728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

The Heath Zenith 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light features patented swivel arms to facilitate directional lighting and textured glass to protect the two 120-watt halogen bulbs (not included). The light has a dark-bronze weather-resistant finish, a timer and an adjustable 100 ft., 240-degree detection range. It is UL listed.
Overall rating:
2.754 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product28 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 61 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(17)
4
(10)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(28)
Appearance 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product28 of 57reviews
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Review 1 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install and adjust. Worked for about a week. It comes on and stays on. Took it back for a refund. After reading reviews of other models made by Zenith that have the same problem I have decided to look for another make. Save yourself the aggravation and do not buy this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from SPRINGFIELD, MA

DOESN'T LAST

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I PURCHASED ONE ABOUT A YEAR AGO. IT INSTALLED EASY ENOUGH. STOPPED WORKING AFTER A WEEK. CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE SAID TO RETURN TO STORE. EXCHANGED FOR ANOTHER ONE. WORKED GREAT UNTIL LAST WEEK ( 1 YEAR). JUST STOPPED WORKING. CALLED TECH SUPPORT. PROBABLY PHOTO SENSOR IS NO GOOD. DID NOT KEEP RECEIPT SO WILL HAVE TO SEND BACK TO COMPANY FOR REPLACEMENT.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New York

Poor Quality

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 3 years. That breaks down to just $10/year if you do not factor in a cost to install. Warranty is only good for 2 years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Chattanooga, TN

Finally Secure

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All my neighbors have security lights so I decided to get on board. This is affordable and looks good. I had a little trouble installing but it was probably just me. Works as advertised and I like that it's energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

looks great...works terrible

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had this installed by electrician....worked great for about a month then quit for no apparent reason! The second of two installed still works fine.....maybe just a fluke??
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value for price

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fixture easy to install with basic electrical knowledge. Will not take fluorescent flood bulb. So if you interested in using energy savings bulb you will have to buy LED FLOODS @ $ 30 a pop. Plus side is those bulbs are warranted for 5 years and supposed to last 20 plus years. A standard flood bulb goes for $5-$10 a piece do the math with the energy savings of LED BUY the LED. Con one of the ceramic fittings was cracked.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Monticello, FL 32344, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works Fine With Caveats

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When new this works great but with time the motion detector will lose its sensitivity, I've owned several over the years. Replacing the motion detector itself really requires removing the entire unit so why not replace the whole thing and start out with a new warranty? Also they have eliminated the ground lead which means if the house ground wire is short you'll have to splice in a piece of wire to make the connection.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: longevity, no ground lead
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Pinole, CA

Best Motion Security Light! Choose this one!

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best security motion light you can buy! It works as it is specified on the box... When you use the dual brite mode it comes on at dusk and turns off at dawn, which is nice because it adds beauty and more security to your home... and it doesn't use full power when on Dual Brite mode it uses only 10% of the bulbs energy so the bulbs will last longer... So far I had this product for about 2 weeks and never had any problems... Great Product and i recommend this to any customers who want an excellent motion security light...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from journaltk
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality of Product

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with the quality of this motion light. Unlike others this was is well made and has cover over the bulbs
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from dartmouth, ma

cheap money for a great sensor light

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
install was a breeze. the dark bronze finish looks great next to my dark brown stained deck and arbor. excellent range on the motion sensor!! the light has been installed for several weeks now and is installed without any protection to the elements, meaning that the light in not mounted underneath a overhang/soffit to protect it from rain and snow. it has endured several rainstorms and a few inches of snowfall and still works wonderfully!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Fort Worth, Texas

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this 5 years ago to replace regular flood light above garage door of new home. Lasted about 4 years. Bought another last April, dual brite feature goes on/off continuously every few mins, replaced flood lamps with lower wattage,adjusted motion sensor and lamp placement, still on/off every few mins. Will not purchase Heath Zenith product again and will not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

