728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Laminate Floor Maintenance & Tools or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

QEP's Natural Cork Underlayment is now available in a convenient 200 sq. ft. roll. Natural cork is an outstanding sound barrier for all types of flooring, including: ceramic and porcelain tile, stone, marble and engineered hardwood and laminate floors. Besides being an environmentally friendly option, cork is also a healthy choice. It is naturally hypoallergenic and contributes in creating a healthy indoor air quality. Install like a professional by using Roberts 7250 Cork Adhesive.
Overall rating:
4.683 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 60
Open Ratings Snapshot
98%of customersrecommend this product54 of 55reviews
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
4.7 out of 5.0
5
(43)
4
(15)
3
(2)
2
(0)
1
(0)
Appearance 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Quality 
4.7 out of 5.0
4.7 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
98%of customersrecommend this product54 of 55reviews
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 47 Answers
Customer reviews for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
Review 1 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Great Value!!!

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 1/4" cork, cuts easily and makes fine looking cork panels at a fraction of the cost of manufactured cork-boards. While about 20' of one edge was damaged in shipping, the sale price combined with a $25 HD Gift Card made me a happy camper!
Pros: Very Adhesive, High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: was damaged in shipping due to a lack of 1 end-cap
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Good underlayment

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Went down nice and flat with a slight curl up on the cut ends, used a board to secure the cork until the glue dried. Handle it delicately as it can rip easily - once glued down, the rip was not noticeable. Used a roller to adhere the underlayment to the glue. I am very happy with how the product performed.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks Great, glued down nicely
Cons: can rip easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from houston

minor damage in shipment -- great product good price

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
product arrived with small tear, but no significant product loss. Cork was easy to lay out and provided superior sound insulation under my new bamboo flooring on the second level... PRICE was best by far of any other suppliers.
Pros: Easy to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Canada border, NH
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

cork under click & lock flooring - be carefull

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
August in northern NH and it's humid. I unwrapped the cork, laid it down & allowed a half inch between sheets & where it met the walls. 12 hours later the 48 & 1/4 inch wide sheets were a full 49 wide. It expands 3/4 inch in every direction for every 4 feet of width or length. In a 15 ft. run it easily went an extra inch & a half overnight to 15', 1 & 1/2".
Plan for this expansion of the material. Get the wrapping off of the cork material at least 24 hours prior to using it. And then still allow much more than you think is necessary for expansion. If you're installing it in the winter months when it's dry still allow a minimum of 3/4 inch every 4 feet for expansion for summer will follow with it's humidity and it would cause problems like buckling.
I have a cement slab. I covered it with 6 mil poly as a vapor barrier and laid the cork over that topping it off with Millstead, engineered wood, floating flooring. I had to take part of the flooring up when I saw that the cork had expanded so much.
That said, I'd use it again. I believe that it'll make a good thermal break between the flooring & the slab. But due to the expansion I would certainly not use it under ceramic tile or stone as they advertise though it should work fine under a floating wood floor.
Remember, allow a minimum of 3/4 inch space for expansion for every 4 foot width or every 4 ft. of length..
Pros: Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome product, awesome price!

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I'm very happy with the choice to install this quarter inch cork vs using another underlayment product. I'm finding that this cork is superior to other "sound barrier" underlayments that I've used previously and at less than 0.70 cents per sq ft, this is quite a good deal (better than the fancy sound-barrier underlayments that are actually inferior, in my opinion)
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Comfortable, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
8out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from New Milford, CT, USA

Great for large bulletin board

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Based on other customer reviews, I bought this to use as a large bulletin board. Instead of gluing it, I used finishing nails which don't show at all. For trim, I also bought and stained general purpose stop pin unstained 927457 in the store, which is about ¼ thick on the flat side. I'm very pleased!
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+21points
27out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Richmond, B.C.
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cork underlay is exactly what the doctor ordered

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Our apartment required some stringent noise-supressing underlay for the hardwood floor installation and we struggled to find the 1/4 inch thick requirement at local stores. Luckily Home Depot had some online that we were able to have shipped relatively close that worked out great. The price was right, and the QEP200 fit the bill perfectly. Install overtop of the concrete and underneath our laminate was relatively easy and it really is quiet now when we walk on the flooring.
Just make sure to take care when you're carrying and transporting it! The cork rips easily so handle gently.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
Cons: No Instructions, crumbles easily
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Turner, OR, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent underlayment for engineered wood floor

PostedDecember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I found this to be a comfortable underlayment. Installation was mostly straightforward. I had been warned that the last part of the roll would tend to curl more, and we attempted to avoid the problem by installing that part flipped over (so that the ends would tend to curl down), but that actually was worse, making the middle lift up. Fortunately, the weight of furniture held it down until I got the baseboards installed.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Comfortable, Effective
Cons: No Instructions
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Great product for floor & walls

