728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Air Conditioners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner

Sharp's new CV-10NH Portable Air Conditioner is easy to move from room to room. It provides quiet cooling with sleek and attractive styling. It can also be used as a dehumidifier to remove up to 60 pints of moisture from the air in a single day. A fully featured remote control with an LCD display allows you to control the unit from virtually anywhere in the room. The flexible exhaust hose and window adapter kit allow for venting of the hot air, while keeping rain and insects out.
Overall rating:
3.452 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
68%of customersrecommend this product21 of 31reviews
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(9)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(7)
68%of customersrecommend this product21 of 31reviews
Customer reviews for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Review 1 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
DoIreallyNeedOne
from Minneapolis, Minnesota

Sharp portable air conditioner

PostedMay 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading all these reviews and seeing how most people think this is a great item, I decided to buy it and try it out.
What I liked about this unit :
1) It is a nice sleek black that is nice to look at.
2) it is quiet, but only on the lower fan speeds.
3) It's on casters
4) easy to assemble
What I disliked about this unit :
1) It's bulky and heavy
2) It can get loud
3) It produces hot air that will leak from the exhaust hose
4) Most importantly, it didnt even cool a room half the size it was rated for.
After reading this I hope you will decide not to waste your time and money on this. If you want to have air conditioning then just stick with the window ones. I was shocked after using this, that it was no better than turning a fan on. I live in Minnesota and it gets hot and muggy here. The dehumidifier did work well on this but it was also very loud. But this is supposed to be an air conditioner. Seriously I can't see why or how people can think this is a great thing to have. It's junk that cost $400
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
sandfleee
from Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Does the job, better then the Emerson

PostedOctober 27, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I live in south Florida, and my home AC unit is being repaired (up to a week for parts). It was over 90 degrees this past Saturday, so I decided to bite the bullet and pick up a portable unit for the bedroom so I could sleep.
My first purchase was the Emerson, but after 1 night I was very unsatisfied. After researching the Sharp (the only other model my local store stocked) I found that although they don't advertise the EER effeciency rating on the box, its rated a 10. The Emerson is an 8.9. Now while I dont pretend to know exactly how this rating is calculated, common sense tells me any effeciency rating of 10 is better then 8.9.
I exchanged the Emerson for the Sharp, and what a difference. Not only is it much quieter, but it does perform much better. It cooled my 25' X 15' bedroom from 88 degrees to 78 in about 4 hours on "mega-cool" mode.
I rated this unit 4 stars only because I dont particularly care that 99% of the controls can only be accessed by the remote. If you loose the remote, its pretty much useless.
Anyone considering a purchase should also realize that the bulk of these units DONT dehumidify and cool at the same time. So while you may cool the temperature, the humidity is still there. I have been told that there are portable units that do both, and had I had more time to research I would have pursued this further.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
jrh597
from Bayamón, Puerto Rico

Good for certain situations

PostedOctober 24, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Well I would give my feedback and an orientation to all the customers at the same time. First of all portable air conditioners(no matter what model) doesn't have the same cooling performance as a window, mini split or central air conditioners. Why? Because they use air from the same room to cool down the heat produced by the compressor inside the unit (thus wasting energy) AND because the hot air produced by the unit is expelled using the hose (which wastes energy too). Dual hose portable air conditioners eliminates this problem by adding a second hose to absorb outside air to cool down the compressor and other components but that also haves its disadvantages like the fact they use more energy than single hose units and their efficiency is still not the same as a window AC because it still wastes energy blowing out hot air via the exhaust hose AND getting outside air via the intake hose to cool down the compressor. Dual hose models are also very difficult to find in stores.
In my particular situation, I live in Puerto Rico were humidity levels rarely drop below 80% and heat index levels are usually above 105F. In Puerto Rico we also use cement for construction and that absorbs more heat than other materials like the gypsum board (commonly used in USA). I was in the need of buying something to cool down the apartment in which I stay during the week for University but the owner of the apartment would not let me install window AC so my only hope was a portable air conditioner. I went to my local Home Depot and bought this unit expecting that it would not cool as efficiently as a window AC does. My bedroom measures 80 square feet but during the day it can get as hot as 110F. If I would have going to buy a window AC I would have needed a 6,000 BTU unit but in the case of portable AC I needed a minimum of 9,500 BTU's (great difference). This unit was able to drop the temperature in my bedroom by about 10 degrees which is enough to make me feel comfortable without the help of a fan BUT it would never cool it down like a window AC. About the noise I can say it's one of the quieter portable AC's around when compared to other models I have heard like the Avanti PAC12000 which makes more noise than a washer. I agree that Sharp should have included controls to allow the user operate the unit without the remote because if you lost it the only thing you can do with the unit is to turn it on and off. About the drainage, self-evaporating technology means that the unit will use the water produced to cool down the coils then it will evaporate and taken out via the exhaust hose BUT if humidity levels are too high and too much water is produced it will go in the integrated tank and when full you will have to drain it. So self-evaporating technology means you will have to drain it maybe once a month (depending on moisture levels) instead of draining it daily like a non self-evaporating unit.
In summary: If you want really cool air just get another type of AC like a window type BUT if you can't (like me) you have the option of buying a dual hose or buying single hose type but just don't expect the same cooling performance.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
lee4040
from Waterloo, IA

