728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers & Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Affresh Washer Cleaner removes and prevents odor-causing residue that can occur in all brands of high-efficiency HE washers. Affresh cleaner is a formulated, slow-dissolve, foaming tablet that gets under residue, breaks it up, and washes it away leaving the washer smelling fresh and clean. Simply place one tablet in the wash basket (without clothes) and run a Normal Cycle (hot option) or Clean Washer Cycle. Affresh brand is environmentally friendly, safe on septic tanks, and safe for all washer components. Package includes three tablets.
Overall rating:
4.292 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(96 reviews) 96
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product85 of 93reviews
Rating Breakdown 96 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(56)
4
(26)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(6)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product85 of 93reviews
Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Review 1 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from California

Good stuff

PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Good way to get washer clean of dog hair and grime
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Frederick, MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Effective

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Easy to use tablet that cleans residue buildup in your HE washer and deodorizes at the same time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Alexandria, VA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent Product

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Affresh was recommended to me by the dealer from whom I bought my high-efficiency washing machine. The product did an excellent job of cleaning the machine after my grandson used excessive detergent in doing his laundry. I plan to continue to use the product on a regular basis.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from 30022

I was skeptical

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I bought a used front load washer and it had already had the scent of mold when I picked them up. Then over the last year, it has progressively gotten worse. I leave the door open after each wash to help prevent that from happening. Then finally it was so bad that just opening the door would be unpleasant. I went online to do some research on how to get rid of the smell and I found this product - I was skeptical. Could a tablet truly remove a problem that is years in the making? The instructions said if the smell was present to run it 3 times back-to-back, so I did. For the most part the smell is gone! I gave it 4 stars because it didn't completely rid the machine of the problem but the before and after results were amazing.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from SIOUX CITY, IA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

HAVE USED ONCE SO FAR. THE WASHING MACHINE WAS CLEAN

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
JUST PUT IT IN THE WASHING MACHINE AND TURN ON THE CLEANING CYCLE. THE HARDES PART WAS OPENING THE PACKAGE THEY CAME IN.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Muskegon Mi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great

PostedJanuary 27, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Drop one of these in your washing machine and the machine smells brand new.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When I bought my top loading HE machine, I thought the sample was just a way of selling you on something you didn't really need.
As time went on, and I had a mildew type smell, I used just water to clean the machine and used the washer setting for this stuff. But it didn't resolve the smell.
So I purchased these and I can assure you they do work. Not sure how they do what they do or whatever, but they do work. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but I worried about using bleach for fear of it getting trapped and later putting bleach spots on clothes. So I'll spend the couple of bucks for these and use them as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, they just work
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Westchester County, NY

Affresh"ing" Review

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A home renovation 5 years ago allowed me to build a larger laundry room. I purchased 2 front loading Whilrpool washing machines. While I LOVE the machines, I noticed after awhile that they had a very funky smell after doing a wash. I tried cleaning with white vinegar and even tried an online product to remove the increasingly bad odor.
Affresh became the product to banish that funky laundry smell. After one use the odor was gone! Most importantly Affresh had all the elements that I was searching for: it is environmentally friendly, it is safe on septic tanks and all washer components, it is economically priced and easy to use. One tablet a month keep my washers and laundry clean and fresh smelling. This product hit a homerun for me!
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Southampton, New Jersey
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Good Purchase

PostedJanuary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The wife finds the product to clean the inside of the clothes washer much better than similar products.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the product does what it says it will do.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Customer service was excellent as always. Our machine would have an odor then we started to use this product which immediately took care of the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washing Maching Cleaners

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
High efficiency washing machine cleaners. Used each month you will keep a new machine in excellent condition. These work very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Cornelius, NC
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

worst purchase ever....

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased believing this product would clean and deodorize my washing machine...wasted my $$ on this product...not 1 good result came out of it...
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Homestead, Fl

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased Whirlpool Duet Front Loaders. The sales person told us to purchase the Affresh tablets to clean the washer about every 2-3 months, to prevent mold or and bacteria from growing. We did just that. We always keep the dispenser door and front loader washer door open after usage to dry- prevents the bad odor. Not only do we do that, but we also use the tablets. The smell is refreshing and clean. We also know that out washer is sanitary after use. I love these tablets! Its easy to use, no major cleaning on my part involved. Just throw one in the washer, and the machine does the rest. I highly recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Nottingham , Md
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Washer cleaner for HE

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
used one time and it removed the mildewy smell from my washer. Will use again and purchase when I run out of this.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

great product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked wonderfully! I recommend using it frequently! Helps keep things smelling fresh!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from elmont, NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The product is a standard prepackaged product and was fine, the pick-up desk was not.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from NJ
Gender:Female

Fair at best

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used these tablets as directed for several months now. I never had a problem with order in my h.e. washer, but I have had periodic issues with residue left behind after a few loads. After using the Affresh tablets as directed, I find that the tablet never fully dissolves and I still occasionally find residue. Maybe it's my washer!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Keep It Smelling FRESH

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Since owning a front load washing machine, using this product keeps the unit smelling and looking just like new. Keep your HIgh Efficient washer clean and smelling fresh, along with your clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from new hartford ct
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better then bleach

PostedNovember 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
great for washers better then bleach i use once a month
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affresh leaves your HE washer smelling like new

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I recently bought a three pack of Affresh because it's recommended by Maytag for their new high efficiency washers. I also bought the washer at Home Depot recently and it's great, but that's for another review.
I'd read complaints that often HE washer tubs can have a musty odor if not cleaned periodically. Some people say bleach works with hot water, while other say it doesn't do the trick. After a month, I decided to drop an Affresh into the wash cycle. It works perfectly. Nice, clean smell and no residue left in the wash tub.
In addition to using Affresh once a month of whenever you notice an odor from the washer, I suggest leaving the lid up after each use so that the tub can air dry.
Pros: works and smells great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>