728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White

The LG 19.7 cu. ft. French door refrigerator combines the style and design of a side-by-side with the convenient food storage of a bottom freezer. It provides easy access to the foods you reach for the most by placing them at eye level. At 30 in. wide, this refrigerator will fit in more kitchens.
Overall rating:
4.676 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 73
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(57)
4
(13)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product71 of 74reviews
Customer reviews for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
Review 1 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Phoenix, AZ

Fabulous Fridge!

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am short on space in my historic-district home, and this fridge has exceeded my expectations. This is not a big fridge, yet it's designed so well that you can fit quite a lot in it.
The freezer design is not bad, but again, it is not a large fridge. I particularly like the top shelf that pulls out for easy access of things I use often, such as ice cream. The bottom drawer is more for storage of things I use less often, like Girl Scout cookies and frozen meals I've made in advance.
All in all, this is a great fridge and I couldn't be happier with it.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from New Milford, CT and Naples, FL

LG Refridgerato

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this refridgerator. It fit my small kitchen. It looks great. It works great. Home Depot delivered it in a timely manner, the delivery men were great. The savings on my electric bill was very surprising. Everyone who comes into my place loves the look of this refridgerator. I have recommended it to so many people. I have the larger model in my main home.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Newcastle, WA

A Great Refrigerator!

PostedMay 3, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A Great Refrigerator
On 04-25-2009 purchased LG LFC20760SW in Bellevue, WA store. Paid $1,192.55. Free delivery and free hall away. Delivered 3 days later.
By mid-April 2009 we were actively looking for a new fridge to fit in 32(W) x 68 ½ (H) available space in our kitchen. Then right away I found that the available choices are not too many. Besides the dimensions a great freezer section and a built-in ice maker was a must. Functionality and overall appearance were important aspects too. Energy efficient features: it is good to be green. Our price constraint was to spend no more than $1500.
The pictures and sales brochures always look great but before I buy, I usually want to spend some time playing with the product I am researching and considering.
The bottom-freezer, French-door style was not our first choice until I ran into the LG LFC20760** (“SW” white, “ST” stainless steel or “SB” black) models. Showed to my wife some pictures and product specs of (here on The Home Depot’s web-site and from manufacturer’s web site). She liked the look and overall design.
Bottom freezer meant that the food in the refrigerator section is within an easy reach. I agreed as I don’t open twenty or more times per day the freezer while I do that for the refrigerator. At the same time, the location for the crisper bins with all of the fruits and vegetables moved closer to me. I like repeating myself that eating balanced and healthy means more, as fresh as possible fruits and vegetables and less vitamin supplements. With the French door design as soon as you open the doors you will be reminded to check the crisper bins too.
The near “The Home Depot” store didn’t have any of these LG LFC20760** refrigerators on display but they had in the store few larger and bigger LGs from the same product line. After I tested a little larger unit in the store I was sold to the smaller unit that would fit in our space.
For a good surprise, the sales assistant at “The Home Depot” told me that because this product is an Energy Star rated appliance they will take off 10% of the price right away. So no hassle of sending product registration, receipts and so on to our utility company to get refunds or rebates (you may check what options are available for you on EnergyStar’s website.). At the same time, the delivery and haul away were free. Bought it instantly while I was in the store; paid less than $1200 with all taxes included.
Three days later the fridge was delivered at home. It was installed within less than half an hour. The doors and freezer drawer had to be removed and attached. Connecting a new icemaker line (a tubing line) required opening and closing of a panel cover at the back. Overall: professional, fast and clean installation. The old was gone and the new one started running.
It takes a little time to discover how the new fridge behaves. We left the temperature controls (one for the fridge, and another for the freezer) set at 4 (default). The fridge is quiet. If you leave the doors or freezer drawer open longer then you will hear the sound alarm. Very nice! Two hours later the ice maker made couple of ice cubes. The ice-maker is noisy. This is something you cannot hear around display units at the show rooms because the appliances there are not powered as refrigerators/freezers thus no running icemaker too.
The overall 19.7 cu.ft. volume of LG LFC20760** [refrigerator: 13.4 cu.ft.; freezer: 6.3 cu.ft.] is greater than the volume of our old refrigerator. It looked like the refrigerator offers less space than we had before but we have much larger freezer now.
There is a left and a right set of shelves in the refrigerator; as a result there a good flexibility arranging the inner space. We removed the can dispenser as it occupied too much space (we usually don’t put so many cans in the fridge - it takes 13 cans to fill up the can dispenser. There is an icemaker; couple of ice cubes per can serve the purpose.)
The door racks offer good storage space; still combined it is less than the single door space. We have the French doors: perceived as a factor in better energy efficient appliance while offering a better look. Yes, the French doors are factor in the energy savings if you have one of the doors left opened for shorter intervals; but imagine if you opened both doors or kept one of the doors opened long enough?
The freezer is excellent! It is roomy and you can store a whole turkey or use the divider to partition the space. If you are well organized you don’t have to go to the bottom of the freezer section to find what you look for. A help in that direction provides the glide-out drawer basket in the freezer. It is very convenient when pulling out the ice bin or reaching some other items on the basket. When pushing it back the ice bin may hit the feeler arm of the ice maker; if this is the case then the feeler and the bin slightly move and allow you to return the basket in the normal position without any other issues.
A week later after the appliance is running, both temperature controls are still set at 4 (the available positions are from 1 to 7). The temperature in the refrigerator is ~ 40 Fahrenheit; the freezer maintains ~ 2 Fahrenheit. It is likely we may need to re-adjust these dials in the summer and winter.
I and my wife like the refrigerator very much. Our little girl doesn’t use the fridge yet but from what she can express – I can say she likes it too. We can store more food in the freezer section and always have a gallon or two of ice cream there. We have a convenient and a flexible in organizing a refrigerator section. Overall LG LFC20760** is a great appliance. Excellent price!
p.s. I found interesting that not a single manufacturer offers more than 1 (one) year standard warranty on their refrigerators. I am not a believer in the extended warranty. I hope our LG LFC20760SW will run without any problems for at least 10 or so years. Will see.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Avon, Ohio

