728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

The RIDGID 15-amp13 in. Corded Planer features a 3-blade cutter head with quick-changing, dual-edge blades that are reversible and self-aligning for a smooth surface with minimal blemishes after cutting. The multiple depth features help you achieve your desired depth, and the 13 in. wide feed capacity is great for planing large stock.
Overall rating:
3.815 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(135 reviews) 131
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product95 of 127reviews
Rating Breakdown 135 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(71)
4
(23)
3
(8)
2
(11)
1
(22)
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product95 of 127reviews
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 63 Answers
Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Review 1 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Plainview, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Excellent Planer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer is extremely cost effective. I compared the DeWalt and Delta with it for a long time, and finally chose the Ridgid. The tool required little assembly and the stand I built for it was perfect. I trimmed 1/64" from a small board, and the finish was like glass. Those who complain about snipe with this planer simply need to adjust it. The carriage lock and the two height gauges work very well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Planer for all woodworkers

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Planer is great and cuts super smooth surfaces. Easy to use and the cutting indicator is a neat tool on the front. My only complaint is that the lead and trail cutters cut about 1/64 deeper on the initial insertion and extraction of the lumber, causing a little cup on the front and end of the board. Not a big deal if you plan for it and trim it off after.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Eastpoint, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ridgid's 13" thickness planers are not what they used to be

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This new Rigid planer is not as good as an 8-10 year old Rigid planer I had used for several years in our shop and had to replace because Rigid no longer manufactures a $3.50 drive sproket that broke on the older machine. This new machine is very very loud during operation and it's control switches, knobs and locks feel "tinny and cheap". The "Repeat-a-Cut" knob fell off the first day and won't stay attached. I had to "re-assemble" some of the machine before I could use it the first time. I do not recommend it.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Huntsville, AL

Outstanding shop tool

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many reviews on other planers and careful consideration, I have come the conclusion that this planer best fits my needs and out performs my Delta. The set adjustment on the side allows me to set a certain depth limit and I can plane down to that measurement and it can not go down any further. I planed five 1 1/4" rough cut red oak down to 5/8" with no problem. I hooked up the dust collection port to my dust collection. I didn't need a mask and broom to clean up a mess. The gauge for depth is right on the mark. I mic'd the thickness and it was right on. Ridgid has a planer that is very hard to beat.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from York SC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disapointed

PostedDecember 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Just took my second one back to HD for credit. My wife started building small benches at the start of 2014 out of bed head and footboards. We had lot's of old reclaimed wood for the bench seats, they just needed a little planning for clean up. I did my research and was excited about the ridged planer and the warranty. First one lasted less than 2 hours and stopped feeding the wood, after checking the unit visually I could see a small belt hanging out the side. I didn't call ridged, I just took it back and exchanged it for #2. Took it home and several days later started running some cedar through it. Half way thru my 6 boards the motor stopped and would not restart. Soooo back to HD to get a credit. You really can't beat those folks at HD and I'll find another planer from them to meet our needs.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Iowa
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Sadly broke in shipping.

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Sadly I can't really give you anything useful here apart from it was broke in shipping. I have not even had a chance for them to help me fix the thing as it way past working hours. So here's to hoping I can just return to the store to keep me from shipping it to them.
Have a Great Day!
Pros: was a good price
Cons: Not Durable, not packed well!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

Great for a Home Workshop

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer was easy to set up and does a great job. Just what I wanted for my home workshop
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Kosciusko MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've bought 2 and both are lemons

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 1st planer because a friend had one, and I thought he was pleased with it. Used it for about 10 hours and it had some kind of internal failure. Called hotline, checked all possible easy fixes, nothing. Took it to service center to be repaired, but time restraints caused me to buy another one. Took it out of the box and ran for MAYBE 15 minutes, long enough to get almost 1 gallon of shavings of pine taking 1/32" at a time. Planer started a clicking sound and board stopped moving. Turned planer off and checked, rollers not turning. Called hotline, was told it sounds like internal failure. Taking it back to get money back, will try a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

seems great so far, aside from trouble clearing shavings

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is my first planer. I bought it about a month ago because it was almost half off (making room for the next model year?). Seems to work great, but I have two issues so far: 1) the internal blower does not seam to be able to keep up with the shaving that accumulate. The result is shavings getting between the cutter head and the board, creating a fishing scaling effect on the finished board. 2) it only has one speed, and its kind of quick. This has not effected the cut quality yet, but i think if the feed was a bit slower, it may help with the material being cleared away.... for the full price, it sounds like the dewalt may be a better purchase, but for what I paid I am pleased with the result.
Pros: easy to adjust
Cons: shaving dont clear well and can mark the board, infeed maybe a little too quick
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, unable to repair

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thickness planner after it was recommended and due to a lifetime warranty. However, after 4 months the gear box broke and I took it in to the repair center to get it repaired. The gear box has been on backorder for over 4 months. The repair center said they always have this trouble with ridged products. What good it the warranty if they don't make the parts to repair it with. This will be the last Ridgid tool I buy.
Cons: Not Durable, no spare replacement parts
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from St Petersburg, FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets my needs

PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As many reviewers have already stated, you will usually get a small amout of snipe about 3-4" from each end of the board, bust most frequently on the leading edge. For my work, this is a small issue as it's easily sanded out or I just cut it off. I have run several boards of hard maple, cherry, walnut and even a little purple heart & padauk. These hard woods are giving me a little tear-out, but making several very light passes (about 1/6 turn at a time) seems to give the best results. I do wish the machine extracted more of the chips & dust. I have been using a shop vac connected thru a Dust Deputy and I get a fair amout of chips exiting the front of the machine. The depth stop is a nice feature and accurate, but it doesn't have setting for thicker pieces. For the price, I'm pleased with what this will do. It's been a good addition to my little shop. Wear Hearing Protection when using this... it's loud!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: needs better chip extraction
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Seattle, WA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Only a deal if it works the way it's supposed to.

