand should. I am thinking that other reviewers' poor results may be due to greater than 1/8th inch thickness of the joints, as the product is intended for narrow joints?
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from Gilroy
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Absolutely useless

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This sand did not work at all. I followed all instructions and ended up with sand that washed out of the pavers after the first good rain. Product was poor quality containing lumps that had to be broken up before use. Did not harden at all. This is junk and should not be sold by Home Depot.
Cons: Difficult to Use, Inconsistent, did not do the job
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 60 lb. Polymeric Sand Paver Set
from oakland

don't waste your money

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Unfortunately I didn't read the review before I brought this. Home Depot should not even carry this. It is complete waste of money. I basically brought 60lb of play sand. I normally don't do review. But I feel like this product is so bad that I need to warn others. I would give this a negative score I could.
-13points
10out of 33found this review helpful.