blouise

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in a century house and although we have plenty of room in the pantry for any size refrigerator, the doorways that one must navigate an appliance through are very narrow. After many weeks of looking, this LG was the only model that met all our refrigeration requirements and actually fit through the doorways without requiring the removal of beautiful woodwork.
The unit is very attractive with plenty of inside space to meet our needs. The freezer compartment is generously sized and the only noise one can hear occurs when the ice cubes fall into the storage tray.
We have bought other appliances from Home Depot and once again found the best price there. Delivery was handled very well with absolutely no problems, as usual.
I have already recommended this product and Home Depot to 3 friends and 2 family members.
I have no cons for this appliance but would strongly recommend that anyone who purchases this refrigerator pay close attention to the Owner’s Manual as it does take the full 24 hours for the unit to reach proper temperature.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Dallas

Nice, but some surprises

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We chose this fridge primarily because it would fit into the space where our 15-year-old top-freezer model used to be. This seems to be a high-quality fridge. It feels solid and well made. It is nice to have the refrigerator compartment at eye level, although the cheese drawer is up so high we can't really see into it anymore. We have no complaints about the performance of this fridge. However, we had a couple of not-so-nice surprises we want to warn people about, particularly those who are going from an old-style top-freezer model to this new armoire design. This fridge is MUCH less efficient than the old design in terms of interior space. This is true of both the refrigerator and freezer compartments. We were especially amazed at how little door-shelf space it has. We threw away half of our condiments from the old fridge and still could not fit everything in the new one! For some reason the ice-catcher tray in this fridge is huge -- much bigger than it needs to be -- and therefore eats up a lot of the already limited freezer space. Another surprise was the fact that this fridge beeps at you if you leave a door open too long. It took us a couple of days to figure out where that low-grade beeping noise was coming from (and then we felt like idiots). We actually wound up buying a second refrigerator to store the rest of our food. This involved having an electrician install a new outlet on a wall in our laundry room. It's nice having a second fridge, but the whole drama made for a very expensive adventure in fridge replacement! If we had it to do over again, we'd simply replace our old fridge with another space-efficient top-freezer model.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Jersey City, NJ

Great, Great, Great Refrigerator

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been driving my husband crazy since this refrigerator arrived more than a year ago. Every single time I open it, I say, "I LOVE this refrigerator!"
I have not had a single moment of trouble with it. It's quiet and perfect.
The most wonderful thing, I think, is that everything in the refrigerator is at eye level. No more bending over, trying to figure out what's in there. And it is extremely capacious.
The same thing goes for the freezer. I can open it and, even though I have it stuffed, I can see at a glance what's in there and where.
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous.
I can't believe I lived for so many years with refrigerators that were miserable to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Illinois

Best use-of-space.

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The french door concept and roll out bottom freezer, along with intelligent placement of compressor and condenser allow maximum storage with minimum outside dimensions.
This unit is exceptionally quiet.
The door hinges are robust, due to the abilty to store gallon containers on them.
All in all a great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Erwin, TN

WOW!!!!

