728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Home>

Customer reviews for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer

X7 Airless Paint Sprayer

The Magnum X7 Airless Paint Sprayer is a great choice for homeowners or handymen that have occasional painting projects. It features an Auto Prime design to ensure fast priming and a Power Flush system for easy cleaning. This sprayer includes an SG2 metal spray gun which features a full trigger and in-handle filter. The cart can transport a 5 gal. bucket with the Paint Saver pail hook.
Overall rating:
4.387 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 110
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product98 of 108reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.4 out of 5
5
(77)
4
(21)
3
(1)
2
(3)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product98 of 108reviews
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 114 Answers
Customer reviews for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
Review 1 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Sarasota, Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Outstanding value

PostedApril 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am a professional painter, been in business for 30 years. I have purchased, rented, and used many different types of airless sprayers over the years, this little Magnum X7 is easily the most fun little unit I have ever owned. Lightweight, easy to get in and out of work areas... and I don't know what some of these people were doing wrong, but I rarely, if ever, had to stop a project because of a problem. Once, it failed to pick up and prime, but I was able to take off the valve, inspect, found a tiny grain of sand lodged in the ball valve, and presto! unit worked like brand new....down time maybe 20 minutes. I rate this Magnum X7 very highly.
Pros: Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Ma
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mixed Feelings

PostedMay 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
While this does an excellent job once you get it up and running, the biggest problem is the spray tip constantly needing adjustment. I do not understand why it keeps getting clogged. We are using the recommended tip and followed all operating instructions to the letter. This one issue added more time to work that could have been done in under an hour. By the time my husband and I were finished with the job, we were covered in deck paint much more than you get from a roller and brush method. This was all because of fiddling with a spray tip. It's a great unit, but this sort of inconvenience defeats the purpose of having a product meant to save time.
The other con is how the unit stops spraying if the paint is not well over the end of the suction tube. You are left with a good amount of paint at the bottom.The reason I bought this was to spare me the pain of having to paint a tremendous amount of lattice work around a split level deck, but now I still have lattice work to paint that only needs a quart or so. That small area of lattice work will take several hours to finish, but it could have been done in just 2 minutes with the sprayer. Ugh.
I have decided NOT to use this for the floors of the decks for the fact that this method does eat up more paint than the roller method. I think it is a good unit if you can keep it going without too much fiddling around. It will save you a lot of time and effort for larger jobs. Even with the kinks, the job was done much more quickly than painting lattice by hand. I cannot recommend to others because they might not have the patience to deal with the spray tip issue, or the waste of paint. We will buy a new tip (even though this one was new) to see if there is a difference.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, gets the job done quickly
Cons: spray tip gets clogged often, eats up more paint, unit stops before paint runs out
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Response from By GracoIncSupportMay 14, 2015By GracoIncSupportMay 14, 2015
Thank you for your feedback on using the Magnum X7 to spray your deck. I am sorry that you experienced problems with tip clogs during your project. Although the ability to reverse the spray tip to clear clogs is a key benefit of our airless sprayers, having to do this continuously throughout your job can be frustrating. Depending upon how old the material is or the type of material used, it may need to be strained to remove larger particles. It is not common, but when you are having to continually clear tip clogs, my recommendation is to strain the material. Paint strainer bags are available at most retailers that sell paint. Your feedback has been very helpful and we plan to update our manual to inform customers to strain their paint if they experience excessive tip clogging during their project. I hope your future painting projects with the Magnum X7 are successful and save you time!
Review 3 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Tampa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't like painting

PostedJune 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product and don't dread painting anymore. Never used a paint sprayer before and after a few minutes you would have thought I used one for years. Do view the video first.
Pros: Even Application, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
Cons: hose is too stiff
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Phoenix, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Paint Spayer

PostedJune 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The sprayer was easy to put together, the instructions were easy to read. Cleaned up really easy.
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Modern
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Mid Michigan, Midland, MI 48640, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

What a time saver

PostedSeptember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Used my new X7 to spray Behr Premium semi-transparent stain on my large deck. Covered up the plants and house with Painters plastic and a meticulous taping job. Followed the instructions on the stain and used the 515 spray tip and had my wife back roll with a 5/16" microfiber roller. We knocked this out in no time. Hand brushing all that lattice would have been a chore.The sprayer performed flawlessly. I bought the swivel and the spray hose whip as people suggested. Also, as people have mentioned, the DVD instructions are awesome. This was a water based stain so cleanup was a breeze using the garden hose flush. Lastly, grab yourself a spray shield- 36" x 9" with handle. A great tool to keep from spraying unwanted areas. Go to YouTube and watch videos of people using an airless sprayer. Next up will be spraying my new T1-11 sided shed.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
 
Products related to my review
36 in. Aluminum Spray Shield
 
 
 
Straight Hose Swivel Connector
 
 
 
9 ft. x 400 ft. Clear .31 mil Painter's Plastic
4.7 out of 5(6)
 
 
 
 
 
+17points
33out of 49found this review helpful.
Review 6 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Garden Grove, CA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

excellent purchase

PostedJuly 14, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
i have 20 years painting experience . i have used many different types of airless pumps . this is an excellent pump for the price . i was not sure if it would maintain consistent pressure . when i got into an open area . i opened up the gun to see what it could do . it maintained pressure consistently. you will have to add a spray whip and swivel to your hose at the gun to alleviate coiling . but that goes for any airless hose . excellent value for the price . pump , hose and gun . you will not find a better set up for the price . i highly recommend this product ...............
+48points
52out of 56found this review helpful.
Review 7 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Baltimore, ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very good purchase of the sprayer.

