728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

The QEP Tile Leveling Clips (96-Pack) are part A of a two-part installation system engineered to level, align, space, and hold large body porcelain tile, marble and stone during installation. This part of the system works by automatically aligning and spacing tiles. The wedge part B of the system (sold separately) works by maintaining tiles at an even height until the mortar sets, thereby ensuring the resulting surface is level and free of lippage. The system is used by professionals to save time while providing level and consistently spaced results.
Overall rating:
3.184 / 5
3.2
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
61%of customersrecommend this product28 of 46reviews
Rating Breakdown 49 reviews
3.2 out of 5
5
(13)
4
(13)
3
(7)
2
(2)
1
(14)
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.8 out of 5
2.8 out of 5
Quality 
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Value 
2.9 out of 5
2.9 out of 5
61%of customersrecommend this product28 of 46reviews
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
Review 1 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Cupertino CA.
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Expensive but well worth it!

PostedMarch 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
When this product first came out I gave it 5 stars and told all of my tile setter guys about these! After using them on many jobs now the following is what I have decided..
The PRO'S: pulls 2 tile edges even, keeps them equally spaced, saves time, reusable required wedges, simple break away spacer AFTER tile is set and dry.
CON'S: Expensive to use on big jobs, only works on floor tile, requires excessive amount of mortar due to pulling up on tiles, hard on the thumbs, some times the spacers have bits of plastic which causes the tile to gap bigger (faulty production problems).
Pros: Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Las Cruces, NM
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

BEWARE-Terrible Product if You Want 1/16" Grout Lines

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
We bought this product because the concept seemed great. We used this on imitation wood porcelain tile measuring 48" x 8" .Our main concern was having level tile but just as important to us is that we needed a 1/16" inch grout line for the tile we were installing. This product advertised 1/16" grout lines when using these clips. Upon laying the first few tiles we found it nearly impossible to achieve a grout line of 1/16" of an inch. The gap was easily an 1/8" if not more. Anyone installing tile can imagine the frustration level when dealing with wet mortar that is drying, and having to reset the tile while trying to figure what you may or may not be doing right etc. We were using a 1/2" trowel with the proper amount of mortar coupled with backbuttering the tile. Upon further inspection of the spacers/anchors we found that they were poorly made with excess plastic from the molding process causing them to be thicker than the 1/16" advertised. I even measured them with my dial calipers to confirm this. 1/16" is .0625. and as you can see from one of the pictures the anchor measures slightly more. When I measure the anchor with the excess plastic from the plastic injection molding process the measurement is .095 or approximately 1/32" thicker. This is just one random anchor that I grabbed. They were a little thicker than 1/16" due to the manufacturing process, and when compounded with a little bit of mortar getting on them then you are easily looking at a wider grout line of possibly an 1/8" or more. Maybe we had a bad batch, but I have a tendency to believe that the pricier ones would not have the same quality control issues. We ended up using the green inexpensive standard 1/16" spacers. Every single one of these less expensive and simpler spacers have been manufactured accurately for a 1/16" and now we are getting the desired grout line.
Cons: Difficult to Install
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Arizona
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

For 3/8" or thicker tiles and 1/2"x1/2" trowels ONLY!

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
An uncompressed clip will hold a tile .25 inches above a clean surface and a .25 x.375 trowel lays furrows .2652" when held at a 45 degree angle, which need to be compressed to .1768" to eliminate the voids. Therefore these clips would prevent furrow collapse and void elimination before they are compressed unless a .5x.5 trowel is used. Many reviews on HomeDepot.com mention a .5 x.5 trowel is necessary without explaining why. I reasoned they would have clips for .375" toweled thinset but after an exhaustive search, I found these (part #99720Q) to be the smallest clips they make. Furthermore, clip compression is mechanically limited by design for tiles less than .375” thick, leaving only clip spring tension to eliminate lippage on thinner tiles no matter how forcefully the wedges are inserted. My conclusion: these clips are only useful for .5" trowels and .375" or thicker tiles. My ratings reflect the lack of critical information for using these clips.
Pros: effective for thicker tiles and thinset
Cons: unexplained limited application, critical information missing
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Fairfax, VA