PostedFebruary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got my delivery and am SO happy with my purchase. The fridge is huge in size yet fits nicely under the cabinet in my kitchen. I have more room in this refridgerator than I will probably ever fill! The humidity crispers are great and having enough room on the doors to put a gallon of milk is a big plus! It even has a can dispenser which made my day completely. Now I won't have to put my soda boxes in there to get wet and stick on the shelves. The icemaker works great and it cools at such a low temperature that I will save money on my utility bills. Nice refridgerator! I would highly recommend it to anyone!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Norwich,Ct.

Terrific Refrigerator

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had this refrigerator for about 2 weeks now and just love it!!! I read all the reviews on several different styles and brands that would fit in the space I had to work with and I am very happy that I chose this one. Nice bright inside lighting, runs quiet and is spacious. I am enjoying having the freezer on the bottom as well. The crispers are a very good size and the bottom 2 will even hold orange juice cartons in them if tilted a bit. Just buy the ones with caps that open and close the carton. The bins on the doors hold a lot and even the open door chime is nice. I feel this is a good buy and for a smaller space it is perfect without having to give up anything.I have not had the ice maker installed yet but may decide to at some other time. So far I am very pleased with this purchase and the delivery men were quick and courteous and on time resulting in a smooth transaction as well. This is my first online appliance purchase and it was so easy. If you need a refrigerator I would definitely recommend this one !!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Coloma, MI

Excellent Purchase - My MOM is Jealous!

PostedDecember 15, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My old fridge was over 10 years old and simply was not working like it ought to - but I held out and continued with it the last few years. Finally, this year, during the Friday after Thanksgiving sale - I purchased this fridge. I love it! I live in a mobile home - nice and new - but there are limitations in dimension and this fridge fit PERFECTLY into the space. Also, it is just HIGH QUALITY - not the first (nor the last) LG appliance I've bought. I find there is NOTHING NEGATIVE about this product. It has a nice little bell sound when the doors are open too long. It is HIGH EFFECIENCY. It keeps things fresher longer. I love the FRENCH-STYLE doors. The delivery crew was quick and helpful - and having received the price I did through the holiday, I have NO COMPLAINTS. Of course, when you've had something NOT work for a long time and then get something that does - it is easy to go on about it. But truly, I am a picky shopper & found this purchase to be well worth it.
First thing my mother did when she saw it was exclaim, "This is the fridge I want when I get a new one!" Certainly, I agree and hope she does. And she is not the only complimentor - all my friends that have seen it have stated the same thing. Freezer at the bottom is truly a huge plus - less stress on the back to get into the fridge now.
Couldn't be more happy! Thanks LG! Thanks Home Depot!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Jersey City, NJ

Absolutely Fabulous

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This LG refrigerator is, far and away, the best I have ever had. Not only is the price great, but the quality is spectacular. I shopped for an LG refrigerator after buying an LG air conditioner which also is by far the best I have ever had. I love the French-door styling: No more bending over and trying to see things on bottom shelves. Everything about it is so ergonomic that you know someone put a lot of thought into the design. I purchased this size because a larger one would not have fit in my kitchen. I absolutely love it. It even has a little beep if you leave the doors open. Just the greatest! p.s. the delivery people were the most professional I have ever had deliver an appliance. I cannot recommend Home Depot and LG more strongly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White

I absolutely love my new refrigerator

PostedOctober 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I never thought I'd get excited about an appliance, but I just love this fridge. It is beautiful, runs quiet. love having the freezer on the bottom. I can see everything in the fridge w/o having to bend over . Like most of the other reviewers I chose this size because the house is older and the larger models wouldn't fit in the spot where it had to go, otherwise I would have bought a larger model, but I don't consider this to be a "little" refrigerator, if it's not standard size, it's pretty close. It meets my needs perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from New Hampsire

lg 19.7 cu ft fridge

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
LOVE this fridge... so far. Have only had for a week, but it is really nice. Love that the refrigerator portion is on the top, very roomy. Ice maker was super easy to hook up and is working perfectly. Fit in the space better than expected, we were worried that it might be too large, but it was just right. Got a great price on this from Home Depot-- $798!! What a steel, we were expecting to pay $1500 or more for this style of fridge, and when this was on sale, we couldn't pass it up and took advantage of the $500 savings!!!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Tallahassee, FL

Great Value

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We were very restricted (odd deminsions) due to the age of our home... I had my heart set on a bottom-freezer style fridge but was quickly losing hope; until we found this LG. I was so prepared to settle for a base-model fridge that I was flabergasted to stumble upon this model, which not only has the freezer on the bottom, but all of the fancy features I thought were unfeasible. To top it all off, we found an incredible price at Home Depot and delivery was free and super convenient.
Highly recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Homer, NY

