728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

The Kenwood 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater offers convenient heating for any room in your home. Easily move the heater from room to room with the fully-assembled wheeled design and set the double-function timer to control operation. The unit is filled with oil and permanently sealed so it requires low maintenance. Digital controls allow you to control the thermostat, or you can choose between high, medium and low settings to keep your home at an ideal temperature.
Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(25)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Energy efficiency 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
BillinPA
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Great space heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Kenwood oil-filled heater works great! Shopped numerous stores before buying this model at Home Depot! It's actually made by DeLonghi, and is sold exclusively by Home Depot. You can't find a better deal on an oil-filled radiator space heater anywhere! Especially with all the features this has, plus a remote control! Heats fairly quick for an oil-filled radiator (they're generally slow at heating, no matter the brand)! Retains it's heat for a long time! Easy to set-up and operate. Easy to move with built in casters! Nice little remote control, so you don't have to get up (uses 2 AAA batteries, which is a plus, their way cheaper that those watch-type batteries)! Hoping it's not to hard on the electric bill! I really wanted another Hydro-Sil silicone filled baseboard heater (mine is 16 years old and still works great)! Just couldn't part with $250.00 right now, but it doesn't run up the electric bill very much at all. And stays hot for a long period after you turn it off! After all my research, I figured oil-filled radiators, such as this Kenwood, were very similar in function and purpose. It does heat up as fast and retains it's heat very well after turning it off. I just have to wait for the next electric bill. The Kenwood oil-filled heater does cycle on and off, as it maintains your digitally set temperature, which should help to save on electric use. Most other brands don't cycle on and off this way. It was one feature I had to have, my Hydro-Sil silicone heater works the same way, and it's very energy efficient (if any space heater is really energy efficient, but definately helps). The only real negative for this Kenwood heater is, it's only warranted for 1 year, as with all DeLonghi products! Most competitors have a 3 to 5 year warranty. My Hydro-Sil silicone heater is warranted for a lifetime! So I hope the Kenwood is well made and will last for years! It's pretty impressive so far and seems very well made for it's price. So even if I only get a few good years out of it. It really won't be a big deal considering the fantastic price at Home Depot! But, I'm honestly expecting this Kenwood to last for years, because it is really very solidly built! So give this Kenwood oil-filled radiator a try! I'm sure you'll be pleased! Don't bother shopping around either, I've already done it for you! This Kenwood at Home Depot is by far the best deal anywhere on an oil-filled radiator you'll find, PERIOD! Way to go Home Depot!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
DanK

Great Unit

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Pros:
Heats entire room (312 square feet with no other source of heat)
Digital thermostat
Plug it in, set it up, leave it alone
Virtually silent
Energy efficient
On and off timer
Minimal maintenance
Overheat protection
Reomte Control
Sleek Design
Anti-Freeze setting
Cons:
Display could use a backlight for easier viewing
Does not say what the current tempature is
I was originally looking for this exact heater in stores but could not find it. After some research I found that it is made by De'Longhi and they have the exact same unit (Model No. EW7507EBL) without the Kenwood name on it for $10 cheaper...so you're paying an extra $10 just for it to say Kenwood on it.
The unit works great. I am using it in a 312 sq ft room (despite the specs saying 144 sq ft) without any central air and it heats the entire room up great (so far the tempature has been as low as 20 degrees outside). I leave the unit on 24/7 and have had no problems with it. However, the heater does include a feature that lets you set when you want it to turn on and off so all you have to do is set it once (easy to do just refer to the manual) and it will heat only when needed. The digital thermostat is also a plus, you set it to the tempature you want and once it has reached that tempature it will shut off while still radiating heat to help maintain the current temperature. If the tempature falls below what you have set it to it will turn back on. The unit is virtually silent, all you hear is a slight click when the unit adjusts the setting from high to low (energy saving feature, as the tempature warms up the unit automatically adjusts the setting from high to low which makes a very quiet click). In other reviews I've read it doesn't turn off without unplugging it which is false, it does have an off setting which is also explained in the manual. The design is rather sleek so it doesn't look out of place. I have also read in other reviews that the cord length is too short however it seems to be plenty (almost 6 ft long). Another cool feature on this model is the Anti-Freeze setting which allows you to set the unit only to come on to prevent freezing temperatures.
As other reviews say the display is slightly difficult to see since there is no backlight but it's not enough to deter me from recommending this heater. The only other downfall I've noticed so far is that it doesn't say the current temperature which is a feature in other models.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
TenaciousJay
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

