728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Workshop or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

1.5 Gallon low profile air compressor. 1 running HP, 135 Max PSI, oil free. Portable lightweight design with onboard storage. 2.0 SCFM at 90 PSI, 3.0 SCFM at 40 PSI. Ideal for inflation, cleaning and fastening. 13 piece accessory kit included.
Overall rating:
3.941 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
76%of customersrecommend this product25 of 33reviews
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
3.9 out of 5.0
5
(19)
4
(7)
3
(0)
2
(3)
1
(5)
Quality 
2.7 out of 5.0
2.7 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
76%of customersrecommend this product25 of 33reviews
Customer reviews for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
Review 1 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from FL

Air Scout

PostedOctober 4, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I purchased this compressor because I was tired of having to wait forever for my portable 12v compressor to put air in a car tire. The scout is a nice compressor, but the included tire chuck is very hard to use. I spent about a 1/2 hr trying to use the tire chuck on one car tire ( I had more air comming out of the tire than was going in). You have to use so much force when trying to hold the chuck on the valve stem, that your fingers will hurt. Instead of returning the scout, I purchased a husky tire inflator attachment (Model HDA50300AV ) which made putting air in a tire a breeze, it also has a buit-in tire guage. I also purchased a quick disconnect. If you plan on switching from inflating tires and blowing air or using any other attachment, you will want to get a quick disconnect (Model HDA20100AV) . There is a quick disconnect on the side of the unit where the air hose attaches, but it would have made more sense if the quick disconnect were on the other end where the attachments are used. Not sure why Husky decided not to includend a quick disconnect.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Long Island New York

Great little compressor

PostedSeptember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was tired of seeing the OUT OF ORDER sign on all the local air pumps at the local gas stations. After reading the reviews from other people on the site I bit the bullet and bought this compressor. IT WORKED like a charm! Up and running in 10 minutes. All the tires on my van needed about 10 pounds of air and this little machine did it perfectly! Nice features and it's light weight. Quiet too! Can't go wrong for $100....
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Georgia

Good for light jobs

PostedApril 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Like most of the positive reviews have stated, this is a good machine for inflating and blowing the dirt off. Convienant storage compartment and a nice set of attachments included.
Most of the negative reviews seemed to be about failure after only a few uses. I set mine up on the first day with a loose fitting on the hose that created a small leak. I let the unit cycle on/off all day. It would run for 15 seconds or so every two minutes to maintain 100psi. The back panel did become warm but not hot as is to be expected. After passing that test it is now a welcome part of my garage!
2 complaints, though. 1) cheap 90psi hose. 2) tendancy to roll/pivot on its wheels when running.
Regarding the roll around handle; The display model at the store had rounded buttons that clicked in and held the handle in place. These have a tendancy to not stay in position and let the handle fall. When I got mine out of the box, I noticed that these have been replaced with larger cylindrical stops that are much more effective. Make sure that yours has the same. Also, do not pick the machine up with the roller handle. Use the carry handle!
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Palm Coast Fla.

"Cool Tool"

PostedNovember 4, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've had the unit for about a month and so far it's Perfect for what I had in mind I have a large compressor in the garage but needed a smaller one for the shed so I looked around and this unit caught my eye for cleaning air filters on the lawn mower and filling tires on the generator and dollies when they need it this thing work's perfect for those task's when you need a large compressor you should have one but when you need a quick fill up or to clean up a item this tool is the one it's light and has a quick
Duty cycle in refilling the 1.5 tank infact alot quicker that I thought handles cleaning a filter with ease and even does a very good job in blowing off cleaning fluid when cleaning firearms all in all a Very good machine I would recommend this tool to a friend and if I ever need a nother one I'll buy the same one...Thumb's Up !!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Arlington, Texas

Great Compessor

PostedMay 29, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this compressor for refilling my car tires, and such things as inflating balls and swimming toys. This compressor meets that task perfectly.
I love this compressor. Right out of the box, plug it in, and it is ready.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

So far, so good

PostedSeptember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Bought this to run a nailer/stapler. It did the just fine. Haven't had it long enough to comment on long term reliability. Relatively quiet. I agree that the hose that comes with it is pretty chinsy (but it hasn't blown yet). Had to go buy a quick disconnect (female) for the hose end. So far no leaking. It does want to "travel" on it's own while running on cement (or I suppose other hard) surface. I put a simple floor mat under it and it stayed put. Happy with it so far.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Little Rock,AR

The Air Scout

PostedNovember 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this unit on Nov 7. I've had it almost a week now. I really enjoy using this compressor. I put it through its paces soon as I got home. This unit is TOUGH! I used to air up the tires on my 2 cars, my lawn tractor (which I bought from HD), my 2 bicycles, and my wheel barrel. I let the compressor buildup air pressure to see if it will leak down. I left it alone for 1 hour. I went back to check it. The air pressure didn't drop. Excellent!!! I like the storage features and the telescopic handle. Very user friendly. I wish it came with an extra female quick connector. No big deal. I bought one. I plan on using my compressor to repair my fence. I believe it can handle the job.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from candler, nc

husky 1.5 air scout

PostedApril 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i recently had a flat tire on my motorcycle and i bought this item at the home depot. it was easy to use out of the box. it inflated my tire enough so i could get to the dealership. that alone saved me 45.00 for the pick up fee. i have been wanting one for some time now and a glad i bought one. it is a must item for the home owner and pays for itself if you have to use it. great accessory pack
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Springfield, OH

