728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Drills or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit

1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit

The Ryobi 1/2 in. 18-Volt Cordless Compact Drill Kit comes with 2 lithium-ion batteries, a 60-minute dual-chemistry charger and a tool bag for portable drilling power. The drill features a lightweight, compact design to help you work comfortably in tight areas and offers variable-speed control and up to 1,600 RPM for fast drilling. The 1/2 in. single-sleeve keyless chuck grips bits tightly while allowing for fast, simple bit changes.
Overall rating:
4.398 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(83 reviews) 79
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product66 of 77reviews
Rating Breakdown 83 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(60)
4
(12)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product66 of 77reviews
Customer reviews for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
Review 21 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Dallas, TX

Ryobi

PostedOctober 17, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryobi products are a solid good buy, for the homeowner and have unlimited uses around the house and garage. This 1/2 drill will be my next purchase of Ryobi products. We are going into our fourth year with Ryobi line trimmer and it still starts like new with a lot of compression.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Powdersville, SC

Excellent drill

PostedOctober 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
When it comes to homeowner drills I doubt there is another on this planet that is a better value. This drill has all the power you could ever need and comes with lithium-ion batteries that have great run time. Pound for pound this drill is the best. Light weight, powerful, good run time...and lithium power. Pretty good combo. Would buy again and would recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 23 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Lynnwood, WA

Ryobi keeps surprising!

PostedOctober 19, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After owning virtually every major brand of cordless drill on the market, I think I've found the best drill for small to medium sized tasks. For the small investment you make, you in turn get a very well designed drill. It's simple, the motor is smooth and the variable speed trigger is easily controlled. It is well balanced and not too heavy for it's compact size. The Li-ion batteries, (2 included) hold a charge very well. Anyone who tries it out in my shop, wants one. Ryobi quality continues to improve, and this drill is no exception, A+
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 24 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Louisville, KY

Ryobi 18 V Lithiom Ion set

PostedOctober 25, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Not a bad deal. I have had Ryobi drills in the past and they have made major improvements in all areas. It is usually the charger or battery that burns out before the drill. I would like to have a good charger and batteries to go with the drill as those items are fairly costly and can almost buy a new drill for the cost of batteries and charger. I like the dual charger idea. I hope to be able to charge up my old Lithiom Ion batteries with this Ion set. I hope this set proves to be a long lasting system.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Northern Michigan

Everyday user

PostedNovember 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this drill everyday I thought it would not hold up to how much I use a drill, I found that for the price you can find A better one! I go threw 1 drill every 6 months to year so far had this for a year and it still runs great! Very happy!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 26 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Beacon, NY

So far so good...and a pretty good value

PostedNovember 30, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am not a real handy person around the house. I can do some DIY projects so long as the plans aren't too complicated and don't involve too much complicated building. Anything involving outdoors is much more my speed. My wife is a very decent builder and planner, much better than me. So when we buy power tools I want something that I can use outside and she can use inside for hanging picture frames, putting up shelves, replacing some door hinges, etc. I purchased this when the price went down to $139 after reading one of the reviewers talk about how the battery alone costs $70 or so. Using that math then, the drill was about $70 with a charger and a decent carry bag. Not a bad price for an 18v cordless drill with battery. With the torque turned up about halfway and one of those bulb-planting auger bits (2 feet long, 2 inches wide) attached to it, I got 150 bulbs in some very hard, almost-frozen, rocky New England soil just in time before the freeze. The bit got caught a few times, but reversing it and driving it in again always got the job done, using only one a half full batteries. And my back and knees were extremely grateful. My wife says it worked very well drilling some holes in 2x4's and putting some screws up in the wall for bookshelves too. Nice having a handy person around the house.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 27 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit

PostedDecember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ryob Lithium battery is the way to go you can use them
in all of the tool
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 28 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Los Angeles,CA

Good Drill for the Price of $139.99 with 2 batts.

PostedDecember 8, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this drill. Use it for working on cars and doing small jobs on cars . Like auto detailing and to clean upholstery. I use the drill to attach my carpet brush on it .To remove spots. Also use it to clean throttle and accelerator plates and replace batteries on cars . Additionally, also to restore dull and fogged up headlights on cars ,trucks and SUVs. Its a good investment'. Makita and Ryobi are the best at cordless drills.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from SW Florida

18-Volt Cordless Compact Drill Kit

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I made the switch to the lithium power battery. I was shopping for another 14.4 volt recharable for my existing Ryobi cordless and the store was out of them. I have had this drill for years, and keep replacing the battery, so i decided to UPGRADE. This drill is very impressive. I built an addition to my kids playhouse and used the drill to drive numerous 3 1/2" lag bolts into heavy duty PT lumber. Not to mention about 100 2 1/2" deck screws. I cycled through both batteries to get the job done. The recharge time was shorter than the time I ran the first one down so I was not without power. For big jobs keep your back up battery charged and ready. Lithium is the way to go. Ryobi makes great quality products, usually priced lower than their competition. I have multiple Ryobi tools and am very satisfied with them.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 30 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Bakersfiled, CA

Bark is louder than the bite

PostedDecember 21, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this to drill into the ground and the motor burnt up on me... it was used for less then a day. I switched to a Millwakee.
-5points
3out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 31 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Westerville, Ohio

Free 18 Volt Cordless Drill

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have researched and searched for 2 lithium batteries and a charger to replace my old 18v batteries. This kit was priced so well that the drill was almost free. A pair of lith batteries at the local HD were 89.99 and the charger was 29.99. This kit was well worth it and the drill is half the weight of my old one. The torque and length of battery life are as good as, if not better than the old 18v. You can buy the higher priced brands but they wear out just like all tools do. Great buy!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 32 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Boston

Bad trigger and batteries. TRIED TWO OF THEM!

