728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Portable Steam Cleaners or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

The McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner is a professional-quality piece of equipment designed for tackling the toughest jobs in your garage and workshop. It uses ordinary water heated to more than 200 degrees Fahrenheit to clean and sanitize a wide variety of surfaces and items, such as greasy tools, floor mats, grimy wheels and barbecue grills. The cleaner features professional-grade steam power and includes a versatile array of attachments. Included Attachments: Steam jet nozzle, extension wands (2), mop head, microfiber pads (2), water funnel, measuring cup, squeegee, triangle brush, nylon utility brushes (5), brass utility brush, scrub pad.
Overall rating:
4.305 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(266 reviews) 263
Open Ratings Snapshot
90%of customersrecommend this product231 of 257reviews
Rating Breakdown 266 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(147)
4
(83)
3
(17)
2
(8)
1
(11)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
90%of customersrecommend this product231 of 257reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Review 1 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bayonne, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Having fun watching the dirt disappear

PostedOctober 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
A Must Have for every Homeowner/Apartment Dweller. It steamed 12 years of cooking grease from the kitchen grout and it looks new again. A Great Housewarming Gift, No pun intended
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Bristol CT
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Best brand I have had so far

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had purchased this product about 3 years ago and have put it through its paces. I have had Shark cleaners before and was replacing them about every year. This one lasted 3 years before the heating element went. I have no hesitation about replacing it with another McCulloch. The only thing I am hoping is that the attachments from the previous machine will still work on the new one. It looks like the floor attachment head has changed and I tend to use old towels to clean the floor if mop attachments for the machine are in the wash. It is also so much better to have the wheels instead of having to carry a smaller machine around with you on a shoulder strap.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Nice Design
Cons: no attachment compartment
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Port Crane, NY 13833, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

A dream machine for a person with cleaning OCD!!!

PostedDecember 12, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Great machine for the price. Well made & with every attachment needed. Haven't found anything in the house that it won't clean & works great on stainless steel. My wife says she doesn't know how she ever lived without it!
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+34points
34out of 34found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from San Diego
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedApril 23, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very happy with this purchase. Have been using the steamer to clean heavily soiled travertine floor and grout. Works great, though it is a tedious job. The unit and accessories seem well-built. It puts out nice high-pressure steam for as long as 45 minutes (I run out of steam before it does!). It takes maybe 10 minutes to heat up, then maybe ten minutes to cool down to where you can fill it up again. You have to be a bit careful with the small brushes; put too much pressure on them and the bristles will fuse together. But if you don't over do it, they hold up fine. I expect to find many other uses for the steamer.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Good Size & Weight
+17points
17out of 17found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mount Pleasant, PA 15666, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

excellent for floor grout between ceramic tile

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
An estimate I obtained to clean my ceramic tile in my kitchen and laundry area (about 400 square feet) was $300.00 and was to take about 3-4 hours. I felt it was way too high, so decided to do it myself after watching a few You-tube videos. I purchased this McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner for what I thought was the best price on the internet. I was told it may take 10 days to recieve, but I got it about 5 days after ordering. It took me about 5 hours to use and the brass tip was perfect. The job came out as nice as if I had it done professionally. I would recommend this machine to anyone (as long as they have good knees). Anyone can use it. I used a wet shop vac to suck up as I steamed the joints. Perfect
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, High Quality, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+27points
27out of 27found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great product

PostedOctober 4, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I got this steamer mainly to clean the carpet even though it is not mainly intended for that. I had some bug problem and wanted to make sure I eradicate them. So far so good. I still need to unleash all the potential of this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Decatur, GA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

You Won't Be Disappointed

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I chose to delay writing this review until I used it a few times. But, right from the box, I was amazed. Its own description doesn’t do enough for what’s included; I counted about 15-16 piece set from small brushes (brass too) to various steam heads, to a large steam mop with TWO steam bonnets. All quality made parts like the extended rubber hose, nozzle heads, even the heavy, brass-stem screw release valve where water goes. I used this product to steam clean stubborn stains on shower tile, floors and workout equipment. It works GREAT! It’s literally a steal at $119 for what it can do. You won’t be disappointed. I certainly wasn’t.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, High Quality, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+32points
34out of 36found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Good but one problem

PostedJune 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Once this steamer is up and running it works excellent, but right when you pull the trigger to get it going it shoots out a stream of water. Like a lot of water, you have to wipe it up or it would cause water damage! I carry around a bucket to shoot the first spray in there, after that its good to go and only throws out steam. If you put it down for a minute then you will need to squirt the water in a bucket again before it works properly.
+21points
23out of 25found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Charlotte, NC
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

kills the bed bugs. works good.

