728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Caulk & Sealants or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant

3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant

DAP 3.0 Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing High Performance Sealant is ideal forcaulking and sealing tubs, showers, sinks, backsplashes, counter tops,toilets, fixtures and for repairing loose tiles. It is the only sealant that offers 10 year mold resistance specially formulated with Microban Antimicrobial Product Protection which fights the growth of stain and odor-causing mold and mildew on the sealant, so thesealant is easier to clean and stays cleaner between cleanings.DAP 3.0 Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing High Performance Sealant is 100%waterproof and is water resistant in 30 minutes to get the room back in use quicker and also reduces the risk of ruining the project by getting the sealant wet too early. Perfect for kitchen and bath projects, it adheres to ceramic tile, glass, natural stone, vinyl, polystyrene, wood, metal, drywall and painted surfaces.
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
25%of customersrecommend this product2 of 8reviews
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
2.0 out of 5.0
5
(2)
4
(0)
3
(0)
2
(0)
1
(6)
Quality 
2.3 out of 5.0
2.3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
25%of customersrecommend this product2 of 8reviews
Customer reviews for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
Review 1 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
from NC
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Best Caulk for Bathrooms

PostedNovember 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've used many brands & options for caulking in home & marine settings and I feel Dap's new 3.0 for Bath & also for Siding are at the top of their league as far as quality & durability for residential. I consider it 5200's little brother that is workable, but dries to a rubber consistency. I've read the other reviews on here & was moved to give this product a fair representation. If caulking is applied properly, skimming it with a finger is not truly necessary. This product is indeed very sticky & quick to dry so I'd recommend applying a thin bead ( 1/16 - 1/8 ) in 3 ft. sections, if not advanced in the art of caulking, licking your finger & skimming the top lightly. If you attempt to push it in like other lower grade caulks, you will find yourself in a sticky mess. The trick is to get it right or close with the tip of the tube first & then fine tune quickly with a wet finger. If you mess it up, let it dry, peel out & try again, but if you are on the clock, quickly remove with a putty knife & denatured alcohol. It will look ready in a few hours, but fully cures in 12 - 24 so give it a day before you shower on it. I have yet to see it fail, crack, change color or shape. Hope this helps, remember the easiest way isn't always the best way. BZ
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Good Coverage, Good Protection, Looks Great, Looks High End, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant

warning- bleach discolors

PostedNovember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This caulk is more difficult to work with than most, but I could have overlooked that. However, soon after applying it to our tub, I sprayed Tilex mold and mildew remover on some small patches of mildew on the grout above the caulk. Immediately, everywhere the Tilex came in contact with the caulk turned a pinkish orange color that cannot be removed. It is ABSURD to expect that a product made for bathrooms won't not at some point come in contact with a product containing bleach. Not looking forward to removing the caulk and starting over with a different product!
Cons: discolors
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant

Doesn't paint well!!

PostedNovember 19, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We used this product to caulk and seal crown molding and wainscot in our bathroom since it would be exposed to moisture and the container says "paintable." Painting this product is like painting plastic; the paint separates and doesn't adhere. Totally bummed and not sure what to do now!
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
from clay ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

will stick where others wont, but not as easy as water based.

PostedApril 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
dap 3.0 is not as easy as water based caulks. we purchased a shower enclosure from home depot and could not find any caulk to stick to it we called the manufacture and they said 100 % silicone wont work , so we called all the big name caulk company's and asked if they could refer us to a certain kind? after 4 attempts with different caulks, dap 3.0 worked ,it held great and is not tacky like many say, I did not see any difference from this caulk and the most popular silicone caulks. it does require that you use rubbing alcohol to clean up ,and it does dry fast ,which in my book is great, if you have a poly composite shower , this is your ticket.
Pros: Very Adhesive, Good Protection, Looks Great, Dries Quickly
Cons: Difficult to Clean
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too difficult to apply

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I should check the review before I bought it, but I didn't. Totally agree with other reviews.
It extreme too sticky, too difficult to apply and clean up. I'm not sure the 10 years mold resistance works to not. But not worth to try it. Just use 5 years mold resistance for the rest of the jobs, a lot easier.
Cons: Difficult to Clean, difficult to apply
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
from Detroit, MI
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Smells horrible and comes out clumped

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We switched out of all Dap products the smell is to much to be around
Cons: Difficult to Clean, smells bad
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
from Charleston, SC, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Have your mineral spirits ready when using Dap 3.0

PostedJune 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This gooey stuff will stick to your fingers, rags, and towels, anything. You will throw smeared rags and towels away. You can not neaten/push in your bead line with a wet finger without making a mess. You can't wipe away excess. It does not mix or deteriorate with water as proven by not being able to wash it off my hands with soap and water. I had to use mineral spirits for hand washing. I'll try to scrape away some of the excess mess tomorrow with a 5 in 1 tool.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.0 9 oz. White Advanced Kitchen, Bath & Plumbing Sealant
from Atlanta, GA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sadly Disappointed

PostedDecember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Coverage 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We have used many DAP products and also DAP 3.0 before however this was our first experience with the Bath & Kitchen specific product. Previously we have recaulked our tub 4 times in the past 18 months. Our DAP 3.0 Window & Door was used last time and worked for about 4 months. We assumed it was because we needed the 3.0 Bath applied instead. After 3 hours of laborious caulk removal, we applied the DAP 3.0 Bath & let fully cure--not introducing any agents even after the 24 hr full cure period. A day after that cure period ended the shower tile was cleaned and when the water and cleaner hit the caulk (without any scrubbing) it turned pink! The whole reason we recaulked the bathroom as now a waste! I called DAP Tips and sure enough, bleach products with high bleach concentrations should not be used on DAP 3.0 products which is what most bathroom cleaners have. Now another 2 days will need to be spent waiting for the chemicals to stop reacting, cleaning with mineral spirits in hopes the pink will go away and if not...we start again! Its worth $7 a tube if it stays as it says it does but being pink and looking dirty...that isnt worth the 5 hours it takes to complete the job. The labor involved in removing the caulk is reason enough to avoid risking an issue like this & find another product that performs just as well.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.