728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

The Englander 1,500 sq. ft. Wood Burning Fireplace Insert features a cast iron door and welded steel body for durability. This EPA certified stove heats rooms up to 1,500 sq. ft. to ensure a cozy and comfortable living space and includes a blower that fits under the ash lip and has a control knob. The stove has a stylish satin black body and the extra large door features glass with an air wash system for a clear view of the fire.
Overall rating:
4.185 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(12)
3
(3)
2
(0)
1
(1)
Quality 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
Review 1 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Springville, UT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good for How SMALL it is.

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This was the largest stove I could find.But,firebox is small and wood does not completely burn and cleaning ash and chunks out every morning is required.I had a 1950s fireplace and was hoping to get a straight run on the chimney,but hole in stove was to far forward to allow that.We did manage to get an adjustable elbow and once pipe was connected,twisted to as straight as possible.Direction's were not of a lot of help,most of the information was on how to build a fire.With the built in blower & everything considered it is a great improvement over an open fireplace and is capable of blowing You out of the room it is in! Let's see how long it holds up and fan last's?It has a ceramic plate,To defuse or collect more heat that blocks chimney in a way so it does not take smoke directly straight up.I am out West (UTAH) & am burning cured soft wood pine and Aspen.As I said for the money I do think this is a good stove and does an excellent job other than what I have outlined.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions, haft to clean each day
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Ramona, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great heat

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Installed temporarily until spring when entire fireplace gets remodeled. Most time consuming was the chimney liner installation, instructions say to screw the liner to the unit but no flange on the unit to allow for that.
Operation is fantastic! Heat radiation from unit along with fan operation will heat up 800 sq ft room quickly. Only con is the fan is more noisy that I would prefer.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: attachment to chimney liner
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

Should have known...

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought one of these last week. Unfortunately, i didn't take in consideration that it has top exhaust, so it will not fit in my fireplace. I needed one with a 45 degree exhaust.
I ended up installing it, but it didn't look right. A few things about it:
Its veryy heavy. Even two guys is barely enough to handle it. The guys at home depot loaded it in the back on my suv and they struggled. Once home, i was able to remove it by myself by removing the door and bricks and the slide it down a small improvised ramp to a dolly.
The blower is detached and it is supposed to just sit in front of it which i dont think its a good idea.
The instructions are not great, so you kinda have to figure things out a bit.
I decided to return the item only because of the way it looks on my setup. I will buy one with a 45 degree exhaust
+12points
15out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from San Jose, CA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

picture is misleading

PostedDecember 3, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The fireplace itself works. it has no legs so if you have a fireplace that sits a few inches below the hearth, you may have a hard time getting it to fit properly like i did.
BEWARE OF THE PICTURE ABOVE: don't let it fool you like it did me. the outer framed pieces are NOT flush with the fireplace as shown! instead the edges tilt outward away from the fireplace creating an ugly looking frame.
it doesnt have an ash tray so you will have to sweep the ashes out by hand after the fire cools.
the blower portion seems kind of cheap. its not attached to the insert- you just stuff it underneath the unit & leave it there which feels weird.
i am semi-disappointed with it so far. it does heat the house to about 70 degrees after a couple hours with the blower on full blast (my house is only 1000 sf so i assumed it would heat quicker than that?), but its also pretty loud. 3 stars for doing its job of heating up the house, but the rest of it hasn't impressed me much.
you will probably need a 2nd set of instructions also because the ones that come with the insert are very vague.
Pros: Durable, Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: Too Heavy, Difficult to Install
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Lancaster Ca.

We received our second insert last week!

