728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Woodworking Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Planer

13 in. Thickness Planer

The RIDGID 15-amp13 in. Corded Planer features a 3-blade cutter head with quick-changing, dual-edge blades that are reversible and self-aligning for a smooth surface with minimal blemishes after cutting. The multiple depth features help you achieve your desired depth, and the 13 in. wide feed capacity is great for planing large stock.
Overall rating:
3.789 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
73%of customersrecommend this product74 of 101reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
3.8 out of 5.0
5
(59)
4
(15)
3
(7)
2
(9)
1
(19)
Quality 
3.5 out of 5.0
3.5 out of 5
Value 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
73%of customersrecommend this product74 of 101reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 52 Answers
Customer reviews for 13 in. Thickness Planer
Review 1 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Planer for all woodworkers

PostedMay 14, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Planer is great and cuts super smooth surfaces. Easy to use and the cutting indicator is a neat tool on the front. My only complaint is that the lead and trail cutters cut about 1/64 deeper on the initial insertion and extraction of the lumber, causing a little cup on the front and end of the board. Not a big deal if you plan for it and trim it off after.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Plainview, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Excellent Planer

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This planer is extremely cost effective. I compared the DeWalt and Delta with it for a long time, and finally chose the Ridgid. The tool required little assembly and the stand I built for it was perfect. I trimmed 1/64" from a small board, and the finish was like glass. Those who complain about snipe with this planer simply need to adjust it. The carriage lock and the two height gauges work very well.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, All In One, Sturdy, Accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Huntsville, AL

Outstanding shop tool

PostedMarch 20, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After many reviews on other planers and careful consideration, I have come the conclusion that this planer best fits my needs and out performs my Delta. The set adjustment on the side allows me to set a certain depth limit and I can plane down to that measurement and it can not go down any further. I planed five 1 1/4" rough cut red oak down to 5/8" with no problem. I hooked up the dust collection port to my dust collection. I didn't need a mask and broom to clean up a mess. The gauge for depth is right on the mark. I mic'd the thickness and it was right on. Ridgid has a planer that is very hard to beat.
+32points
32out of 32found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Altus AR
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not bad for the money

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It was easy to assemble what wasn't already together. The Outfeed Table Extension was bent right out of the box. It was delivered while i was at work & when I got home I noticed the bottom was dilapidated & one side was caved in.
I emailed about the bent part & was told to give the part number. They sent me a link to the manual. There are no part numbers in the manual. I'm not sure if I'll ever get my part to fix it. I believe packaging could have been a lot better. The planer itself is a good value.
Pros: Powerful, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 13 in. Thickness Planer

seems great so far, aside from trouble clearing shavings

PostedDecember 2, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is my first planer. I bought it about a month ago because it was almost half off (making room for the next model year?). Seems to work great, but I have two issues so far: 1) the internal blower does not seam to be able to keep up with the shaving that accumulate. The result is shavings getting between the cutter head and the board, creating a fishing scaling effect on the finished board. 2) it only has one speed, and its kind of quick. This has not effected the cut quality yet, but i think if the feed was a bit slower, it may help with the material being cleared away.... for the full price, it sounds like the dewalt may be a better purchase, but for what I paid I am pleased with the result.
Pros: easy to adjust
Cons: shaving dont clear well and can mark the board, infeed maybe a little too quick
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Kosciusko MS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I've bought 2 and both are lemons

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the 1st planer because a friend had one, and I thought he was pleased with it. Used it for about 10 hours and it had some kind of internal failure. Called hotline, checked all possible easy fixes, nothing. Took it to service center to be repaired, but time restraints caused me to buy another one. Took it out of the box and ran for MAYBE 15 minutes, long enough to get almost 1 gallon of shavings of pine taking 1/32" at a time. Planer started a clicking sound and board stopped moving. Turned planer off and checked, rollers not turning. Called hotline, was told it sounds like internal failure. Taking it back to get money back, will try a different brand.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+15points
17out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor quality, unable to repair

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thickness planner after it was recommended and due to a lifetime warranty. However, after 4 months the gear box broke and I took it in to the repair center to get it repaired. The gear box has been on backorder for over 4 months. The repair center said they always have this trouble with ridged products. What good it the warranty if they don't make the parts to repair it with. This will be the last Ridgid tool I buy.
Cons: Not Durable, no spare replacement parts
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Minnesota
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Father's Day Gift

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My Husband loves this planer! It does an excellent job planning the ceder from our fence, its quick, easy, and handel's well. My Husband uses Ridgid tools for everything else and thats why I ordered this one for him. Very happy.
Pros: Durable, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Long-Lasting
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Idaho, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Nice Little Planer

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have owned this for over a year and run perhaps 200 bd ft of hardwood (oak & maple) through it in my hobby level shop. It has performed flawlessly out of the box. If you want a production shop level planer - do not buy this, it will fail you - if you are a serious hobbyist or a weekend sawdust maker, buy it with confidence.
Pros: Durable, Strong Suction, Powerful, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Murphy, NC 28906, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great planer for the price

PostedJune 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use my planer every day in a pretty high volume shop and plane oak, cherry, walnut, hickory, cedar, maple and cypress. It has some issues - would prefer the vacuum port come out the other side away from the adjustment handle; I replaced the cheap screws holding the blades in place with 10MM bolts with heads; does drop some chips even when hooked up to a large vacuum - but not a real problem; have had to take in for service once and the process worked well - fixed and returned in a couple of days; I was going through a set of blades a week until I made a jig that allows me to hone the old blades and they work great for a few days - then I just hone them again - fortunately I kept all the old blades; had some snipe issues that required a lot of "tinkering" to resolve. Overall a GREAT value for the money. I have a larger, much more expensive planer that I rarely use - blades for my other machine are $120 a set. My Home Depot store has plenty of blades (although I don't buy them any more now that I have my honing jig set up). My planer has the lifetime warranty - I plan on using it for a LONG time...
+21points
21out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from N. Colorado
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Second time to the repair shop in 5 months