Cool at last!

PostedJune 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our second floor master bedroom is a heat magnet and we really needed some relief. Even though a few negative reviews on this Sharp unit made us a little
nervous we bought it none the less based on its features and the solid name brand. We followed instructions carefully making sure we kept the unit as near as we could to the window port without over stretching the exhaust tube thinking maybe that was other buyer's trouble. Had to get a little creative in sealing our slider window opening but overall was quite easy. Shut the bedroom door. Turned on the unit and within 20 minutes could feel a nice difference between the bedroom and hot hallway. Turned in for the night and by morning we were both snuggled under sheet AND blanket. Very cool and quiet. Very happy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
CK1105
from Austin, TX

Can't keep up with Texas Heat

PostedJune 22, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I live in Austin, TX. I bought this unit to supplement the central air in my 300sqft western exposed master bedroom which also has 4 western windows. My idea was to leave main ac set on 78, and use this unit to lower temps in master down to high 60's.
Installation was a breeze I used towels and other things to create a very insulated tight seal. Fired it up and it does blow cold air. However after 3 hours of mega cool, the room was only 77, the sun was still up so I was patient. Then after 5 hours(sunset 3 hrs prior) room was 76. Wake up after being run for 12 hours, 9 of which were at night the room only cooled to 74. Also I drained water twice.
The unit is nice looking and install is easy but it just cannot keep up with the heat and humidity here. Returning today.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Mandy81
from Escondido, CA

Don't Bother

PostedJuly 13, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this product 2 weeks ago and it is already stopped cooling. I have a studio apartment, installed it properly, worked GREAT the first night and then slowly went downhill for the next week. Returning it this weekend.
Unit is quiet and has a nice appearance, but that is not worth the $400 that it cost. Was a heavy, pain in the but to get in the house and now I have to haul it back out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
NeptunesMom
from Texas

Cool and Quiet

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased the Sharp Portable Air Conditioner to cool down my 20 x 20 garage in the Texas heat so that I can sometimes do projects in my garage. I tried it yesterday, the temp was 102 when I started and it quickly cooled down to 80 in only one hour. I was happy with this because I vented it under the garage door and I know heat was coming under the garage door so it was not as effective as possible. I know it will cool down even more when I have a vent hole placed in the garage wall (have no windows in my garage and it didn't fit well in the doggie door). Also, its very quiet and smaller than others I looked at .
I read mixed reviews and just thought I would purchase it and try it out for myself, glad I didn't listen to the negative reviews. I think perhaps they didn't adjust the temperature on the remote or use the "mega cool" feature to initially cool down the room.
I am very pleased with my purchase and look forward to projects in my "cool" garage!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Anonymous
from St Louis, MO

Broke just after a yr

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this to cool our 3rd floor family room which our house system has trouble doing. Although it did cool the room very well, it broke just after a yr of having it.
For just over $400, I would expect it to last longer than a yr.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
litemakr
from Phoenix, AZ

Excellent unit - cools well, very quiet

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't understand some of the negative reviews here. This unit has plenty of power and airflow. It cools very well and is much, much quieter than other models I have seen. All I can think of is that those reviewers had a defective unit or weren't operating it correctly.
I live in the Arizona desert and use it to cool my bedroom. It does a great job, even when it is well over 100 degrees outside. I initially bought an Everstar, but this is a much better and much quieter unit. I would give it 5 stars if it had controls on the unit (not just the remote) and if ithe remote was backlit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
AZtransplant
from Mesa, AZ

