728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Composters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Home Depot.

27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System

The Presto 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System is constructed of lightweight yet rugged plastic. This composting system is designed to allow proper amounts of air, heat and moisture to reach food scraps and yard waste for quick composting. This system is easy to assemble and is adjustable to over 3 ft. in diameter.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product15 of 20reviews
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
3.5 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(4)
1
(1)
75%of customersrecommend this product15 of 20reviews
Customer reviews for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
Review 1 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Bixby, OK

Great Starter, but No Cigar

PostedDecember 27, 2008
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is made from a very durable-feeling plastic-type black material. But the poles seem a bit flimsy. Some of the plastic hardware was not constructed properly, so we had to improvise w/ zip ties. Although the vague instructions say that you can expand this compost bin across 3' span, I highly recommend it being cinched in to resemble the tight, round bin featured in the advertised picture, to insure sturdiness. The bin has become a bit more secure as it's been filled w/ compost materials more, but initially, it did blow away in the Oklahoma wind when we were merely relying on the filmsy plastic poles. Overall, this will be a fun starter experience, next time, I think we'll just splurge for a more heavy-duty bin that's easier to "turn" & ensure a more reliable structure.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Fairfax, VA

Does the job for the least investment

PostedMay 14, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As noted be other reviewers, the plastic is rolled very tightly and tends to roll back up when you let go of it. I laid it out flat on my patio and placed several heavy objects on each end and in several places in the middle. After a few hours, it was much easier to put together. My main complaint is that Home Depot does not stock this item at its stores. It is the most cost effective composting solution they have, but I had to pay $7 or so to ship it. Also, there was not indication where the product was made. I tend to buy American when I can, and was not able to verify it was USA.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from retiree living in Colorado

Threw my money away

PostedOctober 15, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is one of the worst purchases I have made recently. The plastic tops to the sticks that should hold the rubber in place all broke off. A little wind turns to geobin over. I finally gave up after about three weeks. Trashed the item and bought a better one at my Home Depot store
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Response from Home DepotBy MattCustomer ServiceApril 27, 2010
The plastic stakes discussed in this review have since been re-engineered. Effective January, 2010, all old inventory was retired and all new shipments of this product use the new stakes. We think you'll find the performance of the new stakes much more satisfactory.
Review 4 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from NE Ohio

Great composter, even better for growing potatoes

PostedApril 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have five of these, I quickly fill them up with compostable material and the next year fill them with seed potato and other vegetable crops. Huge yields! Deer and space are a problem where I live---these are an inexspensive alternative to plot gardening!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Madison, WI

Fine for the $

PostedMay 2, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
PROS:
Relatively cheap. Composts things.
CONS:
My main complaint is that it doesn't come with any sort of lid, so you can't regulate how much water goes into the system without rigging up something yourself. Also, it was kind of a pain to set up (it came rolled up in a box and was VERY stiff--took some doing to get it into the right shape). If you have the time and inclination, you can make a similar product yourself for a fraction of the cost. (This is essentially a tube with airholes and an open bottom.) Finally, like the other reviewers, I would recommend buying a couple extra stakes at the hardware store. I haven't yet done so, but plan to.
All in all, not a bad value for the cost,when compared to the ridiculous alternative of paying hundreds of dollars for a barrel connected to a crank.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from NH

inexpensive/easy set up

PostedJune 3, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I didn't want to spend much but I wanted to compost. This gets the job done. There is a you tube video of a study done by a group in CA. They found out of four designs, this one was the best option due to air circulation and the temperature the compost was able to reach. A good product for not a lot of money. I have had it about six weeks and first batch of compost is just about ready for the garden!
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Illinois

Good Bin, Perfect for composting

PostedMay 27, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this for my mother for her birthday. She wanted a compost bin that would be easy for her to move, handle, and move around. This bin does not have a bottom, but once you pick where you'd like to put it, it will serve its purpose. It is slightly difficult to unwrap by yourself, but once you get the plastic screws in place, it holds a nice round shape. I liked that it was adjustable in diameter. Since my mother doesn't have too much compostable waste, we were able to make it the right size for her needs.
I would definitely recommend this composting bin to anyone who would like one at a economical price.
Good product, great price!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from WI

Suggestion for more sturdiness

PostedJune 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I went to the local garden center and bought 6 support stakes that are 4 feet long. The stakes that come with the bin are 3 feet.
Using the 4 foot stakes, thread through the top 2 holes instead of the second and third ones. Alternate the 3 foot stakes with the 4 foot stakes and the bin will be much more secure.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Minneapolis, MN

Great product, great price

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does it's job, easy to set up, adjustable sizes, easy to move to start a new compost pile. Very happy.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Washington, DC

Excellent for price

PostedJuly 21, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
you can spend a lot of money for a composter, but you do not have to. I have used an earlier version of the GeoBin which I like. But the new version is even better. In my experience, if you do serious composting, it is good to have two piles going. As one fills up, you can start the other. By the time the second one fills up the first is ready to use.
Very easy to set up. Capacity quite large
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Weymouth MA

Good product easy to use

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased one for my own use and found it very easy to set up and very convient to use. It is also inexpenseive. I liked it so much that I bought one for my daughter as a Christmas present.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Elk Grove, CA

The flexible size is the main pro

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The flexible size is the main pro. It is easier to disassemble when you need to turn the compost, change to a bigger size when your compost content grows.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System

PostedAugust 21, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The geobin is a fabulous idea. It looks great on the website and even when it arrives at your home. Unfortunately, I have experienced many problems with this model. The plastic ends on the stakes are poorly constructed and all have broken. I had use zip strips as holders to keep the geobin in place. Also, during a recent round of severe storms, two of the stakes bent and the geobin tipped over three times. It's definitely not worth the shipping and should be priced even lower than it already is.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Tucson, AZ

Cheap & Easy

PostedJuly 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Great purchase.... a very inexpensive way to start a compost pile. Make sure to stretch the material out for a day or two before assembling - makes it much easier and way less stressful. Love the ability to adjust it to the size I want and expand/contract based on the time of year/amount of compost.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Modesto

Easy to assemble. Great to begin composting.

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My son and I assembled this in about 5 minutes. Operation is manual, turning the compost with a rake. Perfectly suits my use of easy place to put yard waste while working in the back yard.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Columbia, SC

Hard to put together by yourself

PostedSeptember 28, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This bin comes as a flat sheet and it was difficult for me to secure with the plastic hardware by myself. I had to get help to secure and even then it feels a bit flimsy. It was inexpensive so I guess you get what you pay for. I would not recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Riverside, CA

Flimsy

PostedJune 26, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Very flimsy, but didn't want to spend the money on a more expensive bin. Doesn't seem like much of an improvement over a plain old compost pile. I will follow the previous poster's advice & buy some additional stakes.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Manchester, NH

Good product, one problem

PostedApril 28, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a very easy piece to put together and is very user friendly. The problem that I found is that you can't hit the stakes too hard with a hammer when trying to drive them into the ground without breaking the snaps.
I'm looking forward to having a more easily usable composter than I had previously.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Central Point, OR

Compost bin

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Only had it for a week. If there are no broken parts, it looks like it will be an OK bin.
Assemble in 3 minutes. Might buy another after I see how it works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 27 cu. ft. Plastic GeoBin Composting System
from Texas

PostedAugust 3, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Very easy to assemble
Easy to locate/relocate
Heavy enough construction to be durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.