728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Steam Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.29 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(248 reviews) 245
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product214 of 239reviews
Rating Breakdown 248 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(136)
4
(78)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product214 of 239reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Having fun watching the dirt disappear

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A Must Have for every Homeowner/Apartment Dweller. It steamed 12 years of cooking grease from the kitchen grout and it looks new again. A Great Housewarming Gift, No pun intended
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+30points
30out of 30found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
30out of 31found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills the bed bugs. works good.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. We use it primarily to fight bed bugs. Steam last 45 minutes. Has good pressure to force steam into tight areas. We also used it to steam our hardwood floor. Nice bonus. Overall, very happy. I do recommend it. The lack of a least some sort of tongle to wrap the power cord up is a little strange. But other than that, I didn't buy it for a 'power cord'. I bought it to KILL BED BUGS. works good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+8points
10out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I got this steamer mainly to clean the carpet even though it is not mainly intended for that. I had some bug problem and wanted to make sure I eradicate them. So far so good. I still need to unleash all the potential of this product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

A quality device!

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I did own $40 and $80 home depot steamers. This one exceedes household needs by far. Accessories are 100% usefull and you need them! It got helpfull wand holder that you can use to carry it without hurting your hand. You don't need extension with this one... convenient. Dog in the house... no problem. Kids in the house... no problem.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

McCulloch Steam Ckeaner

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam cleaner is the real deal. I tried cleaning tile grout with a small steamer and got very poor results. This unit has the power to melt through really tough jobs. I liked the large capacity water tank. Use a wet/dry shop vac to remove the water while cleaning to make the job a snap!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Rockford, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful - Gets The Job Done - Easy To Use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine does just what it is supposed to do, and does it well. Ample selection of attachments at no extra charge, is another plus. Hard to believe the tiny little screw (one) that holds the carry - handle on (some assembly required) is strong enough to support the weight of the machine when filled with water, but so far, so good. The only quirk it has, is that if it is left on, and unused for more than a few seconds, it will squirt a hefty stream of WATER instead of steam until the hose is again emptied. I keep an empty bucket nearby for that purpose. This has more to do with physics that with the quality of the unit, but it is an unpleasant surprise when it happens. I'm still surprised by the performance of this machine vs the low price. Go for it !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, ample water capacity
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

It's a gem!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is awesome for your tile floors. Grout looks awesome and saved myself several hundred dollars paying someone. While it's a cumbersome job, the benefits out weighed it. I will now keep up on my tile. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Milwaukee, Wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit 2-3 years ago. It worked great the first 3 times I used it. Then, the 4th time, the water ran out of the bottom of the unit when it was under pressure. Called manufacturer regarding repair...they told me the boiler was bad, it was out of warranty. They would give me 30% off a new one (149.99) My advice...find a different brand.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work very long
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great steamer

PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steamer is one of the best products I've ever purchased. I always look at the reviews before purchasing items. This product had very good reviews and it works as advertised. I have found that I can use this product to clean nearly every surface in my home. It works great on hard wood and ceramic tile. The floors feel clean and it cuts through the sticky messes. Also, you can clean toilets, outter surfaces, without having to bend over or use harsh chemicals. I love that I don't have to use harsh chemicals and get great results. This steamer will pay for itself with the money saved on cleaning products. It is still work using the steamer, but it is much more rewarding seeing and feeling the clean surfaces!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase for the price!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price of this product you get what you pay for...
I am satisfied with the quality and dependability of the steamer. I have done some research before purchasing a steamer and the pricing is out of control. This steamer has performed like a champion in removing grease and dirt off my stove, floor tiles, grout. Then I used the steamer to clean the wheels (rims) on my car. At this point I am considering a larger unit to do heavier cleaning jobs around my house. The temperature of the steam is around 200 degrees and the psi around 43. I am confident for a few more dollars the upgraded model machine will perform to my satisfaction. The temperature is about the same, but the psi is around 58 providing more power to clean. You get what you pay for and I am okay with that!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: low pressure
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Right out of the box, the steamer was very easy to use, and definitely throws out a lot of very hot steam.
Pro's:
Many attachments
Small bristle brushes seem to last longer then I thought they would
Has indicator light when ready
Fairly light to carry from room to room
Steam cleans and disinfects at same time
Cons:
Scrub brush does not last long (it fell apart on first use)
Water takes a few minutes to heat
Have to wait until unit cools down before adding anymore water
Made to take distilled water
No cord wrap
Overall it is a good product with many uses.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for a small. light, portable steamer it does a great job. I used it to clean walls, cabinets, windows, shower stalls, wood floors, area rugs, just about every surface you can think of. I just hit it with the steam and then wiped it down with a chamois.
I'm only rating quality as "good" v. excellent because it won't take out absolutely every stain or spot, but I don't think this product is meant to.
The only negative is that there's no wrap for the cord so it just kind of hangs there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+17points
19out of 21found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Temecula, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great value for the money!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sure how this product works for other uses - but for cleaning dirty grout it was exceptional. After trying lots of other products, cleaners etc I was somewhat skeptical that this would work - but it did. Tip: I would recommend you order additional brushes from McCullough as you go through them quickly - they are inexpensive so order a few extra. Also comes with lots of accessories.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

WORKS

PostedOctober 21, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
It has done everything that I needed for. Steam last for a long time. Glad I went with this one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Mcculloch steam cleaner

PostedOctober 16, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I really like this steam cleaner compared to others on the market. It really cuts the film on tile floors which other steamers don't. With every use its making my floors brighter- mind i have years of build up on them.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 13 >>