728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

The SL-7001-Wh solar powered security light is perfect for any shed. It features 180 degree motion detection up to 70 ft. Uses (1) 15 Watt halogen bulb (Included).
Overall rating:
2.979 / 5
3
 / 
5
(48 reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product23 of 47reviews
Rating Breakdown 48 reviews
3.0 out of 5.0
5
(15)
4
(6)
3
(7)
2
(3)
1
(17)
Appearance 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product23 of 47reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
Review 1 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Light in action photos

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
this is an update to my last post about the light here are images of the light in use
the photos speak of themselves and put to rest the scoffers complaints these lights have been running on this land for about 8 months without a single problem remember this light is good for low to meidum use areas when you buy new follow directions on the light and enjoy
Pros: photogenic, soft confrtable light non earatating
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Bright solar light; FIVE year warranty

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'll admit, when I first pulled the small solar panel out of the box, I was very doubtful it could actually power a 15 watt Halogen floodlight. But it does, and the light output is VERY bright for my needs, which is lighting a stairway.
So I bought TWO more! And until yesterday, they've all performed perfectly for three years now.
However, I did mount them under the house eaves -- out of the sun and rain. Because frankly, I'm not sure the plastic case would be sufficiently watertight in a hard-driven rain, even with the rubber gasket that is supposed to seal water out.
So no, they won't last forever.
And that why I came here tonight; to buy a replacement for one of the lights that stopped working after three years. And after three years, it was certainly out of warranty, right?
Wrong! In the back of the user guide, it says that Heath/Zenith warrants these lights for FIVE YEARS!
So tomorrow I'll be calling Heath about getting a replacement; instead of buying a new one from Home Depot tonight. (Sorry Home Depot!)
Pros: surprisingly bright for a solar floodlight, no ugly romex; no expensive electrician, solar powered!
Cons: sort of glunky looking, probably only weather "resistant"
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

Total Waste of Money

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Terrible design. Lasted just a couple of months in the north texas heat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from austin, tx

another poorly designed solar product

PostedApril 11, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Works great for about 3 months in the Texas sun, then slowly,.. the halogen gets dimmer... and dimmer, until it's dead.
I took a multimeter to the guts- terrible design! The solar panel is great- however, the draw is less than needed to charge the battery sufficiently (in my mega sunshine part of the world), a poorly rated (in Ah) battery, and a 15 watt sucking halogen bulb. IMO this was designed to fail. Just remedial electronics would lead you to a more efficient design.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Washington State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Weak Solar Panel Mounting Shaft

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this product, and was generally pleased with the performance. The solar panel & battery combination provides enough power and energy storage to operate the light for my conditions. After about two years, the shaft that is included on the solar panel mount broke in a windstorm, and I have not been successful in finding any place on the internet where I can purchase a new mount, or shaft. I am reluctant to purchase a complete new unit just to replace the shaft.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: shaft is not sturdy enough to withstand heavy wind
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Palm Springs, CA

Very Good For About 2 Years

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I have 2 of these solar lights. One has been in use for about 2 years and the other only about 6 months. I really like them EXCEPT the light output on the older one is now about half of what it should be. I assumed that it was the battery, so I have been shopping for a new one. I can't locate a 6 volt 6ah replacement battery that will fit inside the compartment. Heath Zenith is not very helpful. The light comes with a 5 year warranty but covers nothing. If I can't find a new battery (assuming the battery is my problem), then this is a very expensive lighting alternative ($90 for 2+ years of service)?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

Save Your Money

PostedJune 22, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This light is practically worthless. I have 3 of these and all of them will come on bright and dim down to nothing within a minute. All were charged per the instructions and all got full direct sun for most of the day. They operate maybe once every couple weeks, so I know they are fully charged, yet they won't put out any usable light for more than 20 seconds.
If you need good motion detection lighting go the extra mile and do hard wired lighting.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

Product is not working properly

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product does not stay on for the designated amount of time. seems to sense other light sources. Manufacturer sent an adapter and it didn't stay attached. I don't recommend this product to anyone.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from southeast, az

PostedJanuary 3, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased two lights last year, they are bright but do not "flood" an area with great amounts of light I would say at most a distnace of twenty feet anything beyond that point gets hardly any light if any. I bought two one for the outside and one for the inside of my shed. The outside light still works fine, the inside light turns on and goes off and turns on and off when it wants. I have yet to check the wires from the solar panel to the battery. Otherwise I would only recommend this light if you live in a sunny area and only want to light a small area.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Guyana South America

