728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

The Kenwood 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater offers convenient heating for any room in your home. Easily move the heater from room to room with the fully-assembled wheeled design and set the double-function timer to control operation. The unit is filled with oil and permanently sealed so it requires low maintenance. Digital controls allow you to control the thermostat, or you can choose between high, medium and low settings to keep your home at an ideal temperature.
Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(25)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Energy efficiency 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Great Unit

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros:
Heats entire room (312 square feet with no other source of heat)
Digital thermostat
Plug it in, set it up, leave it alone
Virtually silent
Energy efficient
On and off timer
Minimal maintenance
Overheat protection
Reomte Control
Sleek Design
Anti-Freeze setting
Cons:
Display could use a backlight for easier viewing
Does not say what the current tempature is
I was originally looking for this exact heater in stores but could not find it. After some research I found that it is made by De'Longhi and they have the exact same unit (Model No. EW7507EBL) without the Kenwood name on it for $10 cheaper...so you're paying an extra $10 just for it to say Kenwood on it.
The unit works great. I am using it in a 312 sq ft room (despite the specs saying 144 sq ft) without any central air and it heats the entire room up great (so far the tempature has been as low as 20 degrees outside). I leave the unit on 24/7 and have had no problems with it. However, the heater does include a feature that lets you set when you want it to turn on and off so all you have to do is set it once (easy to do just refer to the manual) and it will heat only when needed. The digital thermostat is also a plus, you set it to the tempature you want and once it has reached that tempature it will shut off while still radiating heat to help maintain the current temperature. If the tempature falls below what you have set it to it will turn back on. The unit is virtually silent, all you hear is a slight click when the unit adjusts the setting from high to low (energy saving feature, as the tempature warms up the unit automatically adjusts the setting from high to low which makes a very quiet click). In other reviews I've read it doesn't turn off without unplugging it which is false, it does have an off setting which is also explained in the manual. The design is rather sleek so it doesn't look out of place. I have also read in other reviews that the cord length is too short however it seems to be plenty (almost 6 ft long). Another cool feature on this model is the Anti-Freeze setting which allows you to set the unit only to come on to prevent freezing temperatures.
As other reviews say the display is slightly difficult to see since there is no backlight but it's not enough to deter me from recommending this heater. The only other downfall I've noticed so far is that it doesn't say the current temperature which is a feature in other models.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

The best space heater EVER!

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No exposed heat coils, silent, energy efficient, and the thermostat can be set to the desired temperature. Excellent for heating single rooms. As the area approaches the set temperature, the heater automatically switches to a more energy-efficient mode. If the room reaches or exceeds the temperature, the heater automatically reverts to a "hibernation mode" until it's required...just like central heat, only this can be set for a single area. Perfect for that time of year when air conditioning is necessary in the afternoon, but it cools down enough to require heat in the middle of the night.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 years in, best heater we've ever had. Tons better than ceramic or dish style heaters!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So to help you compare the different types of heaters I thought I'd throw out my thoughts on each of them.
We initially tried a ceramic heater but it just dried the air out a ton. It did heat the room, but aside from the dryness it was very noisy and would sometimes wake us up as it kicked on during the night. The only pro was that it heated our room up very quickly.
The dish style heater was warm... but only where it was pointed. They will not heat a room up and we mostly used these while sitting in a single spot in front of the TV or while sleeping. They would be great for working in the garage or something like that, but the biggest prob we had was that after a while they tend to "sunburn" you. Our skin would get real dry and our lips would crack. They also have a strong red glow at night which made it hard to sleep (like having a big red night light).
The oil filled heater has been our dream heater for the last 2 years. The only cons are that it takes a while to heat up, maybe 30-60 mins, and it won't heat up a huge rooms like large connected family rooms. We have a large master bedroom, maybe about 14 x 27 feet and it works great. We set the timer to turn on from 9 pm to 9am and basically never touch it. It turns on every night and our room is warm when we get ready for bed around 10-11, and then by the time we're gone in the morning it shuts back off. We tried using it in our family room, but it's connected to our living room and kitchen and you can't really tell it's on. We bought a 2nd for another room and tried using both to heat the family room and that still didn't work. I calculated that with a 3rd oil filled heater the cost to run all 3 in an area that big (they'd probably have to run almost all the time) would probably cost as much as running the furnace, so we just use the furnace when we're down there for a few hours every night.
We now set our furnace to 59 over night and use this to keep our room warm and it almost cut our winter heating bill in half.
Overall this has been one of our best purchases we've ever made. This Kenwood model seemed to look the sleekest, has 2 programmable timers, a remote control, is not noisy, the heat is not dry, and it has saved us money. I would not hesitate to buy one again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Absolutely Amazing

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've recently purchased this item for my kid's small bedroom. I've set it to maintain a constant room temperature during night time and it does that exquisitely well.
Pros: Electronic timer that allows you to set a time of operation for the heater to automatically maintain the desired room temperature.
Cons: I only wish that one could program different temperature settings for the two available programs because as it currently stands, you can only set one operating temperature for both program settings.
Other: The "click" that some people have complained about is audible but is very soft and should not disturb anyone's sleep unless you hug your heater while you sleep.
Important: When initially turned on, be sure to set the temperature to max and run the heater for ~4 hours to burn off the odor that is present.
All in all, for the price you can't beat this heater. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Excellent heater!

