728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Fireplace Inserts or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert

2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert

This beautiful fireplace insert is the same great stove as our Evolution Pellet freestanding model, except that this model is made to fit into your masonry or pre-fabricated zero-clearance fireplace. It has the same great features, as well as the same clean burn as the freestanding model (Super-Clean Burn of 1.43 grams per hour, making it one of the Top 20 Cleanest EPA Certified pellet stoves). This stove heats 2,000 sq. ft., powered by our Auto-Start One Touch Ignition and User Friendly control board. A wall or remote thermostat can be connected, which will start-up and shut-down the unit automatically, as needed. The Easy-Clean firebox is also highly efficient, and an elegant, 3-panel door design (with window trim included) provides an attractive, wrap-around view of the firebox. A 29-1/4 in. high x 40 in. wide fireplace cover (backplate) is included; the backplate trim kit is available as an option.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
78%of customersrecommend this product18 of 23reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(13)
4
(4)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(4)
Quality 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
78%of customersrecommend this product18 of 23reviews
Customer reviews for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Review 1 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
TESTyourPRODUCTS
from Smithfield, RI, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Decent low end stove but has some serious design issues

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I originally owned the freestanding Englander pellet stove with the double auger system with an extended hopper made to carry 80 pounds in my basement and decided I'd get a second stove from them as an insert to heat the upstairs since this first one worked so well. (I could burn it for 48 hours in between refills)
Well now I know that was a mistake, this stove would be great if not for 2 seriously flawed design issues, both relating to the hopper. First issue is that this is a single auger stove with an auger tilted at an angle with no vertical drop before the auger (all 45 degrees) so the pellets instead of falling down on top of the auger hold and bunch up on the sides making the stove bring in less and less pellets as the hopper gets lower. Once the hopper is about 50% empty the amount of pellets feeding is noticeably smaller and as a result the flame starts sputtering out so you have to keep opening the lid and pushing the pellets towards the center or else the stove will turn off with about 30% of the pellets still in the hopper. You have to do this 3-5 times each load or else it will go out and turn off which is ridiculous.
The other poor design flaw (which makes me wish I saw the stove in person instead of ordering online is that the hopper lid opening is TINY. Compared to the freestanding stove the lid is maybe 25% as deep so when you are filling the hopper with a bag you have to keep putting your hand in there and pushing the pellets towards the back of the stove to make room for the rest. And the hopper does not hold 40 pounds like it says you will never get more then 4/5ths of a 40 pound bag in there and if you are filling it when the stove is hot and having to stop rest the bag on the hot stove while you push the rest of the pellets toward the back of the hopper so you can pour more in as the bag starts giving off wonderful melting smells.
Anyways, aside from those two boneheaded design flaws the stove seems to work well.... it annoying that I will have to always be around to make sure the pellets are feeding (and just to note, I have already done the recommended cleaning the hopper, polishing and adding graphite lubricant to make the pellets slide but the sliding issue has nothing to do with the materials surface on the side it has to do with the auger pulling pellets from the sides and having no vertical shaft to drop the pellets on top of the auger. I am almost tempted to pull the stove out and redesign the hopper with sheet metal to make it work properly now. BTW, if any representatives of this company read this. Your hopper lid should stick out to the front of the stove and slope in. There is no reason to have it so small. The extra money for an insert should be more then the same stove with less metal and no pedestal with a reduced hopper lid. DESIGN a real insert please not a chopped up freestanding stove for more money.
I'd only recommend this stove if those two issues were fixed. If not this stove is a pain and only worth it if you plan on watching it like a hawk and flipping open that lid and shuffling pellets with your hand every 2-3 hours. Certainly not to be trusted to still be running if you leave the house for more than a few hours.
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Derf
from Michigan, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good heat from this stove

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When doing my research for a Pellet Insert I found that some complaints of this stove was the size of the hopper and that not all pellets didn't fall to the bottom of the hopper. I made sure I had enough room to add a 2000 Sq Ft. Pellet Stove Hopper Extension from Amazon made by Innovative Group Inc. for $134.00. The 2 items together make for a great stove and it holds more that 2 40lbs bags of pellets closer to 3. If you decide to try this option make sure that your fireplace opening is large enough and you are above average installer. The hopper extension is not made for the Insert but the freestanding stove so you have to make some mods to the extension.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Scott