This product failed very quickly

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I brought this product out of the country and paid all import duties and taxes which doubled the price and makes it difficult to return. All instructions for operation were followed carefully before installing the lights which included a long charging period before using. They are in a tropical environment at 6 degrees north, so there is copious amounts of sunlight. I purchased 6 units and withing the first two weeks only two are functioning. The problem seems to be with the bulbs that they burn out with a bright flash. The battery seems to be fine and charges well. It may be that they get overcharged however there should be controls for that.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from kaneohe, hawaii

save your money

PostedNovember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
i bought 2 of these. worked great for about 3-4 months. then, no light. as security lights these are unpredictable; sometimes they go on, sometimes it doesn't (more times than not, it does not go on any longer). i still have these attached to the house hoping it will work. wanted to be green, but the green product needs to work.
i was pretty disappointed.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light

I bought and installed four

PostedOctober 2, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought and installed four of these units by our house. I followed all of the directions and not one of them worked. I tried to test it to see fi it would go on and none of them went on. I left it outside in the sunlight for five days , when the instructions said to do this for three days. I wouldn't recommend it. I installed all four at the same time with as an investment. Not worth it.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Austin, TX, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Light worth buying for low to medium use areas

PostedJanuary 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This light last longer more durable then its LED more expensive cousin and the person who posted these lights go dim maybe did not let the units charge properly before first use my light ended in tragic accident as the pole it was on fell over smashed up but I plan to buy a new one the LED units I got all failed in short order and had no coverage insurance but this Halogen light is good and worth the money just charge for 3 to 4 days then set it to run and enjoy the security the Led unit is a failure but This one is better and it lights a wide area
also make sure you orientate the solar panel and least 7 hours of exposure to the sun
Pros: Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Very Bright, Nice Design
Cons: plastic battery compartment
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Encino, CA

Very bright, great for sides of house

PostedAugust 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought these to illuminate both sides of my house. The areas are approximately 5 feet wide by 45 feet long. These lights work great! I was pretty shocked how well they light up. The motion sensor is very sensitive, too. You can also set how long you want the light to stay on after it is triggered. I'm going to get a couple more for the front of the house. Highly recommend!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Bend, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

good product at a good price

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
good bright light that comes on at dusk and during dark when motion occurs within its set boundaries...would be again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from california

PostedFebruary 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have only had 2 of these up for a week, but so far they work great. They are very bright for a solar powered light, much more than expected. Easy install, just be sure to let it charge before turning on. I charged mine for 4 days. We will see how durable they are and how long they will hold a charge.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Novi, Michigan

Doenst last very long

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After I installed it above my garage door I would say it worked great for about 4 months, then I started to notice it not carrying a charge as long. Now it barely lights up at night.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Northern California

Motion sensor gives out quickly

PostedSeptember 5, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Rating of 3 for easy installation and bright light. Not recommending because it doesn't work for very long.
My husband bought this and installed over the garage door. The first one we bought never lit up. We waited a week to make sure it had time to absorb the sun. Still no luck. We returned it for a new one (same light) assuming it was just a defective light. The new one worked after just 6 hours. Hooray! Light was much brighter then I expected, so that is a plus.
It detected motion and would come on for about 1 minute. The settings are adjustable and my husband took it down and put it up several times, but it would never stay on for very long. After a few months, the light started coming on at will - didn't matter if there was motion detected or not. I could jump up and down in front of it, and nothing. Then the cat would walk by and it came on.
After 6 months, it won't even come on at all now. My husband (who is a pretty good handy-man) has checked wiring for cracks, ensured solar panel faces the sun, checked bulb in light. Nothing will make it work. We're now looking for a different solar motion light that will work longer than 6 months.
It's not that expensive, but for almost $100 I expected it to last a bit longer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Surprisingly Bright & Easy to Install - I Recommend

PostedFebruary 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this light to attach to a tall Pine tree in the backyard. This required making a few mounting boards to mount the light and solar panel to; took 5 mins to cut a piece of shelving and paint.
Once mounted, I gave it a few days to ensure the batteries were charged and did the test at night. I was surprised at how bright the light was, being mounted aprox. 10' above the ground. The light lit up a side walkway of roughly 20'x 15' with the light pointing down (maybe -70 degrees from the horizon).
Only problem: I'm in Florida; land of lightening. And, sure enough, the tree was hit by lightening blowing the light to pieces!! I would suggest a good grounding somehow, if possible.
I'm replacing the light with the same model.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 180 Degree Outdoor White Solar Powered Motion Detection Security Light
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DONT WASTE YOUR MONEY

PostedDecember 24, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought the first on on Black friday this year , and as per the instructions let the light charge for 5 days , it maybe worked 4-5 times , took it back 2 weeks ago and got another one and once again let it charge , once again maybe worked 4-5 times coming down today and getting my money back ,,COMPLETE PIECE OF GARBAGE
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: doesnt work after a couple days
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>