2 years in, best heater we've ever had. Tons better than ceramic or dish style heaters!

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So to help you compare the different types of heaters I thought I'd throw out my thoughts on each of them.
We initially tried a ceramic heater but it just dried the air out a ton. It did heat the room, but aside from the dryness it was very noisy and would sometimes wake us up as it kicked on during the night. The only pro was that it heated our room up very quickly.
The dish style heater was warm... but only where it was pointed. They will not heat a room up and we mostly used these while sitting in a single spot in front of the TV or while sleeping. They would be great for working in the garage or something like that, but the biggest prob we had was that after a while they tend to "sunburn" you. Our skin would get real dry and our lips would crack. They also have a strong red glow at night which made it hard to sleep (like having a big red night light).
The oil filled heater has been our dream heater for the last 2 years. The only cons are that it takes a while to heat up, maybe 30-60 mins, and it won't heat up a huge rooms like large connected family rooms. We have a large master bedroom, maybe about 14 x 27 feet and it works great. We set the timer to turn on from 9 pm to 9am and basically never touch it. It turns on every night and our room is warm when we get ready for bed around 10-11, and then by the time we're gone in the morning it shuts back off. We tried using it in our family room, but it's connected to our living room and kitchen and you can't really tell it's on. We bought a 2nd for another room and tried using both to heat the family room and that still didn't work. I calculated that with a 3rd oil filled heater the cost to run all 3 in an area that big (they'd probably have to run almost all the time) would probably cost as much as running the furnace, so we just use the furnace when we're down there for a few hours every night.
We now set our furnace to 59 over night and use this to keep our room warm and it almost cut our winter heating bill in half.
Overall this has been one of our best purchases we've ever made. This Kenwood model seemed to look the sleekest, has 2 programmable timers, a remote control, is not noisy, the heat is not dry, and it has saved us money. I would not hesitate to buy one again.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
tmda
from New Jersey

It's OK

PostedNovember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
PROS:
Like most oil-filled radiators, this product provides a very steady consistent heat that doesn't allow the room temperature to fluctuate several degrees between cycles (as would happen with a ceramic or other type of instant space heater). It is also safe, quiet, and has no problem heating my apartment on a cold night.
CONS:
I bought this product because my old oil-filled radiator (a Warm Fusion model), though it worked very well, only had manual controls and it was a guessing game what to set it on every night. I had to use an independent digital thermometer to regulate the heater, sometimes in the middle of the night. I thought the digital thermostat on this unit would eliminate that problem, but that isn't the case. The digital temperature on the unit is very inaccurate. It was 72 degrees in my apartment (according to my accurate digital room thermometer) and the unit was still cycling on when I set it to 65 degrees! Furthermore, on a cold night, I have to set the temperature warmer on the unit to maintain the same room temperature. Thus, setting this thing at night will still be a guessing game. But, I guess it was unrealistic to expect the digital thermostat to be accurate on a portable heater.
Another issue I have is with the remote control. Although it's always great to have a remote control with ACs/heaters, I wish this one had more features. I like to always set the unit on the lowest power setting for safety reasons (unless it is really cold out), but when I adjust the temperature using the remote, it automatically puts it back to the 3-power option (where it automatically chooses which of the 3 power settings to use). Thus, I have to always adjust it from the base to set it on what I want.
And one more thing, like many reviewers have mentioned, the digital display needs a backlight! I have to use a flashlight to see it at night.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Gokhan
from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing heater

