728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

The QEP Tile Leveling Clips (96-Pack) are part A of a two-part installation system engineered to level, align, space, and hold large body porcelain tile, marble and stone during installation. This part of the system works by automatically aligning and spacing tiles. The wedge part B of the system (sold separately) works by maintaining tiles at an even height until the mortar sets, thereby ensuring the resulting surface is level and free of slippage. The system is used by professionals to save time while providing level and consistently spaced results.
Overall rating:
3.268 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
64%of customersrecommend this product25 of 39reviews
Rating Breakdown 41 reviews
3.3 out of 5.0
5
(11)
4
(11)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(10)
Appearance 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.9 out of 5.0
2.9 out of 5
Quality 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Value 
3.1 out of 5.0
3.1 out of 5
64%of customersrecommend this product25 of 39reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
Review 1 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

For 3/8" or thicker tiles and 1/2"x1/2" trowels ONLY!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
An uncompressed clip will hold a tile .25 inches above a clean surface and a .25 x.375 trowel lays furrows .2652" when held at a 45 degree angle, which need to be compressed to .1768" to eliminate the voids. Therefore these clips would prevent furrow collapse and void elimination before they are compressed unless a .5x.5 trowel is used. Many reviews on HomeDepot.com mention a .5 x.5 trowel is necessary without explaining why. I reasoned they would have clips for .375" toweled thinset but after an exhaustive search, I found these (part #99720Q) to be the smallest clips they make. Furthermore, clip compression is mechanically limited by design for tiles less than .375” thick, leaving only clip spring tension to eliminate lippage on thinner tiles no matter how forcefully the wedges are inserted. My conclusion: these clips are only useful for .5" trowels and .375" or thicker tiles. My ratings reflect the lack of critical information for using these clips.
Pros: effective for thicker tiles and thinset
Cons: unexplained limited application, critical information missing
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Fairfax, VA

Great Product - If Used Correctly

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I must admit, this is the first time I have used a tile leveling system. I am a DIYer and do most of my home improvement projects myself. The system is easy to use, but you should note a few cautions.
First, the spacers are shaped like an anchor so naturally there will be a little dead space between the tile and the floor. You must 'back butter' the tiles (which you should be doing anyway) to close the gap. Once you tighten the spacer down with the wedge (part B, the gap closes considerably. In order to do this, you must really have the QEP pliers that are only sold online. Otherwise, you will spend a lot of time nursing your thumbs and still not get a tight enough clamp. Warning - the pliers are not quality made. Mine snapped about 1/2 way through the job, but I just ordered another pair and kept on going.
Second, these are not for small tiles. I am installing 6 x 24" wood look tiles, which are prone to lippage by the nature of the manufacturing process. To reduce lippage the tiles are offset by 1/3. This means I have to use more spacers and clamps to do the job. No big deal.
Third, the tile leveling system doesn't replace good tiling practice. if you don't use enough mortar/thinset, the system can't help you. I did have to take up a few tiles and add more thinset, but I'd have to do that anyway with or without the system. What the system does is ensure the tiles stay level as the thinset dries. You'll still need a rubber mallet to even up the tiles when necessary and a tool to remove the thinset from the grout lines. You will get some oozing with this system as it squeezes out some of the mortar when you clamp the spacers down. Again, no big deal. Be prepared to spend more time doing the job. It takes longer to set the tiles and push in the clamps, but the extra time is worth it.
Fourth - VERY IMPORTANT - if you don't finish the job on the first day, make sure you stick the spacers in the tiles where you left off, then double down by pushing unfinished tiles tightly next to them. This will ensure the clamp is tight up against the tiles you left off with. I stacked two tiles (without mortar) to be sure they stayed in place. I only had to pull out one clamp the next day. The rest were fine.
Fifth - Use the pliers. I can't stress this enough. Unfortunately, they are made of cheap plastic and could break with repeated use. Mine did, and I was none too happy, but they don't cost that much so I replaced them. One could cry over this issue but it's not worth it.
Sixth - a bag of 96 goes a long way. I finished 1/3 of a 13 x 19' room with just one bag. The clamps are reusable so no need to buy an equal amount unless you plan on finishing the job in one day. If you do it over multiple days like I have, then you just let the tiles dry for 24 hours, then knock the clamps out with a rubber mallet and reuse them. I've only used one bag of clamps and about 3 bags of spacers.
We love the way our floor came out. it is perfectly level and looks great. These spacers work if you are patient and use some common sense.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from New Orleans
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great if used correctly