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This machine started out great, planing boards smooth without any marks left. But after 3 months of use, (on soft woods like aspen,pine,and cedar) I had to send it to the repair shop which had it for one month. The diagnosis was that the bearings were worn. I have had the unit back about a month and a half and now the some problem seems to be happening. I am fed up. I used to think you could not go wrong with a Rigid tool but I am proven wrong. My plan of attack is to contact both Rigid and Home Depot and see what my options are. If you are planning to purchase this item, please rethink it and spend a little more money and purchase a better unit
Cons: not manufactured well
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Oshkosh, WI, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not worth the money.

PostedJanuary 5, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased a Ridgid 13 in. thickness planer and after planing 10 pine boards the motor started to smoke and lost power. I called the 1-800 phone number on the planer and Ridgid sent me a new motor. I replaced the motor about a week later and things seemed to work OK. About 4 months late,r I used it again to plane a couple of pieces of oak and about half way through the project the motor started smoking and lost power again. Back on the phone with Ridgid but this time they wanted to charge me $370.00 for another motor. I only paid $389.00 for the complete planer !!
Cons: Not Durable
+14points
17out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Palos Hills, IL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better than my old Delta planer

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit to replace my 20 year old Deltal 12 inch planer. Love this unit, works perfectly right out of the box planes smoother than my old unit, I think because it has three blades instead of two. A minor adjustment on the outfeed table virtually left no snipe, and the repeat a cut feature is very accurate, after planing a board at the repeat a cut settings I found the thickness to be exact, would definately recommend this unit.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Flower Mound, Texas

Ridgid 13"Thickness Planer W/ 3-Blade Cutterhead

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like this planer! After reading many reviews on planers in its price range $300.00 - $400.00 I decided to buy this one. Most all of the Delta, Dewalt and Ryobi's had issues that guys didn't like the results they were getting or the issues they had to put up with like, time to change out the blades and snipping issues. My view on buying tools is this...I may not be a professional wood guy but I also don't want to buy something I am not going to be happy with. So I tend to pay a little more for my tools so "A" they last me and "B" I don't have issues with changing part or having problems getting them easily. So, I went with this one.
Un-boxing: It was a snap. All I had to do was put on the dusk collector and plug it in. I made sure that all of the blades and such were tight and level and then ran a test peace of wood. "PERFECTION"!!! I can not state how much I like this thing. I even ran an end grain cutting board made from Purple Heart through it and it didn't snip it at all. Buy this thing you wont be sorry.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Hershey, Nebraska, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great price for the same features as a more expensive like item!

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received this planer through the UPS home delivery and was not disappointed in the delivery time, since I live out in the country on a road that is NOT a main road. The planer worked as expected and was "Excellent" out of the box!
I have been wanting one of these items for a long time. Now those projects I have been putting on hold will start to take place.
The only bad thing was - the 6mm screw that holds the adjustment handle in place was missing. probably fell out during shipment. I replaced it and went on to use the planer the next day.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight
Cons: missing the 6mm screw for the adjustment handl
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Wichita, KS, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Had to take one back

PostedDecember 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The first one I bought, I spent about an hour adjusting one of the table extensions to make it absolutely perfect which they don't exactly make it easy to do by yourself. When I got to the other side, the hole that was machined into the side of the extension was completely off. There was no way to get the extension flat with the table. I called ridgid and explained what was going on and they "said" they have never heard of that happening. I took it back and exchanged it for another one and it was perfect right out of the box. At first I had a little snipe in shorter boards, I know weird, but after tweaking it a touch I get perfect boards all the time now!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from MI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellant tool.....use it alot....really glad i bought it.

PostedMay 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used it to make shelves, signs, tables and shelves. I am a hobbist and use it to make fun stuff for family and friends.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from Bargersville, IN

Well Built

PostedJuly 9, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been using this planer for 6 months now and overall I am very happy with my purchase. It is well built and priced below other brands of comparable features. I love both the "indi-cut" and "repeat a cut" feature. When planing 10 or 12" wide hardwood such as oak it seems to bog down a bit, even if only taking off 1/16th inch, but it does get through it. My only concern is that it leaves about 3" of snipe on the trailing end that I have not been able to adjust out. However from what I hear from talking with other people this is something that applies to almost all planers and you just learn to leave enough stock to trim off when you are done.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 13 in. Thickness Planer

First the Belt now the bearings

PostedJune 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The planner worked great but did not last... after a year of occational use I burnt the belt up... had to special order and it was not cheap. Now the bearings have give out after 18 months of occational use... who knows what they will cost or if I can even do it my self.... the belt was more of an iritation since I had to use a 3rd party to get a new one... but losing the bearings after such little use makes me think the tool is way over priced for some thing that is this cheaply made...
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 13 in. Thickness Planer
from California City, CA

Works great most of the time

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this planer 1 to 2 years ago. I have had no problems with it until recently when I noticed that when planing hard wood such as Maple that the unit tends to vibrate and the thickness adjustment wheel will rotate to a thicker dimension. It would be nice if there was some type of lock on the wheel to keep this from happening.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>