728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Lighting Accessories or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

The Heath Zenith 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite is designed to add motion-sensing ability to any light by simply replacing the existing switch. The wireless sensor can be mounted up to 100 ft. away from the wall switch receiver. It features 240-degree motion detection with selectable sensitivity, adjustable brightness and a light timer of 1 or 5 minutes.
Overall rating:
3.686 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
71%of customersrecommend this product25 of 35reviews
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(1)
3
(6)
2
(3)
1
(6)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
71%of customersrecommend this product25 of 35reviews
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
Review 1 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Springfield, MO.
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Does not work well

PostedApril 6, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
About 6 months ago, installed motion detector at front of garage to control exterior garage lights when vehicle approaches; remote sensing light switch is in hallway to garage; (about 15' from the motion detector.) The problem is inconsistent function. tI will work for a couple of days then next night it does not come on at all, and have to reset it, sometimes multiple resets and fussing with it. Frequently does not turn off after time limit, and sometimes does not turn off at dawn. Lately it just doesn't work at all. Very weird and frustrating. it is going in the trash and i will try one from Lutron or Insteon... more expensive but maybe more reliable.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Ashford, CT
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Electrical project with Home Depot products and expertise

PostedNovember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The overall project included bringing electricity into a detached garage as well as the installation of 3 outdoor lights.The Heath-Zenith 240 degree Motion Sensor was used to control 1 Cordelia Cape Cod Lantern and 2 Illumine Black Lanterns. With the help of North Windham Home Depot's Paul (a retired Navy electrical expert) and various other electrical products from Home Depot, I was able to purchase the correct products to make this project extremely successful.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

This is a good product

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like this product because the wireless feature allowed me to not have to run wiring from a conventional motion detector. I replaced the light switch to my outside lights with the included switch and mounted the sensor outside about 60 feet away. It works well and for the price I may buy another one...You should carry this in the store not just on the website. If people understood how it works they would like the convenience of not having to run wiring. I have not had the unit long enough to see how long the battery in the motion detector transmitter lasts...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Massachusetts, USA

Works well

PostedOctober 22, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This product works as described. A little confusing at first, but easy to operate once you read the instructions. Comes on at dust for 3 or 6 hours (or not at all if choosen) at a power setting you choose. E.g full to half power. Comes on full bright when motion is detected for 1 to 5 minutes. After the 3 or 6 hours the lights turn off and only come on again if motion is detected, but not for the full 3 or 6 hours. Highly recommend.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great
Cons: Appearance, doesn't match other wall switches
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Newport News VA

easy to install and works great

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once installed and if running it in night time setting in the on/off mode (comes on when it senses motion). You will need to let it cycle through an entire day for you to know if it's working properly. I finished my installation late in the evening (it was dark) and it wouldn't work in the night time setting in on/off mode for the 1 or 5 or 10 minute setting. The dual light setting worked but it had to cycle through a day before it starting working correctly the next evening.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Arvada, CO, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Just what I needed in a motion sensor with an existing porch light

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only wiring involved with this set is the replacement of the existing light switch. The switch face dimensions match the 3 gang cover plate I needed to continue using. The face color is slightly more gray than my other switches. The three control buttons don't match my other switches at all, but are fine for all the adjustability (dimmer, manual mode, and power override). The housing of the switch is large, and just barely fit in my switch box. Placement of the outside sensor so that it covered my entire area was my biggest challenge. Mounting was easy. Aiming and adjustability is good. Performance is very good. The 240-degree coverage is arguable, but I'm sure it is more than 180-degrees. Very pleased with this product.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Greenville, SC

Works Great

PostedNovember 27, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this item several months ago and installed it for our front porch light. It works great. The light comes on the minute I pull into the driveway.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

Does not work.

PostedApril 1, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Set up motion detector on my deck less that 25' from the receiver outlet. The outlet would not turn on. Tried several locations for the motion detector and outlet with the same results. Returned to store. Have to keep looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Washington, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good so far other than the color.

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance; switch should be white to match the a standard switch cover, not dull grey. Quality to me is primarily how long something lasts, so it is too early to tell. Value; good assuming it lasts several years. Ease of intallation; quite easy.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

work good but not for long

PostedApril 1, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm on my second one and now it stopped working too.
Seems to work fine but for less than a year.
I think it has a two year warranty but Heath Zenith is unresponsive.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Dallas, TX

Okay if you are looking for motion sensor.

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I installed this on a clients front door to operate 3 porch lights. Works OK as a dusk to dawn motion light, however I couldn't get the dual brite feature to operate properly. After several days, the client told me it was operating 24/7 on dual brite. I killed the feature and just set to operate on dusk to dawn motion. Great idea, OK execution.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Salem, OR, USA

Easy set-up

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is an easy setup that uses your existing light fixture to make it motion activated. Easy to install. Needs 2 AAA batteries. Cannot be used with florescent lights.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

Excellent for Reiss Lighting

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
this was my solution for my front porch reiss light. i looked everywhere for a already done motion light sensor and didnt find one. this was the next best thing which worked like a champ! only problem I had was you had to order it online. Non of the stores had it for sale so that was my only issue.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Unique, Eco-Friendly, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: only available online
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Rancho Mirage, CA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

another very good motion detector from heath-Zenith

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Use this if you want an outside motion detector that uses existing lights. It won't be as bright as floods, but it should scare the bad guys away without scaring your guests. I have these at each entrance to the house, most 6 years + old, still working fine.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Greece, NY 14626, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Mine quit after 2 years.

PostedDecember 14, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not recommend the Heath Zenith motion light. Mine quit after only 2 years.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from WILKES BARRE PA.

Perfect !

PostedMarch 14, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We wanted a motion light for our front porch but we already had a set of matching lights.I purchased the SL-6053 MOTION LIGHT SWITCH SET and hooked it up.Easy to install and it works great. I am getting another one for my back porch light. MAB 3/14/10
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from Florida

Heath/Zenith Motion detector

PostedJune 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is an excelent product, easy to install with step by step diriections. The motion detector is battery operated. the batteries last about 6mo.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

Very temperamental

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is very temperamental. While trying to install and get the setting where they need to be it has to be reset very specifically. With this process it took me about 3 hours to install and get it to work like I wanted.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite
from hixson, tn

Motion detector light

PostedMay 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I already had one light as a gift and bought 2 more on line. They were easy to install but I am a craftsman by trade. They work by sending a signal from the sensor to the switch to turn the light on. I had to adjust the internal switches because of some overlap of the signals. Everything works fine and I am happy with the installation and the operation of the sensors. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Light Set with DualBrite

Easy to install and use

PostedFebruary 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Switching out the wall switch was easier than I expected. I took the advice from previous reviews and left the antenna outside of the switch. I don't know if that made a difference or not, but I haven't had any problems with the signal from the sensor reaching the wall switch. The light stayed on all night the first night, but after that, it does what it's supposed to and switches on at dusk and off three hours later.
Pros: Functional, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design, easy install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>