PostedJune 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Sprayer was easy to use. I was pleased with the paint job on my fence. It was much faster than painting by hand. Only problem I experienced was that the sprayer began to clog up. I finally figured out how to properly unclog the sprayer and the job went with no problems.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Wyoming, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent Value, Good Coverage, and Great Time Saver

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this sprayer, the 20" tip extension, and a couple different tips with it. I love it. I made this purchase to paint the interior of a 3,983 square foot house that has a large great room with 20 foot ceilings and about 25X30. In total we went through about 38 gallons of paint and 9 gallons of Primer. Not many sprayers will spray primer and this one does. I don't usually do reviews but felt compelled to support this product since its so rare these days to feel like you got your money's worth. Take your time cleaning it and it will pay off. I also never strained my paint but probably should have.
Pros: Even Application, Easy to Apply, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean
Cons: you go through more more paint than expected
+19points
20out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 9 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from seattle wa
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works fine does the job.

PostedMay 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I painted three houses with this pump over three years. I never had a problem. Worked fine. to the whiners complaining about clogged tips. that is your fault. Filter your paint and don't let any dirt into the paint. duhhh.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer

very reliable

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I very seldom write reviews but this product warrants a review. I bought an x7 in 2007 and have used it over and over and it has been a great sprayer. I have used oil paint and primer, latex paint and primer and had no problems with it. I have painted the exterior of 5 houses and the side of an old brick building that took 25 gallons of paint as well as lots of interior work and also have allowed friends to use it that needed a sprayer. All told I would venture a guess it has sprayed over 170 gallons of paint through it. I have replaced a couple tips that have worn out but the sprayer has been great and has made me some extra money doing painting for others. Unfortunately I think the pump is going bad on it now, and I will have to get another one, but who can complain with the time saved and the money earned using it. I will be buying another one just like it since I know it is very reliable. Just wanted everyone who is looking at this sprayer that it is more than worth the price.
+43points
49out of 55found this review helpful.
Review 11 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from South ga.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This sprayer worked perfectly for our fence painting project.

PostedApril 11, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After careful review of features,etc on various sprayers I chose to order this model partially based on customer reviews, as I've never used a paint sprayer before. It took about an hour to unpack, watch the DVD and set it up. I am a 43 yr female with no sprayer experience. After few minutes adjusting pressure I was well into my project with no problems. What had took literally weeks to paint by hand before, I had finished in less than 2 hours. Definitely worth the money! It's one of those things you never knew you needed. Kind of like buying and using a pressure washer for the first time. The clean up wasn't as clean and simple as shown on the DVD but wasn't to bad. I also liked that it was easy to manage even with a 5 gal bucket of paint hanging from it. Easy to store due to overall size too.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 12 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer

It keeps going

PostedJuly 5, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this sprayer over a year ago after trying to paint the ceiling in my house. Tried a couple of other brands that ended up going right back to the store and by hand it took over two hours to do a single room. After trying a couple of test/practice shots in the garage I was ready to go. Re-finished the room I tried by hand in just about 30 mins. Actually did 3 bedrooms, living and dining room and a hallway in just a couple of hours and that included the walls!. Took longer to get prepped than to get the work done and the cleanup between paints and storage was painless. Really a great investment.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Geat Time Saver

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this awhile back and had never gotten around to painting the garage. Well HD had paint on sale plus a rebate so I figured it was time. I went to YouTube to "brush up" on how to clean/technic to use it. It turned out real easy to do both. I guess it would have taken a day and a half to roll/brush the garage and it only took about 2 hours to spray, another 1.5 hours or so to mask roof edging and soffit. and about 30 minutes to clean. I also painted an enclosed porch in about an hour including masking a window. Now I'm looking for things to paint. The house has aluminum siding which is still in real good shape (DARN !!).
I had bought two 50' hoses (100' max) and was well worth it. The only minus is the gun included is not a mainstream model and you have to look for filters for it. HD still sells the model and they should still stock consumables but don't. I also opted for a tip that would paint a smaller pattern (more control). I also bought a 10” extension which helped in not having to extend my extension ladder.
Overall it was well worth the money considering that I will be adding on to the house hopefully in the next couple of years.
Pros: Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use
+17points
18out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 14 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value line