PostedJune 17, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. We use it primarily to fight bed bugs. Steam last 45 minutes. Has good pressure to force steam into tight areas. We also used it to steam our hardwood floor. Nice bonus. Overall, very happy. I do recommend it. The lack of a least some sort of tongle to wrap the power cord up is a little strange. But other than that, I didn't buy it for a 'power cord'. I bought it to KILL BED BUGS. works good for that.
Pros: Easy to Use, it works
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

McCulloch Heavy-Duty Steam Cleaner

PostedMarch 8, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This steamer was able to clean grout in my living room, then tile floors, then outside windows that had salt water scum built up and finally with the brass wire brush attachment remove cement speckles left from the door installation.
I can only hope the steamer can stand the test of time and continue performing like it did out of the box.
Highly recommend at this time.
KW
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Morgan Hll, CA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very satisfied with this

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I haven't found anything wrong with the steamer. It does a good job. I think it is worth the purchase price.
I'll address some other reviewer comments--. I don't expect the cord to be retractable - because it's a 15 amp cord and would take a large unit to make that fit inside. Residual dripping of water from the hose after the steam is off is expected - obviously there is steam inside the hose and it turns into a bit of liquid water when it cools off. How could that be prevented? So far the attachments have not worn out of failed in anyway.
It produces a good amount of steam and a reasonable amount pressure. It won't clean everything as well as some might expect it to, but with reasonable expectations I don't think you'll be disappointed by it. The flat head attachment with the microfiber pads cleaned the mold of my shower roof tiles very quickly. Grout lines are not miraculously turned white again, however,
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

good product

PostedMarch 12, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. Helps clean and sanatize most everything. Works much better on floors then a mop or swiffer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Huntington Beach, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Cleans grout very well

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Cleaned the grout on our tile floor so well. Steam stays consistent for cleaning. It comes with a lot of accessories for cleaning as well. Very satisfied so far with this product
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Idaville,Indiana
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Love this steamer! The only thing that I dislike is that sometime when push the button it will spray out a stream of water.

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to use and understand. High quality,durable and fun to use.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Clean, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Sturdy, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: sometimes will just spray water
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Mt Laurel, NJ
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Definitely Not A Toy

PostedMarch 10, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This steam cleaner returned tile grout to its original white color.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Handle issues

PostedMarch 3, 2015
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I think it works well enough but it has no real handle. It shows some what of a way to carry it but it does not stay attached to machine and I ended up dropping mine due to this. I wish I bought one that had a good handle.
Pros: Lots of Features, Easy to Install
Cons: Difficult to Use, no proper handle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great Steam Mop

PostedMarch 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought this for mopping hard wood and ceramic surfaces at home. I didn't try the other features yet. It gets the floor mopoing work done great! It is great to have a large capacity that you don't have to stop for refills.Two complains I have is that 1-it takes a long time the full tank start producing steam and 2- often discountinuety of the steam. I used to have shark brand steam mop before. That one stopped producing steam after a while. This product creates much more effective steam and is more robust. It is definetely worth the money, Compared to what you'll pay for other similar products, this is a good value.
+11points
11out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Langhorne, PA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Meets Requirements

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Operation of the unit is excellent. Steam is delivered through the attachment(s) accurately and with nice pressure. After several minutes of continuous use the unit requires time to rebuild pressure. Management of the hose and cord is a bit inconvenient in that there is not a way to secure both for storage.
Pros: Lots of Features, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
Cons: storage of hose and electric cord
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner

Great steamer!

PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I spent a lot of time reviewing different steamers. This is the first I've ever purchased. I've had it a couple months now and absolutely love it. It gets very hot, does not drip excessive water, and the pads have been washed several times and seem very durable. I have refurbished hardwoods and the steam does not damage them. It leaves the floors streak free. I was concerned it may be too small but I've found that it is big enough to cover all my main living space in a single filling of water. Hands down one of the best purchases I've made!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Heavy-Duty Portable Steam Cleaner
from Welch, WV
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Employees love it

PostedDecember 9, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
At this time, I have not personally tried the steam cleaner. However, employees who have used it to clean apartments love it. Bathroom walls and range exteriors are sparkling. Nasty spilled, dried on food grunge inside a refrigerator was easily removed. We are looking forward to seeing what else it cleans well. We have not really owned it log enough to assess quality and value.
Pros: Easy to Use
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 14 >>