PostedMay 16, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a great heater. I got it to save money on my electric bill because the baseboard heat in my home is extremely expensive. When I got this heater I noticed it kept my home warmer and a more consistent heat then the baseboard heater. And it costs a lot less money to run! The heater does a really good job of spreading the heat across the house. I keep it in the front of the house in the living room but it heats the entire 600sq.ft. house even the very back bathrooom that is always cold. I am very happy with this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Cincinnati, Ohio

Works fine, but

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The heater does what it is designed to do. Keep an area warm.
I have a bedroom 12x17 with an adjacent master bath that always seems rather cold in the winter. Possibly a blocked central heat vent in the bedroom. Too cold to check that out now. I have used the heater since the first of December 2010. It does keep the bedroom rather toasty and luke warm in the master bath.
This past two months have been brutally cold in Ohio ( 4 degree to 30 degree temps. Mostly in the teens.), This heater did a good job of keping the bedroom quite comfortable.
We keep the tempature setting at 75 degrees on the heater and use it only when we go to bed. Our central heat furnace keeps the rest of the house warm but we set it to a lower setting at night when we go to bed since using the heater in the bed room.
Some nights we do have to drop the temp. setting down to 70 as it does get toasty. I do feel safer leaving it on at night as it is an enclosed unit with no chance of causing a fire like regular space heaters do. The power cord never gets hot to the touch which is a plus.
As far as power usage, it does increase our electric usage. About $30.00 a month this last two months but then again, we have had really low tenperatures here at night and most days.
We never used it on the timer settings and do not have any anoyances with the reported noise it makes when it turns on. The remote is a nice addition when you are in bed. Over all, a good investment.
I also noted we don't use as much natural gas as we did last year to heat the home but the savings was lost due to Duke energy raising their gas rates.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Lake Tahoe, United States
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great for us; you can set the actual temperature to maintain.

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Living in a cold climate we use this heater for our wine room to keep it a constant 59F; the room is 11'x11'x8.5'. What is great for us is you set the temperature in degrees and it holds it. Other units are relative settings ie; 1-9 and pick a number. The only other unit I found where you set the temperature had a minimum setting of 65F which did not accommodate our needs. No problems with the unit after 1 year.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from WA

Great for RV

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Using this to maintain temp and control moisture in 23' Travel Trailer. Works great for purpose and eases my mind during cold snaps. Much safer than ceramic or propane heater, and far more efficient than using the RV heater.
One thing not spelled out in the specs: the "anti-freeze" function maintains the temp at 42 and utilizes the eco-mode (lowest power mode as required to keep >42). When temp is above 42, heater stays off. Also, power loss control is limited to 2 minutes. Anything over 2 minutes and you have to reset mode/temp/etc.
Oh, and they wanted 5 bucks more in-store than on-line. Take a print of the on-line price and they'll match it.
Nice piece of gear, and made by DeLonghi. Good luck!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Best way to heat your home

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I now have 3 of these. I can use one remote to control all 3. Keep it at one temp during the day and just walk around and reduce the heat on all 3 for the night. It's worth having to do that to have the comfort this heater gives us. No TOO COLD and then TOO HOT, just even temp all the time. Quiet, not dry heat and doesn't take up alot of space. Be sure to place them by the coldest windows in the house for best performance. I've had them for 3 years now and they are getting set up now for the new winter season, year 4. I live in Georgia so not sure how well this would work further up north. I don't think it should make any difference.....
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Excellent device

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros:
- noiseless (there is a barely-audible crackle when it heats up, but it is really hard to even notice)
- stylish
- programmable (you can set desired power and/or temperature it should maintain, also a timer)
- efficient/fast (heats up a large bedroom in minutes)
Cons:
- doesn't remember settings when turned off
- program only lasts for a limited time that you specify (up to 18 hours) - you can't say "maintain 65 degrees forever"
- the LEDs are a bit too bright for bedroom
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Durand MI

works well

PostedJuly 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am retired and it is just my wife and I living in a large ranch home. Our propane costs have increased dramatically since my retirement. We have 2 of this brand of heater in our home so we can turn down (or off) the furnace at night and heat our bedroom and the adjacent room where our 2 parrots live. It is much cheaper to heat individual rooms at night instead of the entire house. I have used several other heaters including the ceramic and oil filled. The oil filled are the best but this model has more features and a remote than the others. We have a large master bedroom and it keeps this heater keeps it quite comfortable in there and we don't have the noise of the fan running on a ceramic heater disturbing us all night. It will warm a larger room than the specs say. I live in Michigan and we do have some very cold temps here in the winter.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Limited programs and loud clicking noise

