728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200°F to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.32 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(284 reviews) 281
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product247 of 275reviews
Rating Breakdown 284 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(159)
4
(88)
3
(17)
2
(9)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product247 of 275reviews
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Having fun watching the dirt disappear

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A Must Have for every Homeowner/Apartment Dweller. It steamed 12 years of cooking grease from the kitchen grout and it looks new again. A Great Housewarming Gift, No pun intended
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Fort Myers, Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy Homemaker

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This machine finally got me off of my knees. My entire house is tiled and I never felt my floors were clean enough unless I scrubbed them on my hands & knees. This machine is a dream to work with. It did take multiple passes to get the grout clean in the traffic areas, but when I was done it looked whiter than it has in years. I've read complaints about the handle coming off. It took me a couple tries before I was able to seat the screw that is located in the base of the handle, but once tightened properly it held good. I'm very pleased with all the additional attachments; 2 floor pads are a big plus. Can't wait to see what I can clean next!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: none so far
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+36points
36out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bristol CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best brand I have had so far

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased this product about 3 years ago and have put it through its paces. I have had Shark cleaners before and was replacing them about every year. This one lasted 3 years before the heating element went. I have no hesitation about replacing it with another McCulloch. The only thing I am hoping is that the attachments from the previous machine will still work on the new one. It looks like the floor attachment head has changed and I tend to use old towels to clean the floor if mop attachments for the machine are in the wash. It is also so much better to have the wheels instead of having to carry a smaller machine around with you on a shoulder strap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: no attachment compartment
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+18points
18out of 18found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Upstate New York
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steamer

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
The steamer works as advertised. The only negative thing discovered thus far is the 8-10 minute wait time for the steam to build up. A previous steamer only took 2-3 minutes.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: too long a wait for steam.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Hillsboro, OR
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Product

PostedApril 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We use this steamer for a somewhat different purpose than the original intent, but it performs flawlessly and is well priced. Be absolutely sure to ONLY use distilled water (available at you grocery store) or you will start seeing little particles after a few months. Home Depot also offers a different branded product that looks the same (different color) and is slightly cheaper. While it works well, the hose is significantly shorter and negatively impacts the usability, compared to the McCulloch.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+33points
36out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great steamer!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent a lot of time reviewing different steamers. This is the first I've ever purchased. I've had it a couple months now and absolutely love it. It gets very hot, does not drip excessive water, and the pads have been washed several times and seem very durable. I have refurbished hardwoods and the steam does not damage them. It leaves the floors streak free. I was concerned it may be too small but I've found that it is big enough to cover all my main living space in a single filling of water. Hands down one of the best purchases I've made!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Well Worth the Money

PostedApril 14, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had my doubts but I decided to go for it. This unit is professional grade. For those who aren't familiar with professional cleaning equipment, you stow the cord and hose by making a lasso loop of the cord and dropping it over the handle and then do the same with the hose (minus attachments). To carry, grab the handle and the wire and hose are safely stowed saddlebag-style on the sides of the unit.
This machine will not do miracles, it will help mightily in breaking down dirt and grease build up. A bit of effort is required for burned on grease; that said, the machine is a great work reducer. Just to try it out on Day 1, I used just the bare nozzle on my kitchen sink and faucet, I could not believe how it cut through the minerals that stick to everything with our hard water. It looked like it was brand new in the package after less than a minute of applying the stream and a quick wipe dry--much better than chemical scale cleaners. I put myself as very satisfied with this purchase.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
Cons: price
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedApril 15, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have terrible allergies and sensitivity to cleaning products. Using steam to clean is wonderful. The product does what is advertised. The only thing I don't like is the suggestion to use distilled water (I don't, will do the monthly) maintenance instead.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Brooklyn Park, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Steam Cleaner

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This machine works great. I've had mine since prior to 2005, and it's still working great. My sister just borrowed it again this past weekend 3-28-2015, and she loves it too. I told her it was time she bought one herself...haha....instead of always using mine. She now has two properties, her house in the Twin Cities, and a full sized house up north on a lake. It's time, I said. This steam cleanerer has been used for horribly filthy bathrooms in rental properties, general cleaning of appliances and counters, floors, and works great on auto hub caps. You name it, I've cleaned it. I love this cleaner. I like the attractive color and the fact that it rolls around behind you. Good size water capacity too. I had gone through enough of the cheap hand held ones until I bought this one years ago. It just keeps on trucking and hasn't broken down. Yippee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, nice attachments
Cons: sorry no cons
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Michigan
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A very good item

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this steam cleaner to clean and sanitize areas on a used boat that we purchased. I have already found other things that it be used on. If there is any down side I would say it is their web site, it does not offer any suggestions or help in using the steam cleaner.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Salt Lake City, Utah
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great little steamer

PostedApril 7, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great little steamer with tons of hot steam and great cleaning. It is easy to use and is lighter to use than my Oreck. I can clean cabinets without having to lift up the whole unit.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this steamer mainly to clean the carpet even though it is not mainly intended for that. I had some bug problem and wanted to make sure I eradicate them. So far so good. I still need to unleash all the potential of this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from New Jersey
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male

Great product

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It is a great product. We used this steamer to clean grout in the bath rooms and kitchen, it did an excellent job.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

very pleased with temperature of steam and performance of steamer

PostedMay 7, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I had to return the first steam cleaner because the handle would not line up properly to be attached to steamer. Ordered a second steamer and handle was attached without any problems and the steam cleaner produced hot steam to clean entire room for well over 40 minutes. Great to disinfect and rid germs, insects or suspected bed bugs in bedroom and other areas.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Phoenix, AZ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Small Steamer - Does the Job!

PostedMay 5, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I wanted a small steamer that I could handle, to use on floors and on bathroom tile, tub area, etc. and this did the job. Comes with a variety of attachments and I even used it on the carpet area where there was a stain. Plan to use it to do patio tile. Definitely good value for the price.
Pros: High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>