728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Heaters or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

The Kenwood 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater offers convenient heating for any room in your home. Easily move the heater from room to room with the fully-assembled wheeled design and set the double-function timer to control operation. The unit is filled with oil and permanently sealed so it requires low maintenance. Digital controls allow you to control the thermostat, or you can choose between high, medium and low settings to keep your home at an ideal temperature.
Overall rating:
4.44 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.4 out of 5.0
5
(70)
4
(25)
3
(9)
2
(2)
1
(3)
Energy efficiency 
3.9 out of 5.0
3.9 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.9 out of 5.0
4.9 out of 5
Quality 
4.5 out of 5.0
4.5 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
93%of customersrecommend this product98 of 105reviews
Customer reviews for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
Review 1 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Richmond, Va

Excellent Supplemental Heater

PostedDecember 6, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
II bought one of these last winter and have been extremely pleased with it; now considering a second one. The only downsides of it, doesn't have a retractable power cord or a remote. For those reasons, I would have given it a 4.5 if they allowed it. Nevertheless, I still feel it's worth the extra $$ above their standard model.
I've owned several of their standard models over the last 20 some years, and all but one are functioning as the day I bought them. The one that isn't, has been impaired by the failure of the low wattage switch; otherwise, still operates. The reason I find this model more appealing, is it's added functionality. In particular, it's programmable and has a digital display for added accuracy. Since these are oil filled, they’re rather efficient and save mucho dollars over the other types. I’ve also had the ceramic, steam and radiant heaters. Besides some of those completely failing, I’ve watched my electric meter whirl like there’s no tomorrow when they were running.
Bottom line, this or any of their other models are well worth your money if you’re looking for a supplemental heater.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Plainfield, NJ

Save $$$

PostedDecember 12, 2008
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Space heaters are notorious for being energy mongers, but rest a sure not this one. Bought one of these units for my sons room which is unbelievably cold for some reason, but it heats the room well, a little too well, heater is great. My only gripe with this heater is it makes a tiny knocking noise for about 20 seconds every hour, i don't really know why but other than that it is a great buy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Los Angeles, CA

Amazing heater

PostedDecember 13, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A good heater is hard to find and I had my reservations when I bought this digital radiator. But it ended up far surpassing my expectations.
The heater works really well. It has three power levels. You set the temperature and maximum power level. During the operation it automatically selects the power level between the minimum level and the level you set. This not only saves a lot of energy but for most of the time the heater uses the minimum level and at this level the heater is only warm to the touch and therefore very safe. This also reduces the load on your outlet.
The temperature in the room is very even, meaning the heater does a very good job of spreading the heat. The digital temperature control works very well. It also has two independent programmable timer settings that you can use to automatically turn the heater on and off during chosen time periods.
The unit looks really nice. It's beige and has wheels. Remote control is included but you need to get two AAA batteries. It's a little heavy as expected for a radiator but this is really not a problem.
During the first use, you operate the heater at the highest thermostat and power setting for two hours with the windows open, which eliminates the initial heater odor. After that the heater doesn't smell.
It is dead quiet except it would make a momentary clank everytime the thermostatic relay goes on or off to switch the heater. This momentary sound of the thermostatic relay is only occasional and not too loud though and it only woke me up very briefly once or twice during the first night of use, when I wasn't used to it. So, I don't expect it to be a problem for most people.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Colwich, KS

Best heater I own!

PostedDecember 22, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of these heaters several years ago when I moved into my new house and the propane company was not able to get my propane hooked up until after winter was over. I used this heater as one of several to heat my 2500 sq. ft. house. We left it on high the whole time and it heated 1/3rd of my house. I have now used up all the propane and the company cant get back out for a while and while the temps outside have been in the single digits during the days and colder at night, this heater is again heating a large portion of my house to a comfortable 65 degrees by itself.
I use an 8 ft. baseboard heater that is oil-filed and it keeps the other end of the house warm. We only need a small space heater for cool spots in the house that the others can't reach. I am starting to thing I dont need propane anymore. 2 oil-filed heaters and a small portable fan heater heating 2500 sq. ft. is not bad to me when its zero degrees and icy outside....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Chicago, IL

Stands up to a Chicago winter!

