728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

The RIDGID 13 in. Corded Planer has a 120-volt, 15 amp motor that delivers 9000 RPM for maximum power and continuous operation. It features a 3-blade cutterhead with quick-changing, dual-edge blades that are reversible and self-aligning for a smooth surface with minimal blemishes. The multiple depth features help you achieve your desired depth, and the 13 in. wide feed capacity is great for planing large stock.
Overall rating:
3.75 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(160 reviews) 156
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product111 of 152reviews
Rating Breakdown 160 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(81)
4
(28)
3
(9)
2
(14)
1
(28)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5
3.6 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product111 of 152reviews
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 80 Answers
Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Review 1 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Lincoln, NE
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Should be stocked in all stores.

PostedApril 2, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use my planer to clean up old pallet wood, and rough cut wood from a lumber mill.
Pros:
Easy to set up, only a couple of screws.
Minimal snipe if you have two people running the machine.
Love the lock feature.
Seems durable so far.
Cons:
Ridgid assumes every one has dust collection system.....need to find a chip / dust bag elsewhere.
If doing large pieces it has to be bolted down....needs a wider base.
Output support for material is not level with machine.....always a bit of snipe.
Made in China....should be made in USA.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Plainview, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Excellent Planer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This planer is extremely cost effective. I compared the DeWalt and Delta with it for a long time, and finally chose the Ridgid. The tool required little assembly and the stand I built for it was perfect. I trimmed 1/64" from a small board, and the finish was like glass. Those who complain about snipe with this planer simply need to adjust it. The carriage lock and the two height gauges work very well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Lake orion
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad inventory

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The First thickness planner when it arrived the box was wet and the cutting head was broken.reordered a second one and the top was dented and the metal was rusted.they must be stored in a wet location.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Huntsville, AL

Outstanding shop tool

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many reviews on other planers and careful consideration, I have come the conclusion that this planer best fits my needs and out performs my Delta. The set adjustment on the side allows me to set a certain depth limit and I can plane down to that measurement and it can not go down any further. I planed five 1 1/4" rough cut red oak down to 5/8" with no problem. I hooked up the dust collection port to my dust collection. I didn't need a mask and broom to clean up a mess. The gauge for depth is right on the mark. I mic'd the thickness and it was right on. Ridgid has a planer that is very hard to beat.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Planer for all woodworkers

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Planer is great and cuts super smooth surfaces. Easy to use and the cutting indicator is a neat tool on the front. My only complaint is that the lead and trail cutters cut about 1/64 deeper on the initial insertion and extraction of the lumber, causing a little cup on the front and end of the board. Not a big deal if you plan for it and trim it off after.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good for about a year

PostedApril 30, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this planer for small shop projects over the past year or so and now I need to replace the gearbox assembly ~$100 part as all the bushings, housing for the bushings, and one of the gears is shot. This assembly is very poorly made allowing the thin bushings to spin and ovaling the holes which they mount. Very disappointed in the quality of this planer.
This planer does not come close to quality of a Delta although similarly priced. I wish I would have taken the covers off to look at this before purchasing, I would have chosen differently.
Pros: none
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from St. Louis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The pit falls of on-line orders

PostedMay 23, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The unit was purchased online. So either I received a returned unit or the shipper beat the begeebers out of the unit (no outward damage to box however makes me think it was a recycled return). The unit came out of the box with a broken base (not solid steel by a long shot). When adjusting the blades up or down, the chain has so much slack in it it drags on the work table. The blade/clamp cartridge is slightly out of square (like the frame of a car after a bad accident) so it is virtually impossible to send a piece through and get an even plane across the surface (the board has to be spun around to level out however this leaves the center ever so slightly higher. I wish I had bought this from a brick-and-mortar location instead of online. Again this unit was beat to .... before it arrived and you know what an unbelievable pain in the ... it is to do a shipping return --- down time, eval time, will they fix it or replace it and then ship time ... all over again. I suggest you purchase from a store so you can check the packaging for signs of repack, then you can provide transport rather than put it in the hands of someone who does not give a wit about wasting your time and money.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Buffalo NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Purfect purches

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
easy to set up and use good instuctions works like a dream
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Kosciusko MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've bought 2 and both are lemons

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 1st planer because a friend had one, and I thought he was pleased with it. Used it for about 10 hours and it had some kind of internal failure. Called hotline, checked all possible easy fixes, nothing. Took it to service center to be repaired, but time restraints caused me to buy another one. Took it out of the box and ran for MAYBE 15 minutes, long enough to get almost 1 gallon of shavings of pine taking 1/32" at a time. Planer started a clicking sound and board stopped moving. Turned planer off and checked, rollers not turning. Called hotline, was told it sounds like internal failure. Taking it back to get money back, will try a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, unable to repair

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thickness planner after it was recommended and due to a lifetime warranty. However, after 4 months the gear box broke and I took it in to the repair center to get it repaired. The gear box has been on backorder for over 4 months. The repair center said they always have this trouble with ridged products. What good it the warranty if they don't make the parts to repair it with. This will be the last Ridgid tool I buy.
Cons: Not Durable, no spare replacement parts
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Chardon Ohio
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