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I'm a remodeling contractor/cabinetmaker and always end up doing my own stone and tile work. There is nothing worse than a lipped tile on a floor - it makes the whole job look terrible.
My local supplier tried to get me to try the Tuscan leveling system, but I just don't do enough of this to warrant that kind of expense. So when I saw this at my local HD several years ago I just had to try it.
My first go round with it had mixed results for all the same reasons that everyone else in these reviews cited....poor bonding. I took the lessons I'd learned from this job to the next one. I bumped up my trowel size up to 1/2" x 1/2" and back buttered the tiles with a 1/4" x 1/4" trowel to assure good bonding. I also place the combed out thinset lines perpendicular to each other.
I usually go with 1/8" grout joints so I wish I didn't have to add the spacers but I'll contend with that inconvenience for the finished look I get.
Finally there are other steps to take for good bonding:
1. Use a good quality latex modified thinset (C-Cure is my favorite - I've stuck tile to a metal fireplace surround with this brand). Don't use premixed thinset - it is garbage. Also paying extra for white thinset on lighter colored stone and tile helps tremendously.
2. Mix your thinset a little on the thin side and let it sit for 15 minutes to slake and then give it a final mix before using. The final comb out should hold its shape and not collapse.
3. Don't overwork what you have mixed - I usually pitch anything that has been in the bucket for over 2 hours.
Hope this helps - I see too many poor reviews for this product where people are expecting a magic bullet for their installations - this doesn't quality as that. It is simply a tool that can be used to make your end result look better.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Hayward, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good system

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Used these for 12 X 24 tile. It took longer but the results were great. These clips are good for large tile, but I could see problems with small tile. I used a 3/8" trowel, and would say that this is the smallest you could use wth these. Thumbs got very beat up by pushing the wedges in. I did see a tool on the internet for sliding the wedges, but it was for a different manufacturer, and I had already layed half the tile so didn't bother with tracking down where to buy it.
Would use again for setting large tile. A little pricey at $10 for 96 clips. Would be nice if they sold a larger number of clips for a discounted price. I am a DYI'er.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: pricey
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Globe, AZ

LASH Clips and wedges

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When used correctly these are awesome. They flush up the tops of the tile perfectly. They also help keep the tile in place so when you lay surrounding tile it is not as easy to move the work you have already done. Let the thin set dry overnight, give them a slight kick, and you have a nice even floor surface. We build 1/4 million to 1/2 million dollar homes and use them all the time. Although I would not recommend them if you are using anything smaller than a 1/2" trowel to lay the tile and you really should not need them if you are laying tile smaller than 13" or so.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

