728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Steam Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.288 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(253 reviews) 250
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product219 of 244reviews
Rating Breakdown 253 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(138)
4
(80)
3
(16)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product219 of 244reviews
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Having fun watching the dirt disappear

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A Must Have for every Homeowner/Apartment Dweller. It steamed 12 years of cooking grease from the kitchen grout and it looks new again. A Great Housewarming Gift, No pun intended
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+33points
33out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Welch, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Employees love it

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
At this time, I have not personally tried the steam cleaner. However, employees who have used it to clean apartments love it. Bathroom walls and range exteriors are sparkling. Nasty spilled, dried on food grunge inside a refrigerator was easily removed. We are looking forward to seeing what else it cleans well. We have not really owned it log enough to assess quality and value.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this steamer mainly to clean the carpet even though it is not mainly intended for that. I had some bug problem and wanted to make sure I eradicate them. So far so good. I still need to unleash all the potential of this product.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
31out of 33found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+12points
14out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills the bed bugs. works good.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. We use it primarily to fight bed bugs. Steam last 45 minutes. Has good pressure to force steam into tight areas. We also used it to steam our hardwood floor. Nice bonus. Overall, very happy. I do recommend it. The lack of a least some sort of tongle to wrap the power cord up is a little strange. But other than that, I didn't buy it for a 'power cord'. I bought it to KILL BED BUGS. works good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

McCulloch Steam Ckeaner

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam cleaner is the real deal. I tried cleaning tile grout with a small steamer and got very poor results. This unit has the power to melt through really tough jobs. I liked the large capacity water tank. Use a wet/dry shop vac to remove the water while cleaning to make the job a snap!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Mop Head Attachment

PostedDecember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Yes. They include the plastic mop head along with 2-3 reusable (washable) pads that attach to the plastic mop head
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product has exceeded my expectations! My grout has gone from black to clean from the living room to the kitchen to the Florida room. I would recommend this to anybody. The steam mop makes cleaning my tiles a breeze. I actually look forward to mopping now. :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for a small. light, portable steamer it does a great job. I used it to clean walls, cabinets, windows, shower stalls, wood floors, area rugs, just about every surface you can think of. I just hit it with the steam and then wiped it down with a chamois.
I'm only rating quality as "good" v. excellent because it won't take out absolutely every stain or spot, but I don't think this product is meant to.
The only negative is that there's no wrap for the cord so it just kind of hangs there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

A quality device!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did own $40 and $80 home depot steamers. This one exceedes household needs by far. Accessories are 100% usefull and you need them! It got helpfull wand holder that you can use to carry it without hurting your hand. You don't need extension with this one... convenient. Dog in the house... no problem. Kids in the house... no problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product mainly for inside job s. Tile grout cleaning, steam cleaning walls and ceilings, my oven, windows. I Jane not tried it on cars or grills but it has eliminated having to be on the floor for hours scrubbing by hand. I do alot of residential cleaning and have been able to renew tile grout back to New Look by about 98% without much work. I have found this item preforms to the same standards as some cleaners that would run 3-4, 000 in price. A million times better than any shark product I had tried and returned in the past. Love, love, love it. And bonus it kills germs with heat not chemicals.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+20points
25out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Rockford, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful - Gets The Job Done - Easy To Use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine does just what it is supposed to do, and does it well. Ample selection of attachments at no extra charge, is another plus. Hard to believe the tiny little screw (one) that holds the carry - handle on (some assembly required) is strong enough to support the weight of the machine when filled with water, but so far, so good. The only quirk it has, is that if it is left on, and unused for more than a few seconds, it will squirt a hefty stream of WATER instead of steam until the hose is again emptied. I keep an empty bucket nearby for that purpose. This has more to do with physics that with the quality of the unit, but it is an unpleasant surprise when it happens. I'm still surprised by the performance of this machine vs the low price. Go for it !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, ample water capacity
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Southern CA

Easy to use, great for cleaning shower grout

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product worked as promised and was very inexpensive compare to other steam cleaners.
FYI: the cup and funnel that comes with it is wedged on the under side of the styrofoam packing.
The only thing I would do different next time is to first mop my honed travertine floors clean - before steaming. The reason is because the dirt from the floor got pulled into the light colored grout, making it appear darker than before I started. The grout was already somewhat dirty so I'll use the smaller tools and clean it.
My shower, which has very large grout joints (1/2 to 5/8 inch), were getting moldy and this machine has helped to remove the mold all but in the sanded caulk.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Home or Small Office steamer

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have about 2000 sq ft of tile and could not keep the tile and grout as clean as we do without this incredible steamer. IWe also have 3 dogs so yes, our floors get dirty. Our steamer does get heavy duty usage and depending on how you take care of it and if you use Distilled water you can extend the life. Otherwise in a few years you may need to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: should use purified water to extend the life
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Right out of the box, the steamer was very easy to use, and definitely throws out a lot of very hot steam.
Pro's:
Many attachments
Small bristle brushes seem to last longer then I thought they would
Has indicator light when ready
Fairly light to carry from room to room
Steam cleans and disinfects at same time
Cons:
Scrub brush does not last long (it fell apart on first use)
Water takes a few minutes to heat
Have to wait until unit cools down before adding anymore water
Made to take distilled water
No cord wrap
Overall it is a good product with many uses.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>