PostedDecember 31, 2008
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
There is no heat in my kitchen. Not the ideal situation in Chicago in the winter. I had a cheaper oil filled heater before and it really only warmed the area immediately surrounding the heater. This Kenwood heater heats the entire room. Now my kitchen is toasty warm. I'm really glad I spent a little extra and bought a superior product. This heater is worth every penny I spent on it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Queens, NY

Excellent Peformance

PostedJanuary 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I received multiple Home Depot Gift cards over the holidays from family and friends and decided it was time to purchase one these heaters for our apartment which has a very large master bedroom. We don't have thermostat controls in our unit so there are times when it can be quite chilly before the building heat kicks in.
This little unit has been amazing as both a supplemtary heat source and the timer and temperature control allows us to keep the room temperature consistantly comfortable.
Other than one 'sticky' key to set the time...it works flawlessly.
Thank you, Kenwood for a great product and thank you Home Depot for an excellent selection of stock.
I'll be back...I still have two more gift cards!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Great space heater

PostedSeptember 30, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The Kenwood oil-filled heater works great! Shopped numerous stores before buying this model at Home Depot! It's actually made by DeLonghi, and is sold exclusively by Home Depot. You can't find a better deal on an oil-filled radiator space heater anywhere! Especially with all the features this has, plus a remote control! Heats fairly quick for an oil-filled radiator (they're generally slow at heating, no matter the brand)! Retains it's heat for a long time! Easy to set-up and operate. Easy to move with built in casters! Nice little remote control, so you don't have to get up (uses 2 AAA batteries, which is a plus, their way cheaper that those watch-type batteries)! Hoping it's not to hard on the electric bill! I really wanted another Hydro-Sil silicone filled baseboard heater (mine is 16 years old and still works great)! Just couldn't part with $250.00 right now, but it doesn't run up the electric bill very much at all. And stays hot for a long period after you turn it off! After all my research, I figured oil-filled radiators, such as this Kenwood, were very similar in function and purpose. It does heat up as fast and retains it's heat very well after turning it off. I just have to wait for the next electric bill. The Kenwood oil-filled heater does cycle on and off, as it maintains your digitally set temperature, which should help to save on electric use. Most other brands don't cycle on and off this way. It was one feature I had to have, my Hydro-Sil silicone heater works the same way, and it's very energy efficient (if any space heater is really energy efficient, but definately helps). The only real negative for this Kenwood heater is, it's only warranted for 1 year, as with all DeLonghi products! Most competitors have a 3 to 5 year warranty. My Hydro-Sil silicone heater is warranted for a lifetime! So I hope the Kenwood is well made and will last for years! It's pretty impressive so far and seems very well made for it's price. So even if I only get a few good years out of it. It really won't be a big deal considering the fantastic price at Home Depot! But, I'm honestly expecting this Kenwood to last for years, because it is really very solidly built! So give this Kenwood oil-filled radiator a try! I'm sure you'll be pleased! Don't bother shopping around either, I've already done it for you! This Kenwood at Home Depot is by far the best deal anywhere on an oil-filled radiator you'll find, PERIOD! Way to go Home Depot!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Durand MI

good value

PostedOctober 2, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I searched the web comparing cost and features as I already have a Honeywell radiator heater and like it. While the heating abilities of most of this style heater are close, the features and price vary. The Honeywell I have works well and shows the current room temp but this model has a remote control which is convenient for me as I am an amputee and it allows me to control the heater without having to get out of bed. I liked the fact that there was no assembly needed. I just had to flip the wheels down and put a couple of AAA batteries in the remote (surprised they didn't include them though). All oil heaters are a little slow warming up but this one has a auto temp control once the room gets warm and decides which of the 3 settings it needs to keep it that way.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Chicago, IL

Okay...

