728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Outdoor Security Lighting or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White

Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White

The HD-9250-WH features 270 degree motion detection up to 100 foot. Decorative metal shields offer protection for the bulbs. Patented swivel arms allow directional lighting with easy thumb screw adjustments. Uses (2) 150W Max PAR38 flood bulbs (Not Included).
Overall rating:
4.423 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(4)
3
(0)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
92%of customersrecommend this product22 of 24reviews
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Review 1 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Joey

Light Stuck ON? Solution: "Smack" Motion Sensor!

PostedAugust 22, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
I have bought both the HD-9250-BZ-C and HD-9260-BZ-C. Both would have the light stick in ON position after about 2-3 years of usage. While looking for answer, I noticed a review that said he would "smack" the sensor to get it to work. This also worked for me! A couple of GENTLE taps with a wooden broom handle to the sensor did the trick (best to do it during the daylight with circuit breaker OFF). If this helped you, click on the thumbs up symbol, so it will help others.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Revgalen
from Colorado
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product!

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The instructions are complete and easy to follow. The installation kit is complete (it even has a few extra screws). The installation takes only a few minutes (there is even a hanger to suspend the light during wiring). Finally, it works as advertised, it's easy to adjust and works great.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
JohnV1
from Mesa, AZ

Good motion lights!

PostedMarch 31, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought 2 of these motion lights after my wifes truck was broken into right in our driveway. We have a large front yard and needed motion lights with wide angle and long distance detection. These work great. They take a little while to adjust properly but once they are set - they work great. They are much better than the cheap versions - these are made of metal and seem to be holding up just fine here in the Arizona sun. They are the best ones I have used to date - and I reccomend them to friends and clients.
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
JimS
from Washington State
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Overall very good product

PostedMay 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have 8 of these lights installed at my home. They have been in for 9 years, About every 3 to 4 years the motion detector fails on one of the 9 units. I just remove the fixture, ship to Heath and they send me a new one.Thanks to the lifetime warranty. They are the best units I have found.
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
DocVE
from Wisconsin

Great Lights

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had to put up four of them on the back of my business. They went up easily, and are working flawlessly.
Installation hint - use a bent-into-a hook wire coat hanger to hold the light unit while wiring.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
ptkoolx
from New Hyde Park, NY, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent security light

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had several security lights mounted on the back of my home over the years. This one is the best of them all. It is by far the most expensive, but it was easy to install and easier to adjust. I think my original problem was I chose lights that were cheap, however, there is no question that this is a superior product.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Looks Great, Stylish, Well Made, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
JRKing

Good over all

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
installed it at the recommended 8ft hight & works fine. Threw on some daylight bulbs for better lighting. easy install & does what its supposed to do. Used some silicon-caulk to seal & prevent water damage.
Pros: Nice Design, ez install, durable material
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
DocB
from Macon, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Like that bulb is enclosed in own housing

PostedOctober 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Had these lights before and they lasted about 15yrs. Lights look good, work very well. Sensitivity is very good. Detects just about all motion in the area that you set it to. Overall decent lights.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
JocCan

NO MORE LIFETIME WARRANTY

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is not a review of the product, but of the discrepancy between the posting and the product. I purchase the product because the site said it had a lifetime warranty. Apparently that has now changed and it is a 2-year warranty. I purchased this BECAUSE OF the lifetime warranty.
Cons: warranty
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Mark
from Campbell, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I have 4 of the earlier model 9140

PostedMarch 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have four of these units installed for 13 years. One is not working properly so I will replace it with 9250.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
GeCas
from Miami FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has not failed in the 2 months that has been in use. Very nice to have it in the off-white color.
Must pay attention to the operation instructions. Only wish that the cone of detection were wider in the up/down direction. GC
Pros: Easy to Assemble, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Functional, Well Made, Fast / Speed, Lots of Features, Very Bright, Nice Design, off-white color
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Abby
from Orlando, FL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Motion sensor lights that actually work well!

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The motion sensor lights work very well. The 150 watt halogen bulbs are bright and sensitive to movement. Two light fixtures light up my backyard completely. To set all you do is turn your light switch to the ON position. Easy to use and work well! Very happy with purchase. I have purchased cheaper motion lights in the past and have been disappointed. These lights are an excellent value and quality!
Pros: Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Very Bright, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Adam
from Mesa, AZ, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A+++++ Improvement from the In Store Only Version

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought the in-store normal version abt 6 months ago and since it was on a western exposure wall in Phoenix, the motion sensor went out. So I went back on HD.com and found it had 1.5 stars since I had bought it at 4.5 stars before when I bought it. I found other people who had same experience and recommended this one and for Great Reason!You get what you pay for and this will last for YEARS!THANKS HOME DEPOT!!!
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Functional, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
pock6
from Denver, CO, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

stopped working

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This relatively expensive (with installation costs) product worked for one year. Now it won't shut off at night. I wasted my money.
Pros: Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: stopped working
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
John
from Edmond, OK, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not yet installed

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Though the installation sight for these lights in not yet ready. The test hookup of the lights went very well. Lights preformed as advertised and expected. Will be hooked up in series at opposite ends of a long dark walk. If they work installed as they did in test the purchase price will be worth it.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Looks Great, Stylish, Functional, Well Made
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Ajax
from Delray Beach, FL, USA

Excellent product and company

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had to contact company with question - they handled excellently.
Pros: Easy to Assemble, Well Made, High Quality of Material, Lots of Features, Looks Great, Stylish, Very Bright, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
RGR518VX

Easy Installation and Setup

PostedAugust 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Product works great, however, motion sensor head does not have the range of adjustment for a pitched roof. Consequently, for my installation it does not provide the frontal range of coverage I need so I,m looking for a replacement. If you have a flat roof it should work great and provide excellent coverage with plenty of adjustment.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Joe8486
from New Bedford, MA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

so far so good

PostedApril 10, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This light is well constructed and is very eazy to install. I had no problem setting it up. Time will tell if it holds up.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
Harwz
from Syracuse, NY
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Looks great, works great, does the job

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for a reasonable price, but not cheap quality . I believe I found it. After I got it up, it took a few tries to aim it where I wanted it. But now all is well and it looks great.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Journeyman 270 Degree Motion Sensing Security Light with Lamp Shields - White
CALIFORNIA

Nice small fixture that does the job.

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Works well. It does take some adjustments to get it to work as you want.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 >>