728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Washers & Dryers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Affresh Washer Cleaner removes and prevents odor-causing residue that can occur in all brands of high-efficiency HE washers. While bleach only kills odor-causing bacteria, leaving behind the detergent residue, Affresh Washer Cleaner uses surfactant chemistry to remove the root problem. Affresh cleaner is a formulated, slow-dissolve, foaming tablet that gets under residue, breaks it up, and washes it away leaving the washer smelling fresh and clean. Simply place one tablet in the wash basket (without clothes) and run a Normal Cycle (hot option) or Clean Washer Cycle. Affresh brand is environmentally friendly, safe on septic tanks, and safe for all washer components. Package includes three tablets.
Overall rating:
4.253 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 83
Open Ratings Snapshot
91%of customersrecommend this product73 of 80reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(46)
4
(24)
3
(6)
2
(2)
1
(5)
Features 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
91%of customersrecommend this product73 of 80reviews
Customer reviews for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Review 1 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Rockford, IL, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Love the product does what it says it will do.

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Customer service was excellent as always. Our machine would have an odor then we started to use this product which immediately took care of the problem.
Pros: Easy to Use
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Philadelphia, PA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This stuff works great!

PostedJanuary 14, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When I bought my top loading HE machine, I thought the sample was just a way of selling you on something you didn't really need.
As time went on, and I had a mildew type smell, I used just water to clean the machine and used the washer setting for this stuff. But it didn't resolve the smell.
So I purchased these and I can assure you they do work. Not sure how they do what they do or whatever, but they do work. I'm sure there are other ways to do it, but I worried about using bleach for fear of it getting trapped and later putting bleach spots on clothes. So I'll spend the couple of bucks for these and use them as needed.
Pros: Easy to Use, they just work
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from 30022

I was skeptical

PostedOctober 5, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought a used front load washer and it had already had the scent of mold when I picked them up. Then over the last year, it has progressively gotten worse. I leave the door open after each wash to help prevent that from happening. Then finally it was so bad that just opening the door would be unpleasant. I went online to do some research on how to get rid of the smell and I found this product - I was skeptical. Could a tablet truly remove a problem that is years in the making? The instructions said if the smell was present to run it 3 times back-to-back, so I did. For the most part the smell is gone! I gave it 4 stars because it didn't completely rid the machine of the problem but the before and after results were amazing.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Peckville, Blakely, PA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

cleanand odor free washer

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
follow directions and no problem cleaning and keeping odor free
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers

Washer Cleaner

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Seems to work. Clothes washed after treatment have light scent of cleaner. Maybe concerning, but did not notice any changes to clothes fabric, color, or fit. No irritant noticed on skin.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from TULSA, OKLAHOMA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Affresh: a good product to keep the washer clean

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Affresh is a product recommended by Maytag to use on the washer machine once a month to keep it clean. I have not found Affresh to be sold in many sotres so I am happy to be able to find it at Home Depot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from OKC, OK
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Affresh Cleaner

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Affresh Cleaner worked amazing in my new washing machine. Looked just like new, (sparkles and all). Inside of washer smells just like new as well.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Kenai, Alaska
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Use it if you need it but be prepared for noise, and mass quantities of time, water and energy consumption.

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
To use this you have to run your washer through an entire wash cycle, this of course uses time, water and electricity. If you have a really smelly washer you have to do his THREE times in a row. This of course uses mass quantities of both water and electricity, not to mention time. Also, this product is a very hard tablet that sounds like a bar bell weight in your washing machine.
I bought a used washing machine that was a little smelly. After the first tablet, the washer was VERY smelly, and I thought what was I thinking! I went ahead and used the other two tablets, and after three hours, three tablets used, and a headache from listening to the bang, bang, bang, my washing machine was no longer smelly. The product says to do this once a month!
The product did do what it claimed it could, but I was not happy with the process to get there.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: not energy or time efficient
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Westchester County, NY

Affresh"ing" Review

PostedAugust 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A home renovation 5 years ago allowed me to build a larger laundry room. I purchased 2 front loading Whilrpool washing machines. While I LOVE the machines, I noticed after awhile that they had a very funky smell after doing a wash. I tried cleaning with white vinegar and even tried an online product to remove the increasingly bad odor.
Affresh became the product to banish that funky laundry smell. After one use the odor was gone! Most importantly Affresh had all the elements that I was searching for: it is environmentally friendly, it is safe on septic tanks and all washer components, it is economically priced and easy to use. One tablet a month keep my washers and laundry clean and fresh smelling. This product hit a homerun for me!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from fort worth, texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best cleaner tried

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the instructions given with this product were simple and can easily be followed
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Brownsville, texas
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
recommended works great, easy to use leaves washer clean
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from lafayette, co
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

wonderful job

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Home Depot sold me a Front loader LG washer-love it! Love it!! The salesperson suggested I buy Affresh to keep my washer smelling fresh. I don't use it as often as is suggested but it works like a charm. I have already passed on the information I have learned about washers and so far everyone loves the product. Thanks Home Depot for hiring good salespeople for passing on good information.
Pros: Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Caguas,Puerto Rico
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
It was a manufacturers recomendation. No more comments.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from NJ
Gender:Female

Fair at best

PostedOctober 23, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used these tablets as directed for several months now. I never had a problem with order in my h.e. washer, but I have had periodic issues with residue left behind after a few loads. After using the Affresh tablets as directed, I find that the tablet never fully dissolves and I still occasionally find residue. Maybe it's my washer!
Pros: Easy to Use
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Indianapolis
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Affresh leaves your HE washer smelling like new

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently bought a three pack of Affresh because it's recommended by Maytag for their new high efficiency washers. I also bought the washer at Home Depot recently and it's great, but that's for another review.
I'd read complaints that often HE washer tubs can have a musty odor if not cleaned periodically. Some people say bleach works with hot water, while other say it doesn't do the trick. After a month, I decided to drop an Affresh into the wash cycle. It works perfectly. Nice, clean smell and no residue left in the wash tub.
In addition to using Affresh once a month of whenever you notice an odor from the washer, I suggest leaving the lid up after each use so that the tub can air dry.
Pros: works and smells great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Homestead, Fl

Amazing Product

PostedOctober 28, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased Whirlpool Duet Front Loaders. The sales person told us to purchase the Affresh tablets to clean the washer about every 2-3 months, to prevent mold or and bacteria from growing. We did just that. We always keep the dispenser door and front loader washer door open after usage to dry- prevents the bad odor. Not only do we do that, but we also use the tablets. The smell is refreshing and clean. We also know that out washer is sanitary after use. I love these tablets! Its easy to use, no major cleaning on my part involved. Just throw one in the washer, and the machine does the rest. I highly recommend this product.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from wake forest, nc
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

I totally have to disagree

PostedJuly 13, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have one of the new HE Maytag washing machines which I hate since the water level doesn't even cover the clothes and I have trouble getting my laundry clean as I never did before. However, at the recommendation I tried Affresh and Surprise, it only cleaned the tub where the water line went to which was less than 1/4 of the total tub. So now I have a dingy tub except for the very bottom. Also I have problems with hard water and it did not get rid of the rust stains.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

needed product

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
this is a recomended product.If you do not use it the light on the machine stayes lit...............
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: expensive
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Vermont, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wash the Washer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Easy to use and effective product. Got rid of the smell and lessen the grime build-up.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Washer Cleaner for High-Efficiency (HE) Washers
from Parkland, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Cleaner Smelling Washing Machine

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
THis product makes the washer smell like new. It removes the smell of stale water etc.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 >>