You get what you pay for

PostedApril 11, 2010
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Paid only 79.99 for this model, was impressed for the price during the first year until the pressure knob broke and had to pay $14.00 for someone in Canada to ship a new knob. Did not fix the problem. Pressure knob has bolt that strips inside metal if not screwed perfectly straight & causes the pressure gauge and tools not to work. Will invest in another brand this time around.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

Took it back

PostedNovember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this unit and attempted to put air in my RV tires, which take 92PSI. The chuck was difficult to use, and leaked, in spite of a good tight attachment. It recycled after only a short time. It would have taken me a week to inflate all 6-tires with this compressor. It may work well for car and bike tires, but didn't help with a large Class A RV .
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from murfreesboro, tn.

Great Machine

PostedJanuary 1, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just got it for Christmas and already used it to clean out vacum cleaner. I think it will work great for small jobs, which is what I wanted it for. But if you need a lot of air pressure at one time you had better get a larger one.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Brooklyn, NY

Husky Air Scout Compressor

PostedMay 26, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Nice quiet little portable compressor - equal to light tasks ie, tire inflation, small air spraying. Very easy to operate - started right up - only drawback is the onboard air tank (small, but the unit is small - to be expected) and the supplied air hose and fittings are not the best quality. Buying another air hose with some quick disconnect fittings helps. But for the price, its size, quiet running and extreme portability makes it a worthwhile purchase!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

Pure Garbage

PostedMay 13, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this thing less than a year ago and it has completely fallen apart. It leaks more than the titanic and takes forever to fill a car tire. Recently, it has started to smell "hot" when operating, so I went ahead and got another real compressor to replace this.
Pros: cheap, looks to be easy enough for the kids to use.
Cons: a piece of junk that fell apart inside of a year of occasional use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Seneca, SC

Nice compressor for Stapling and Inflating

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The is a very nice compressor for running a staple gun or inflating stuff around the house. It only has 2 CFM at 90 psi so don't expect to run any air powered hand tools.
I wanted to buy a air polisher to wax the sailboat in the water but one would need a monster of a compress to run that.
This is a good deal for $99 which included the 2 n 1 nailer/stapler.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

Lasted less than a year - cheaply made and unreliable

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Got this air compressor primarily for our road bikes (which need up to 120 psi). The hose broke after a couple months. The unit itself worked ok but struggled to remain at 120 psi while filling tubes with air. A trick was to make sure to have the compressor running while filling tubes. Now the compressor won't compress more than 40 psi. I'm very disappointed to say the least and I do not reccommend this product unless value is your primary purchase criteria and you're ok with purchasing a product with poor reliability. Oh, one last thing: the costumer support number goes straight to a voicemail.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Auburn, NH

Air Scout Compressor

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Just purchased the Husky Air Scout Compressor and my first impression was it is sooo much quieter than the larger Husky that I just had to replace.
Even though it's only 1.5gal tank is smaller than my other Husky this unit is perfect for filling up my pressure pots for making parts!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from MA

Hunk Of Junk

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to clean my tractor. I set it up, and it worked great at first. After I used it 3 times, it wore out. Now it is completely useless. It can't even blow dust around anymore, literally. This is a really junky, flimsy piece of equipment, and at $115, it is not even worth my time. I returned it the weekend after.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor

You get what you pay for?

PostedDecember 31, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This is the least rugged power tool I have ever owned.
After using it twice I had to repair the power cord; because of a design defect it is near impossible for the power cord to not drag on the ground either when stowed or deployed. The power cord is so flimsy that brief and light contact with the ground abraded through to the wires.
After one more use, the air hose burst while under pressure.
This is a piece of junk; I won't buy another Husky product.
+1point
4out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Lawrenceville, GA

Great Compressor!

PostedJuly 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have been looking for an air compressor for quite a while. I researched different brands and finally decided on the Husky. I like the fact that you can roll it around although it is lightweight. I use it mostly to maintain the air pressure in my cars and mower. In addition I use the air nozzle for cleaning out a variety of items. It comes in handy blowing debris out of the engine area of my yard equipment. I have not yet used the nailer but plan to use it for some remodeling. The hose coil is nice and compact and stores easily. The unit is very quiet compared to an old Black and Decker Air Station I have had for years. The only complaint I have is they should have a quick disconnect at the tool end. I added a quick disconnect to make changing tools faster. A perfect compressor for the home owner.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1.5 Gal. Air Scout Compressor
from Cape Cod Ma.

Compressor for all your needs

PostedFebruary 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This little red Husky can do the job, Don't let it's small size fool you. If you a just the regulator just right this Lil' Husky will keep you nailing all day long. Capable of exceeding 135 PSI & a 1.5 gallon tank is just enough for home needs or to build a house if you needed to. The day we brought it home I was pumping up everything in the neighborhood all the tires on the cars ,footballs, basketballs, soccer balls. I even used it to clean the gutters on the house as well as clean out the 3 computers in the house they get so full of dust it works GREAT. Why buy cans of air when you have this Lil' Red Husky Compressor. You cant go wrong with this compressor so buy it with confidence you will not regret it!
0points
2out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 >>