Not the best designed product

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Auger-feed is lousy, doesn't get all pellets, only the ones in the middle of the hopper, have to check the hopper frequently and manually move pellets directly over the auger. This makes it very unreliable when leaving it alone for the day or night. Also very difficult filling the hopper.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Jensdivineutopia
from Bedford, PA 15522, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Heats most of the house but a lil pricey

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I think it does a decent job of heating most of the house. Our only complaint is that at night when no one is watching it, it will sometimes go out and you'll wake up freezing. It seems that the angle of the hopper doesn't really allow the pellets to slide down into the auger. You have to give them a lil push every few hours.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+6points
9out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
cici
from Lake Hughes, CA 93532, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality, good price

PostedDecember 19, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
There are more expensive and obviously better quality pellet stoves on the market, but one can save at least 1k and have a good stove for a good price. It's efficient and relatively easy to install.
We live at 3400 feet of elevation in Southern California, the house is 1200 ft and has very high vaulted ceilings in the living room. I was spend in too much money in wood, propane and electricity to warm up the house in winter and I now am able to keep at a very comfortable temperature my entire place with this stove only. I start with a high/medium setting (5) for about one hour and then leave it at low set all day (2).
I have ordered the remote control thermostat from the same manufacturer and I will install it so that I can have a fair temp also when I wake up. I use a door fan to push the warm air from the living room to the rest house and it does the trick.
Only con is the hopper designed in such way that pellets need to be stirred up and pushed down towards the center where the auger is every couple of hours, otherwise they stick on the side walls and don't flow down continuously, causing the stove to shut down. Just make sure the hopper is filled up nicely before going to sleep or before leaving the house for several hours. I can live with that. I am glad I can save money and don't have to carry wood anymore.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, efficent
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
jhard
from Windsor , Co.

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had friends that have pellet stoves and I went online to check out stoves. I have an original Masonary fire place which I had a Buck wood burn insert. I found out about pellet stoves can get the energy tax break and when I checked out pellet stoves I found Home depot had the best price and more options for the money. I installed it and read the review about auger noises ect. I was pleasently surprised at the low noise and it meet all my expectations. It is very efficient and hest my wgole house on 2 heat setting which is considered low. The service from Home Depot was eceptional. I am excited about the stove and have talked to everyone I know about it and Home Depot.
+21points
22out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
gator

this pellet stove is awesome

PostedFebruary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Completely heating my 1100 sq ft house with this stove. I have saved over $1000 on oil so far.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Morning
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Several serious design errors

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The side panels are firmly screwed to the body you have to dismantle them to fix anything on the back.
the ignition system is very weak as long as the flame doesn't come out in 10 minutes "E 2" will show up and shut down the stove.
When you hook up thermostat to the stove under "H L" mode. the thermostat doesn't prevent temp pass the set temp and when you use "ON OFF" mode you will face weak ignition and the possibility to reduce the igniter's life.
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
cd2175
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Purchase frequency:Yearly

GREAT PELLET STOVE

PostedDecember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this Fireplace insert Pellet stove fall of 2011. What a difference in our family room and home. Stove has exceeded our expectations. Love the glass front and the view of the fire. Heats our entire basement area of about 1,500 SF so well that we have never had the stove higher than the 1-3 setting. We have a split so the heat rises up the stairway and keeps our second level very comfortable. We have already noticed a saving on our oil delivery. I have recommended this stove to family and friends.
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
mikeva

excellent heat, great looks

PostedMarch 16, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
after convincing my wife we needed this stove, she was very skeptical about it, calling it a waste of money. after a few weeks of perfect operation and awesome heating she is now a believer. this stove burns great even low quality pellets. the ash pan is not that big, but apparently it doesnt have to be. after a week of use without cleaning it out there was not as much ash as i expected. i am very satisfied with this stove and the customer service from the company is the best i have experienced in years.
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
johnboy

works good, needs a little more engineering

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall is a good insert. Will not empty pellet bin all the way, but I knew that when I bought it. If u paint the bin with slick graphite paint it works better. Glass needs improved. Cant see through it after first day. Glass wont clean up very good.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great
Cons: have to clean alot
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
jharring10

Stay away!

