728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Cleaning Tools & Supplies or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

The SteamFast Steam Mop and Hard Floor Sanitizer helps you clean and sanitize hard floor surfaces with the power of steam. Using ordinary water, this mop's 1,000 watts of power provide up to 12 minutes of continuous steam. Absorbent microfiber technology is ideal for cleaning sealed hardwood and laminate, stained concrete, tile, vinyl, linoleum, granite, marble, slate and more. This steam mop is a convenient replacement for messy mops and buckets.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(195 reviews) 193
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product174 of 193reviews
Rating Breakdown 195 reviews
4.5 out of 5.0
5
(133)
4
(40)
3
(8)
2
(7)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product174 of 193reviews
Customer reviews for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Poor construction, junk product

PostedMarch 24, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had this just over an year and could not claim the repairs in warranty. Used it barely 11 times in a whole year and it is dead. Pulled it apart to find a really clumsy plastic water tank with seal almost like silicone caulk. In just 11 fills the water had found its way all over the PCB board and everything in there was corroded. I am just glad it was not a shock hazard or a fire hazard. I would ask everyone to research the build before you buy one. One would come and state I should use distilled water, yet note the effects out of the tank.
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: ineffective, poor build, ultra poor construction, safety hazard
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Joliet, MT 59041, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good while it lasted

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I ordered my 11/2011. I used distilled water in it because we have a lot of calcium in our well water. I love the way it easily cleaned my resilient floor in the dining room. After about a year it quit working. I took it apart to see if it could be fixed. Somehow the water or moisture found its way to where the wiring and heating unit were and there was quite a bit of corrosion. After cleaning it up and resealing the water compartment it still didn't work. I don't know if I could have done something different that would have made it last longer; if there is I don't feel it should be necessary. We have purchased a different brand now so we'll see how long it lasts, hopefully longer.
Pros: Immediate Results, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Effective, light and easy to handle
Cons: should have lasted longer
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

works like it says

PostedMay 31, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Purchased for laminate floors that arent sealed ( this product says ok for laminate if they are sealed). Steaming is not the best for laminate but I was really tired of doing the floors on hands and knees. So far it has worked great. It does leave water so I walk behind it w/ a large towel to wipe as I go. The steam and pad get up all that I would normally have to get w/ by hand. I have 2 young kids (6 and 3) and a large god (100 ilbs ). The only downside, wish it held more water. i will have to periodically wipe by hand around the baseboards and tight corners but it sure beats anything else I have tried.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Virginia

5 stars

PostedNovember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
What a great steam mop. I work for Home Depot and I purchased this mop in the store. We have never carried this model before, and I just wanted to purchase it and check it out. I live in a home that is over 100 years old, and has all tile and original hardwood floors. This mop works great. For those who say they can't tell when it's heated or out of water refer to the owner's manual. The "green" light will cut off when the mop is out of water. Also, the manual says to have the mop resting on the enclosed pad and after 3 minutes, the mop will steam which will let you know it is ready! Love it!
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very disappointing - will probably return for refund

PostedMarch 6, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Disappointed that steam is not visible and requires very frequent refilling because This model ran out of water very quickly. It is not very efficient and ran out of steam/ water way before 12 minutes passed. Wouldn't recommend.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

worked well but didn't last

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've owned this product for a year & three months. It worked well but it already broke. We only used this product maybe once a month and feel it should have lasted longer than it did.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Pennsylvania

Steam Mop

PostedApril 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great steam mop I like it because it makes my life easier cleaning my kitchen and bath floors , this is my first time ever using a steam mop all I did was follow the instructions given which was easy and it worked great
I give this product 5 stars because it was easy for me to use and thats a plus for me .
+12points
13out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Brighton, Co

Love this little mop!

PostedFebruary 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this as a clearance item for $10.00, thinking what the heck? I love this little steam mop, it's not well built, does have a short cord and a flimsy handle, as stated in other reviews..... but it does the job it's suppose to do, so who cares??? I have 3 dogs on tile and laminate floors, I use it about every other day, it's so easy.
I used the Shark at my son's house and this cleans just as well. Can't beat it even if it had been the full price.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

Great product; may need alot of refills pads

PostedDecember 18, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very easy to assemble and simple to use. It does a great job of picking up dirt. My only complaint (which may be my own fault) is that our pad did not get completely clean in the washing machine, but we did wait a week + to wash it, since we don't have a machine in our apt and batch our wash & fold.
Pros: Easy to Use, Immediate Results, Fast Results
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from South of Boston, MA

Works Perfect

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a 600 sq ft hardwood floor, 350 sq ft of tile and 100 sq ft of linoleum. This steam mop worked great. All the floors look like new and I have the comfort of knowing there are not any chemicals on the floors. I have two small boys, 2 dogs and a cat so it is very important to have a chemical free floor for all to play on. I would highly recommend this steam mop to anyone to replace a regular mop. Got a great deal through homedepot.com with free shipping.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Krum, Texas

Product works well.

