728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Push-to-connect Fittings & Connectors or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections

1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections

This SharkBite 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with SharkBite Connections is a forged brass ball valve that connects combinations of copper, CTS CPVC and PEX tubing (all sold separately). This fitting is certified for underground applications and for use as a manufactured joint without an access panel.
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 22 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(20)
4
(0)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product18 of 20reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
Review 1 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Wausau, WI 54401

Shark Bite Shut off Valve

PostedJanuary 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No need to sweat, no need for coupling, needed to put a shut off valve in, decided to put it where the pex transitions to copper to go into the water heater, just pushed the copper in snug, then pushed the pex in snug, and no leaks, no problems whatsoever. Make sure the copper end has no burrs, and is clean. The only problem was that I thought it was waaayyy too easy. I kept checking for leaks, knowing that this plumbing job was too easy to function..or so I thought. I have become a HUGE fan of shark bite fittings. They have gained my respect! I would definitely recommend this to anyone with a plumbing fix!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Portland, Maine

Sharkbite shutoff valve

PostedAugust 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed one on the copper water main in my old house. The existing gate valve did not shut off the flow of water coming in, so a steady, smallish stream of water was always there. Even so -- after I cut the copper pipe
(on the house side of the old shutuff valve) I was able to install the Sharkbite valve without a problem. Now when I shut off this new valve it works perfectly.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from boston

quick and easy

PostedApril 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is no need to waitting for to get heated up and messs with paste works great even when the pipe is wet
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Rochester, NY

This works so well God himself must have made it!

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I went to my Home Depot after trying to replace a sill-cock on the outside of my house. The sill-cock was soldered on and connected to a shut off valve in the basement. I de-soldered the 1/2" copper pipe from the shut off valve and removed and replaced the sill-cock. When i tried to solder the 1/2" copper pipe to the shut off valve it leaked. I tried to re-solder it 3 times and had the same result. I then attempted to de-solder and remove the shut off valve and was unable to do that. I applied the propane torch for 15 minutes but was unable to remove the valve. I then went to my local Home Depot to buy a torch that would be hot enough to get the job done. After looking at the prices of the torches I went to the tool rental area and asked if I could rent a torch and was told no. After telling the man in the tool rental area what I was trying to do he asked me "Have you ever heard of Sharkbite?" well he showed me the product and I bought a shut off valve, went home and cut off the old shut off valve with a hacksaw, cleaned up the ends of the copper pipe with emery cloth, enlarged the hole so that the sill-cock would fit flush against the wall giving me the extra length I needed, and connected the Sharkbite shut off valve in about 10 seconds. The person who invented this system of plumbing deserves the Friggin Nobel Prize.
+6points
8out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Township of Shelby, MI 49455, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Shark Bite works

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have moderate experience with soldering plumbing fittings, but working overhead in tight quarters is not one of my favorites.I have just finished installing The Shark Bite valve and a 1/2 inch to 1/2 inch NIT coupler to an outside garden faucet. Only reading about the Shark Bite product line and not having first hand experience I was a bit apprehensive. Now with valve, coupling and faucet inplace in a fraction of the time with less the fuss and most important absoluty no leaks to say I am very pleased is an understatement. Were haver you been Shark Bite...
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
Cons: No Instructions
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Pahrump, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy Installation

PostedJanuary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product was very easy to install and turn on. I had installed the valve on the input to the hot - water heater.
This is in a 30 yr.old Mobile Home System.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Caldwell, ID

Well worth the money...

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Found out that I'm not a plumber by a long shot. Unfortunately, I ended up taking on a plumbing project with a torch that wouldn't get hot enough for the solder to flow. This came to a realization after 10:00 PM, after my local Home Depot had already closed. Due to the state of my butchered shower, I had to leave the water off for the night until the store opened, leaving me to smell of flux as I tried to get some sleep. In the morning, I grabbed two of the Sharkbite 1/2 inch ball valves and installed them on the PEX below the copper pipes that I was working on. Installation was simple, no leaks, no mess, water back up and running. I would definitely recommend these to anyone new to the world of plumbing or even an experienced DIYer working in close quarters...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Southeastern USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed

PostedSeptember 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was just what I needed. It installed super easy and works great allowing me to shut off the water supply to my outdoor faucet for the winter.
Pros: Reliable, Easy to Install, No Leaks
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Tacoma, Wa

Sharkbites - Quick and easy

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After two attempts to sweat on a shut off valve in very limited space, put in the sharkbite ball valve in 20 seconds and instantly provided a drip free solution with no mess. Made sure the copper pipe was clean and sanded at 1" minimum.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Port Washington, NY

Easy to install but...

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After installation there was no leak but it was disturbing that the valve is not rigidly mounted and rotates.
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Elk Grove, IL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Try this valve first before sweating!

PostedJanuary 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Wasted two hours and destroyed the seals trying to solder a valve to shut off a leaking outside sillcock. Then I tried the Sharbite valve. 30 seconds later and the copper pipes were connected. No leaks and no threat of frozen pipes. Saved at least $125 over hiring plumber.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Geneseo, NY, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fast, Easy, No Leaks

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used these under my sink (no room to move). Had them installed in minutes (make sure you clean up the old pipes and mark the depth the pipe has to be into the fitting). I will be using these in the future. They have been installed for 2 months now and everything looks good.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Sand Lake, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works perfectly

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am no plumber. This worked so well, I stood there expecting it to come off. It held and is still holding. No leaks. Very simple to do.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Franklin, WI, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wanted to avoid sweat joints and fire hazard.

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Started using these fittings 4 years ago and i am glad they are still on the market in spite of higher cost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Unexpectedly easy.

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was a little sceptical to try something that was supposedly so simple. I bought the part, went home, cut the pipe and installed it in about 15 minutes. Everything was just as promised. Easy, and no leak.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections

These fittings were fantastically EASY to use.

PostedMarch 7, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Customer service and shipping were excellent. Order came quickly with no problems.
Pros: Easy to Install, No Leaks
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections

sharkbite ball valve

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was total junk bought one for 16.00 and LOl that was without the dissconnect clips whiich are 2.00 each extra and needs two.......
Got it home put it in and Ill be it dosent shut the water off at all ....now lets go for the gas I spent the time I spent and the gas and time I will be spending to take it back....10>00 trip to town ....10.00 to go back to town the 1 hour driving time for the trip ther and back times 2 = 2 hours...
the time to install and now to take it back out and replace
lets call it three hours $ 20 in gas and lets give me soeme money for my time hmmm lets be cheap and say $7 a hour
$21 for my time
HMM this thing cost me $41.00 so far beside the $16.00 it cost for the part so 56 dollars fro a piece of junk that that looks good on the outside but is made in three pieces and sold seperately and did not even shut off the water
-52points
1out of 54found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections

Worked well and saved time

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
worked well on outdoor shut off valve repairs and saved us time!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from Stanwood, MI 49346, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Greatest thing since peanutbutter and bread.

PostedJune 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work so easy I don't know why anyone would want to use glue. Fast to install and seal great....no leaks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1/2 in. PEX PTC Ball Valve with Connections
from NJ

great for a diyer.......price is still up there.....

PostedMay 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
can't argue with a great time saver - especially if you do not want to be bothered with sweating joints.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>