Great Product - If Used Correctly

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I must admit, this is the first time I have used a tile leveling system. I am a DIYer and do most of my home improvement projects myself. The system is easy to use, but you should note a few cautions.
First, the spacers are shaped like an anchor so naturally there will be a little dead space between the tile and the floor. You must 'back butter' the tiles (which you should be doing anyway) to close the gap. Once you tighten the spacer down with the wedge (part B, the gap closes considerably. In order to do this, you must really have the QEP pliers that are only sold online. Otherwise, you will spend a lot of time nursing your thumbs and still not get a tight enough clamp. Warning - the pliers are not quality made. Mine snapped about 1/2 way through the job, but I just ordered another pair and kept on going.
Second, these are not for small tiles. I am installing 6 x 24" wood look tiles, which are prone to lippage by the nature of the manufacturing process. To reduce lippage the tiles are offset by 1/3. This means I have to use more spacers and clamps to do the job. No big deal.
Third, the tile leveling system doesn't replace good tiling practice. if you don't use enough mortar/thinset, the system can't help you. I did have to take up a few tiles and add more thinset, but I'd have to do that anyway with or without the system. What the system does is ensure the tiles stay level as the thinset dries. You'll still need a rubber mallet to even up the tiles when necessary and a tool to remove the thinset from the grout lines. You will get some oozing with this system as it squeezes out some of the mortar when you clamp the spacers down. Again, no big deal. Be prepared to spend more time doing the job. It takes longer to set the tiles and push in the clamps, but the extra time is worth it.
Fourth - VERY IMPORTANT - if you don't finish the job on the first day, make sure you stick the spacers in the tiles where you left off, then double down by pushing unfinished tiles tightly next to them. This will ensure the clamp is tight up against the tiles you left off with. I stacked two tiles (without mortar) to be sure they stayed in place. I only had to pull out one clamp the next day. The rest were fine.
Fifth - Use the pliers. I can't stress this enough. Unfortunately, they are made of cheap plastic and could break with repeated use. Mine did, and I was none too happy, but they don't cost that much so I replaced them. One could cry over this issue but it's not worth it.
Sixth - a bag of 96 goes a long way. I finished 1/3 of a 13 x 19' room with just one bag. The clamps are reusable so no need to buy an equal amount unless you plan on finishing the job in one day. If you do it over multiple days like I have, then you just let the tiles dry for 24 hours, then knock the clamps out with a rubber mallet and reuse them. I've only used one bag of clamps and about 3 bags of spacers.
We love the way our floor came out. it is perfectly level and looks great. These spacers work if you are patient and use some common sense.
+12points
12out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Denver CO
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Makes alot of Sense

PostedNovember 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This type of product has been around for awhile but the ease of purchase thru Home Depot is added value. Larger tiles are the norm these days and anything that helps level the floor problems is a plus. Lippage is always a concern but using this product makes installation a snap. Just cost it into the project as a worthwhile investment.
Pros: Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Clermont, Fl
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Amazing Product - Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clip

PostedOctober 25, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have been contemplating replacing the carpet on both landing with wood floors or tiles. After months of debating, we decided to install tiles. It was not the typical 24” tile; we went with the 36” tile. The project began with the removal of the carpet and we noticed we had an issued with the plywood floor. We began presenting the tiles and we knew we had a leveling problem. We applied leveling cement as well, but we still had issues leveling and aligning the tiles. For the project in question, we purchased several tools at Home Depot and we came upon the QEP Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips. What a life saver, the product was so easy to use and it performed perfectly. I was able to level the tiles with the flooring. I am in the process of replacing my entire second floor with the same tiles; and I will continue purchasing the QEP Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips.
Pros: Great Instructions, Easy to Clean, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Effective
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Disaster

PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have done many tile projects in the past and never had any issues. When I saw this product I was excited as I was working with 'French pattern' and tiles were different thickness. Long story short it worked for some of the larger tiles (16x16) and not for the smaller (12x12 and 6x6) at all. There is simply not enough hold to prevent the bottom of the anchor pushing the tile up preventing adhesive to properly work. Other people mentioned it requires 1/2 trowel ... it might require even more adhesive if floor is not perfectly leveled. I spend 1 day tiling and 1 day scraping off every installed tile as they were moving up/down even after 12 hours of drying.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from New Orleans
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Works great if used correctly