PostedFebruary 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was really excited to get this home. I liked the price, the bag and the two battery packs. Plus it's 3/8" chuck and 18V promised lots of power. I was getting a lot of mileage on the battery right out of the box, with no charge on it. Then the drill would intermittently not work when triggered. It was really annoying. So, I put the charged pack in it. Same problem: sometime it would run, sometimes not. The problem seemed worse on an old charge vs. a newly charged pack. I returned it and got a new kit. SAME EXACT ISSUE. Someone mentioned that the drill trigger doesn't give you variable speed, either all on or all off. I noticed something similar. It's very difficult to get very low speed. Seems to be medium to high, but not smooth and no low. Any way, RUN don't walk from this kit. I have a feeling it's a Home Depot special run, and you get what you pay for: it don't work.
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 33 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Chicago, IL

Terrible Quality

PostedFebruary 13, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This product stopped working after a little more than a year. I am very disappointed that this product is still being sold. I urge anyone considering purchasing this to get a better brand instead (or buy a few of these - you'll need them). We'll see how this goes.
-2points
3out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 34 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Idaho Falls Idaho

Love it!

PostedFebruary 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great drill. My color completely and it works great!! Every woman should have a drill this good by the time she turns 18--it's a life changer! I want more green! Thanks! =]
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 35 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from bull shoals , ar

lasting power

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i use this drill to drive 2 1/2 " screws most of the time about 200 at at time. it has the torc to sink them and batterys hold up well. much better than the plus one i had.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 36 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from CT

Mr

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I've used Ryobi tools for years this is the worst drill I've had. Lacks power to drive screws or drill larger holes, compact battery is light but too short a run time
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 37 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Mobile, AL

Nice upgrade from the 1st gen 18V Ryobi drill

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had the yellow and blue Ryobi drill for years and completed many projects with it. I loved it! I knew that it was on its last leg so I gave it a burial at sea of sorts- I used it to drill screws into pilings of a pier in the ocean. Didn’t pass the salt water test :) This Li drill is a nice replacement. I like the oversize chuck which doesn’t rip the skin off your hands when tightening a bit. The balance is good and just a bit lighter than the old one thanks to the Li battery. I haven’t used it for extensive projects yet but it seems to perform as well as my old one.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 38 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit

Not powerful enough for the moderate to larger jobs

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I like the weight and some of the other advertised benefits to this drill.. It's great for the small things, sinking a few small screws through partical board or other lightwieght material ..however..for example.. trying to sink a 3' wood screw from one 2x4 into another solid post is way more work than it should ever be. Theres enough power to get it about half way in, then you'll have to back it out partway maybe a couple times and put all your weight behind it and you might get it to sink all the way down before it just stops. Basically i would only recommend this tool to someone who just needs to have a standby for simple jobs. If you are someone who plans to be actually building things or repairing your home... you may want to step it up. I think ill go with a Mikita next time.
+2points
5out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 39 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Knoxville, TN

Disagree with other reviews on this drill

PostedJuly 17, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A lot of people knock these tools. But I can tell you that I've used these drills (have 2 of them) daily for the past two years. And for the money you can't beat them. We use them to install gutters, constantly driving through metal, mortar joints and wood. The drill has enough power to repeatedly drill into masonry joints to install anchors for downspouts, but allows enough control to not strip when attaching to softer fascia boards. I've dropped the drills repeatedly 20-30 ft off roofs and ladders onto rocks and concrete and pick them up and keep going.
These drills have a magnet that is handy for holding small screws that the other brands don't have. The lithium batteries are light and have worked several days straight without recharging. The only downside I've found is that compared to the nicads, the lithium ion batteries are much more sensitive to cold weather. The nicads aren't like that. I've found that when it's cold the batteries won't charge or funtion at all. So if working out in the cold it's good to keep a couple nicads for the winter. Other than that these batteries will run twice as long and feel like half the weight as the nicads. It's amazing the abuse mine have suffered and still count on them daily. These are very dependable, durable, and affordable drills that I would recommend to anyone.
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 40 for 1/2 in. 18-Volt Lithium-Ion One Plus Cordless Compact Drill Kit
from Orlando, FL

Lots of power. Great drill

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have both the 18 volt blue & yellow ni-cad Ryobi and the lithium ion. I love this drill. It is much lighter than the Ni-cad and has lots of power. I have been using it to drill 4" deck screws through 2x4s and it has no problem doing the job. I did have a problem with the original charger not working, but once I swapped it for a new one everything is working great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
<< 1 2 3 4 >>