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I initially bought this unit for a bedroom. I was attracted by:
- the ability to increase power while heating up, and modulate power afterwards based on needs.
- the integrated timer and the perception I had you could set a different temperatur for each sheduled time sections.
It turned out that the timer is limited to 2 programs (meaning 2 on/off cycles), BUT the temperature cannot be set for each cycle.
So this turns into a heater with a very limited timer. For the same price, you can get a simple heater and an advance programmable timer!
Plus, the unit makes VERY LOUD CLICKING sounds!
I am returning the unit ASAP
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Washington

AWESOME HEATER!!!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the older version of this one. We got it three years ago because my son's room gets cold at night, we now need another for our Daughter's room and I'm headed out to pick it up tomorrow. It's been a great heater and is COMPLETELY safe around children. They tend to want to touch the buttons, but it's just one of those things that you have to be on them about touching. It's warm to the touch, but not HOT. I love this heater because it's silent. It can be used in a child's room and it doesn't have a fan to keep them awake. I keep ours on the lowest setting at 68-69 degrees and haven't notices a dramatic change in our power bill. I keep it on 24/7 in the winter and keep their bedroom doors shut then it'll shut off when it gets to the set temp. I HIGHLY recommend the digital over the non-digital. MUCH better than guessing what degree your heater will actually be set at. Hands down...spend the money, you won't regret it. Kenwood nailed it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Great buy

PostedOctober 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My room is always warm now. It's safe and energy efficient. Love!!! It does not dry up your room as badly as the regular heaters. (it still does a little... but a lot less than regular air heaters.)
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Centennial, CO

Does the job but...

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
...there are a few features about it that I'm not thrilled with, mostly related to the display. The temperature is impossible to read in anything but bright light. The print is small and black on a fairly dark background - backlighting would be helpful. Also, every time you plug it in, it defaults to 95 degrees and you have to clickclickclickclick the down arrow (you can't just click and hold) to get the temperature down to a reasonable range. Would be nice if it defaulted to a more average temperature of, say, 75 and then you can go up or down from there. Finally, the thing is just about impossible to move unless you pick it up. The wheels don't move well on carpet and then when you try to drag it, the wheels fold up and the thing becomes unstable and tips over.
As far as heating a room and maintaining a temperature, it does the job quickly, quietly, and well.
+2points
7out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Lake City, Florida

1500 watt portable oil filled heater

PostedFebruary 5, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Some what concerned that it would not do the job. We have a 1920's old house and it has many damp and drafty spots. This heater was a perfect selection cause it does just what we hoped. Easy to move about. Hopefully they will add a back light soon. Otherwise ordering another one this week. .
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Millington, MI

Good Product, Could be better

PostedDecember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I like that you can set the timer to come on and shut off the heater and that it automatically adjusts its setting between 600, 900 and 1500 watts to heat the room. I have seen mine run automatically at the lowest setting most of the time. Improvements suggested is that it could show the current room temperature, have a backlight on the display or a better contrast (display is hard to read because of poor contrast and some of the info displayed is too small). The rollers on the bottom could have been engineered a little better. Overall a good buy.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Boscawen NH

Best oil filled heater!!!

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this heater last winter and I am very pleased with the heater. It warms the room up toasty warm and it is very quiet. I also like the automatic temp control that switches on and off and also automatically switches the power setting from 1500watts to 900w to 600w depending on how cold it is. I like the fact that it switches on and off automatically to save $$, the oil stays warm for 5 to 10 mins so it doesn't have to stay running all the time. It also has timers to turn it on and off when your not home. I'm also impressed at how well built it is, it doesn't feel cheaply made like the honeywell that I also purchsed somewhere else. For the price you can't go wrong, I think I'm going to buy a second one to replace the honeywell heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Smyrna, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love This Product

PostedNovember 7, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have two of these and love them. I use one in the room where my two dogs are during the day. I use the other one in my living room which is an open room to the kitchen and hall. I keep the doors closed to the bedrooms and the house thermostat turned down to 64. No problems warming up the main area in the house. At night, I move this unit to my bedroom; very toasty.
Quiet, odorless, sleek, remote control. My only complaint is the panel needs to backlit, other than that, GREAT product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Lodi, N.J.

Cannot see settings

PostedDecember 6, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
This heater does work very well. I bought it because it had the remote control. Yes it does work well, but, you there is no back light to see the heater or clock setting on the unit. Unless I am missing something here.
I have to turn on the lights and set the heater to the temperature I want. It drives me crazy. If they had that one feature I would give this heater 10 stars, but no. One has to light up the room, and then adjust the heater to where you want it to operate.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>