728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Wet/Dry Vacuums or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac

Clean up tough messes with help from the Husky 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac. This wet/dry vac converts into a blower to help clear debris and includes a 10 ft. power cord. A dent-resistant tank helps defend against wear and tear while a 4 Amp motor promotes powerful cleaning. The hose includes a multi-purpose nozzle and a utility nozzle for versatile use.
Overall rating:
3.634 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product29 of 41reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.6 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(15)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(8)
71%of customersrecommend this product29 of 41reviews
Customer reviews for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
Review 1 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from California

Plenty of power but one MAJOR design flaw

PostedDecember 23, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to clean up some water-soaked carpet in a small area of my house after a week long rainstorm that brought localized flooding. Fortunately the area of affected carpet was small so I knew a small wet/dry vac would work.
This unit is ergonomically friendly, easy to assemble & easy to empty once completed with the job. The cord is quite long for a budget unit. I like the fact there are no wheels because this means the unit is more stable & will tip less.
There is one major flow though. If you are using the unit in wet mode, it shoots lots of water vapor out the other end of the vacuum while you are vacuuming up the wet area. The vacuum has an intake (suction) and outtake (blower) so depending on where you hook the hose you have either a blower or vacuum. but this is a very major problem for the unit to expel mist and water through the exhaust. If you are vacuuming clean water probably no big deal, but what if you are vacuuming an unsanitary mess & its shooting remnants of that out the blower port?
did not have this problem with other wet-dry vacs I've used so you may want to consider this problem before buying.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from IN

PostedJanuary 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Fantastic little vac for what you pay for. Used at least weekly in an industrial environment to clean up spills and loose metal shavings from machining. Had it for a couple of months now, and no problems with it at all. The thing eats most anything. Large enough for most small jobs, small enough to store out of the way when not needed.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Western Mass

Junk

PostedOctober 9, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought a vacuum to vacuum out the ash from my two pellet stoves. You would think purchasing a shop vac would do the trick. I plugged it in and proceeded to blow ash dust all over my house. I reset the rubber band that holds the filter on and tried again......MORE dust. I now decide to read the manual where it says do not vacuum dust with this unit. IMAGINE, a vacuum that can't vacuum dust. This will be going back to Home depot in the morning. I"M NOT HAPPY!!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from VA

big design flaw

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I got this little vacuum for small projects around the house. The choice was based on two criteria: the portability and, more importantly, the brand name. Once I got home with it, I decided to put it to work after a wall repair job: big mistake. With a decent suction power, I was feeling good about my purchase: all the dust and larger debris got sucked in just fine. But when I turned around there was a huge cloud of dust in the room, and this little devil was "smoldering". At a closer look, the lid does not fit tight on the base, as the two clamps on the side that are supposed to do the job are designed so the base doesn't fall off - but nothing else. I was willing to put up with the replaceable cheap dust filter (which is not water resistant btw), but blowing the dust back in the room was unacceptable. Back to the store it went, and taking a second look at the similar but much more expensive DeWalt.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Rockford, IL

Made a bigger mess than I started with

PostedFebruary 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this for the simple task of vacuuming the water out of my toilet tank and bowl so that I could replace the toilet. I flushed out most of the water and was left with perhaps 2 quarts of liquid to remove. Unfortunately the water had some remaining toilet bowl cleaner on it (the blue stuff for cleaning your tank and bowl). I held the vacuum and sucked the water out of the tank and bowl. It worked very well. Then I looked at the wall and floor behind me. It had blue spray all over it. I had to clean up that mess before moving on to the task of replacing the toilet. I'm returning it as soon as I can...it's useless.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from atlanta, ga

no suction

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
can't pick up christmas tree needles on hardwood floors let alone carpet. and i did sweep up the majority with a broom, so i wasn't asking much of this vac.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Memphis, TN

You Get What You Pay For

PostedJune 12, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This item proves the old saying, "You get what you pay for". I was drawn to this particular mini "shop vac" because it was discounted over $10 and was selling for $19. I decided to give it a try......what a mistake that was. I simply wanted to use it to do "light duty" work picking up dust and metal shavings from my drill press. It performed horribly. I wasn't expecting much from it and it performed up to my expectations in that regard. This thing couldn't even pick up a paper clip!!! Do yourself a favor and spend the extra money to get a more powerful and better build vac. At just under 2 HP (1.7 HP) this thing just isn't up to the task it was intended.
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from austin.tx

What did I Expect?