PostedDecember 13, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good heater is hard to find and I had my reservations when I bought this digital radiator. But it ended up far surpassing my expectations.
The heater works really well. It has three power levels. You set the temperature and maximum power level. During the operation it automatically selects the power level between the minimum level and the level you set. This not only saves a lot of energy but for most of the time the heater uses the minimum level and at this level the heater is only warm to the touch and therefore very safe. This also reduces the load on your outlet.
The temperature in the room is very even, meaning the heater does a very good job of spreading the heat. The digital temperature control works very well. It also has two independent programmable timer settings that you can use to automatically turn the heater on and off during chosen time periods.
The unit looks really nice. It's beige and has wheels. Remote control is included but you need to get two AAA batteries. It's a little heavy as expected for a radiator but this is really not a problem.
During the first use, you operate the heater at the highest thermostat and power setting for two hours with the windows open, which eliminates the initial heater odor. After that the heater doesn't smell.
It is dead quiet except it would make a momentary clank everytime the thermostatic relay goes on or off to switch the heater. This momentary sound of the thermostatic relay is only occasional and not too loud though and it only woke me up very briefly once or twice during the first night of use, when I wasn't used to it. So, I don't expect it to be a problem for most people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
HappyCustomer3
from Plainfield, IN

Exceeded my expections but a few design flaws

PostedNovember 7, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Box said it can be used in a room that has a maximum size of 12 x 12, or 144 square feet. It kept our 16 x 18 master bedroom as well as the adjacent 9 x 12 master bathroom (396 square feet total) warm last night when temps were down to about 35 degrees outside last night. We had the thermostat for the house set to 64 degrees and use space heaters to keep the bedrooms warm at night. Our house is only 6 years old and is well insulated. I doubt that it would have been able to keep up with heating that much space in an older more drafty house. Still heating an area more then 200% larger than the specs said it could do was a pleasant surprise. It does make a clicking noise when it kicks on and off, but I didn’t think it was very loud at all. In fact since I’m so near sighted, I can’t clearly see the display panel from a distance. The clicking let me know about how long it was running, so I liked having that function. Although I would strongly recommend this unit to others, there are a few reasons I am only giving it a 4 rating instead of a 5. The display is hard to read unless you’re kneeling down on the floor and looking at it head on, especially the AM/PM indicator. It would have been better to have angled it upward so it could be easily read from a standing position. I also don’t like the fact that the power cord attaches to the unit at the front instead of the back. It wastes about 1.5 feet of the cord because it must run the whole length of the unit before the usable part of the cord (what’s left over) can reach to the wall. That’s not much cord left if you’re trying to plug it into an outlet behind a bed or dresser.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
nphotogr
from Cincinnati, Ohio

Works fine, but

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The heater does what it is designed to do. Keep an area warm.
I have a bedroom 12x17 with an adjacent master bath that always seems rather cold in the winter. Possibly a blocked central heat vent in the bedroom. Too cold to check that out now. I have used the heater since the first of December 2010. It does keep the bedroom rather toasty and luke warm in the master bath.
This past two months have been brutally cold in Ohio ( 4 degree to 30 degree temps. Mostly in the teens.), This heater did a good job of keping the bedroom quite comfortable.
We keep the tempature setting at 75 degrees on the heater and use it only when we go to bed. Our central heat furnace keeps the rest of the house warm but we set it to a lower setting at night when we go to bed since using the heater in the bed room.
Some nights we do have to drop the temp. setting down to 70 as it does get toasty. I do feel safer leaving it on at night as it is an enclosed unit with no chance of causing a fire like regular space heaters do. The power cord never gets hot to the touch which is a plus.
As far as power usage, it does increase our electric usage. About $30.00 a month this last two months but then again, we have had really low tenperatures here at night and most days.
We never used it on the timer settings and do not have any anoyances with the reported noise it makes when it turns on. The remote is a nice addition when you are in bed. Over all, a good investment.
I also noted we don't use as much natural gas as we did last year to heat the home but the savings was lost due to Duke energy raising their gas rates.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
SkipperSam
from Bath, NY

Fine Heater!