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If this thing breaks out of warranty you are in trouble. My stove has been down for two weeks. This is my second season using it. I have been calling the manufacturer and I get a different story each time. There was apparenrtly an engineering flaw with earlier models. They sent parts to retofit and correct the problem. Parts did fit so I was told to grind them down myself to make them fit. I couldn't believe what I was hearing. My last lennox stove lasted for 10 years. This thing didn't even make it much past a year.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
LTmrs
from Seattle

Englander Pellet Stove Insert

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Though the instructions for installation were written to convert a free standing stove to an insert they are very clear and correct for the install. The stove worked first time as advertised and after the construction smell burnt off with the first heating it has worked flawlessly.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Mikethemailman1961
from Tolland Ct.

2000 sq ft pellet stove insert

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice looking stove although it has cheap gold trim around window that comes loose. Light weight and easy to install, it does a good job of heating area. Has a small pellet hopper ( holds BARELY a 40 lbs bag) and unit shuts off before the hopper is empty.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
john1584
from Syracuse NY

Great Stove from a great company

PostedDecember 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this stove in April 2009. Installed it myself with ease and excellent customer service/assistance from the manufacturer. I would highly recommend spending a little more on the venting system, i.e. get the flex bend 3 '' stainless pipe, it makes it a breeze when negotiating the chimney. Performance on this unit is great, heats my entire first floor with no problem. I did have a problem with the auger. When I started the stove up in September 09 the auger would not move and made a horrible grinding sound when activated. I called the manufacturer, they listened to the sound over the phone and sent the part needed ASAP. I would like the unit to be a little less noisy when operating (a lot of background noise when blower and exhaust are on) but this is part of the deal. Overall I am very pleased.
PS. get your pellets early and get plenty of them. The price in August 2009 was 185.00 per ton delivered, in December 2009 it was 250.00 per ton with a 65.00 delivery charge. Best of luck.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
alamidaslim
from CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

nice stove

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
installed myself a few days before hurricane sandy..has worked very well...been very reliable and has done everything it was advertised to do..family has been very happy with it and has saved on our heating bill
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
BobinNH
from Intervale New Hampshire
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Very good unit.

PostedNovember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This stove is very easy to put together and install. I the first two weeks are an indication of it's performance we are online to save about half our heating cost over last winter. We installed it on November 4th and are using about one bag a day. I installed a thermostat yesterday and is working perfect. very worth it.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
cris
from danbury ct
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

love it

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to install, works great , warms the whole house
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
Johnboy
from upstate New Yok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very poorly designed

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The idea of a pellet stove is great. This stove is not. I bought it in fall of 2009 and returned it in spring of 2010. Thank goodness Home Depot stands behind their products. First I had to put a set screw in it that was missed in production, then in spring I had a pile of pellets behind it that were falling out of the auger all winter and I didn't know it. During the season I had to open it to clean the clunkers out of the burn pot every day in high use months of Jan. and Feb.. Couldn't use the thermostat because once it shut off the burn pot was so full it wouldn't start back up on its own. Had to just let it run until burn pot was full and then clean it. What a pain. Replaced this stove with another brand with a much bigger burn pot and only have to clean it every couple of weeks. I'm in heaven. Don't waste your time on this stove unless your a stay at home and enjoy the high maintenance.
+3points
7out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 2,000 sq.ft. Pellet Burning Fireplace Insert
jptabor

Worst ever

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
First year I had multiple issues including auger and poor performace. I have 1,800 sq and will not heat the house. This is my second year and the stove will not light. The ignightor will not work and the auger will not feed. The stove uses to many pellats and burns dirty. I would only recommond this stove to someone I dislike.
+3points
6out of 9found this review helpful.
1 2 >>