13 in. thickness planer TP1300LS

PostedApril 3, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It was a good tool when I fist bought it . However , Trying to find replacement blades is a dead end , waste of money & time & so Its a boat anchor now ! Ridgid should take it back in on a trade in or buy back , if they can't provide blades when needed & Home Depot is no help at all in Chardon Ohio . You may as well ask someone at Sears about these products . The TP1300 has different models , I have the 2 blade TP1300LS . I find blades on the net for over $80.00 ! & who knows what they really fit . I can't get help at Home Depot for any of the parts I need for the Ridgid tools I have bought there ! Like a fence , tires & new blade etc... for my 14 in. Band saw . Router parts etc... Avoid ! Maybe I can trick some sucker into buying this one & get a yellow box planer .
Pros: Strong Suction
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Bloomington, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did a lot of research into planers and felt that this one was the best value with the LSA available. Planer works great, goes right thru hardwoods.
Assembly was easy and all adjustable points were properly set from the factory. No adjustments needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great planer for the price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use my planer every day in a pretty high volume shop and plane oak, cherry, walnut, hickory, cedar, maple and cypress. It has some issues - would prefer the vacuum port come out the other side away from the adjustment handle; I replaced the cheap screws holding the blades in place with 10MM bolts with heads; does drop some chips even when hooked up to a large vacuum - but not a real problem; have had to take in for service once and the process worked well - fixed and returned in a couple of days; I was going through a set of blades a week until I made a jig that allows me to hone the old blades and they work great for a few days - then I just hone them again - fortunately I kept all the old blades; had some snipe issues that required a lot of "tinkering" to resolve. Overall a GREAT value for the money. I have a larger, much more expensive planer that I rarely use - blades for my other machine are $120 a set. My Home Depot store has plenty of blades (although I don't buy them any more now that I have my honing jig set up). My planer has the lifetime warranty - I plan on using it for a LONG time...
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Little Planer

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this for over a year and run perhaps 200 bd ft of hardwood (oak & maple) through it in my hobby level shop. It has performed flawlessly out of the box. If you want a production shop level planer - do not buy this, it will fail you - if you are a serious hobbyist or a weekend sawdust maker, buy it with confidence.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from N. Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second time to the repair shop in 5 months

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine started out great, planing boards smooth without any marks left. But after 3 months of use, (on soft woods like aspen,pine,and cedar) I had to send it to the repair shop which had it for one month. The diagnosis was that the bearings were worn. I have had the unit back about a month and a half and now the some problem seems to be happening. I am fed up. I used to think you could not go wrong with a Rigid tool but I am proven wrong. My plan of attack is to contact both Rigid and Home Depot and see what my options are. If you are planning to purchase this item, please rethink it and spend a little more money and purchase a better unit
Cons: not manufactured well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Phoenix AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the first planer I've owned/used. It works great and is simple easy to use. The only issue I have is getting the in/out feed tables adjusted properly but it still works great!
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

Damaged when box was opened. Box looked fine.

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Top of machine was smashed in and was unable to use. the box was undamaged. I will have to return this very heavy item to a store for credit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

seems great so far, aside from trouble clearing shavings

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is my first planer. I bought it about a month ago because it was almost half off (making room for the next model year?). Seems to work great, but I have two issues so far: 1) the internal blower does not seam to be able to keep up with the shaving that accumulate. The result is shavings getting between the cutter head and the board, creating a fishing scaling effect on the finished board. 2) it only has one speed, and its kind of quick. This has not effected the cut quality yet, but i think if the feed was a bit slower, it may help with the material being cleared away.... for the full price, it sounds like the dewalt may be a better purchase, but for what I paid I am pleased with the result.
Pros: easy to adjust
Cons: shaving dont clear well and can mark the board, infeed maybe a little too quick
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Palos Hills, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than my old Delta planer

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace my 20 year old Deltal 12 inch planer. Love this unit, works perfectly right out of the box planes smoother than my old unit, I think because it has three blades instead of two. A minor adjustment on the outfeed table virtually left no snipe, and the repeat a cut feature is very accurate, after planing a board at the repeat a cut settings I found the thickness to be exact, would definately recommend this unit.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Flower Mound, Texas

Ridgid 13"Thickness Planer W/ 3-Blade Cutterhead

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this planer! After reading many reviews on planers in its price range $300.00 - $400.00 I decided to buy this one. Most all of the Delta, Dewalt and Ryobi's had issues that guys didn't like the results they were getting or the issues they had to put up with like, time to change out the blades and snipping issues. My view on buying tools is this...I may not be a professional wood guy but I also don't want to buy something I am not going to be happy with. So I tend to pay a little more for my tools so "A" they last me and "B" I don't have issues with changing part or having problems getting them easily. So, I went with this one.
Un-boxing: It was a snap. All I had to do was put on the dusk collector and plug it in. I made sure that all of the blades and such were tight and level and then ran a test peace of wood. "PERFECTION"!!! I can not state how much I like this thing. I even ran an end grain cutting board made from Purple Heart through it and it didn't snip it at all. Buy this thing you wont be sorry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>