728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drill Bits or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit

5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit

Get the BRUTUS 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit if you are planning to work on a porcelain tile project. This drill bit features a 5/16 in. diameter that is a great size for installing towel bars, soap dishes, shelves, cabinets and more.
Overall rating:
3.111 / 5
3.1
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
3.1 out of 5.0
5
(3)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(3)
67%of customersrecommend this product6 of 9reviews
Customer reviews for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
Review 1 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
bittester
from PA

Drilled lots of holes with Home Depots Diamond Bit

PostedMay 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We drilled 16 holes with 6 of these bits completely through 1-1/4" Quartz countertops. The next time for the next round of holes we bought Home Depot's Ridgid Diamond Tile Drill Bit RD-71112.
The Ridgid is a MUCH better bit. The outer shaft has a thread design helping to keep the drill bit unclogged. The extract hole in the side is wider allowing for MUCH easier clean-out.
These bits lasted longer but a few eventually failed. We purchased enough of bits based on our previous experience but had to return a lot of unused bits! The package says up to 140% longer life!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
Seawitch12
from Hawley, PA

Don't bother with this Bit!

PostedMarch 10, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this to install a new shower curtain rod in porcelin tile. It barely put a dent in the tile but all the "diamond" grit was gone in less than a minute! Don't waste your money on this!!! Now we have to go shopping for a new bit so we can use our new shower! This doesn't even deserve 1 star!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
DBIII
from Lantana, FL

Save Your Money

PostedAugust 18, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product should not be for sale! I followed instructions, used water for cooling and it disintigrated in seconds. This product should not be on the shelfs!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
15ismylimit
from FL

Works well for the homeowner

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This bit is intended for homeowner use. I drilled 6 holes in porcelain tile with no problems. The bit looks new (after cleanup of course). The critical factors are using slow drill speed and lots of water. Do not let the bit run dry or you'll burn it out in a heartbeat. Every few seconds withdraw the bit slightly to let the water clean the tip, then reapply pressure. Be patient, you're not drilling wood or concrete.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
230r8j1
from Auburn Hills, MI

Garbage

PostedJune 5, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read two reviews - one good and one bad. I assumed that the bad reviewer had forgotten to properly lubricate the bit (with water). I was wrong. I used plenty of water and followed the instructions carefully but this thing burned out after just a few minutes. It is garbage - DO NOT BUY THIS. This thing should not be legal for sale as something that works on tile.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
bittester

Drilled 16 holes through 1-1/4" Quartz Countertops

PostedMay 12, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
We used 6 of these bits to drill 16 holes completely through 1-1/4" quartz counter tops. That was a lot of drilling and I feel my opinion is worth a lot on these bits.
All of the bits eventually failed (at the same rate) by having the diamond grit strip off of the bits. Quick failure is the results of operator error.
The key to a successful drill is: SLOW SPEED; LOTS OF COLD WATER; AND NO IMPACT DRILL. Don't use a drill press (too solid) and use steady hand pressure. What will quickly damage these bits is HEAT and IMPACT.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
EPK1
from Royal Oak, MI

Excellent for the Price

PostedApril 9, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this bit for $10. It works quickly and accurately. I splashed water on the tile about halfway through, and the cut was easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
DennB
from Milwaukee, WI

This worked well for me in Porcelain Tile

PostedMay 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I'm not sure about the bad reviews, but for $11, I think this drill worked great. I've put about a dozen holes through 3/8" porcelain tile so far and doesn't appear to have lost any of the diamond grit from the end.
The water reservoir is convenient and holds the bit in place when starting the hole without wandering. I think the instructions say to line the holes up in the upper and lower containers, but if you off set them, it works better and there is usually enough water (and flow) to drill the entire hole.
I, in fact, bought a Rigid brand after drilling a few holes. The 5/16" seemed a bit big for my purpose and Home Depot did not have a 1/4" in this brand. I was able to drill one and a half holes with the Rigid brand before it failed. I went back to the Brutus drill and finished the remaining holes I needed.
For the reviewer wondering about speed and pressure, the slow speed of a cordless drill is appropriate (besides being safer to use with water than an electric drill) and you should allow the drill bit to do the work instead of leaning on the drill. A constant supply of water needs to be supplied to lubricate the bit. Not only does that cool the bit, it helps remove the material from building up at the tip of the bit. These types of drill bits dull because the diamond grit breaks off the tip. Also, once the bit has made a clean hole through the surface, wiggle the drill around slightly, it will cut better and faster without leaving a plug in the shaft that can not be removed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 5/16 in. Diamond Drill Bit
MikeeW
from Wellington, FL

Worked Perfectly!!

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am pretty big on reading reviews. When trying to install my bathtub glass doors, I killed a regular masonary bit as well as a Tapcom masonary bit. I spent 10-15 minutes and did not finish a single hole. I was weary at trying this bit after reading 3 bad reviews, but 1 good review. I was desperate and figured, for $10 it was worth a try. Got home and read the directions.
The only thing I did NOT see in the directions were, the drill SPEED and PRESSURE. Having cut the porcelain to re-tile my tub, I used a Diamond blade on my 4-1/2" grinder. It runs at 11,000 rpm and I use it at a medium pressure. So, I set my cordless drill on the HIGHEST speed, and applied a MEDIUM to LIGHT pressure.
It worked flawlessly! It came with the bit holder/template/container,adhesive, as well as a water dispenser. The template/container helped guide the bit when starting the hole. The water dispenser was a little bit on the small side, but sufficient (had to refill it several times to finish each hole). All in all, it took me roughly 20-30 minutes to drill SIX 5/16" holes in the porcelain tile. The bit still looked new to me. I wouldn't doubt if I could drill another 20 or more holes with it.
Some last few pointers, make sure that the template/container and tiles are completely dry so that the adhesive supplied will stick well. Once the hole was started, 1/8" into the tile, I actually removed the template/container and manually sprayed water at the diamond bit. As the instructions said, occasionally pull the bit in and out to remove debris (and also cool off the bit better when spraying). Happy Drilling!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.