728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers & Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Affresh Washer Cleaner removes and prevents odor-causing residue that can occur in all brands of high-efficiency HE washers. While bleach only kills odor-causing bacteria, leaving behind the detergent residue, Affresh Washer Cleaner uses surfactant chemistry to remove the root problem. Affresh cleaner is a formulated, slow-dissolve, foaming tablet that gets under residue, breaks it up, and washes it away leaving the washer smelling fresh and clean. Simply place one tablet in the wash basket (without clothes) and run a Normal Cycle (hot option) or Clean Washer Cycle. Affresh brand is environmentally friendly, safe on septic tanks, and safe for all washer components. Package includes three tablets.
Overall rating:
4.243 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 74
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product64 of 71reviews
Rating Breakdown 74 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(42)
4
(20)
3
(5)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product64 of 71reviews
Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Review 1 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought my top loading HE machine, I thought the sample was just a way of selling you on something you didn't really need.
As time went on, and I had a mildew type smell, I used just water to clean the machine and used the washer setting for this stuff. But it didn't resolve the smell.
So I purchased these and I can assure you they do work. Not sure how they do what they do or whatever, but they do work. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but I worried about using bleach for fear of it getting trapped and later putting bleach spots on clothes. So I'll spend the couple of bucks for these and use them as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, they just work
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the product does what it says it will do.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service was excellent as always. Our machine would have an odor then we started to use this product which immediately took care of the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from wake forest, nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I totally have to disagree

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have one of the new HE Maytag washing machines which I hate since the water level doesn't even cover the clothes and I have trouble getting my laundry clean as I never did before. However, at the recommendation I tried Affresh and Surprise, it only cleaned the tub where the water line went to which was less than 1/4 of the total tub. So now I have a dingy tub except for the very bottom. Also I have problems with hard water and it did not get rid of the rust stains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

needed product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
this is a recomended product.If you do not use it the light on the machine stayes lit...............
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wash the Washer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to use and effective product. Got rid of the smell and lessen the grime build-up.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Parkland, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cleaner Smelling Washing Machine

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THis product makes the washer smell like new. It removes the smell of stale water etc.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from 30022

I was skeptical

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a used front load washer and it had already had the scent of mold when I picked them up. Then over the last year, it has progressively gotten worse. I leave the door open after each wash to help prevent that from happening. Then finally it was so bad that just opening the door would be unpleasant. I went online to do some research on how to get rid of the smell and I found this product - I was skeptical. Could a tablet truly remove a problem that is years in the making? The instructions said if the smell was present to run it 3 times back-to-back, so I did. For the most part the smell is gone! I gave it 4 stars because it didn't completely rid the machine of the problem but the before and after results were amazing.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affresh leaves your HE washer smelling like new

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a three pack of Affresh because it's recommended by Maytag for their new high efficiency washers. I also bought the washer at Home Depot recently and it's great, but that's for another review.
I'd read complaints that often HE washer tubs can have a musty odor if not cleaned periodically. Some people say bleach works with hot water, while other say it doesn't do the trick. After a month, I decided to drop an Affresh into the wash cycle. It works perfectly. Nice, clean smell and no residue left in the wash tub.
In addition to using Affresh once a month of whenever you notice an odor from the washer, I suggest leaving the lid up after each use so that the tub can air dry.
Pros: works and smells great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from TEXAS
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Real Great Product

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked real good for my washer, left it smelling clean.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from NJ
Gender:Female

Fair at best

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used these tablets as directed for several months now. I never had a problem with order in my h.e. washer, but I have had periodic issues with residue left behind after a few loads. After using the Affresh tablets as directed, I find that the tablet never fully dissolves and I still occasionally find residue. Maybe it's my washer!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Putnam County NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Rug

PostedJune 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The rug was delivered in good time. The quality, color and price were all good.
Pros: Easy to Clean, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Rochester, NY, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product does everything that it advertizes.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After we got our first HE washer I started using these tablets once a month and we have not had any of the reported odors that others talk about. We have just purchaser our second HE washer from HD and I will continue to use these tablets - why mess with success.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Sevierville, TN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good product

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was very easy to use and did a great job. Just simply open the package and place it in the washer. Great product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Westchester County, NY

Affresh"ing" Review

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A home renovation 5 years ago allowed me to build a larger laundry room. I purchased 2 front loading Whilrpool washing machines. While I LOVE the machines, I noticed after awhile that they had a very funky smell after doing a wash. I tried cleaning with white vinegar and even tried an online product to remove the increasingly bad odor.
Affresh became the product to banish that funky laundry smell. After one use the odor was gone! Most importantly Affresh had all the elements that I was searching for: it is environmentally friendly, it is safe on septic tanks and all washer components, it is economically priced and easy to use. One tablet a month keep my washers and laundry clean and fresh smelling. This product hit a homerun for me!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Garden Grove, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works well

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Our HE washer smelled so good when I bought it. It came with a couple of cubes of Affresh, which I used. Then I switched to using just bleach in the washer's clean cycle once a month. That didn't seem to do much good. I couldn't find Affresh at the grocery store so I switched to Tide washing machine cleaner. That also did not bring that fresh smell back so I went back to Affresh when I found it at Home Depot. The product smells so good but I was disappointed that the washer didn't smell much better after using it. It is a little pricey but I will continue to use it because I am sure it does more than just make the washer smell better. Maybe with continued use I will notice a difference.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked perfect!!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Took the smell right out of my washer. Directions were easy to follow. Did exactly what it was suppose to do.
Pros: very ease to use., directions are exact.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This product works well!

PostedApril 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My new Whirlpool Cabrio toploader washer actually has Affresh as the cleaner for the machine. I keep my lid open like recommended but it still gets a musty smell after about 25-30 loads of laundry. I have used Affresh since I bought the machine and no nasty smells at all! And my laundry stays smelling good every wash. It is also comparable to other brands in price but I know this product works!
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Homestead, Fl

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased Whirlpool Duet Front Loaders. The sales person told us to purchase the Affresh tablets to clean the washer about every 2-3 months, to prevent mold or and bacteria from growing. We did just that. We always keep the dispenser door and front loader washer door open after usage to dry- prevents the bad odor. Not only do we do that, but we also use the tablets. The smell is refreshing and clean. We also know that out washer is sanitary after use. I love these tablets! Its easy to use, no major cleaning on my part involved. Just throw one in the washer, and the machine does the rest. I highly recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Saint Augusta
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great product!

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I really like how clean this makes the washing machine smell and look. We often have some not so friendly smells because of the jobs we have, but this product really does help to take those smells out of the washing machine. The washing machine interior looks clean like when we first purchased it after using this product. I do recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Spokane, MO, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

The product is to help remove odors and residue in the dish washer

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product was adequate. It s better than TSP, but phosphates were the only thing that really cleaned the dishes and kept the dishwasher from stinking.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: not quite as good as hoped
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>