PostedDecember 1, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wanted to like this planer so badly. It was within my budget and seemed easy enough to use. But this thing turned out to be a lemon!
As a disclaimer, I am not anti-Rigid (as some reviewers seem to be). I own a few Rigid drills and a sander. My brother has the 10" sliding mitre saw and it is great. But when they cut corners on their design it is just one big mess.
I originally bought this planer for a project using oak, but wanted to test it first on something softer. I had some 4"-6" cherry boards that I needed to trim down about 1/8". So I ran them through and everything seemed great. But when I tried to butt join two of them something was off - the blades on the Rigid weren't level. They cut about 3/64" difference from left to right. I could actually pass a 4" board through on the left side and it wouldn't so much as tough it. But on the right side it would sheer quite a bit off! After watching 5 Youtube videos and reading the directions a half dozen times I still couldn't get it any more than 1/32" within level. So sad.
Just for kicks I ran a very dry oak board through it, making what I thought was a 3/64" cut (hard to tell because the knives were so off. It left the board full of pock marks and tearout. Not cool! After trying just a few different species of hard & soft woods one of the rollers stopped working. At that point I realized it was time to return this thing pronto.
I borrowed a friend's Dewalt unit, which is over $200 more expensive with fewer included accessories. But right out of the box it ran like a dream with much better precision. So the moral of the story is that you get what you pay for, I guess.
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
Cons: Not Durable, inaccurate, too much tear out
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great planer for the price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use my planer every day in a pretty high volume shop and plane oak, cherry, walnut, hickory, cedar, maple and cypress. It has some issues - would prefer the vacuum port come out the other side away from the adjustment handle; I replaced the cheap screws holding the blades in place with 10MM bolts with heads; does drop some chips even when hooked up to a large vacuum - but not a real problem; have had to take in for service once and the process worked well - fixed and returned in a couple of days; I was going through a set of blades a week until I made a jig that allows me to hone the old blades and they work great for a few days - then I just hone them again - fortunately I kept all the old blades; had some snipe issues that required a lot of "tinkering" to resolve. Overall a GREAT value for the money. I have a larger, much more expensive planer that I rarely use - blades for my other machine are $120 a set. My Home Depot store has plenty of blades (although I don't buy them any more now that I have my honing jig set up). My planer has the lifetime warranty - I plan on using it for a LONG time...
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Little Planer

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for over a year and run perhaps 200 bd ft of hardwood (oak & maple) through it in my hobby level shop. It has performed flawlessly out of the box. If you want a production shop level planer - do not buy this, it will fail you - if you are a serious hobbyist or a weekend sawdust maker, buy it with confidence.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from N. Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second time to the repair shop in 5 months

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine started out great, planing boards smooth without any marks left. But after 3 months of use, (on soft woods like aspen,pine,and cedar) I had to send it to the repair shop which had it for one month. The diagnosis was that the bearings were worn. I have had the unit back about a month and a half and now the some problem seems to be happening. I am fed up. I used to think you could not go wrong with a Rigid tool but I am proven wrong. My plan of attack is to contact both Rigid and Home Depot and see what my options are. If you are planning to purchase this item, please rethink it and spend a little more money and purchase a better unit
Cons: not manufactured well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Orlando
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Slow but good

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Used this machine to save a ton of money. When I lived in Houston I could buy rough-cut hardwood cheaper than white-pine at the store that sold me this planer. Probably planed 1000 bf of pecan, oak, mahogany, cocobolo etc with no problems. Have to shave really thin to prevent tear-out and binding up the machine, but if you take it slow it works great.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Light Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer

Good upgrade from the TP 1300

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy setup. Had to adjust the tables a little. Other than that is it ran great out of the box. Quick shipping, though the box was trashed. Packing of this heavy thickness planer could be better.
Pros: Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Oshkosh, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth the money.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Ridgid 13 in. thickness planer and after planing 10 pine boards the motor started to smoke and lost power. I called the 1-800 phone number on the planer and Ridgid sent me a new motor. I replaced the motor about a week later and things seemed to work OK. About 4 months late,r I used it again to plane a couple of pieces of oak and about half way through the project the motor started smoking and lost power again. Back on the phone with Ridgid but this time they wanted to charge me $370.00 for another motor. I only paid $389.00 for the complete planer !!
Cons: Not Durable
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Palos Hills, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than my old Delta planer

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace my 20 year old Deltal 12 inch planer. Love this unit, works perfectly right out of the box planes smoother than my old unit, I think because it has three blades instead of two. A minor adjustment on the outfeed table virtually left no snipe, and the repeat a cut feature is very accurate, after planing a board at the repeat a cut settings I found the thickness to be exact, would definately recommend this unit.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 13 in. Thickness Corded Planer
from Lebanon, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Planer

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer is easy to setup and use. I bought it because I needed to plane some barn wood that had both sides of ruff finish. Used it right away when I received it and love it . The height adjustment and lock is very easy to use. I have trimmed about 50 1x4 and 1 x 6 trim boards no problem. For the price and the lifetime warranty you can,t beat the price.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>