PostedFebruary 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Hi
We received our second insert Feb 11, 2010. It took me about 6 hours to install this one (actually our chimney is two story and it took an hour of that time to clean it).
Wow! With over 3,800 sq ft. in our home we easily heat the entire house with a fire in both inserts. We have to let one burn out before bed time or the house is too warm. I only turn on the fan on the second insert first thing in the morning for about one hour after that the fan makes it too warm in the house.
This was the best plan I have had in many years. We had enough wood to last this year in our regular fire places now that same pile will last this year and next. I think we are using about 1/5 th the wood we were using before we installed our first insert.
I truly hope you have as good a result as we have and I truly recommend the Englander Model # 13-NCI insert and Home Depot. The Lancaster Home Depot people were so much help.... I cannot thank them enough.
Take care,
Jerry
+34points
37out of 40found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Long Island, NY

Awesome Stove

PostedJanuary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Have a 2300 sf home it heats the first floor without any problem. Winter here on long island is mild but tempertures at night reach into the teens, The stove kept the first floor a nice 71 degrees, which is about 1400 sf. Burn time on stove set at medium gave me a burn time of 7 hours with coals left to start a morning fire. Installation was easy and custmer service at englander stoveworks was very helpful.
+20points
21out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Snellville, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Great for the price

PostedDecember 9, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product for the price. I priced other inserts locally and couldn't find anything for less than twice the price of the Englander. I received my insert about 4 days after I ordered it. Installation wasn't that bad. I spent most of my time cutting the damper opening with a grinder and saws-all to allow a 6 inch liner to pass through it. I did have to install angle iron on the sides and top of my existing fireplace opening because the cover plate wasn't quite wide enough to close it off. The unit is heavy, but I managed it by myself with a dolly and some grunting. Fires are extremely easy to start, just follow the instructions that come with the product. The fan is very noisy at high speed and will occasionally start vibrating between the brick of the hearth and metal ash lip which is really annoying at 2am when it wakes me up. A light kick will usually solve that.
It keeps my 1500 square foot ranch warm, especially the main part of the house where it's located. The heat will eventually spread down the hallway and into the bedrooms, however they stay a little chilly, which is to be expected. I think the 8 hour burn times are a little overrated. I tend to get about 4-6 hours.
+23points
29out of 35found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from East Stroudsburg PA

AWESOME!!!!

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a deal this is. We are now heating our whole downstairs(1565sf) with this unit. Installation was a breeze and quality is good for the price. Flashing didnt come with gold trim as shown in picture but really has been a nice addition to our living room. I would highly reccommend!!!
+14points
16out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Quisio from PA (Poconos)

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It is a good product, not for 1500 sf in PA. Maximum 1000 sf
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Install
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from SOUTH JERSEY
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked out great ! American made !

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed this myself . Easy to install. Worked out great ! Heats a 1000 square feet with no problem and burns about 4 hours . Came directly from the manufacturer.
Pros: Easy to Install
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Colorado Springs, CO

Clean burning insert

PostedDecember 29, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this fireplace insert in November of 2009. It works very well, and heats our entire family room and then some. I like the large glass door and the heavy construction. The only difficulty for me was that the steel surround that covers the old fireplace opening needs to be attached before sliding the unit into the fireplace, and it makes it difficult to attach the 6" flue pipe. I had to remove the three secondary air tubes across the top of the unit insides and the ceramic board, and gently pull down the flexible flue end into the 6" connection on the top of the stove. I think if the surround should be attached to the stove in such a way that the stove could be fully installed including the flue pipe with full access and tested before the surround is installed. If that was done I'd give it a 5. Cheers
+13points
16out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

Not What I Ordered!

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading reviews over and over and over again, and looking at the pictures of the products again and again, we ultimately chose this one, for various reasons but frankly mostly based on how it would look installed since it is in the living room and very visible. The surround in the pictures looks very finished, with mitered and square corners. What I got does NOT have mitered and squared corners, but very unattractive 45 degree angled cuts on each corner. It looks shabby and cheap. The entire surround has an unattractive bend outwards leaving a 1 inch gap from the surround to the fireplace brick. The bolts to complete the surround are bright silver on a black stove, some of which won't even fit the holes. The end result is an eyesore in our living room. Regardless of whether this will heat the house or not, it is an ugly surround that cannot stay in our living room. I've emailed Home Depot and will post an update on the resolution. I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS INSERT.
+4points
12out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from MIDDLE OF KANSAS

