728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Steam Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments.
Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(228 reviews) 225
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product195 of 219reviews
Rating Breakdown 228 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(121)
4
(73)
3
(15)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product195 of 219reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+26points
26out of 26found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+26points
27out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills the bed bugs. works good.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Works great. We use it primarily to fight bed bugs. Steam last 45 minutes. Has good pressure to force steam into tight areas. We also used it to steam our hardwood floor. Nice bonus. Overall, very happy. I do recommend it. The lack of a least some sort of tongle to wrap the power cord up is a little strange. But other than that, I didn't buy it for a 'power cord'. I bought it to KILL BED BUGS. works good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for a small. light, portable steamer it does a great job. I used it to clean walls, cabinets, windows, shower stalls, wood floors, area rugs, just about every surface you can think of. I just hit it with the steam and then wiped it down with a chamois.
I'm only rating quality as "good" v. excellent because it won't take out absolutely every stain or spot, but I don't think this product is meant to.
The only negative is that there's no wrap for the cord so it just kind of hangs there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
18out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stream cleaner specifically for grount on my tiles floors. It does not clean the grout especially well and take a considerable amount of time to get it done. Get a container of oxyclean, mix a small amount in hot water and use a stiff tooth brush. You will get a subtainally cleaner grout in a fraction of the time and save over a $100.00 on your purchase. Additionally, the nylon scrubbers that come with this machine are worthless after 15 minutes as the steam melts them into nothing and you are buying more. Save time, money and get a better cleaned grout
+10points
11out of 12found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Milwaukee, Wi
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Don't Waste Your Money

PostedMay 29, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Bought this unit 2-3 years ago. It worked great the first 3 times I used it. Then, the 4th time, the water ran out of the bottom of the unit when it was under pressure. Called manufacturer regarding repair...they told me the boiler was bad, it was out of warranty. They would give me 30% off a new one (149.99) My advice...find a different brand.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Cons: Not Durable, doesn't work very long
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from MD
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Mccullough Portable Steamer

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The product delivers fairly well. I have used it several times now and it has accomplished the task on each occassion.
My only problem is that it doesn't have a handle that allows you to pick the unit up. The steamer is on wheels but if you need to move it up stairs or across rough surfaces, you have to grab the unit with both hands. Since this is a portable unit, it would be nice to have a handle so you can easily pick it up using only one hand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Sarastoa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If cleaning floor grout buy some extra brass brushes

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am in the process of cleaning grout on my floors. The steam in combination with the brass brush does make it like new, although it does require some patience and some, but not a lot of elbow grease. After about two hours of use the brass brush was worn down to a nub. I called the McCullogh home office to find a dealer that stocked the brushes and was told no one stocks them and I would have to order either by calling, as I did, or on line. They were $7.99 for five brushes. It will take about three or four days for delivery, so I am at a stand still for the moment
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Spring Branch Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

McCullochHeavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This steam cleaner was a snap to put together. After Filling the water reservoir and waiting about 8 minutes I was ready to start cleaning. I have used all of the attachments and am very pleased with the results and the wheels make it easy to move around, not that it is heavy. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to deep clean or just sanitize.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Sun City West, AZ.
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

best purchase ever made

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The steamer did a great job on tile grout cleaning.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works very well. it has many brushes and extensions.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the machine actually cleans grout...
the only thing is that is has many brushes and extensions that I hope i can keep up with.... but in overall it performed to expectation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product mainly for inside job s. Tile grout cleaning, steam cleaning walls and ceilings, my oven, windows. I Jane not tried it on cars or grills but it has eliminated having to be on the floor for hours scrubbing by hand. I do alot of residential cleaning and have been able to renew tile grout back to New Look by about 98% without much work. I have found this item preforms to the same standards as some cleaners that would run 3-4, 000 in price. A million times better than any shark product I had tried and returned in the past. Love, love, love it. And bonus it kills germs with heat not chemicals.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+19points
24out of 29found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Tulsa, OK, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Great cleaner!!

PostedMay 13, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I ordered this product to clean grout throughout my house, and to clean toilets that 3 boys use! Works graet for both! For the price, this is a great machine. Only reason I gave 4 stars was due to the fact that the scrubber attachments wear out quickly. Other than that I have no complaints. I use it all the time!!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Warren,Ohio
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

defective!

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
The canister did not heat up at all let alone within the designated 2-8 minutes that the manual suggested, so we pressed the trigger and a warm stream,notice not steam, came out. Not to mention thre was what looked like dried paint or some other construction material dried on the cord and i DID NOT PJRCHASE A USED MODEL! HMPH! But i will say customer service was more than willing to do their part in making things correct.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Steam Cleaner

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this steam cleaner. The only flaw is that you can't see the water level and that there's no place to wrap cord and hose. I use it several times a day. Can't imagine my life without it
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, cleans under furniture and tight spaces
Cons: water level not visable, no place to wrap cord, needs place to hang long hose
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Woodstock NY
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Steam Cleaner

PostedJuly 1, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Everything came in one box, was fairly easy to assemble, Difficult to handle as once fully assembled, steamer head was bulky. The long extension handle and long hose made it even more awkward. Very disappointed after dragging it around, it didn't really clean my white tile kitchen floor. Gave up after 2 tries. Returned it to Home Depot.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Nice Design
Cons: Difficult to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 12 >>