Great AC unit

PostedJune 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this unit for our bedroom to supplement the main AC in our condo since our bedroom didn’t cool well when the outside temperature exceeds 110 during Phoenix summers. Our bedroom is about 280 sq. ft., well with the stated coverage area for this model. The AC unit works spectacularly for this room with the main AC turned off. So at night we are cooling the only room we are using. It only needs about 30 minutes to cool the room, even if the main AC is not in use.
Other reviewers are correct about the flimsy plastic window insert, which works okay to get started, but not satisfactory for long-term use. So I bought a piece of 1x6 inch wood, cut it to the necessary length, cut a rectangle for the exhaust adapter, and used the foam insulation provided with the portable AC unit to make a good seal.
The casters under the AC unit are strong, and the unit rolls easily. If we want to use it in another room, it will be necessary to make a wooden window insert for that room.
Our bedroom has a TV and other electrical items, all of which run with no problem while the portable AC unit is in service. The compressor is as quiet as advertised when it cycles. It can be heard, but nowhere nearly loud enough to wake a sleeper.
We are delighted with this portable AC unit and would highly recommend it, at least in circumstances such as ours. It was ready to use right out of the box except for creating the permanent window adapter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
Seriously
from NC

So far so good

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
So far this unit has performed better than I expected. Based upon the general mediocre reviews of portable units such as this one, I really wasn't sure what to expect. It comfortably cools a 300 sq. ft room in under an hour. The primary location for this unit is an upstairs bonus room or finished room over garage. It has an storage area behind one of the walls that is basically uninsulated area behind the roof. This makes this room very hot in the summer and very cold in the winter.
The only negative I have is the window exhaust. The piece that goes in the window is kinda flimsy but does the job. I also wish this unit was a dual a/c & heater but my primary concern was cooling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
nvrfear
from Cleveland Ohio

Some people need instructions

PostedJune 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been using one of these units continuously for 2 years in a server room. It gets heat not only from the outside, but the equipment running in the room. Running non-stop for two years, this unit is flawless. I liked it so much, I bought a second one and it has been cooling another server room for several months. There is no duct work in this room, so it is doing the job all on its own. I am even considering a third unit for my home. If you are having trouble, I have no idea why, maybe read the manual to be sure you are using it right because I have two that work at least as well as advertised. I will say the functions of this unit are MUCH more easily controlled from the remote though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
LauryB
from Huntington Beach, CA

Small & Quiet

PostedAugust 26, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We replaced our old Maytag Portable for this one. We use it in our master bedroom. It keeps the room really cold. It is much more quiet than our old Maytag. I love that you don't have to empty a water container if you're using the air conditioner only. It drains directly to the hose in the window. If you use it as a humidifier, then you have to drain it. The louvers in the front close when you turn the unit off, so it doesn't get dust or dog hair clogged in it. That's a great feature. We have only had it for 3 days but are very happy that we bought it. Also, it was on sale at our local home depot for only $399! I would recommend this unit to everyone, especially for the price, size and how quiet it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
nhdiyer
from New Hampshire

met expectations

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've owned this unit for a year now and use it occasionally in an upstairs master bedroom that is about 400 square feet.
I chose it over a window unit because of how quietly it operates. The trade off is its ability to cool the room. Over the past week during our 2010 July heat wave it ran on Mega Cool continuously for 5 days. During the heat of the day in the afternoon, the temperature in the room was at 80-81 with low levels of humidity when the outside temp was at ~100. I had the shades drawn all day and the room was relatively sealed. At night it would get down to 75-76 with outside temps in the 80's.
In un-conditioned spaces the temps would run from 86-90 with high levels of humidity during the same time period.
Overall the unit has performed flawlessly over the past year. Yes the window panel is flimsy and it is heavy, but it is quiet and it looks good.
I had slightly higher expectations, but as I plan on buying a second one and after reading many reviews of many different brands, they can't be compared to the performance of a window unit.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
urbanliving
from Grand Rapids, MI

Don't Buy

PostedJune 25, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit to cool our bedroom which is the upper level of our house. We ran the unit for 3 days and 3 nights, continous operation, and it never got the tempurature below 85 degrees. The unit has no power, even on Mega Cool. You are better off getting a window fan to blow in outside air, that will provide more circulation and cool the room better. We have a 15 year old window unit which cools our entire main level when it is ran at low to middle settings and that unit gets turned off at night. Also, this unit is extremely heavy, not only did I have to carry it upstairs, but now I am going to have to carry the unit back downstairs so that I can return it. If you buy this, save the reciept becuase you will need it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
dkmctx