problematic despite knowing their shortcomings.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was new to tile installation but I am pretty handy. These are more trouble than they are worth. I had read all the shortcomings on these levelers and found all of them to be true and problematic even after I was pre-warned. I used a 1/2" trowel but still had some issues getting a good level. You are better off peeling off a tile and re-leveling the mortar by hand until you get the level lip you desire. They are probably better to use with thick heavy tiles. 1/4" @ 12x24" were too light and thin to make good use of these frustrating levelers. If you use them, get as much work done with them all in one setting as possible.
Leaving these half exposed on a tile course that is hardening overnight will leave you angry out the next day. You will not get the gap spacing correct or have them function as well as the case where both tiles and the mortar are free to move. I tried laying a fake course alongside the newly laid tiles to straighten the levelers but it did not help sufficiently and some were worse than ever. You are better digging out some mortar underneath the last tile and leaving a gap for the next day. They do not give you a uniform 1/16" gap. Some gaps are wide and some are narrow despite my best effort. If you use them, I would recommend using 1/8" spacers in conjunction with the levelers for better line uniformity. I blame myself for the workmanship on my first tile job but I fought these levelers every step of the way. At the end I wished I had never used them at all. I was far better just being careful and re-setting tiles 3-5 times to get it right rather than monkeying with theses junky levelers. They are too tall under the tiles. Lippage is still a problem. The wedge it too short for 1/4" tiles so there is little support on the short wedge side tile.
If they get stuck and you cannot crack them off, do not pry or cut. The polymer responds well to cracking under a rapid straining condition, i.e. cracking them off very abruptly. If they are bending and tearing, grab the exposed portion with a diagonal cutters to grip the stub and then strike the pliers with a mallet or hammer sideways (parallel to the tile). I had a dozen that would not rip out and I was fighting them and afraid I would crack tiles prying and tearing them. Kick them over to snap off or use a gripper and mallet.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Santa Cruz, California
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

One of a variety of tile setting devices

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent and simple-to-use tile setting device, part of a two-part system. The clips are expended in setting, the wedges used with them are used over and over again. Using two per side in setting will guarantee very little if any "lippage", the real challenge of tile work. There are other systems available but this one is very commonly available at Home Depot, is inexpensive, does not require any tools and is highly effective.
Pros: Easy to Install, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Work great if used correctly

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've used these for laying of at least 1,000 square feet of large format granite, marble, and travertine tile. I always use medium bed mortar and back batter every tile.
Compared to similar levelers you find at flooring specialty stores, these are much cheaper, however, they require more time to install properly.
Most of the complaints here seem to be due to improper application of mortar.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Tile Leveling

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Helps great, but does not make miracles. Some practice until U get used to it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wouldn't tile without them

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not sure what the fuss is about the package clearly says not to use the product with less than a 3/8 inch trowel. I put down 1/2 travertine with a 1/2 trowel and I back buttered the tiles. If you feel the tile lift off the mortar then you don't have enough mortar. Worked like a charm. No lippage at all. Fingers will definitely start to hurt after a bit from pushing them in. Mine wouldn't kick off so I just pulled them off with pliars while the wedge was still in.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Raleigh, NC

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Clips worked great! The tiles did seperate when installing the wedges, but mortar was still wet, so you could just slide the tile back in place. Your fingers will fatigue over time. Did about 600 sq feet, and this system worked like a charm! I did use 1/2 inch trowel just to make sure there was enough mortar.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great when used correctly!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I used this system for my very first tile job. 12" x 24" porcelain tile and a 1/16" grout line - Not an easy task.
It took a couple tiles to figure out an efficient way to use them, but the result was straight grout lines and virtually no lippage. There are some rules though.
1. Only use this product for large tiles
2. 1/2" trowel - no less
3. Back butter (you should be anyway)
4. Check 1 or 2 tiles early in the laying to make sure you have good contact. If not, add more to the back of the tile. If you are using a 1/2" trowel, you shouldn't have any trouble.
5. Level the tile as best you can with your eye, then slide wedge in. I used a hand garden weeder to push the wedge all the way in - don't use your thumbs - ouch. Getting the tile as close as possible by hand is important. The wedge will get you the rest of the way.
I gave it 4/5 instead of a 5 because these little buggers are a bit pricey. It took ~500 of them to do our moderately sized kitchen. However, with a tile job that should last a lifetime - it's well worth the investment.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: a little expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Simple and relatively easy to use. They ensure tile to tile leveling accuracy. I'm a fan will continue to use in the future.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Illinois, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not wonderful

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This system is flawed and left issues. We stopped using it half way through. Eye was better than this system. I've used other systems more reliable.
Cons: not accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-5points
2out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Missouri, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

