728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

The Ewbank 525USR Handy Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper is a bagless and cord-free alternative to the traditional vacuum and cleans hard wood floors and carpets, picking up dust, lint, crumbs, pet hair and other fine particles. The lightweight, easy to maneuver design is perfect for dorms, restaurants and banks and since it doesn't run on batteries or use a motor, the operating sound levels are ideal for libraries, classrooms, offices and more. There are no bags to replace and the brush automatically cleans itself for ease of use. Lays flat under furniture to sweep hard to reach areas. This sweeper features a steel handle, coated for a longer life and a large capacity dustpan. The Ewbank 525USR Handy Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper comes with a 1-year limited warranty that protects against defects in materials and workmanship. Ewbank has been providing innovative cleaning solutions for an impressive 125-years. Innovative design, reliability and customer satisfaction are always top priority, making Ewbank a staple in most households. Ewbank's multi-purpose products, including floor polishers, vacs and steam cleaning solutions are all offered at affordable prices, meaning that Ewbank is always the practical solution to everyday cleaning.
Overall rating:
3.667 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
67%of customersrecommend this product10 of 15reviews
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
3.7 out of 5.0
5
(8)
4
(1)
3
(2)
2
(1)
1
(3)
Quality 
3.8 out of 5.0
3.8 out of 5
Value 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
67%of customersrecommend this product10 of 15reviews
Customer reviews for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
Review 1 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Alexandria, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer
Usage frequency:Weekly

Lightweight and effective

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for something that I could grab quickly and use to sweep up the floors and carpets when I didn't have the time or inclination to drag out the heavier vacuum cleaner and listen to all of its whooshing racket. I remembered the old fashioned carpet sweepers from my youth and found this one. It is compact, lightweight, and works on carpet and hard floors as advertised. Based on the piles of dirt that come out of the catch pans, it's clearly getting up more dirt than I thought was actually there.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good for All Surfaces, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Modesto, California

PostedJuly 28, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We got our Golden Doodle with the understanding that standard poodles do not shed. But that did not mean he didn't collect millions of tiny leaves and bits of brush in his thick coat. I was dragging out the vacuum a couple of times a day day and the carpet still looked messy all the time. I didn't even know if they made carpet sweepers anymore, but I decided to chack, and I'm so glad I did! This little carpet sweeper is a wonder! With one pass it picks up every bit of fuzz and leaf and dirt. It holds a lot and it empties easily. I love it! Besides the fact that it works so well, it is small and unobtrusive, so I can just stash it in a corner of the room where I use it the most. It is very handy and barely noticeable. It's an amazing product for the money!
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Fort Worth, TX

Handy Manual sweeper

PostedJune 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This sweeper is great on hard floors and carpet. It exceeded my expectations
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Ca

Carpet Sweeper

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was very impressed with mine. I bought it for my motorhome and it has done such a good job, I have ordered
one more for upstairs.
It picks up great and is easy to store and bring put with no hassels
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Louisville, GA

So easy and quick. I have cats and it is great for quick clean-up.

PostedJuly 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love the Ewbank bagless manual floor sweeper. Since there is no motor, there is no noise to scare my cats. And it cleans as well as any motorized bagless cleaner. It is difficult for me to use a heavy motorized cleaner, due to arthritis pain, but I can use this one daily without any problem. I actually bought two, 1 for my home and 1 for my shop. Love it!!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

carpet sweeper

PostedMay 4, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Does do a good job between vacuums
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

This sweeper is very sturdy and works quietly.

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The Ewbank carpet sweeper is well made, and a sturdy design. It works well on carpet. It's quiet so we don't disturb customers. It is easy to empty. I'm thinking of getting one for my daughter (and their new baby).
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Wichita Falls, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Monthly

I wish now that I hadn't purchased it!

PostedJuly 9, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this for use mainly in our family room which has a very low pile carpet. Our beloved pet, a West Highland Terrier (Westie) eats the majority of his treats in that room and they are very had and the same color as the carpet. When I am at home I usually run around the house barefooted and stepping on one of those treats is like a stone in your shoe. This sweeper is very hard to push/pull even on this carpet which is disappointing and it feels like it is weighted down with bricks even though it is very lightweighted. It leaves tracks wherever it is used but picks up a minimal amount of debris.Then when you try to empty the debris trap it is like opening a rat trap as it is spring loaded and very hard to do. I would not recomment this to my worse enemy. I will probably pass this off to a local charity so they can either use it themselves (LOL) or sell it, but I won't use it again as it is worthless as far as I am concerned. You would have thought that with a name like Bissel it would have been a very good product, but this time I was deceived by a well known brand name.
Pros: Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight
Cons: Suction, Dust Chamber, Performance, Difficult to Empty Filter
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Harlingen, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Daily

This is perfect for an RV.

PostedJune 4, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I looked around locally for the sweeper and was unable to find it. It was a simple process to order online and pick up at the store. All together, I only had to wait 5 days to get it. We spend a lot of time in our RV during the summer and this works wonderful for us.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Good Size & Lightweight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from Nevada, USA
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other
Usage frequency:Weekly

This product is quite good

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I wasn't too sure about how this sweeper would work when I bought it, but I was pleasantly surprised how well it picked things up. I would recommend this sweeper.
Pros: Easy to Use, Performs Well, Quiet, Great Value, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

I did not find it to work well on bare floors.

PostedSeptember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I was hoping to use this with small children in a quiet environment to clean up spilled beans, pieces of dried flowers left over from sweeping,etc . This unit does not do the job. Better on carpet than bare floors. Still not great.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Quiet
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Would not recemmend.

PostedSeptember 20, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this carpet sweeper because it had decent reviews. Once mine arrived and I put the handle on and pushed it across the rug a plastic pin broken which held in the brush. Sooo...I returned it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Looks Great, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter
Cons: Performance
0points
3out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper

I love it

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
We need to vacuum while we are in massage session. I have never once heard my secretary vacuum even when she was right up against my door. It's also fast! She does the whole office in 5 minutes. I also love how clean the vacuum looks. When you vacuum they always look dirty when your done. Not this one. Now the best part the emptying. I had to use it when my secretary on her day off. I could just look at it and figured it out, on how to empty and keep going. Thank you!
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Performs Well, Looks Great, Quiet, Great Value, Good Size & Lightweight, Easy to Empty Filter, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from GA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional
Usage frequency:Daily

Not a big fan. you have to roll over grass and hair multiple times to get it off the carpet.

PostedSeptember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Suction 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Weight 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It just seems to be cheaply made. We may need a more industrial model for our needs.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Handy Bagless Manual Floor and Carpet Sweeper
from USA

waste of money

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
stick with yr sweeper or broom. does not pick up dirt. But , then you get what u pay for. IO was looking for a quick fix to sweeoping the kitchen floor as it said in ad that it worked on hard floors.
-1point
3out of 7found this review helpful.