728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers & Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Affresh Washer Cleaner removes and prevents odor-causing residue that can occur in all brands of high-efficiency HE washers. While bleach only kills odor-causing bacteria, leaving behind the detergent residue, Affresh Washer Cleaner uses surfactant chemistry to remove the root problem. Affresh cleaner is a formulated, slow-dissolve, foaming tablet that gets under residue, breaks it up, and washes it away leaving the washer smelling fresh and clean. Simply place one tablet in the wash basket (without clothes) and run a Normal Cycle (hot option) or Clean Washer Cycle. Affresh brand is environmentally friendly, safe on septic tanks, and safe for all washer components. Package includes three tablets.
Overall rating:
4.246 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product52 of 58reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(34)
4
(18)
3
(3)
2
(2)
1
(4)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product52 of 58reviews
Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Review 1 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Mark
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the product does what it says it will do.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service was excellent as always. Our machine would have an odor then we started to use this product which immediately took care of the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
stevefromtheburbs
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought my top loading HE machine, I thought the sample was just a way of selling you on something you didn't really need.
As time went on, and I had a mildew type smell, I used just water to clean the machine and used the washer setting for this stuff. But it didn't resolve the smell.
So I purchased these and I can assure you they do work. Not sure how they do what they do or whatever, but they do work. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but I worried about using bleach for fear of it getting trapped and later putting bleach spots on clothes. So I'll spend the couple of bucks for these and use them as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, they just work
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Lidcombe
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affresh leaves your HE washer smelling like new

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a three pack of Affresh because it's recommended by Maytag for their new high efficiency washers. I also bought the washer at Home Depot recently and it's great, but that's for another review.
I'd read complaints that often HE washer tubs can have a musty odor if not cleaned periodically. Some people say bleach works with hot water, while other say it doesn't do the trick. After a month, I decided to drop an Affresh into the wash cycle. It works perfectly. Nice, clean smell and no residue left in the wash tub.
In addition to using Affresh once a month of whenever you notice an odor from the washer, I suggest leaving the lid up after each use so that the tub can air dry.
Pros: works and smells great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
2124
from Sevierville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and did a great job. Just simply open the package and place it in the washer. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
CKinNJ
from NJ
Gender:Female

Fair at best

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used these tablets as directed for several months now. I never had a problem with order in my h.e. washer, but I have had periodic issues with residue left behind after a few loads. After using the Affresh tablets as directed, I find that the tablet never fully dissolves and I still occasionally find residue. Maybe it's my washer!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
PickyMe
from Garden Grove, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our HE washer smelled so good when I bought it. It came with a couple of cubes of Affresh, which I used. Then I switched to using just bleach in the washer's clean cycle once a month. That didn't seem to do much good. I couldn't find Affresh at the grocery store so I switched to Tide washing machine cleaner. That also did not bring that fresh smell back so I went back to Affresh when I found it at Home Depot. The product smells so good but I was disappointed that the washer didn't smell much better after using it. It is a little pricey but I will continue to use it because I am sure it does more than just make the washer smell better. Maybe with continued use I will notice a difference.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Zeboim
from Saint Augusta
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like how clean this makes the washing machine smell and look. We often have some not so friendly smells because of the jobs we have, but this product really does help to take those smells out of the washing machine. The washing machine interior looks clean like when we first purchased it after using this product. I do recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Dreamer
from Edgewood, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing stuff!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love how easy it is to use these. Take one pop it in and run a wash cycle. You are left with a clean and build up free, smell free washer! Awesome product.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Jose

Great product. Cleans really well and gets the smell out!

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This actually works. We have four dogs and this helps keep the washer clean and free of smell. We wash everything in here including their 3 beds.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
blcmtd
from Dalton. GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Keeping Washer Clean

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Brought this for my Maytag Front Loader Washer. It does a great job of helping to keep the washer clean and more sanitary. Its easy to use, just drop a tablet in the washer and run it on a cleaning cycle.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
GaryInAnnArbor
from Ann Arbor, MI
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cleans my washer like new

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once every few weeks, you do a laundry load with a pellet and your washer will act and smell like new.
Pros: Easy to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Jaspie
from 30022

I was skeptical

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a used front load washer and it had already had the scent of mold when I picked them up. Then over the last year, it has progressively gotten worse. I leave the door open after each wash to help prevent that from happening. Then finally it was so bad that just opening the door would be unpleasant. I went online to do some research on how to get rid of the smell and I found this product - I was skeptical. Could a tablet truly remove a problem that is years in the making? The instructions said if the smell was present to run it 3 times back-to-back, so I did. For the most part the smell is gone! I gave it 4 stars because it didn't completely rid the machine of the problem but the before and after results were amazing.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Ruler1960
from dothan, al
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good product, easy to use to clean your clothes washer.

PostedMarch 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Need to use often as directed for best performance.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
grannyannie
from Buffalo, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent quality and value

PostedFebruary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. Great way to keep my washer clean. Never have that musty smell when your husband leaves clothes in the washer overnight
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
hollydio
from Westchester County, NY

Affresh"ing" Review

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A home renovation 5 years ago allowed me to build a larger laundry room. I purchased 2 front loading Whilrpool washing machines. While I LOVE the machines, I noticed after awhile that they had a very funky smell after doing a wash. I tried cleaning with white vinegar and even tried an online product to remove the increasingly bad odor.
Affresh became the product to banish that funky laundry smell. After one use the odor was gone! Most importantly Affresh had all the elements that I was searching for: it is environmentally friendly, it is safe on septic tanks and all washer components, it is economically priced and easy to use. One tablet a month keep my washers and laundry clean and fresh smelling. This product hit a homerun for me!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
TexNev
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does the job but it is expensive

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This is a solid product, but it is expensive for what you get. Overall, I want to keep my washer clean and running well, especially with the hard water issues we have in Austin, TX so I will pay the premium.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
mbaez11
from Homestead, Fl

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased Whirlpool Duet Front Loaders. The sales person told us to purchase the Affresh tablets to clean the washer about every 2-3 months, to prevent mold or and bacteria from growing. We did just that. We always keep the dispenser door and front loader washer door open after usage to dry- prevents the bad odor. Not only do we do that, but we also use the tablets. The smell is refreshing and clean. We also know that out washer is sanitary after use. I love these tablets! Its easy to use, no major cleaning on my part involved. Just throw one in the washer, and the machine does the rest. I highly recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
omie

Keeps your washer clean

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works nice and keeps the washer clean and smelling nice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
SuzieQ
from Cincinnati area
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

much better than just bleach

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
typically we used bleach to clean our Samsung front loader, purchased this on a friend's recommendation and have been using ever since. Great cleaning, the only reason I gave it a slightly lower rating is the price. Otherwise, great product does a great job cleaning my front loader.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
C70j

EAS Y TO USE

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I WOULD RECOMMEND THIS FOR THE ODOR THAT COMES AFTER AWHILE WITH HIGH EFFICIENT WASHER.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>