PostedJune 17, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was given this as a gift and was quite happy for a little while. It had decent suction for its size and was portable. Then it stopped working. The vac ran for about 2 weeks before it developed a mind of its own. Know 1 out of every 15 times I try to turn it on, it won't. I've checked the filter to see if it needed a cleaning as well as made sure the float was down. Nothing. I would try to fix it but the parts would probably be more than the vac. If I were you, I would shell out an extra 10 bucks or so for shop-vac brand or something like it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Minneapolis, MN

Great Cleaning Vac

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I Bought this Vac to clean out stairwell and dust bunnies under entertainment system. This Vac is great if you have wood floors and stairwell like I do. I used to use a broom to clean wood floors now I just grab an extension cord and this Vac and I'm finished in half the time without any dust in the air. I use it to clean under bed, dresser anyplace that's dusty and hard to reach. Plus cleaning a Husky Wet/Dry Vac is easy, just take top off dump bottom gray bin that dust etc. collects in and wash out with water and your done.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Chicago, IL

Perfect for pet owners

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I discovered that someone threw up in the bedroom after waking up one morning. Neither the cat nor the dog would fess up. I've been looking for a wet carpet vac for spot cleaning and was considering the Spot Bot by Bissell. But thinking about it a bit more, a Spot Bot is basically an upgraded wet/dry vac with a built in scrubber. At 5x the cost of this vac, I can do the scrubbing myself.
I tested my theory after getting this vac and it works just fine. I cleaned up mess then I poured a bit of carpet cleaning solution on the stain mixed with hot water just as a steam vac does. Scrubbed it in a little; let it set for a couple of mins and vac'd it up. The water that was sucked up was dirty! This is a great alternative to those fancy spot cleaning carpet wet vacs!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Clemson, SC

Great and convenient

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
GREAT vac. Long cord, great suction, handy to carry or pull along, all the necessary attachements and DOES NOT TIP OVER!. Also covenient as a blower to clear leaves off a deck. Purchased one on sale, like it so much I got rid of two other wet/dry vacs that were not handy to carry and were always tipping over as I tried to move about. I also bought two more, so I have one in the garage and one on each level of our home.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Dallas, TX

This Vacuum Really Blows

PostedJanuary 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to take care of the water that would result from defrosting the mini fridge in a studio apartment. Unfortunately, I had no idea the vac would blow the water all over the entire room the first time I used it.
It seems the Husky wet/dry vac only worked the first three or four times it was needed. Today I am defrosting the mini fridge again and the thing continues to blow air out the back side (which I have loosely placed a plastic grocery bag over), but doesn't suck. It just keeps dropping the water all over the floor as soon as I lift the hose attachment from the surface of the fridge. And I've checked everything. No clogs. No damage. Just a poorly designed product.
I feel a little bit bad about giving this to Goodwill, but I hope maybe someone can dissect the Franken-Vac and use the wiring and motor for some kind of high school science project so the thing doesn't just rot in my closet.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Bainbridge Island, WA

Husky wet/dry vac review

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this piece because of it's size, sometimes I need something that will fit into tight spaces and this definitely fits. It has good suction and very lightweight.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Moulton, AL

Happy With this Little Vac

PostedFebruary 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I got this to have around the house. It's lightweight. I like that I can hold it by the handle and carry around and vacuum. I haven't tried to vac anything wet but, will be watchful because of the other review. All in all I am very happy with this little vac!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from ct

great little vac

PostedMarch 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
bought this vac to use on my stairs. i will be using it for everything. it has great suction and my attachments from other vacs fit it. its lightweight and easy to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from waukesha wi

wet dry vac

PostedJune 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i really love this one to do my stairs. it is light enough and very powerful. i bought a eureka last year for twice the price and was totally disappointed. this is great for furniture and hard to reach areas..
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Nashville, TN

Tiny & Powerful

PostedJuly 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent size-to-power ratio, and can blow, so it's perfect.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Wyoming

Waste of time

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If this vac sealed around the canister, had any power, or any enhancements (i.e filters that filtered) I could get past the noise. Since it doesn't I'll settle for selling it to some unlucky guy in a garage sale for an inflated $2.00.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac
from Valparaiso, Indiana

One great little vacuum!

PostedJuly 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was searching for a vacuum that would clean up little messes around the garage and barn. I came across this litle Husky, 2.5 gal vacuum and am very pleased with its performance. The motor is remarkably strong and it's portability is just great. The cord could be a little longer but it's a small inconvenience when compared to the job it does. Dust Busters can't compare to this super little machine. It works great when spiffing up the cars/trucks and I even used it in the camper. I haven't needed the wet vac feature, but so far, I'm very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2.5-Gallon Wet/Dry Vac

Husky 2.5 Gal. Wet / Dry Vac

PostedJune 4, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this with reservation after reading the review about the mess it made when it was used it to remove water from the toilet and tank when replacing the toilet. I wanted it for the same purpose. It was on sale for $19.95 so I purchased it anyway. I tested it by vacuuming about a gal of water from a bucket I got no mess or leaks. The lid is a little loose but it tightens up after the motor is turned on. All in All it was good for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>