This product may not be right for your application.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
I purchased this light to replace an existing light and had problems from the beginning, meanwhile I did some research on the manufactures website and found out per their troubleshooting procedures if there is a coil within the circuit your installing this light, you'll have problems. I contacted Heath Zenith and they sent me just a regular motion detector light without the DualBrite features. As per their troubleshooting guide: "INDUCTIVE PULL: Electrical devices that contain a coil will cause the light fixture to turn on without detecting motion if the device is on the same wiring circuit as the light fixture. Possible items that may trigger the fixture are: Ceiling fan, transformer, garage door opener, a fixture using a compact fluorescent (CFL) bulb (or any type of “energy saving” bulb), overhead fluorescent lighting, or an electrical device using a coil plugged into a receptacle on the same circuit. If the device with the inductive pull is not removed from the same circuit as the light fixture, it will eventually lead to the failure of the sensor and the light will stay on all the time or start flashing on and off. Follow the steps below to determine if there is an inductive! e pull on the same circuit." I do recommend this product, but get what is right for your application.
+25points
25out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

Lifespan issue

PostedApril 16, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
The features are fine (brightness, dawn to dusk is good). However, this is my third light in the past 7 1/2 years and I'm sorry to say it will be my last. The last one I purchased was about 2 years ago (seems about the average life span) and worked well. Then about two months into it, the 3 - 6 hr timer only worked for 3 hrs. I also bought one for my parents house at the same time and that one still works. My house is a corner lot in a rural neighborhood that does not have much street lighting. The problem is that the red LED flashes but the lights did not come on anymore. Even tried the test mode, new bulbs, etc. and nothing. I've been patient with the last two but I think my unfortunate luck ran out. I wish I remembered the 10 yr warranty. Take your chances with this type of light, folks!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright
Cons: short lifespan
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Stuart, FL, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Performance is highly satisfactory

PostedApril 9, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
I found the performance of these flood lights to be highly functional and satisfactory. Their sensor operations operate flawlessly. The only feature change I would suggest to the manufacturer is that the base be another inch, or 2 inches in diameter, allowing the mounting area around the junction box to be completely covered, allowing a more finished looking appearance.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Lots of Features
Cons: diameter of base too small, cone attachment a bit flimsy
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Bloomington, MN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The right product

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
This product was recommended by the electrician who installed it. Works fine.
Pros: Looks Great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Miami, FL, USA

Bad quality -

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
It may look like a good product but the electronics are not for outdoor use and after a couple of months the device stop working. Try something better.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Lima, OH, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Junk

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
Like others reviewing this product, I replaced a unit that had worked well for years. I went through 3 Heath Zenith fixtures in less than 2 years. It seem this once reputable company has globally outsourced and cheapened its products to the point of being worthless.
Pros: Looks Great
Cons: short service life unreliable
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Stopped working within 2 months! DON'T BUY THIS JUNK!

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
I saw all the bad reviews but couldn't resist the lower price soI bought this one to try it out.
I set it to max sensitivity, timer = 1 minute, dual-brightness: lights turned on to dim from dusk to dawn, full brightness for 1 minute when motion is detected, complete off during daytime.
It seemed to work very well. I was happy so a few days later I went to buy another one.
Set the second one to the same as the first one.
BOY DO I FEEL SO STUPID! WHAT A WASTE OF MONEY AND TIME!
Within 2 months, both of them stopped working.
It doesn't turn on at all at night, or day - no matter how close you are to the sensor or how much you jump up an ddown. It seems the daylight sensor thinks it's day all the time so it doesn't turn on.
I tried to change various settings but NOTHING WORKED!
2 OUT OF 2 ARE NOW USELESS!
The only mode it works is the Test mode. Which means it turns on (75% of the time) when it detects motion day AND night.
I wasted my time installing this piece of junk.
Save your money and save your time - buy something else
STAY WAY FROM THIS PRODUCT!!!
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New york

hunk of garbage

PostedNovember 29, 2008
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
Bought one in the spring and installed, worked finee for aprox. 4 months then sensor went bad. Red indicator lights up at movement but lights did not come on. Bought second unit 3 weeks ago and exact same problem!! Buyer beware as this unit is a total hunk of garbage!!!! Gave it one star and that was one to many as i couldn't leave the field empty!!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

sensor does not work w energy efficient bulbs

PostedDecember 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
I called heath-zenith tech support due to light staying on for no reason----They advised me to use 90 watt halogen bulbs--removed my energy efficent bulbs and now works great!. I also set the dualbrite to off--did not want 50% lighting when not detecting motion.-----easy to install.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>