728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Drywall Vacuum Sander

Drywall Vacuum Sander

The Marshalltown Drywall Vacuum Sander is an ideal tool for clean, virtually dustless drywall sanding. The soft, ergonomic handle offers a comfortable grip while a pivoting hose connector allows ease of use when sanding vertical surfaces. It is designed to work with regular sanding screens and has an adjustable vent that lets you vary the vacuum force.
Overall rating:
4.603 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
96%of customersrecommend this product55 of 57reviews
Rating Breakdown 63 reviews
4.6 out of 5.0
5
(48)
4
(10)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5.0
4.4 out of 5
96%of customersrecommend this product55 of 57reviews
Customer reviews for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Review 21 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
John

Drywall sander

PostedSeptember 27, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Overall the product works well enough. The little slide valve to adjust the amount of vacuum bleed off keep moving on its own. The hose is not long enough to get very far away from the vacuum cleaner so when doing the ceiling it becomes difficult as the hose "pulls" on the person doing the sanding This make ones arms prematurely tired from the extra encumbrance of a short and heavy hose.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 22 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Hallux
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

good dust reducer.

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I just did my first drywall project and used this. There was only minimal dust. I had a lot of dust when I used a sanding sponge to get some tight spots this sander would not fit into, but had very little dust with this attached to my shop vac. I will definitley use it on my next drywall project.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 23 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
rubadubdub
from Schenectady, NY

vacuum sanding drywall

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
After taping and sanding a few rooms over the past 2 years and hating the house filled with dust and the clean up that comes with it, a friend told me about the vacuum sander he uses on drywall that is almost dust free.
I had to try it as I'm remodeling the kitchen so I bought this one at the Home Depot with the hope of minimizing the mess.
Well, it does the job.
Adjustable setting for suction eliminates fighting to draw it across the surface and allows an even pressure to take off the compound from the drywall. The sander is lightweight but sturdy, and the sanding screens easily applied and removed with no tools.
I have taken about a third of the time off job of sanding and clean up.
I use a fine filter for my 9 gallon Rigid shop vac and have found very little dust in the kitchen or on the plastic covering the doorways.
My only problem is with the handle. Although comfortable it could be a little larger as I developed a blister on my index finger from rubbing where the handle meets the plane.
Overall, I'm very happy as it does a great job and keeps the dust at a minimum all for a reasonable price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
jroche
from Linwood, NJ, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Yearly

great value for the price

PostedJuly 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
easy to use, almost completely dustless.great value for the price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Kev1221
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works great - virtually dustless

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Purchased this dustless sander after trying another brand that didn't work very well. Read postive reviews online and thought I would give it a shot. I am remodeling a third floor (2 rooms 300 sf) and fixed two walls in the mother-in-laws house.
The sander was great. Removed about 90 to 95% of the typical drywall dust. Way above my expectations (and the mother-in-laws). I had it connected to a large model shop vac with a high quality air filter designed for drywall dust.
Definately would recommend for the d.i.y.'rs looking to keep dust way down.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 26 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
HandyMan
from texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Purchase frequency:Monthly

the product work better than i expected

PostedJune 25, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did not have any dust when i sanded my compound joints,handled very well for me and others in the industry had not heard or seen the device before.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Toops
from Eden Prairie, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Not flat!!!!

PostedApril 14, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The sander was not flat at all. All four corners were proud of the rest. It was cupped in both directions. Saw another review with same complaint. He used belt sander to make it flat. Lame. Another issue is it seams about 1/4" too long and the threaded studs for the clamps are too short. Makes it difficult to install screen. I returned it.
Went to buy the MASTERFORCE unit at Menards. Half the price of this Marshalltown system but has the same flatness issue. So, I guess it doesn't matter. I didn't buy that one either.
Pros: Light Weight
Cons: not flat, threaded studs too short
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Tomkat
from Missoula, MT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

Amazed at results

PostedMay 21, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Being that I have sever back problems, I was extremely impressed at the results of this little item. The walls I replaced were in two finished and lived in rooms. As I did the finish sanding could not believe that I didn't have even a small mess to clean up. Should I have any more rock work to do or know of anybody that is planning to do same I would STRONGLY recommend this tool. All I can say is WOW!!!:-)
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Great Value, High Quality, Economical, Reliable, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Ltclaude
from Ma
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

worked great !

PostedJune 11, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The vacuum sander worked as advertised, I dind't have to inhale any dust nor did I have to vacuum when I was done. I wish I would have bought this 3 rooms ago.57
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Jeff
from Salt Lake City, UT, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

no dust!

PostedMay 28, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unbelievable- no dust at all! I wish I would have had a tool like this years ago!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Mossy

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the wife rating the husband's purchase! So excited about this product! I always cringe when there is drywall sanding to be done in the house because of the dust that seems to permeate every nook and cranny of every room. This product allows for sanding with virtually NO dust whatsoever! The shop vac that he uses with it is very loud - but nothing that his earplugs and my MP3 player won't cure! Highly recommend this to anyone planning to do some major sanding!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 32 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
BROWLAN
from ANTELOPE
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

LOVE THIS PRODUCT!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We used this in a sheetrock project and it worked beautifully, easy to use, no dust and with the aid of an adaptor (that came with our shop vac) - it hooked right up to our shop vac and collected all the debris right into the shop vac - no fine dust all over the house!! Would highly recommend!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 33 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Raymond
from Allentown, PA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Yearly

This product works great, no dust.

PostedOctober 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I used this vacuum sander in my home and I had no dust in the air or on the floor. It is very easy to use and the hose provided along with my vacuum hose made it long enough to reach the walls and a 9' high ceiling. You must however use a high efficiency filter bag inside your shop vac the regular shop vac filter will clog too fast but with the special filter bags you can sand for hours.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Honeydo
from Hopewell, NJ, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Drywall sander

PostedOctober 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Sander attachment works excellent. The vacuum is strong enoough to hold the sander to the wall. Very little of what you sand escapes.The one problem I had was not with the sander but with the vacuum. Even with a bag inside, dust still escaped through the exhaust. I remidied this by attaching another bag to the exhaust using a reducer coupling inserted in the exhaust port.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 35 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Marso21
from Washington, DC, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works just as I hoped

PostedApril 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is great for sanding down drywall and creates virtually no dust, which is why I bought it. Highly recommend and at a great price.
Pros: Easy to Use, Easy to Work With, Economical
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Elroy
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great sander

PostedDecember 26, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Worked great. I didn't wear a mask while sanding. I didn't even have to wipe my eye glasses after sanding. The vacuum collected all of the drywall dust.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 37 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Jacko
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as advertised

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Collects most of the dust and greatly reduces clean up time
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 38 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
hp122
from Suffield, CT, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Purchase frequency:Monthly

Works as described

PostedApril 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Eliminated almost all dust via connection to shop-vac!
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Work With, Good Size & Weight, Reliable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
Videogeek
from San Diego, CA

Glad I Bought This

PostedNovember 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Had a bit of trouble getting the hose to stay on the handle but a little Gorilla Tape took care of that problem. Cut down a HUGE amount of dust while remodeling a bathroom and laundry room. Be sure to pair this with a good shop vac and high grade filter.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 40 for Drywall Vacuum Sander
blue1
from Pinckney

Peace at home

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This helped save the marriage. In the past, every drywall project made my wife go crazy because of the dust when sanding. NO MORE WHINING!!!!! I am extremely happy.
This thing works GREAT!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Great Value, Easy to Clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>