728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments.
Overall rating:
4.254 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(209 reviews) 206
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product179 of 201reviews
Rating Breakdown 209 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(110)
4
(68)
3
(14)
2
(8)
1
(9)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product179 of 201reviews
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Woots
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+20points
20out of 20found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Donaldo
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Anonymous
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+22points
22out of 22found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
caaa
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

great product for the price

PostedOctober 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
for a small. light, portable steamer it does a great job. I used it to clean walls, cabinets, windows, shower stalls, wood floors, area rugs, just about every surface you can think of. I just hit it with the steam and then wiped it down with a chamois.
I'm only rating quality as "good" v. excellent because it won't take out absolutely every stain or spot, but I don't think this product is meant to.
The only negative is that there's no wrap for the cord so it just kind of hangs there.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+16points
16out of 16found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Ricky23
from Texas
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not worth the money

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this stream cleaner specifically for grount on my tiles floors. It does not clean the grout especially well and take a considerable amount of time to get it done. Get a container of oxyclean, mix a small amount in hot water and use a stiff tooth brush. You will get a subtainally cleaner grout in a fraction of the time and save over a $100.00 on your purchase. Additionally, the nylon scrubbers that come with this machine are worthless after 15 minutes as the steam melts them into nothing and you are buying more. Save time, money and get a better cleaned grout
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Ginja
from Hawaii, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Works great and steam cleans my floors up to my expectations.

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product was priced right and performs as described with the many attachments. I read other reviews and knew about the little water sputter after pressing the steam button. This was minor as the steam cleaner gave off hot steam and cleaned my floors. The jet stream attachment and scrubber were fine for getting the dirt off the tile grout. The long cord and hose allowed me to keep cleaning larger areas and the lock button on the steamer handle was handy and saved my finger. Also the attachments allowed steam cleaning other things, like our grill and bathroom fixtures. Good product.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Isaac
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Steam cleaners do not clean as good as expected

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
After reading product reviews and what these steamers
can clean and sanitize, I decided to buy one thinking
It whould be great around the house and garage, received
The product and have bin using it for about 2 months now
Product main unit is well built with most accessories plastic
Steam works as long as described but steaming doesn't work so
great for cleaning stubborn or heavily stained areas
Like in the garage, tried cleaning shower area steam doesn't
Clean well, all steamers are good for sanitizing only that's why
I rated this product as low as I did, steamers are not worth the money,
use your household cleaner sprays.
Pros: Sturdy, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, steady steam output
Cons: doesn't clean as expected
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
hbv2020
from Sarastoa, FL
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

If cleaning floor grout buy some extra brass brushes

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am in the process of cleaning grout on my floors. The steam in combination with the brass brush does make it like new, although it does require some patience and some, but not a lot of elbow grease. After about two hours of use the brass brush was worn down to a nub. I called the McCullogh home office to find a dealer that stocked the brushes and was told no one stocks them and I would have to order either by calling, as I did, or on line. They were $7.99 for five brushes. It will take about three or four days for delivery, so I am at a stand still for the moment
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
China
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Awesome Steam Cleaner

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I love this steam cleaner. The only flaw is that you can't see the water level and that there's no place to wrap cord and hose. I use it several times a day. Can't imagine my life without it
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, cleans under furniture and tight spaces
Cons: water level not visable, no place to wrap cord, needs place to hang long hose
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
MARI
from Houston, TX, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

works very well. it has many brushes and extensions.

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
the machine actually cleans grout...
the only thing is that is has many brushes and extensions that I hope i can keep up with.... but in overall it performed to expectation.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
mamabcleanin
from Boise, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

I love this product

PostedMay 16, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this product mainly for inside job s. Tile grout cleaning, steam cleaning walls and ceilings, my oven, windows. I Jane not tried it on cars or grills but it has eliminated having to be on the floor for hours scrubbing by hand. I do alot of residential cleaning and have been able to renew tile grout back to New Look by about 98% without much work. I have found this item preforms to the same standards as some cleaners that would run 3-4, 000 in price. A million times better than any shark product I had tried and returned in the past. Love, love, love it. And bonus it kills germs with heat not chemicals.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight
+18points
23out of 28found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
cleanfreak

I love it!

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My shower is cultured marble. This steamer brought it back to the clean it used to be. I love the different attachments that come with it. It has enough power and is perfect for household use.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Steve
from San Jose, CA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not sure what is really good for,,,

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this to clean various things including BBQ, shower, tiles etc. haven't found anything yet where it is truly effective. The videos all show how wonderful it is in getting thanks sparkly clean, but it seems totally stumped by grease on the BBQ (nearly new), lime scale deposits on the glass shower, and indeed just about anything else that I though I might try it out on... Ideas?
Pros: Sturdy, High Quality
Cons: not that effective
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
sgbfinancial
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Better than expected

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This machine puts out a LOT of steam with strong pressure and works great on stubborn dirt. Unlike many other reviewers, I did not use it to clean tile grout. My project was built-up gunk on power tools, and it worked really well to restore the tools to a like-new condition. I used the stiff nylon bristle attachment as I did not want to scratch my tools with the brass attachment. I expect to get a lot of use out of this tool over the years. Nice long heavy power cord, long hose with extension wands, plenty of cleaning attachments.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
Cons: none
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Ed60
from Waco, TX, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product!

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product cleaned 15 years worth of lime deposits, mold and other heavily "built-up" problem areas. It performed exactly as described. It is easy to use and works effectively.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Loretta

this steamer is a workhorse

PostedApril 2, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have been using this steamer on a regular basis and it works well, has a strong steam output, and can last for almost an hour. I have had no issues to date and have no complaints regarding the product.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Steam

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
BlondieNiteSleep
from Down South
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Competes with my ShopVac as "favorite" household tool

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
So far I can attest to the fact that this thing is great for cleaning grout, baseboards and any little corner that you can't reach with a cloth, broom, etc. I was surprised by the heavy duty construction for this price point. It does exactly what I expected it to do. It will not melt away old caked on stuff without a little help, but it sure does make the process easier. For maintenance cleaning, so easy, just steam and wipe. If you take a break for a couple of minutes and start back, just point the steamer at a cloth because it sprays a quick stream of water before the steam starts up again. Love the lock feature when for extended steaming so you don't have to hold the button down the whole time. I love using this, makes everything nice and clean.
Pros: Sturdy, Good Size & Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Debbie
from Henderson, NV, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Great Home or Small Office steamer

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We have about 2000 sq ft of tile and could not keep the tile and grout as clean as we do without this incredible steamer. IWe also have 3 dogs so yes, our floors get dirty. Our steamer does get heavy duty usage and depending on how you take care of it and if you use Distilled water you can extend the life. Otherwise in a few years you may need to purchase another one.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: should use purified water to extend the life
+15points
15out of 15found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Bluesunshine
from Pennsylvania, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love it!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Read the directions before you use! Had trouble with the floor cleaner but called the company and they sent me a new one right away.
Washing floors use to take me a couple of hours to do the whole house. Now it takes less then an hour to do a 3 bedroom house!
One thing I do is wash with one mop head and use the second to semi dry my wood floors. But even if you don't they dry in no time! Which is great with all the animals we have. Also you have to watch using the floor mop. You can not press really hard, but I spray over a tough area first then go back over with the mop and that usually takes care of the problem.
I also like to use it around our sinks and on the stove. Wonderful for cleaning up greasy areas such as around exhaust fan in kitchen.
Happy Cleaning! :-)
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 11 >>