PostedJune 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit as I had a barn and house to paint but did not want the hassle of renting since the jobs were broken up over many days. The price point vs renting for this unit made it a break even at 6 days. I have run about 20 gallons of paint through the unit and it has performed very well. My only complaint is around the quality of the hose provided. It is too short and too rigid for my liking. A longer and more flexible hose would be good. The user instructions were easy to follow. The spray gun is well made and provides consistent coverage every time. Cleaning is pretty straight forward and the wheels make it easy to move around. Was a smart buy!
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 15 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Lapeer Michigan
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Greco Magnum X7 and X7 Pro Bad Pressure Pumps

PostedOctober 12, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought 3 X7 paint sprayers in a 24 hr period and non of them worked. All three of them had bad pumps. This isn't an infringement on Homedepot, but on Greco Magnum products. The only product that would push successfully through the equipment was H2O/water. Homedepot needs to find a better wholesale product to perform for the homeowner/contractor remodeler.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great, Modern
Cons: does not spray latex paint or water based stain
+5points
8out of 11found this review helpful.
See Vendor Response
Response from By GracoIncSupportOctober 15, 2014By GracoIncSupportOctober 15, 2014
Dear Customer,
I am sorry you had a bad experience with your Magnum Paint Sprayer. Perhaps you would like to give us a call at 1-800-543-0339. Maybe together we can determine why your sprayer isn't working as expected. Again I am sorry for this, and would like to help resolve this issue.
Regards GRACO Technical AssistanceGracoInc
Review 16 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from North Alabama
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great sprayer, easy to use.

PostedJune 4, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The last time I painted my house with a brush and roller it took forever. I was able to spray approx. 400 linear feet of soffit, fascia, eves and gutters in less than 3 hours. It takes longer to clean and prep all of the areas, move the ladders and clean-up the sprayer than paint. You can literally paint as fast as you can move your ladder. The one thing I would definitely recommend is to Purchase a Smaller Size Tip ( both fan width and orifice) than the one provided with the gun. The smaller spray width and volume is just a lot easier to control in tight areas. Produces less overspay.
+25points
31out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 17 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Vine Grove, KY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent time saving quality product

PostedOctober 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The Graco X7 sprayer is an excellent time saving product. After reading all the reviews, I was prepared for set up and clean up issues but had none. Followed the quick start and clean up card attached to the sprayer and both were a breeze. Since this was the first time using an air sprayer, I knew I had to start in an area of the fence that was hidden. It took me about 100 feet of my six foot privacy fence to get it right and use the correct application method. The remaining 460 feet was effortless. Covering an area of over 6000 square feet using Behr stain took only 11 hours which included set up and clean up. Looking forward to using this on other projects on my "honey do" list. Thanks Home Depot for a quality product at a great price (and saving me precious time).
Pros: Even Application, High Quality of Material, Easy to Apply, Easy Instructions, Good Coverage, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
-3points
19out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 18 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Lakeview Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Airless Painter

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Coverage 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Low odor 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is an easy to use airless unit that is suited to the DIY home owner or light commercial painter. In other words this is a high end unit for the home owner or lower end for a professional painter. This unit is easy to setup, use and clean. Having a reversible tip makes cleaning very easy. If you are looking for a painter that will do hundreds of gallons and paint do it day after day you will need something a little better. If you are looking for an airless that will give quality paint jobs for the home owner and will keep doing it for many years this is the one for you. It would be nice if the hose was 50' instead of the 25' that comes with this unit but that must be part of how they keep the price down. The 25' works okay for inside painting projects but 50' would be great for outside painting. Highly recommend for the high end DIYer.
+29points
33out of 37found this review helpful.
Review 19 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Savannah, GA

Great product, take care of it and it will take care of you

PostedMay 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this sprayer in 2006 with a friend of mine after starting a handyman business and we put it right to work. It is shockingly easy to use. This sprayer allows you to spend the needed time to prep certain places for painting. For example, I painted my parents house recently, something I had been doing about every two years, and it was always rolled and brushed. After I purchased this sprayer, I was able to take the time to properly sand the house and do little surface repairs and because of the efficiency and effectiveness of this unit, it has been 4 years since last paint and no need to do again anytime soon. After it was finished, multiple neighbors offered me painting work. It does that good of a job!
I was able to paint around 10 or so houses completely with this and then, made the mistake of lending it out to friends and family and they managed to break it. I am however going to purchase another as the price is more than worth the time it saves you on the first job alone.
Aside from being much easier to use, it makes the job look fantastic! There's no discerning look between brushed trim and rolled walls, as this is usually an issue. It lays a nice even coat and trim work is completely removed from the job. Well worth it all the way.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for X7 Airless Paint Sprayer
from Placerville Ca
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad investment

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a big painting project and decided to purchase a airless. I had nothing but problems, the tip kept clogging and the suction screen is so tall that it starts to suck air when there is still a lot of paint left in the can. when it is working it works well but it is a fight. I am hoping home depot will take it back. JUNK
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>