PostedJuly 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is very light weight and easy to use. It does a very good job on our tile and is a great price. Would definitely recommend this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Kentucky

Just got mine today

PostedDecember 7, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The SF-140 Steam Mop is very easy to assemble; I had the phone between my shoulder and ear while I was assembling it. Operation is just as easy; add water, wait for the steam and then mop. It did a great job on the part of my kitchen floor that I cleaned; I wanted a before and after to show the wife when she gets home. There were a couple spots we’d scrubbed on hands and knees before deciding they were permanent. Those spots were here when we moved in back in the 90’s but they’re gone now and it only took a few passes. This would be a great gift for senior citizens because it’s light, works great, and is easy to use and maintain.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Blairstown, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works great!

PostedJanuary 2, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this steam mop to clean hard wood floors. It does a very good job without leaving the floor wet. It did a good job cleaning the vinyl floor in my kitchen too.
The unit was simple to assemble and does not take up a lot of space when stored. The handle length is adjustable and it locks in the upright position when standing or storing. It heats up in about two to three minutes and provided enough steam to clean both rooms with just one fill. The power cord was long enough to clean an entire room without moving to a different outlet. The cleaning pad adhered well to the unit and can be removed and cleaned in the washing machine.
I am very pleased with this unit!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Oceanside, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Light weight

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works well on laminated floors. I still have to dry with a towel but this product has saved my knees!
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Chicago, IL
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Best & most inexpensive steam mop on the market!

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have personal experience with steamers, both steam mops and commercial quality steamers. This is a comparable product if in a comparison with the leader in this style mop which is Haan. Haan steam mops are far pricier and in my opinion about the same product. One low rated review said this was a "junk product with poor construction". Having experience using hand held floor mops, for the price you paid for this mop, it's hardly junk. I purchased mine at my local HD for $18 on sale! I wish I purchased more as gifts.
It's comparable to Haan's hundred dollar ranged steam mops. Construction is about the same, both have similar powering units and functionality. Heck you can use tap water with this model but I don't ever. Tap water is "dirty" and can house metals that can clog your unit, instead I use distilled water. Others may use other types of cleaned water.
1) Always make sure you never drop the arm of the product, this one move can kill your product. If the arm falls and bangs on the floor, that is the movement that can kill the power source. This has happened to my Haan unit and countless reviews online mention this as well.
2) For the price it's offered at, less than $50 dollars its a pretty good unit. The cleaning is fair. It's not a mop "per se", this isn't something that you grind against the floor hoping it cleans everything. It's a green clean. Watch a few videos on Youtube to get a better sense on how to use it properly. Hint: slowly.
3) if you want a unit that has more power, more spray, more more.. you're gonna have to spend more money. This is great for floors, areas that get high traffic. If having a room that is extra dirty, I would suggest using some cleansers to break up the dirt and then going over it with this.
These are considered small electronics. It's wise to keep the receipt and get an extended warranty. I purchased my ext warranty for $8 for two years! Products like these are like fortune cookies, some aren't made correctly but if you have a good warranty that means you're getting a new one free!
Pros: Immediate Results, Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Fast Results, Packaging, Long-Lasting, Effective
Cons: water reservoir is small.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Buckhead,GA 30625
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quick and easy

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Love this steam mop. Quick and easy clean up. Floors are spotless with no mess.
Pros: Cost Effective, Easy to Use, Effective
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

Steam mop

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
It certainly does what it claims to do, and that is to clean my kitchen floor. I'd give it a five, but it did such a good job cleaning the floor that it removed all the wax and, consequently, the shine! Now, until I apply wax again, I can keep my floor nice n clean, but will it remove the wax the next time I use it after replying the wax?
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Massachuetts

Steam Mop

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is my first steam mop. It was so easy to set up and use. It is surprisingly lightweight even with the water in it. I consider myself "green" and this is a great product since it only uses water/distilled water. The floors felt clean and not sticky like some other products, which leave a film behind.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED

Great product needs longer cord

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product. All I would do different is make the cord longer. I just add an extention cord.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Hard Floor Sanitizer and Steam Mop-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix , AZ

belive me

PostedJuly 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I can't belive that this works as well as it does for the price I paid for it. I thougt that I would have to return it but to my suprise it works grreat and I load it to my nabor and she is going to buy one. Hey, it works. Thanks.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 10 >>