PostedOctober 3, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I purchased the heater on a Tuesday and it stopped working on Friday night. I liked the timer; however, not sure why it stopped working. I am going to take it back and exchange for another. If this one quits working in a short amount of time, I will adjust my stars.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Works very well, much safer than a space heater

PostedOctober 4, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This radiator works very well. Great for drafty rooms in the winter. It has a timer so that you can adjust when it turns off and on. It is also much safer than a space heater.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Great Falls, MT

Great Space Heater

PostedOctober 17, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I previously owned an oil filled radiator that I gave away and decided to buy another one. The room I sleep in doesn't heat up when the gas furnace is on, and I remembered how warm these space heaters can get while being safe at the same time. This unit has the remote and more settings than most people will use. For $59.99, this thing will last a long time and keep a 12' x 12' space nice and warm to meet anyone's heating needs. I recommend buying 2 or 3 to place in spaces where you spend most of your time and just use these instead of central heat. I have had $275 gas bills during the winter months so I know that these units will save me a lot of cash in the winter time. I like that this unit is safe, looks nice, and is easily portable. People need to be smart about energy and this is one way to do it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Virginia Beach, VA

Awesome

PostedOctober 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I just got this last night. I was able to set it up in about 7-10min it was very easy. I set the auto on and off and let it run for the night. It made such a big differance in my room it was amazing. I am thinking of getting 2 or 3 more for the rest of the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Mount Airy, Maryland

Kenwood Oil Filled Radiator

PostedOctober 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great.
Unit stays cool enough to touch when heating. They stay on low alot of the time or off, highly efficent it seems so far. Surprisingly the unit itself stays relatively cool. So it is great around small children and pets.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Frankfort, KY

If you have a barn you need one

PostedOctober 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought one for the barn to keep e water pipe from freezing in our barn bath room. Set the lowest level and left it. Heated all winter and when the tempature fell below 0 outside we went in to the bathroom to warm up to 50 degrees. can be in close spaces with out fear of fire. I would highly recommend it if you have horses. Takes the worry out of space heaters
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Dayton, NJ

VERY GOOD PRODUCT

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
If you are thinking about warming up a big size room... You should go with this oil filled heater for sure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Detroit, MI

Excellent!!!

PostedOctober 31, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This radiator works very well. The radiator looks really nice, has wheels. Remote control is included. Really good product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Phoenix, AZ

Very Efficient, works extremly well

PostedNovember 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I placed this radiator heater in our master bedroom that is about 900 sq. ft. and it really keeps it nice and warm. I have 2 other radiator heaters in the kids' rooms and I have to say this one is the most powerful I have every used. When it starts it clicks a few times as it heats up, but it goes away and is not disturbing, hardly noticeable. The timer setting is much easier than a manual one and even the secon built in timer is handy. I don't need to turn one the central heat at all and wake up in the morning nice and toasty. Really very well worth the money. And will save you $$ instead of tunnign central heat. We had a low of 40 so far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Northern, Mn.

Used for 3 months

PostedNovember 12, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We see the difference in our propane tank and we are very happy with the heater. We will be getting one for the living room too. Highly recommend. Even comes with a remote so if it does get too warm at night I don't even need to get out of bed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater

Double-function timer is a winner!

PostedNovember 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I LOVE this heater because I can set it up to automatically turn on so our place can already be nice and toasty before I get out of bed, shut off when I leave for work, then have it turn on a few mins before I get home from work and end after I sleep. GENIUS!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 1,500-Watt Portable Oil-Filled Digital Radiator Heater
from Bath, NY

Fine Heater!

PostedNovember 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This type of heater will not give you instant heat, but it will warm up your living space and maintain a comfy temperature. I use two of these heaters to totally heat a two bedroom townhouse and they work great and are VERY economical. The remote control is a terrific feature. You can turn the unit on/off or raise/lower the temp and not even move from your favorite seat.
You can setup timer control from the LCD screen to raise or lower the temp at a certain time. The only negative I can mention is that the LCD screen is hard to see in low light conditions and requires the unit be tipped back slightly to read the indicated temperature. But once you set it for a comfy temp the LCD info is really not necessary as the indicator lights for on/off and low/medium/high heat are clearly visible and allow you to know exactly what the heater is doing.
I have owned several radiator heaters, but this particular unit is definitely top-of-the-line. I am VERY pleased with its performance so far, and my cats just love to sleep next to it. The many features, low price, free shipping, and quick delivery made this purchase a no brianer. If you would like to turn your funace down, or OFF like me and still be warm, you really should try this heater, I think you will like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>