No doubt professional finish when used properly

PostedMay 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The only reason these didn't get five stars is the price is excessive for what you get and need to complete medium size jobs. You must be prepared to complete the whole job at one time to make these work well for you or you will endure much more unnecessary work. Use a 1/2 " trowel on large tile and med. consistency mask. You the installer make this product work well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from San jose
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

average

PostedApril 26, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This was my first time installing large format porcelain floor so I am by no means an expert. Two of these snapped on me after they were set in place and I was trying to get the part B leveling thing in. I had to remove and lift up the entire tile to get two more in which made it a bit messy.They mess up your thumbs and not easy to use. I will find out tomorrow how leveled the floor is I guess but I am sure there are better ones out there.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Astoria Oregon
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

better not to use

PostedDecember 8, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Way to thick and to much curve on the part that slides under the tile. I could not get them to work under twelve inch tile. more trouble than they are worth
Cons: Difficult to Install
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from BROOKLYN NY
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

NOT RECCOMMENDED FOR TILES UNDER 14 - 15INCHES

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
THIS PRODUCT LOOKED VERY APPEALING, I TRIED IT ON ABOUT 10 SQUARE FEET (12X12 ) AND REALIZED IT WAS A WASTE. FIRST OFF YOU MUST USE AT LEAST A HALF INCH TROWEL AND YOU HAVE TO BACK BUTTER EVERY TILE (OTHERWISE IT WILL JUST POP UP ONCE YOU INSERT THE WEDGES), WHICH HOME DEPOT DOES NOT CARRY THE PLIERS IN STOCK TO USE. IT TURNS DOING ONE TILE INTO 5 MINUTES.
AND I NEVER SEEN ANY PROFESSIONAL USE THIS, SO KEEP THAT IN MIND
I CANT SAY HOW EFFECTIVE IT IS FOR OVER 1SQFT TILE, BUT I WOULDN'T USE THIS SYSTEM AGAIN.
Cons: Difficult to Install
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Bryan TX
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Plus & Minus

PostedApril 11, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I bought a 1/2 trowel for this project based on reviews, but used a 3/8" & had plenty even on top of Ditra. I think 1/2" might be needed if "not" back buttering. The negative is if one gets thinset under the wedges, it is hard to clean out the joint & that will make the easy break off system stumble. I had to cut a few off with a razor knife. I just did a 12'x5' area of 24"x6" & had to lean on the tiles to set the wedges even with channel lock pliers (used them to break off the tops too.) Anyway leaning on the tiles even with wedges is not a good thing to do. I did the next section with regular spacers & a level/straight edge & got better results as it was easier to pop a tile & add thinset to get that smooth look. I think all of the big tiles have a bow in them & this product will not fix that issue, only staggering the tile will minimize the bow effect.
Pros: Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Good once you learn some lessons

PostedJune 7, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Just like any new product there is a learning curve with this one. Loved the way it worked to level the tiles but my first experience was a bit of a train wreck. The source of the problems were some flaws in my methods though that this clip accentuated. Tiled a small wall area with about 8 tiles - 18x18's to see how it worked. Troweled with a 3/8 notch and back buttering. Next day...knocked off clips...several tiles came with it. Took all the tiles off at that point and scraped the wall flat. Examining the tiles, I would say i was averaging 10 - 20% coverage.
Things I did badly that this clip made worse:
-didn't hold the trowel at the right angle. Made my peaks low.
-Didn't test a tile for coverage 90%+
-didn't test each tile for suction as i went
-I think my mortar was a bit dry and over-mixed. Too much air in the mix made it weak and too dry meant that it wasn't wet enough for a good suction effect.
-Should use a larger trowel to give me some margin. As spacer holds the tile off the surface about 1/4 of an inch
-saw i missed back buttering of one tile.
I will give it another whirl and pay better attention and see. I still think the engineering of the clip could be improved. Too much of a curve on the bottom of the clip and too thick. Cut the curve in half and reduce the thickness and it would seem to me that it would work just as well.
Cons: Difficult to Install
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>