728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

The RIDGID 13 in. Corded Planer has a 120-volt, 15 amp motor that delivers 9000 RPM for maximum power and continuous operation. It features a 3-blade cutterhead with quick-changing, dual-edge blades that are reversible and self-aligning for a smooth surface with minimal blemishes. The multiple depth features help you achieve your desired depth, and the 13 in. wide feed capacity is great for planing large stock.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(152 reviews) 148
Open Ratings Snapshot
74%of customersrecommend this product107 of 144reviews
Rating Breakdown 152 reviews
3.8 out of 5
5
(78)
4
(27)
3
(9)
2
(13)
1
(25)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5
3.7 out of 5
74%of customersrecommend this product107 of 144reviews
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 77 Answers
Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Review 1 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Lake orion
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Bad inventory

PostedDecember 31, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The First thickness planner when it arrived the box was wet and the cutting head was broken.reordered a second one and the top was dented and the metal was rusted.they must be stored in a wet location.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Plainview, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Excellent Planer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This planer is extremely cost effective. I compared the DeWalt and Delta with it for a long time, and finally chose the Ridgid. The tool required little assembly and the stand I built for it was perfect. I trimmed 1/64" from a small board, and the finish was like glass. Those who complain about snipe with this planer simply need to adjust it. The carriage lock and the two height gauges work very well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Planer for all woodworkers

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Planer is great and cuts super smooth surfaces. Easy to use and the cutting indicator is a neat tool on the front. My only complaint is that the lead and trail cutters cut about 1/64 deeper on the initial insertion and extraction of the lumber, causing a little cup on the front and end of the board. Not a big deal if you plan for it and trim it off after.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Huntsville, AL

Outstanding shop tool

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
After many reviews on other planers and careful consideration, I have come the conclusion that this planer best fits my needs and out performs my Delta. The set adjustment on the side allows me to set a certain depth limit and I can plane down to that measurement and it can not go down any further. I planed five 1 1/4" rough cut red oak down to 5/8" with no problem. I hooked up the dust collection port to my dust collection. I didn't need a mask and broom to clean up a mess. The gauge for depth is right on the mark. I mic'd the thickness and it was right on. Ridgid has a planer that is very hard to beat.
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Bloomington, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great purchase

PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Did a lot of research into planers and felt that this one was the best value with the LSA available. Planer works great, goes right thru hardwoods.
Assembly was easy and all adjustable points were properly set from the factory. No adjustments needed.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Long-Lasting
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Oakhurst, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

FIRST PLANER

PostedMarch 11, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My first planer, so I have nothing to compare with, but the unit seems to work very well. Easy setup, simple adjustment, minimal snipe. Won't change blades for a long time so no comment there, but it made short work of some pretty rough cherry. Would definitely recommend.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Little Rock, Arkansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rigid Planer

PostedMarch 18, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the fist planer i have ever purchased, so yes I am a novice at planning... I have other Rigid tools and have been very impressed with their durability. The price was less then other comparable units so i decided to buy this model. I was very happy to have purchased the unit and looked forward to using it.
Upon setting up the planer, I cranked the cutting heads down and noticed the head seemed to get into a bind when descending downward. I ran a board through the planer, it extracted the saw dust in a good manner, however there was definitely snipe on each ends of the board. I was unable to eliminate this.
Then, I proceeded to set the head for a second board and I could not lower it. The main brake was off and it took some investigating to see what was prohibiting the cutting head from descending. There are four vertical rods that the head slides up and down on, each have a type of "brake" that locks the head into position while cutting. When one sets the main break, a flimsy piece of metal pushes these four brakes to lock the unit into place. The front right brake was binding up as I lowered the cutting head. I tried to hold the brake to maintain a vertical position while adjusting the head but could not. Then the "pot metal" that holds this break broke.
I took the unit back to Home Depot, prior to returning it I looked at the display unit. It too had the exact same problem.
At first, Home Depot was hesitant to return my money even though I had a receipt and had purchase the unit two days prior. They wanted to send the unit and warranty the broken part. In the end, I received my money back and purchased a similar model made by DeWalt for $40.00 more... It does not extract the saw dust as well as the rigid, but definitely has a more secure and stronger braking system.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Lake Jackson, TX
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good tool for the price range

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I use the planner to trim boards to the thickness I use in my furniture hobby making and small projects. For the price and the warrenty of Lifetime I could not have done better.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Limited Features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Kosciusko MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've bought 2 and both are lemons

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 1st planer because a friend had one, and I thought he was pleased with it. Used it for about 10 hours and it had some kind of internal failure. Called hotline, checked all possible easy fixes, nothing. Took it to service center to be repaired, but time restraints caused me to buy another one. Took it out of the box and ran for MAYBE 15 minutes, long enough to get almost 1 gallon of shavings of pine taking 1/32" at a time. Planer started a clicking sound and board stopped moving. Turned planer off and checked, rollers not turning. Called hotline, was told it sounds like internal failure. Taking it back to get money back, will try a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

seems great so far, aside from trouble clearing shavings

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
This is my first planer. I bought it about a month ago because it was almost half off (making room for the next model year?). Seems to work great, but I have two issues so far: 1) the internal blower does not seam to be able to keep up with the shaving that accumulate. The result is shavings getting between the cutter head and the board, creating a fishing scaling effect on the finished board. 2) it only has one speed, and its kind of quick. This has not effected the cut quality yet, but i think if the feed was a bit slower, it may help with the material being cleared away.... for the full price, it sounds like the dewalt may be a better purchase, but for what I paid I am pleased with the result.
Pros: easy to adjust
Cons: shaving dont clear well and can mark the board, infeed maybe a little too quick
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, unable to repair