PostedFebruary 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
I'm a remodeling contractor/cabinetmaker and always end up doing my own stone and tile work. There is nothing worse than a lipped tile on a floor - it makes the whole job look terrible.
My local supplier tried to get me to try the Tuscan leveling system, but I just don't do enough of this to warrant that kind of expense. So when I saw this at my local HD several years ago I just had to try it.
My first go round with it had mixed results for all the same reasons that everyone else in these reviews cited....poor bonding. I took the lessons I'd learned from this job to the next one. I bumped up my trowel size up to 1/2" x 1/2" and back buttered the tiles with a 1/4" x 1/4" trowel to assure good bonding. I also place the combed out thinset lines perpendicular to each other.
I usually go with 1/8" grout joints so I wish I didn't have to add the spacers but I'll contend with that inconvenience for the finished look I get.
Finally there are other steps to take for good bonding:
1. Use a good quality latex modified thinset (C-Cure is my favorite - I've stuck tile to a metal fireplace surround with this brand). Don't use premixed thinset - it is garbage. Also paying extra for white thinset on lighter colored stone and tile helps tremendously.
2. Mix your thinset a little on the thin side and let it sit for 15 minutes to slake and then give it a final mix before using. The final comb out should hold its shape and not collapse.
3. Don't overwork what you have mixed - I usually pitch anything that has been in the bucket for over 2 hours.
Hope this helps - I see too many poor reviews for this product where people are expecting a magic bullet for their installations - this doesn't quality as that. It is simply a tool that can be used to make your end result look better.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Globe, AZ

LASH Clips and wedges

PostedNovember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
When used correctly these are awesome. They flush up the tops of the tile perfectly. They also help keep the tile in place so when you lay surrounding tile it is not as easy to move the work you have already done. Let the thin set dry overnight, give them a slight kick, and you have a nice even floor surface. We build 1/4 million to 1/2 million dollar homes and use them all the time. Although I would not recommend them if you are using anything smaller than a 1/2" trowel to lay the tile and you really should not need them if you are laying tile smaller than 13" or so.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Hayward, California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good system

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Used these for 12 X 24 tile. It took longer but the results were great. These clips are good for large tile, but I could see problems with small tile. I used a 3/8" trowel, and would say that this is the smallest you could use wth these. Thumbs got very beat up by pushing the wedges in. I did see a tool on the internet for sliding the wedges, but it was for a different manufacturer, and I had already layed half the tile so didn't bother with tracking down where to buy it.
Would use again for setting large tile. A little pricey at $10 for 96 clips. Would be nice if they sold a larger number of clips for a discounted price. I am a DYI'er.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Looks Great
Cons: pricey
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from San Diego, CA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

DO NOT USE!!

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I want to add my comment to encourage other people NOT to use these. When I first tried sliding the clips under the tiles (12" x 12"), I thought - I don't remember seeing anything in the video about how to make the bottom part of the clip flatten out (i.e. allow the tiles to be flat in order to be level!!), and because time was an issue as I had thin-set starting to dry, I was so disgusted I yanked the two that I started with out, used some profanity & then went on my way. I will be returning these 100%. I haven't even read the good reviews to understand how people got them to work but it doesn't matter now. I thought they were going to be the answer to any issue but perhaps with larger travertine tiles (as the weight of them will force the clip flat. WHATEVER!! :)
Cons: Difficult to Install
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)

Work great if used correctly

PostedFebruary 23, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've used these for laying of at least 1,000 square feet of large format granite, marble, and travertine tile. I always use medium bed mortar and back batter every tile.
Compared to similar levelers you find at flooring specialty stores, these are much cheaper, however, they require more time to install properly.
Most of the complaints here seem to be due to improper application of mortar.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from concord, ca
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

works ok, has problem with molding flash

PostedDecember 20, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Laying large tiles 12x24 I needed to use the product to achieve a flat surface. Until I made a notched wood block to squeeze the wedge in with channel lock pliers, the clips were very difficult to cinch up. Also, since I am using 3/32 grout lines, I have had to clean up the excess plastic flash from the molding lines with a utility knife. Very time consuming. However, I achieved a superior installation and probably couldn't without the clips. So, practice using a few dry fit to see how they work first. Cut off the excess plastic on the mating surface. Remember to slide the clip into position before you beat the first tiles in. Insert the wedges a bit as you set tiles to get a preliminary level. When you have a full section set, cinch up the wedge tight then insert your spacers if necessary and make any final position adjustment.
Pros: Effective
Cons: Difficult to Install, manufacturing quality could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from E. Tenn
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Tile Leveling Spacers

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Appearance 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The bottom of these clips are to stiff. Using them for the first time on a 12 x 24 tile. I had to replace every tile I used these spacers on, they were holding the tile off the floor and would move up and down when walked on. Could be a good product if bottom of clips were more flexible.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Wouldn't tile without them

