728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

The Heath Zenith 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light features patented swivel arms to facilitate directional lighting and textured glass to protect the two 120-watt halogen bulbs (not included). The light has a dark-bronze weather-resistant finish, a timer and an adjustable 100 ft., 240-degree detection range. It is UL listed.
Overall rating:
2.757 / 5
2.8
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
49%of customersrecommend this product32 of 65reviews
Rating Breakdown 70 reviews
2.8 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(12)
3
(4)
2
(3)
1
(32)
Appearance 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Quality 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
49%of customersrecommend this product32 of 65reviews
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Review 1 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Triangle, NC
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Exactly what I was looking for

PostedOctober 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Because it was high on my house I had a pro do the installation and it took him only about 15 minutes to do two units - electricity was already in place.
I'm getting used to how to do the settings as it sometimes comes on and stays on when I thought I had it set for 5 minutes.
Pros: Looks Great
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Arizona
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good value security light

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good value product, very easy to install. One issue, however. The only bulbs that can be used are standard halogen bulbs. Not enough room at the base for CFL or LED bulbs.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: only uses halogen bulbs
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Mpls, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defiant motion sensor security light

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I installed two of the Defiant motion sensor lights, one year ago, after one year neither of them now work.
Cons: does not work after 1 year
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

PostedMarch 10, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Easy to install and adjust. Worked for about a week. It comes on and stays on. Took it back for a refund. After reading reviews of other models made by Zenith that have the same problem I have decided to look for another make. Save yourself the aggravation and do not buy this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from SPRINGFIELD, MA

DOESN'T LAST

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I PURCHASED ONE ABOUT A YEAR AGO. IT INSTALLED EASY ENOUGH. STOPPED WORKING AFTER A WEEK. CALLED CUSTOMER SERVICE SAID TO RETURN TO STORE. EXCHANGED FOR ANOTHER ONE. WORKED GREAT UNTIL LAST WEEK ( 1 YEAR). JUST STOPPED WORKING. CALLED TECH SUPPORT. PROBABLY PHOTO SENSOR IS NO GOOD. DID NOT KEEP RECEIPT SO WILL HAVE TO SEND BACK TO COMPANY FOR REPLACEMENT.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New York

Poor Quality

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Stopped working after 3 years. That breaks down to just $10/year if you do not factor in a cost to install. Warranty is only good for 2 years.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Chattanooga, TN

Finally Secure

PostedOctober 25, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
All my neighbors have security lights so I decided to get on board. This is affordable and looks good. I had a little trouble installing but it was probably just me. Works as advertised and I like that it's energy efficient.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

looks great...works terrible

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
had this installed by electrician....worked great for about a month then quit for no apparent reason! The second of two installed still works fine.....maybe just a fluke??
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Good value for price

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Fixture easy to install with basic electrical knowledge. Will not take fluorescent flood bulb. So if you interested in using energy savings bulb you will have to buy LED FLOODS @ $ 30 a pop. Plus side is those bulbs are warranted for 5 years and supposed to last 20 plus years. A standard flood bulb goes for $5-$10 a piece do the math with the energy savings of LED BUY the LED. Con one of the ceramic fittings was cracked.
Pros: Functional, Very Bright
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Monticello, FL 32344, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It Works Fine With Caveats

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
When new this works great but with time the motion detector will lose its sensitivity, I've owned several over the years. Replacing the motion detector itself really requires removing the entire unit so why not replace the whole thing and start out with a new warranty? Also they have eliminated the ground lead which means if the house ground wire is short you'll have to splice in a piece of wire to make the connection.
Pros: Eco-Friendly
Cons: longevity, no ground lead
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Pinole, CA

Best Motion Security Light! Choose this one!

PostedNovember 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best security motion light you can buy! It works as it is specified on the box... When you use the dual brite mode it comes on at dusk and turns off at dawn, which is nice because it adds beauty and more security to your home... and it doesn't use full power when on Dual Brite mode it uses only 10% of the bulbs energy so the bulbs will last longer... So far I had this product for about 2 weeks and never had any problems... Great Product and i recommend this to any customers who want an excellent motion security light...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from dartmouth, ma

cheap money for a great sensor light

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
install was a breeze. the dark bronze finish looks great next to my dark brown stained deck and arbor. excellent range on the motion sensor!! the light has been installed for several weeks now and is installed without any protection to the elements, meaning that the light in not mounted underneath a overhang/soffit to protect it from rain and snow. it has endured several rainstorms and a few inches of snowfall and still works wonderfully!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from journaltk
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quality of Product

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I was very pleased with the quality of this motion light. Unlike others this was is well made and has cover over the bulbs
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Unique, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Eco-Friendly, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Fort Worth, Texas

Poor quality

PostedFebruary 26, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Purchased this 5 years ago to replace regular flood light above garage door of new home. Lasted about 4 years. Bought another last April, dual brite feature goes on/off continuously every few mins, replaced flood lamps with lower wattage,adjusted motion sensor and lamp placement, still on/off every few mins. Will not purchase Heath Zenith product again and will not recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Des Moines
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

piece of junk

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
Mine came with a problem common with many of these units. Unit turns on then stays on. Reading directions carefully, repositioning sensor and lamps, etc etc. (I have electrical experience too.) Brand new and a total piece of junk. The real rub is that for any product like this there is real time and resources to install. The if it doesn't work, what then? Back up on the ladder and taking it all apart and down again? Then back to the store (another half hour and more gas) to try another piece of junk? We are not talking about a table lamp that doesn't work when you plug it in, right? Total piece of junk and a waste of time. Who is going to reimburse me for the time it took to install and then uninstall? And then what?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Enfield, CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not For Long Haul

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
Bought four units about 2 years ago to replace sensors that were nearly 20 years old and starting to fail. These units worked great for the first year after which they began to fail. Only one of the 4 still works. Red light senses motion but lights do not come on. Price looked attractive at the time but given I now need to replace the units, it would have been better to purchase a higher end unit.
Look for another brand. Would not recommend these.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Penfield New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Motion sensor light

PostedDecember 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
Easiest light I have ever installed. Instructions and packaging were top notch
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from New River, Arizona
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Nice light for the buck!

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
The motion sensor is very strong. I have it mounted on the front-side on my house and it will pick up motion from my dogs in the back yard. For the money, you can't beat it!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light

This product may not be right for your application.

PostedMay 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
I purchased this light to replace an existing light and had problems from the beginning, meanwhile I did some research on the manufactures website and found out per their troubleshooting procedures if there is a coil within the circuit your installing this light, you'll have problems. I contacted Heath Zenith and they sent me just a regular motion detector light without the DualBrite features. As per their troubleshooting guide: "INDUCTIVE PULL: Electrical devices that contain a coil will cause the light fixture to turn on without detecting motion if the device is on the same wiring circuit as the light fixture. Possible items that may trigger the fixture are: Ceiling fan, transformer, garage door opener, a fixture using a compact fluorescent (CFL) bulb (or any type of “energy saving” bulb), overhead fluorescent lighting, or an electrical device using a coil plugged into a receptacle on the same circuit. If the device with the inductive pull is not removed from the same circuit as the light fixture, it will eventually lead to the failure of the sensor and the light will stay on all the time or start flashing on and off. Follow the steps below to determine if there is an inductive! e pull on the same circuit." I do recommend this product, but get what is right for your application.
+25points
26out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 240-Degree Outdoor Motion-Sensing Security Light
from Miami, FL, USA

Bad quality -

PostedDecember 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This review is from:240-Degree Motion-Sensing Security Light
It may look like a good product but the electronics are not for outdoor use and after a couple of months the device stop working. Try something better.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>