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used this product as flooring and wall covering. Attached using 1" brads and a brad nailer. Cut with a good pair of scissors, or in tight spots with a Stanley knife. Also painted, using latex primer and paints. Paint is sticking well without peeling off, or being rubbed off underfoot. Worked out really well. It was for an uninsulated mud room off of our carport. Has made it feel warmer, and the cork feels great underfoot. Both soft and warmer. Will see how the true Winter goes though. Very happy with the product. Provides an alternative to simply being used as an underlayment.
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Anacortes, WA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best deal for Cork Underlayment @ .59c per SF

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Shipped from Georgia - took 7-8 business days for delivery.
Using as underlayment for Stranded Bamboo floating installation. So far so good. Nice cushion feel to the floor when you walk on it. I can tell the difference in warmth when walking on the bare cork underlayment versus the bare subfloor. Used for 2nd floor over 1 1/2" thick subfloor (particle board top & plywood bottom layer). Moisture is not a concern but sound control is. It does make it a difference sound wise . Easy to lay down and install.
This is a good product at a good value. Not only can you use it for floating wood flooring, but also for floor tile installations.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Good Insulator

PostedApril 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this under tile in the kitchen on a concrete substrate. Reduces noise and helps to insulate the cold from creeping up through the concrete. Easy to lay down but would suggest unrolling and lay flat 24 hours before installation to reduce curling, especially towards end of roll.
+19points
21out of 23found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Get the cork adhesive, too.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The only thing I would do different is to definitely buy the cork adhesive as construction adhesives don't work as well on this product. Also, toward the end of the roll, the curling was pretty pronounced, so I would recommend using the first of the roll for the harder sections (e.g., corners) and the end curly parts of the roll for the easier to reach sections.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Great stuff !!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this product as an underlayment for engineered hardwood flooring in my kitchen. Its easy to work with, and it leveled out the pits in the old subfloor. It is kinda fragile on the edges, but I can't recommend this stuff enough. Good insulation and sound deadening properties.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Southern California

Excellent Corkroll

PostedJanuary 24, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
First, we were quite pleased with the quick delivery. Considering the preparation and getting the roll to the shipper we were surprised when it arrived before we expected. In fact we were not ready for it yet.
The cork is so well packaged there is no breakage. I was worried about the edges because they crack so easily, but the packing was very strong especially at the ends!
The cork is thick with a rough feel. It is not the kind of cork you would use for a bulletin board, where the cork is smooth to the touch. But it can be lightly sanded if you need smoother cork.
We are very pleased with everything about the roll and now that we have started using it we find no flaws so far...and expect none as we continue use.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Installed underneath laminate on second floor. When walking it sounds nice and downstairs is quiet.

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Installed underneath laminate on second floor. When walking it sounds nice and downstairs is quiet. I only used a little of glue to keep it in place..
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Rol

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
shipped quickly, no damage, excellent price just as advertised
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from North Little Rock, AR, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for wall covering

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this product. I bought it to use like a wall paper of sorts. I glued it on top of my outdated paneling in my den . I then stained it and added a sealer over it. Very beautiful and now my den looks designer again., just need to update the flooring with some bamboo.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Massachusetts
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellant wood floor underlayment

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Used as an underlayment for 3/4 maple plank to sound dampen a Deck House between floors. Deck planking followed by 1/2" plywood, 1/4 cork, 3/4 finish flooring. Awesome.
The product is easy to use in rolls. The first time I used staples to hold in place. After you get the hang of it, you don't even need the staples. Just tape the strips together with gorilla tape. The cork does not "wander". The flooring staples make it permanent when you put the finish layer on.
It works well to dampen sound. I'm very impressed.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Easy to Install, dampens sound
Cons: somewhat brittle material. takes 2 to handle roll
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll

Incredible customer service

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product as underlayment for an upstairs nail-down hardwood project. It is a quality product, and very easy to work with. Lays down nicely, cuts very easily, even for small strips. Had no trouble whatever. Provides some sound insulation between floors under the floating subfloor.
We called the company for advice and information, and they were incredibly helpful, beyond all expectations. They got back to us right away, followed up promptly, and provided expert advice on our technical problems, which was extremely helpful.
The project was a success and I highly recommend the product.
Pros: High Quality of Material, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 200 sq. ft. 1/4 in. Cork Underlayment Roll
from Colorado

Underlayment below grade

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this product as underlayment for radiant floor heat on our basement floor. It arrived quickly, safely, and was easy to install. Cork's thermal properties make it an excellent choice for this application, and the floor went down beautifully. HD offered this product at a highly competitive price online, and with free shipping it was the best deal by far. My only recommendation is to make the product available by special order through the store.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>