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This type of heater will not give you instant heat, but it will warm up your living space and maintain a comfy temperature. I use two of these heaters to totally heat a two bedroom townhouse and they work great and are VERY economical. The remote control is a terrific feature. You can turn the unit on/off or raise/lower the temp and not even move from your favorite seat.
You can setup timer control from the LCD screen to raise or lower the temp at a certain time. The only negative I can mention is that the LCD screen is hard to see in low light conditions and requires the unit be tipped back slightly to read the indicated temperature. But once you set it for a comfy temp the LCD info is really not necessary as the indicator lights for on/off and low/medium/high heat are clearly visible and allow you to know exactly what the heater is doing.
I have owned several radiator heaters, but this particular unit is definitely top-of-the-line. I am VERY pleased with its performance so far, and my cats just love to sleep next to it. The many features, low price, free shipping, and quick delivery made this purchase a no brianer. If you would like to turn your funace down, or OFF like me and still be warm, you really should try this heater, I think you will like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
BuyerOvStuff
from Virginia

Good Heater

PostedDecember 13, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This heater heats up a small room quite well.
It makes a noisy click sound when it turns on which may disturb light sleepers.
I like the timer feature; I set it to come on at 5am and go off at 9am.
The display is very difficult to read since there is no backlight. I've had to get on the floor and tilt the heavy unit backwards a bit just to be able to read most of it.
The little AM/PM at the very top of the display is almost impossible to see. I simply guessed which one was AM and which was PM (I got it right).
The unit emits a very horrible odor for a few days after the initial use. The odor gave us headaches, so we ran the heater in another room for several days till the odor was more tolerable. The manufacturer should run these units at the factory to burn off that smell before selling them.
It's easy to roll around the room; however, the electrical cord is very short, so it does not go far. It's also heavy, so carrying it up/down stairs is not pleasant.
Instructions say do not plug into power strip and do not use in bathroom.
I like the remote feature; you can turn the temp up/down from your chair or bed without having to get up.
Bottom line, I'm pleased with the unit. Took off stars due to the awful odor and the difficult-to-read display.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
MoeMan

Does what it's supposed to...

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We bought the older model and liked it enough to purchase the new one as well. We use them for our children's rooms (infant and toddler) during the night time hours when the rest of house is turned down. The safety aspect seems excellent as they do not get very hot and they seem to do a good job of maintaining a consistent temperature in the room. The timer function is nice since you can set it and forget it.
A few things I don't like are difficulty in reading the display - particularly the AM and PM indicator. The display is slightly angled upward which recesses the top pretty far inward. Meaning - your eye has to be even with or lower than the display to be able to read it. Then there is this "awning" affect so there is always a shadow cast on this area of the display. This all just means that whenever I'm making time adjustments I break out the flashlight and get down on all fours to do the job.
Also, the on/off cycling as it's maintaining temperature comes with a loud "click" which used to wake up our daughter until she got used to it. Same with the buttons - they are VERY loud so making a temp adjustment while she is sleeping runs the risk of waking her up.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
DDDuck
from Richmond, Va

Excellent Supplemental Heater

PostedDecember 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
II bought one of these last winter and have been extremely pleased with it; now considering a second one. The only downsides of it, doesn't have a retractable power cord or a remote. For those reasons, I would have given it a 4.5 if they allowed it. Nevertheless, I still feel it's worth the extra $$ above their standard model.
I've owned several of their standard models over the last 20 some years, and all but one are functioning as the day I bought them. The one that isn't, has been impaired by the failure of the low wattage switch; otherwise, still operates. The reason I find this model more appealing, is it's added functionality. In particular, it's programmable and has a digital display for added accuracy. Since these are oil filled, they’re rather efficient and save mucho dollars over the other types. I’ve also had the ceramic, steam and radiant heaters. Besides some of those completely failing, I’ve watched my electric meter whirl like there’s no tomorrow when they were running.
Bottom line, this or any of their other models are well worth your money if you’re looking for a supplemental heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
drewya
from La Crosse, WI