PostedApril 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Not sure what the fuss is about the package clearly says not to use the product with less than a 3/8 inch trowel. I put down 1/2 travertine with a 1/2 trowel and I back buttered the tiles. If you feel the tile lift off the mortar then you don't have enough mortar. Worked like a charm. No lippage at all. Fingers will definitely start to hurt after a bit from pushing them in. Mine wouldn't kick off so I just pulled them off with pliars while the wedge was still in.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Raleigh, NC

PostedApril 12, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Clips worked great! The tiles did seperate when installing the wedges, but mortar was still wet, so you could just slide the tile back in place. Your fingers will fatigue over time. Did about 600 sq feet, and this system worked like a charm! I did use 1/2 inch trowel just to make sure there was enough mortar.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

problematic despite knowing their shortcomings.

PostedApril 21, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Appearance 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was new to tile installation but I am pretty handy. These are more trouble than they are worth. I had read all the shortcomings on these levelers and found all of them to be true and problematic even after I was pre-warned. I used a 1/2" trowel but still had some issues getting a good level. You are better off peeling off a tile and re-leveling the mortar by hand until you get the level lip you desire. They are probably better to use with thick heavy tiles. 1/4" @ 12x24" were too light and thin to make good use of these frustrating levelers. If you use them, get as much work done with them all in one setting as possible.
Leaving these half exposed on a tile course that is hardening overnight will leave you angry out the next day. You will not get the gap spacing correct or have them function as well as the case where both tiles and the mortar are free to move. I tried laying a fake course alongside the newly laid tiles to straighten the levelers but it did not help sufficiently and some were worse than ever. You are better digging out some mortar underneath the last tile and leaving a gap for the next day. They do not give you a uniform 1/16" gap. Some gaps are wide and some are narrow despite my best effort. If you use them, I would recommend using 1/8" spacers in conjunction with the levelers for better line uniformity. I blame myself for the workmanship on my first tile job but I fought these levelers every step of the way. At the end I wished I had never used them at all. I was far better just being careful and re-setting tiles 3-5 times to get it right rather than monkeying with theses junky levelers. They are too tall under the tiles. Lippage is still a problem. The wedge it too short for 1/4" tiles so there is little support on the short wedge side tile.
If they get stuck and you cannot crack them off, do not pry or cut. The polymer responds well to cracking under a rapid straining condition, i.e. cracking them off very abruptly. If they are bending and tearing, grab the exposed portion with a diagonal cutters to grip the stub and then strike the pliers with a mallet or hammer sideways (parallel to the tile). I had a dozen that would not rip out and I was fighting them and afraid I would crack tiles prying and tearing them. Kick them over to snap off or use a gripper and mallet.
Pros: Sturdy
Cons: Hard to Remove, Difficult to Clean, Difficult to Install
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Wisconsin, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great when used correctly!

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I used this system for my very first tile job. 12" x 24" porcelain tile and a 1/16" grout line - Not an easy task.
It took a couple tiles to figure out an efficient way to use them, but the result was straight grout lines and virtually no lippage. There are some rules though.
1. Only use this product for large tiles
2. 1/2" trowel - no less
3. Back butter (you should be anyway)
4. Check 1 or 2 tiles early in the laying to make sure you have good contact. If not, add more to the back of the tile. If you are using a 1/2" trowel, you shouldn't have any trouble.
5. Level the tile as best you can with your eye, then slide wedge in. I used a hand garden weeder to push the wedge all the way in - don't use your thumbs - ouch. Getting the tile as close as possible by hand is important. The wedge will get you the rest of the way.
I gave it 4/5 instead of a 5 because these little buggers are a bit pricey. It took ~500 of them to do our moderately sized kitchen. However, with a tile job that should last a lifetime - it's well worth the investment.
Pros: Looks Great, Looks High End, Effective
Cons: a little expensive
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Illinois, USA
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Not wonderful

PostedJune 18, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This system is flawed and left issues. We stopped using it half way through. Eye was better than this system. I've used other systems more reliable.
Cons: not accurate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
-6points
2out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Tile Leveling, Aligning and Spacer Clips Part A (96-Pack)
from Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A Must Have

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Appearance 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Simple and relatively easy to use. They ensure tile to tile leveling accuracy. I'm a fan will continue to use in the future.
Pros: Sturdy, Looks Great, Effective
Cons: none
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 >>