728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Steam Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.272 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(239 reviews) 236
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 230reviews
Rating Breakdown 239 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(129)
4
(76)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product206 of 230reviews
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+28points
28out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+27points
28out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Milwaukee, Wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit 2-3 years ago. It worked great the first 3 times I used it. Then, the 4th time, the water ran out of the bottom of the unit when it was under pressure. Called manufacturer regarding repair...they told me the boiler was bad, it was out of warranty. They would give me 30% off a new one (149.99) My advice...find a different brand.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work very long
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills the bed bugs. works good.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. We use it primarily to fight bed bugs. Steam last 45 minutes. Has good pressure to force steam into tight areas. We also used it to steam our hardwood floor. Nice bonus. Overall, very happy. I do recommend it. The lack of a least some sort of tongle to wrap the power cord up is a little strange. But other than that, I didn't buy it for a 'power cord'. I bought it to KILL BED BUGS. works good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stream cleaner specifically for grount on my tiles floors. It does not clean the grout especially well and take a considerable amount of time to get it done. Get a container of oxyclean, mix a small amount in hot water and use a stiff tooth brush. You will get a subtainally cleaner grout in a fraction of the time and save over a $100.00 on your purchase. Additionally, the nylon scrubbers that come with this machine are worthless after 15 minutes as the steam melts them into nothing and you are buying more. Save time, money and get a better cleaned grout
+11points
12out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for a small. light, portable steamer it does a great job. I used it to clean walls, cabinets, windows, shower stalls, wood floors, area rugs, just about every surface you can think of. I just hit it with the steam and then wiped it down with a chamois.
I'm only rating quality as "good" v. excellent because it won't take out absolutely every stain or spot, but I don't think this product is meant to.
The only negative is that there's no wrap for the cord so it just kind of hangs there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

McCulloch Steam Ckeaner

PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam cleaner is the real deal. I tried cleaning tile grout with a small steamer and got very poor results. This unit has the power to melt through really tough jobs. I liked the large capacity water tank. Use a wet/dry shop vac to remove the water while cleaning to make the job a snap!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Warren,Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

defective!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The canister did not heat up at all let alone within the designated 2-8 minutes that the manual suggested, so we pressed the trigger and a warm stream,notice not steam, came out. Not to mention thre was what looked like dried paint or some other construction material dried on the cord and i DID NOT PJRCHASE A USED MODEL! HMPH! But i will say customer service was more than willing to do their part in making things correct.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Rockford, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Powerful - Gets The Job Done - Easy To Use

PostedAugust 19, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine does just what it is supposed to do, and does it well. Ample selection of attachments at no extra charge, is another plus. Hard to believe the tiny little screw (one) that holds the carry - handle on (some assembly required) is strong enough to support the weight of the machine when filled with water, but so far, so good. The only quirk it has, is that if it is left on, and unused for more than a few seconds, it will squirt a hefty stream of WATER instead of steam until the hose is again emptied. I keep an empty bucket nearby for that purpose. This has more to do with physics that with the quality of the unit, but it is an unpleasant surprise when it happens. I'm still surprised by the performance of this machine vs the low price. Go for it !!!
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful, ample water capacity
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product mainly for inside job s. Tile grout cleaning, steam cleaning walls and ceilings, my oven, windows. I Jane not tried it on cars or grills but it has eliminated having to be on the floor for hours scrubbing by hand. I do alot of residential cleaning and have been able to renew tile grout back to New Look by about 98% without much work. I have found this item preforms to the same standards as some cleaners that would run 3-4, 000 in price. A million times better than any shark product I had tried and returned in the past. Love, love, love it. And bonus it kills germs with heat not chemicals.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works very well. it has many brushes and extensions.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the machine actually cleans grout...
the only thing is that is has many brushes and extensions that I hope i can keep up with.... but in overall it performed to expectation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Scottsdale, AZ
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female

It's a gem!

PostedSeptember 2, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product is awesome for your tile floors. Grout looks awesome and saved myself several hundred dollars paying someone. While it's a cumbersome job, the benefits out weighed it. I will now keep up on my tile. I would highly recommend this product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Sarastoa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If cleaning floor grout buy some extra brass brushes

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am in the process of cleaning grout on my floors. The steam in combination with the brass brush does make it like new, although it does require some patience and some, but not a lot of elbow grease. After about two hours of use the brass brush was worn down to a nub. I called the McCullogh home office to find a dealer that stocked the brushes and was told no one stocks them and I would have to order either by calling, as I did, or on line. They were $7.99 for five brushes. It will take about three or four days for delivery, so I am at a stand still for the moment
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from California
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good purchase for the price!

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
For the price of this product you get what you pay for...
I am satisfied with the quality and dependability of the steamer. I have done some research before purchasing a steamer and the pricing is out of control. This steamer has performed like a champion in removing grease and dirt off my stove, floor tiles, grout. Then I used the steamer to clean the wheels (rims) on my car. At this point I am considering a larger unit to do heavier cleaning jobs around my house. The temperature of the steam is around 200 degrees and the psi around 43. I am confident for a few more dollars the upgraded model machine will perform to my satisfaction. The temperature is about the same, but the psi is around 58 providing more power to clean. You get what you pay for and I am okay with that!
Pros: Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: low pressure
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Ohio
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good product

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Right out of the box, the steamer was very easy to use, and definitely throws out a lot of very hot steam.
Pro's:
Many attachments
Small bristle brushes seem to last longer then I thought they would
Has indicator light when ready
Fairly light to carry from room to room
Steam cleans and disinfects at same time
Cons:
Scrub brush does not last long (it fell apart on first use)
Water takes a few minutes to heat
Have to wait until unit cools down before adding anymore water
Made to take distilled water
No cord wrap
Overall it is a good product with many uses.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Home or Small Office steamer

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have about 2000 sq ft of tile and could not keep the tile and grout as clean as we do without this incredible steamer. IWe also have 3 dogs so yes, our floors get dirty. Our steamer does get heavy duty usage and depending on how you take care of it and if you use Distilled water you can extend the life. Otherwise in a few years you may need to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: should use purified water to extend the life
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>