FIRE FIRE

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I PUT THIS IN 3 WINTER'S AGO, MY HOUSE IS A VERY COLD HOUSE DUE TO THE FACT THE WALLS ARE NOT INSULATED, I WAS SUPRISED HOW WELL IT WARMED THE HOUSE. WAS EASY TO INSTALL AND I LIKE THE FACT IT IS EASY TO CLEAN. I HAVE HAD NO PROBLEMS WITH IT, WHICH MAKES ME HAPPY. THE ONLY THING I FIND WRONG WITH IT IS I WISHED IT HAD A BIGGER BLOWER ON IT, AS I FEEL A LOT OF HEAT IS WASTED. BUT OVER ALL I AM VERY VERY PLEASED WITH IT
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Franklin, TN, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

The Englander fireplace insert is well built. Excellent buy.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was unable to install the insert due to the configuration of my existing fireplace. My damper and flue design could not allow me to line up the 6" flue pipe to connect with the flue design in the insert. My fault. My suggestion to customers is make sure you will be able to install the fireplace insert in your fireplace with minimal reconstruction to your existing fireplace. I really was disappointed because this would have been the exact fireplace I was looking for.
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Good Shape, Great Value, High Quality, Economical
Cons: Difficult to Install
+14points
26out of 38found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert

Great stove for the price!!

PostedJune 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought a larger home and replaced the uncertified insert with this certified insert. We knew it was a little small, but were mainly concerned with heating the main living areas. To our pleasant surprise this insert heats our entire 1,800 sq ft house!! We have found that hardwood definitely provides more heat. Very satisfied with our purchase.
+13points
17out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Lancaster Ca.

Ordering a second insert.

PostedJanuary 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We purchased our insert 12/18/09. Our home is about 3,800 sq ft so I thought it could help. The insert did way more then help. It heats our living room, kitchen, dining room, and entry way. Compared to our other fireplace it uses less then 1/10th the wood and heats so much more it is hard to believe.
We are ordering another Englander Model # 13-NCI and the two will heat our entire house.
It took one day to install the insert (I know it will take way less time for the next one) and we are so happy with it....
I hope your experience is as good as ours.
Jerry
+7points
11out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Central Califonia
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great value and features

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This insert was everything advertised. Installation was very easy. It took my son and myself about an hour and a half total.
It heats very well, we burn almond wood and the glass stays very clean. The fan is a little noisy, but a very small trade off considering how well the unit performs.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: fan a little noisy
+5points
7out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Excelsior Springs, MO 64024, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks good works good

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Although the logs you place in the insert are smaller than using a traditional fireplace it is safer to use and increases the range of the heat output by at least two fold. I enjoy using it and installing it was not too hard. Beware the unit is extremely heavy and will require at least 3 strong men to lift it.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

This product does what it promises. The blower that comes with it blows the heat throughout the spaces I want heated.

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchasing this product from The Home Depot was effortless and arrived as expected.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500 sq. ft. Wood-Burning Fireplace Insert
from Kansas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

10 years and still going

PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I installed the Englander 13NCI insert just over ten years ago. I have not had to do more than replace the door gasket every few years. Paint is still good, and the iron still solid. It is very heavy to install, but well worth it. I heat my home entirely with it, except when its extremely cold. I wish the fan moved a bit more air, and was quieter, but compared to every other insert this size, it is about the same in both aspects. If you can fit a larger insert, I recommend it for longer burn times between loading. This is the largest I could fit, and I have recommended it to everyone I know with a fireplace of this size. It is the only setup I have seen that burns more from the top down, than from underneath the logs. With a little practice, you can load it so everything burns up before reloading each morning. It is far better than a traditional fireplace which yields virtually no heat by comparison.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 >>