728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade

36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade

The Redi Shade 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade is ideal for a variety of rooms including media dens and bedrooms. The shade blocks up to 99% of sunlight and helps provide privacy. This shade can be trimmed to fit most windows and can be easily hung or removed with its peel-and-stick installation design. The shade is recyclable for environmental friendliness.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 24 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(5)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(1)
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer reviews for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
Review 1 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Missouri

Love/Hate Relationship

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband loves these blinds I purchased for him. He is a police officer and alternates between night and day shift every couple of weeks. These blinds make our bedroom appear like nighttime during the day. He loves them. I have a love/hate relationship because they also make the room so dark it is hard for me to get up some mornings eventhough it's sunny outside, my body doesn't know it. In all seriousness these are great blinds and really cheap too.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Crawfordville, FL

Black Out Window Shades-Black

PostedSeptember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
These work great. They are just folded crete paper with an adhesive strip at the top. They cut easily to size with a straight edge. Instead of adhering to the top of the window jamb I stuck them to the top of the window. So when it's time to move I will be able to scrap off whatever stays put with a razor blade. We get a lot of sun and they do black out completely and effectively. Works great for us.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade

Perfect!

PostedAugust 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My husband and I were looking for something to block all the light in the bedroom and to help with the heat. Everything we looked at was SO expensive...then we ran across these. For the price we figured we might as well try it out and we are more than pleased with the results. These block SO much light and they do help with the heat! The bedroom is so dark and we would recommend these to everyone!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Louisiana

Black Out Shades

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have used these for many years and they hold up great.
If you work odd hours they are a must to keep the sleeping quarters dark as night at all times. Great price, and very simple to install, peal and stick and you're done. If any type of outside light keeps you from sleeping, these are a must have.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from GA

Blinds

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with blings. I work midnights and they are perfect for darkening room
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from ny ny

exactly as described.

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
needed it to block out light and it does that. simple and affordable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from New Hampshire

Classy decor, affordable, effective, easy install

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love these shades. I discovered them years and years ago when I moved into my first little, tiny apartment and needed them ONLY for the purpose of blocking the early morning light from windows so I could sleep-in a few mornings a week... but... I loved them for more than just the total darkness they create every early morning. A loved them because suddenly my cheap, studio apartment had classy looking window treatments for a totally affordable price and insanely easy install-- even for a poor twenty-something trying to get her life started.
Fast forward nearly a decade later and I am moving into a brand new, big, beautiful house where I have a lot of windows that need window treatments... and fast because my bedroom has 4 windows that proudly shine sun through them every early morning. So what do I immediately remember?
The classy, black-out shades from Home Depot.
I ordered them and was excited to see they are still affordable! They were delivered in just a few days and I was thrilled to hang them in my newly remodeled bedroom amongst an interior decor of brown, black and green. How easy it is to stick them to the top interior of the window casing and -- voila! It's as if I am a professional interior designer!
... oh wait, I am an an interior designer...
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Lancaster, TX

A Great Buy!

PostedJuly 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have used these shades in several homes and have always found them attractive and serviceable. We used them in an apartment we occupied where the property manager was quite taken with them. When we moved we left them knowing that the next tenants would enjoy having them as much as we had. When we moved to a house with a sunroom having eight windows we purchased them again. The black shades have a dramatic look and are great for privacy and keeping the hot rays of the sun out. Regardless of where we next move, we will always use these shades. You can't get a better value than this one anywhere!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Germantown, MD

Sleep Much Better at Night!

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been sleeping so much better since I installed these shades, which block out most of the light, but not all. Would work much better if shades came with a side strip or some other feature that could eliminate streams of light, but this is a great product for the price!
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from NYC

Gets the job done

PostedJune 2, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was surprised at how cheap this product was until I realized it was a glorified paper accordion style cover for a window. It's difficult to push up and keep up with the clips, it definitely gets the job done. The room is completely black!
It's like waking up in a cave!
I love the effect and my wallet loved the price.
Not a permanent solution for my nocturnal lifestyle and sleeping needs, however I will recommend this product as a temporary fix to those in need.
minus a star for wrinkly paper...plus 4 stars for a cheap effective fix
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Kew Gardens, NY

Excellent Product

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
While we consider our redecorating options, we needed shades which will both give us privacy and keep the room cool in the heat of summer. These shades offer both qualities for a very reasonable price. They are easy to install. In fact, we folded them over onto themselves (rather than sticking them onto the window frame) and ran a tension rod through the resulting pocket, so we can easily remove/move the shades when we are ready to install permanent window treatments.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from West Virginia

Simple

PostedAugust 21, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Was a little disappointed when I opened the package and found the shades are made of pleated paper (similiar to construction paper). Didn't take too long to put up but I must say it does block out the light which is what I wanted to do.
If you are looking for something cheap to darken a room, this is it. Plus side was the speedy delivery. No complaints there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Ithaca, NY

Blocks light, some impracticalities

PostedApril 3, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These blinds do block most light from entering through the window. You can cut them to fit your window with a scissor and they are easy to install. They have helped my infant sleep later in the morning. However, they are one solid piece, so you can't really open the window for ventilation while the blinds are down.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Waco Tx

Great Shades

PostedJune 8, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been every where., trying to find black out shades. Then I went on liine with Home Depot, found what I have been looking for. The price was great and I received them in a very short time. I would suggest going on line for items you can't find in the store, and it saves you gas and no traffic to deal with.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Sachse Texas

PostedNovember 16, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
These shades work great. My room is dark and my daysleeper can sleep! The adhesive does not stick well. The blinds kept falling, so I used a double sided adhesive to stick on the blinds to make them stay up. Overall rating is good. Just need to have the adhesive stonger.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Arizona

well worth it

PostedMay 31, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have problem sleeping when the sun rises, and with these its just like a hotel room, with those blackout curtains, the best thing I've purchased in a long time, and so easy to put up, just a couple of minutes, anyone can do it
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Vernon, TX

Good shade

PostedJuly 7, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product does darken the room but if you have fans going you might need to tape the sides as well. Does block some heat but not much. For the price it works well for darkening a room. It is easy to put up, took me all of 2 minutes.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Washington, Texas

PostedMay 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
WOW! These shades really do block out the light! Great for a childs room.. Take less than 5 mins to install.. start to finish! Highly reccommend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Dillsburg, PA

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great purchase! Have been looking for something like this
for years. Blocks the light and very easy to install. You won't be disappointed.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 36 in. x 72 in. Black Paper Shade
from Memphis, TN

Black Out Window Shades

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My husband works nights & has trouble sleeping during the day. We have light-filtering fabric shades installed on the outside of the window frames in the bedroom. I decided to try these room-darkening shades. They are made of paper, very simple and inexpensive. I cut them with a serrated knife and a pair of scissors. I wasn't too concerned about ragged edges because these black accordion shades are hidden by the fabric shades. If these will be your only window treatments though, I would suggest using an Exacto knife or something similar to cut the shades to fit your windows.
I installed the shades on the inside of the window frames and kept the fabric shades on the windows also. A small amount of light comes through on the sides of the shades, but the fabric shades help to block it, and it's not enough to bother my husband's sleep. The bedroom is so dark now he sleeps like a baby in the middle of the day. For under $20 (cost plus shipping for three shades) we've solved the sleep issue. Each shade comes with two clips that can be used to raise the shades to allow light to come through when you want. This was an excellent and cost-efficient solution to too much light in the bedroom.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>