Perfect for a small space

PostedJuly 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased this item from Home Depot. The service I received during the purchase was great. I have an older home so I have limited space for a refrigerator. This unit was the correct size and I felt I did not give up any features because I needed a smaller size. I had one small problem since I purchased it (about 2 months) but the issue was fixed quickly (one of the drawer guides in the freezer was not completly attached). Overall very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Plainville, CT

LG French Door Refrigerator 19.7 CF

PostedOctober 23, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ample room, large freezer compartment. Easy access to controls. Excellent price. Quick delivery. Overall, a very pleasent experience. The HomeDepot staff was well informed, very curtious, helpful and worked with us to determine our price goals and needs. I would highly recommend this product and service.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Chicago, IL

Perfect Fridge

PostedDecember 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This fridge is PERFECT! Ideal for small spaces and those who don't want the traditional top-freezer fridge. It looks amazing in my kitchen. I love that it makes 3 different size ice cubes. Shelves are adjustable which is key! I would recommend this to all!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Colorado Springs CO

details, details

PostedJuly 10, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We had a small space in our kitchen with an indentation in the wall that would've been lots of work to make wider so this was the only fridge that I could find that would fit, not have an outside water/ice dispenser and that had two doors for the fridge and drawer for the freezer on the bottom.
We have had it only one day but these are my observations: "Stainless Steel" is what the doors/front is but the sides are a greyish finish, not 'steel' to match the front. Something I was unaware of while I was shopping; I thought the sides would be like the doors. That kind of mattered since the left side is very exposed and visible; wouldn't have mattered if it was tucked inbetween cabinets or walls. I didn't know what our previous refrig cubic feet was. This one seems much smaller. (The freezer could've been smaller and the fridgerator part larger since we have a large freezer in our garage.) We had to take a shelf out to allow tall bottles and cartons to have enough space to sit. After we did that we were happier with the storage capacity; was kind of a shock trying to fit everything into it from the other ?cu ft frigerator we had owned. One thing I am very very pleased with is the quietness of the motor. Very nice. (We don't have the ice maker connected; the noisyness of the ice maker was a complaint I had read about in other reviews, but of no concern to us since we weren't going to connect it.) Also, this fridge sure does roll easily. Kept coming out from the wall (there might be a 'lock' for the wheels-- I haven't looked at the manual yet; we put a door stop under one wheel to keep it stationary.)
Time will tell how well this appliance performs for us. We had our previous frigerator for 25+ years. We are wishing it well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
from Minnesota

Nice Looking Refrigerator

PostedSeptember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I, like other reviewers, had only so much space for a new refrigerator, both in where I had to put it and getting it through doors. I wanted something more than the standard top freezer models. I had, in the past, a side by side with water/ice dispenser and did like it. So, after seeing the bottom freezers with a drawer I decided that I wanted the convenience of side by side (french doors) with the bottom freezer. And, for the space I had, 30 in, this was the ONLY model out there that fit the bill. No other manufacturer makes one like it.
I have had it one day and I agree with most of the other observations. The refrigerator section does not provide for tall items unless you either move 1 shelf way down OR remove it completely. The door shelves, although they are all gallon size do not hold any more condiments etc than my top freezer did (18 sq ft model). Everything did fit though. Plenty of drawer / produce crisper space.
The setting of 4 are as stated, defaulted, and after 24 hrs everything seems to be ok as far as temperature. I may set the refrigerator one notch more to 5. I do like my milk more than the average cold.
The freezer will take getting used to being on the bottom. My top freezer was completely full and now moving it into the new freezer, I have a completely filled bottom freezer. It reminds me of the small chest freezers. Like my top freezer, I will have to move items to find what I need. However, for those items you use all the time there is the basket which holds the ice maker ice tray. And, speaking of the ice maker, it is nice. It makes 3 different sizes of ice - small, medium, or large. Just push the electronic adjustment button right on the ice maker. Also, a button up on the electronic panel in refrigerator has "ice plus". For 24 hrs it will freeze things in the freezer faster and make ice faster. And, as with any ice maker the only noise I hear is the release of the cubes into the tray and then the filling of the ice maker with water. Approximately once every hour, or so, you will hear the ice drop and the ice maker fill until your tray is full. Per the instruction manual, it will make about 130 cubes per day. And, the ice maker tray is big. I would think that possibly if replace with 1/2 the size a person could gain some additional space in the storage basket.
Next, one of the reviewers talked about the ease with which this refrigerator moves. True, but if you screw down the levelers on each side of the front bottom, it no longer moves with just a tug of the doors.
Mostly, the refrigerator is everything I expected because I researched and read other reviews and I am very happy with my purchase. Time will tell as I hope it will last me for years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for 19.7 cu. ft. French Door Refrigerator in Smooth White
Based on the average of (55) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
52 out of 55 recommend this product
Features 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5