Great for bedrooms or low-traffic areas

PostedFebruary 19, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My wife and I purchased one of these heaters about a year and a half ago when we were living in a rental that had poorly designed basement ductwork. It did a good job heating our basement bedroom in that house.
We have since moved to another place and purchased two more of the heaters. We usually keep them in our three bedrooms, but we frequently move them to other areas of the house when we want a little extra comfort.
This oil-filled radiator heater is superior to many others because of the wheels and the digital programming capabilities. The wheels are pre-assembled and just pivot outward when you unpack the product. On some other heaters of this type you have to attach the wheels to the radiator. Also, having the two available programs allows you to set the temperature to different levels depending on your needs.
The only negative is that there is no backlight for the digital display, so it is a little hard to read unless you have good lighting.
In general, though, we've been very happy with the product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Shula
from Idaho

Efficient and Safe

PostedJanuary 23, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I originally purchased this Kenmore heater for two reasons - we needed a source of heat and my daughter was a toddler and I wanted something safe.
I found that, unlike another brand I tried, the way this oil heater is constructed you can touch it and not get hurt or burned. Depending on how hot you have it set of course! I tend to keep ours between 65 and 70 degrees. It's thick (1/2 inch each?), smooth edging (as opposed to flat 1/16 or so edges on other oil heaters) also eased my mind concerning my daughter.
I also found that these heaters are significantly more efficient than the forced air heat in our home. I recently purchased two more (for a total of 4) throughout the house. Maintaining heat instead of consistently drawing it also saves energy - so, to that end I hope to see a reduction in our electric bill since no one particular heater will be 'drawing' so much in order to maintain the temperature. We'll see! :)
This would make a nice addition to a basement room.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
stepnack
from Colwich, KS

Best heater I own!

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these heaters several years ago when I moved into my new house and the propane company was not able to get my propane hooked up until after winter was over. I used this heater as one of several to heat my 2500 sq. ft. house. We left it on high the whole time and it heated 1/3rd of my house. I have now used up all the propane and the company cant get back out for a while and while the temps outside have been in the single digits during the days and colder at night, this heater is again heating a large portion of my house to a comfortable 65 degrees by itself.
I use an 8 ft. baseboard heater that is oil-filed and it keeps the other end of the house warm. We only need a small space heater for cool spots in the house that the others can't reach. I am starting to thing I dont need propane anymore. 2 oil-filed heaters and a small portable fan heater heating 2500 sq. ft. is not bad to me when its zero degrees and icy outside....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
GHMom
from Washington

AWESOME HEATER!!!

PostedOctober 6, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have the older version of this one. We got it three years ago because my son's room gets cold at night, we now need another for our Daughter's room and I'm headed out to pick it up tomorrow. It's been a great heater and is COMPLETELY safe around children. They tend to want to touch the buttons, but it's just one of those things that you have to be on them about touching. It's warm to the touch, but not HOT. I love this heater because it's silent. It can be used in a child's room and it doesn't have a fan to keep them awake. I keep ours on the lowest setting at 68-69 degrees and haven't notices a dramatic change in our power bill. I keep it on 24/7 in the winter and keep their bedroom doors shut then it'll shut off when it gets to the set temp. I HIGHLY recommend the digital over the non-digital. MUCH better than guessing what degree your heater will actually be set at. Hands down...spend the money, you won't regret it. Kenwood nailed it!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
SomersetDave
from Somerset, CA

