728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200°F to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.32 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(297 reviews) 294
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product258 of 288reviews
Rating Breakdown 297 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(168)
4
(90)
3
(17)
2
(10)
1
(12)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product258 of 288reviews
Customer questions and answers:
29 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Having fun watching the dirt disappear

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A Must Have for every Homeowner/Apartment Dweller. It steamed 12 years of cooking grease from the kitchen grout and it looks new again. A Great Housewarming Gift, No pun intended
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Fort Myers, Florida
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Happy Homemaker

PostedApril 1, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This machine finally got me off of my knees. My entire house is tiled and I never felt my floors were clean enough unless I scrubbed them on my hands & knees. This machine is a dream to work with. It did take multiple passes to get the grout clean in the traffic areas, but when I was done it looked whiter than it has in years. I've read complaints about the handle coming off. It took me a couple tries before I was able to seat the screw that is located in the base of the handle, but once tightened properly it held good. I'm very pleased with all the additional attachments; 2 floor pads are a big plus. Can't wait to see what I can clean next!
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Nice Design
Cons: none so far
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+39points
39out of 39found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bristol CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best brand I have had so far

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased this product about 3 years ago and have put it through its paces. I have had Shark cleaners before and was replacing them about every year. This one lasted 3 years before the heating element went. I have no hesitation about replacing it with another McCulloch. The only thing I am hoping is that the attachments from the previous machine will still work on the new one. It looks like the floor attachment head has changed and I tend to use old towels to clean the floor if mop attachments for the machine are in the wash. It is also so much better to have the wheels instead of having to carry a smaller machine around with you on a shoulder strap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: no attachment compartment
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Elmhurst, Ill
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Poor Steam out put.

PostedJuly 27, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a landlord and I bought this machine to use the steam to kill possible bed bugs and their eggs. I also though it would be a good tool to work on the removal of grease and dirty grout lines. Well it does comes with a lot of nice attachments but the production of steam was very poor. I could put my hand with in 4 inches of the out put jet. I tried it on some grease on a dirty stove. No good it did nothing to even soften the grease. I am not sure what you could use this tool for? Maybe clean a tile floor that has clean grout lines to start with?
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: poor steam
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Memphis TN
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not what it was built up to be

PostedAugust 4, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Would not clean my grout joints in floor tile; used several approaches, but none worked; ended up using a brush and vinegar. This product may be okay for small projects involving cleaning; it worked okay for me to clean the shower tile and faucets. But so does other much cheaper and easier to use products. Sorry, but this product is overrated. To do my floor of approximately 600 sq ft I would need a professional machine which cost $500 plus.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: limited use
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+19points
19out of 19found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+29points
29out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+35points
38out of 41found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

I'll never mop tile again!

PostedAugust 26, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Light weight, easy, and heats fast. So many attachments to tackle any job. I love it... Have thrown out a traditional mop.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+22points
24out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Brooklyn Park, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Steam Cleaner

PostedMarch 30, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This machine works great. I've had mine since prior to 2005, and it's still working great. My sister just borrowed it again this past weekend 3-28-2015, and she loves it too. I told her it was time she bought one herself...haha....instead of always using mine. She now has two properties, her house in the Twin Cities, and a full sized house up north on a lake. It's time, I said. This steam cleanerer has been used for horribly filthy bathrooms in rental properties, general cleaning of appliances and counters, floors, and works great on auto hub caps. You name it, I've cleaned it. I love this cleaner. I like the attractive color and the fact that it rolls around behind you. Good size water capacity too. I had gone through enough of the cheap hand held ones until I bought this one years ago. It just keeps on trucking and hasn't broken down. Yippee.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Stylish, Nice Design, nice attachments
Cons: sorry no cons
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Maryland
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female

Just what I needed

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
My casement window frames were so dirty and I was looking for a way to really get them clean.This steam cleaner was perfect for the job and helped to make a dirty job much easier. Produces a good amount of steam before running out. With all of the attachments i can already see other uses. I do wish there was some better way to store the power cord. There's really nowhere to put it or any way to wrap it. I just put a rubber band around it.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Southern CA

Easy to use, great for cleaning shower grout

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This product worked as promised and was very inexpensive compare to other steam cleaners.
FYI: the cup and funnel that comes with it is wedged on the under side of the styrofoam packing.
The only thing I would do different next time is to first mop my honed travertine floors clean - before steaming. The reason is because the dirt from the floor got pulled into the light colored grout, making it appear darker than before I started. The grout was already somewhat dirty so I'll use the smaller tools and clean it.
My shower, which has very large grout joints (1/2 to 5/8 inch), were getting moldy and this machine has helped to remove the mold all but in the sanded caulk.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this steamer mainly to clean the carpet even though it is not mainly intended for that. I had some bug problem and wanted to make sure I eradicate them. So far so good. I still need to unleash all the potential of this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bulverde, Texas
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best Steam Cleaner

PostedJuly 21, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is a great heavy duty cleaner. It did amazing work on my grout and ceramic tile. After paying a professional steam cleaning company to clean my tile and being very unsatisfied, I decided to try out this heavy duty steam cleaner. I was amazed with how easy it is to use and the steam does an amazing job. Actually was happier with this machine than the professionals that I had hired!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from columbus ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steamer

PostedJuly 28, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great product i would highly recommend it.. it's a great product and it does the job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great steamer!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent a lot of time reviewing different steamers. This is the first I've ever purchased. I've had it a couple months now and absolutely love it. It gets very hot, does not drip excessive water, and the pads have been washed several times and seem very durable. I have refurbished hardwoods and the steam does not damage them. It leaves the floors streak free. I was concerned it may be too small but I've found that it is big enough to cover all my main living space in a single filling of water. Hands down one of the best purchases I've made!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Home or Small Office steamer

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We have about 2000 sq ft of tile and could not keep the tile and grout as clean as we do without this incredible steamer. IWe also have 3 dogs so yes, our floors get dirty. Our steamer does get heavy duty usage and depending on how you take care of it and if you use Distilled water you can extend the life. Otherwise in a few years you may need to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: should use purified water to extend the life
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 15 >>