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thickness planner after it was recommended and due to a lifetime warranty. However, after 4 months the gear box broke and I took it in to the repair center to get it repaired. The gear box has been on backorder for over 4 months. The repair center said they always have this trouble with ridged products. What good it the warranty if they don't make the parts to repair it with. This will be the last Ridgid tool I buy.
Cons: Not Durable, no spare replacement parts
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great planer for the price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I use my planer every day in a pretty high volume shop and plane oak, cherry, walnut, hickory, cedar, maple and cypress. It has some issues - would prefer the vacuum port come out the other side away from the adjustment handle; I replaced the cheap screws holding the blades in place with 10MM bolts with heads; does drop some chips even when hooked up to a large vacuum - but not a real problem; have had to take in for service once and the process worked well - fixed and returned in a couple of days; I was going through a set of blades a week until I made a jig that allows me to hone the old blades and they work great for a few days - then I just hone them again - fortunately I kept all the old blades; had some snipe issues that required a lot of "tinkering" to resolve. Overall a GREAT value for the money. I have a larger, much more expensive planer that I rarely use - blades for my other machine are $120 a set. My Home Depot store has plenty of blades (although I don't buy them any more now that I have my honing jig set up). My planer has the lifetime warranty - I plan on using it for a LONG time...
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Effingham, Il
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good purchase.

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Very good performance. Very good quality and price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Powerful
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Little Planer

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I have owned this for over a year and run perhaps 200 bd ft of hardwood (oak & maple) through it in my hobby level shop. It has performed flawlessly out of the box. If you want a production shop level planer - do not buy this, it will fail you - if you are a serious hobbyist or a weekend sawdust maker, buy it with confidence.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from N. Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second time to the repair shop in 5 months

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine started out great, planing boards smooth without any marks left. But after 3 months of use, (on soft woods like aspen,pine,and cedar) I had to send it to the repair shop which had it for one month. The diagnosis was that the bearings were worn. I have had the unit back about a month and a half and now the some problem seems to be happening. I am fed up. I used to think you could not go wrong with a Rigid tool but I am proven wrong. My plan of attack is to contact both Rigid and Home Depot and see what my options are. If you are planning to purchase this item, please rethink it and spend a little more money and purchase a better unit
Cons: not manufactured well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Hesperia MI
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Could be worse.

PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Upon arrival everything looked great. I did not check the carriage before i started using it but within 6 boards the carriage was off about 1/16th" side to side. It is not user adjustable and I am still waiting on confirmation of service agreement.....we will see. Also, the feed is not steady perhaps because the carriage is crooked.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from New Orleans, La
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to use

PostedJanuary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I am still dialing in this planner. I do have a little snipe and the tables are even and I mostly have ran only 4 foot long X 5 1/2 wide pine through it. The only time I ran a board that was about 10 inches wide I did notice that it left a line in it. I haven't had the time to dig further into the reason why I hope it is not a chipped blade from the factory. I will have to look at it closer and post what I find. It is easy to use and powerful enough for what I am using it for which is mostly building crafts for now..
The only reason that I am not giving it 5 stars is because of the line that I mentioned and although the snip in minimal I feel like it should not have any considering the length of material that I am running through it.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Palos Hills, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than my old Delta planer

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace my 20 year old Deltal 12 inch planer. Love this unit, works perfectly right out of the box planes smoother than my old unit, I think because it has three blades instead of two. A minor adjustment on the outfeed table virtually left no snipe, and the repeat a cut feature is very accurate, after planing a board at the repeat a cut settings I found the thickness to be exact, would definately recommend this unit.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Flower Mound, Texas

Ridgid 13"Thickness Planer W/ 3-Blade Cutterhead

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I really like this planer! After reading many reviews on planers in its price range $300.00 - $400.00 I decided to buy this one. Most all of the Delta, Dewalt and Ryobi's had issues that guys didn't like the results they were getting or the issues they had to put up with like, time to change out the blades and snipping issues. My view on buying tools is this...I may not be a professional wood guy but I also don't want to buy something I am not going to be happy with. So I tend to pay a little more for my tools so "A" they last me and "B" I don't have issues with changing part or having problems getting them easily. So, I went with this one.
Un-boxing: It was a snap. All I had to do was put on the dusk collector and plug it in. I made sure that all of the blades and such were tight and level and then ran a test peace of wood. "PERFECTION"!!! I can not state how much I like this thing. I even ran an end grain cutting board made from Purple Heart through it and it didn't snip it at all. Buy this thing you wont be sorry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Illinois
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value!

PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Well built and a good price! The warranty registration can be a bit cumbersome, but I would most definitely recommend this to a friend!
Pros: Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>