Kenwood heater

PostedJanuary 2, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
After a fair amount of research I purchased this heater to use in a 12' x 12' shed that serves as a dog house in cold weather. I've installed a dog door into the shed so the dogs can come and go as they please. My main concern was fire hazzard and I think this heater is about as safe a heat source as there is. We've only had a few nights below freezing since I put this in - still nothing in the teens to really test it - but it's definitely warmer in the shed than it is outside and I usually find the dogs in there on the cold mornings. I set the thermostat at 50, just to keep the chill out of the shed, and haven't changed it since I installed it. As some reviewers have noted, it's a pain to see the LED display to change settings but since I'm in a set it and forget it mode it's not an inconvenience for me. I may consider getting one of these for the house as a room heater. It seems to do a very good job for what I purchased it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
drunknbass
from Los Angeles

works well until...

PostedNovember 25, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had no problems with this unit until it overheated on itself 3 weeks into owning it. What they DONT tell you in the description is once it overheats its useless. Its great to have a shutoff like most heaters do, but most will turn back on after they cool down or require you to flip a switch etc. this unit requires you to visit a service center to repair it.
Im sorry but i refuse to pay $ to have my heater reset because it over heated. This is very common.
I will not buy this unit again because of that 1 reason. The money i wasted on this would probably be the offset in electricity saved over a traditional floor heater (which most all dont break themselves on overheat).
And another thing. Yu are supposed to unplug the unit when its not in use, but doing so resets the clock and timers. They are pretty much useless anyway because they are simple on/off timers and dont allow you to control temp (eg. 90 at start 70 at end).
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
MrMBE
from Cincinnati, Ohio

seems to work ok

PostedDecember 5, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just purchased this heater for a 12 x 14 room in the basement where I store guitars. The ceramic heaters was drying the room out too much (never good for a guitar). My initial observations -- it does heat up slowly -- I wasn't even certain it was working at the start. And it does give off a pretty nasty odor at the start (as most seem to do). You'd think they'd run them at the factory to burn off that smell. It is very quite, which is handy and it does seem to be warming the room up. There is a thermostat but when I set it for 66 degrees it didn't warm the room to 66 before shutting itself off (or into a lower power mode), so I'm having to set it for 85 degrees to reach the temperature I want (so don't buy it for the thermostat). The LCD display is very difficult to read, so I would consider that a design flaw (you do have to tilt the unit to read it, what's the point of that?). But, it's quite and it is warming the room.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
eagleeyecomputer
from Oregon

Great heater, looks good in any room.

PostedNovember 26, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Does a fine job of keeping a garage of 20'x25 (500 sq. ft.) at 70 degrees.
Haven't tried warmer, but when it's on full (3 bars), it uses twice the power consumption than the dish-type foot-heaters. Even mid-power is 8amps compared to 5amps of my electric radiator on max. My first measurements with oil heaters tells me they may not be as green as one might be impressed.
Probably best for a room that would normally have the electric heater running most of the time anyway.
The digital display is difficult to see. Timer is nice. Remote control might be handy for those with mobility issues or if nearby the bed.
Feels very safe. Never gets hot enough to melt or burn. But of course, read the manual and safety guidelines. There was a short period where a distinct oil smell came from the device, but it's since gone.
Works for my situation and a product I expect to last me many years. So 5*s it is.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
MaNY

Absolutely Amazing

PostedApril 30, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I've recently purchased this item for my kid's small bedroom. I've set it to maintain a constant room temperature during night time and it does that exquisitely well.
Pros: Electronic timer that allows you to set a time of operation for the heater to automatically maintain the desired room temperature.
Cons: I only wish that one could program different temperature settings for the two available programs because as it currently stands, you can only set one operating temperature for both program settings.
Other: The "click" that some people have complained about is audible but is very soft and should not disturb anyone's sleep unless you hug your heater while you sleep.
Important: When initially turned on, be sure to set the temperature to max and run the heater for ~4 hours to burn off the odor that is present.
All in all, for the price you can't beat this heater. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>