VERY DISAPPOINTING

PostedJuly 12, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
My window unit went out in the middle of 100+ heat wave, the temp that day was 106! I purchased this unit from Home Depot the next day but I was soon very dissapointed and very, very hot, even at night the unit could not cool. This Sharp did not have any power so it produced very little air and what it did produce was not very cool. Its air output was a faint whisper. I now have a powerful, cool Everstar and I am finally cool. I see some good reviews on this air conditioner but my experience was very bad, so all I would say is purchase at your own risk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
elizabrat00
from Fort Collins, CO

Great Air Conditioner!

PostedApril 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this AC unit last summer and it worked great! The max cool really does give you and extra level of cool, its temperature sensor really works, and it is very quiet. The remote is nice, though you have to point the remote in just the right spot to get it to do anything and I wish the remote had a backlight. Very minor annoyances but I am a very picky person. Overall, I wouldn't recommend anything else in this category because it works great and looks so nice too, while putting out more cool than other units in its same category.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
eric29usa
from springfield, va

DO NOT BUY ABSOLUTE JUNK ! ! !

PostedJune 19, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This ac first of all has no power at all. Even on the mega cool the air hardly blows and you have to do everything by the remote as the unit has no controls on it at all. It does not cool any room as it has no air flow hardly at all you could buy a fan and get more air than this so save your money and buy the lg or the soleus air model they sell at the store and call sharp and tell them their product is junk just like i did. This sells for $499 at the home depot and not even worth close to that at all it is the worst a/c i've ever seen in my life i just want to save you from buying this and having to haul this as it's very very heavy and too heavy to be portable and have to return to the store so whatever you do choose another model and not this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
IgnacioLibre
from Pasadena, CA

So Far So Good

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Definitely a sleek looking and quiet running unit. I for one actually care that it looks nice in my apartment too and that it doesn't appear clunky like other portable A/C units. But is it worth the extra $100 over the comparable Everstar or Soleus units? So far, yes. Though there is no energy efficiency rating as others have said, it runs on only 9amps (typically portable units run 10-12) of electricity which is quite impressive. So I don't expect to be shocked when my electricity bill comes next month.
I disagree with others that say this isn't 'library quiet' because it definitely is. In fact, you barely hear the compressor kicking in and the steady flow of cool air is hardly audible if you're sitting 10 feet or so away from the unit. I'm so used to hearing the rumble and shake of the A/C compressor that I was pleasantly surprised to hear it operate so quietly.
Features are nice as others have said incl. sleep and on/off timers, adjustable louvers, the easy 'mega cool' function, fan/dehumidify functions, etc. Plus, when turned to off the louvers automatically close, which is pretty cool so that random stuff won't fly into it during non-usage. And if you ask me, stuff like that should be included on a $500 unit!
The only challenge out of the box was to setup the window vent. My vertical windows open left to right and have a 48' opening which happens to be the max opening for the kit included with this A/C. Because I couldn't actually screw the plastic vent kit into the sidewalls of the window, I had to get a bit creative with tape to keep things in place. I was happy with the result though and after adding some of the (included) foam padding, the window was sealed off as good as can be.
So like the title says, so far so good. This A/C looks the part and has thus far adequately cooled ~400SF of my living room and dining area. I plan to update this review if things ever turn south. Overall I'm pleased with this unit and would recommend to others.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 10,000 BTU Portable Air Conditioner
kevinmistric
from Baton Rouge, LA

Solid Portable

PostedJune 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I don't know what the other customers are complaining about but I live in the south where a/c is criticle and this unit performs better than any other portable I have delt with. It blows just as hard as any window unit of the same price and cools my 25' x 18' x 15' living room with little to no effort at all. I have a smaller central unit than I should have but there is only 3 months a year that I realize that, and since I purchased this unit I couldn't be happier. My electric bill is no more than $30 a month more than regular but my living room is cool and relaxing during the hottest months of the year which is well worth it. I would recomend this unit to anyone looking for a solid portable a/c. Remember, it is a portable, not a window unit, so the sound is more noticeable but not annoying. I give it 4 stars because you have to drain it every so often, otherwise a good buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>