728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer

Get powerful operation and good run time while trimming your yard with the Black & Decker 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer. This trimmer is armed with a dual line and a large cutting path to help cover an optimal amount of space per charge. It is designed to help you accomplish heavy cutting tasks thanks to its gear drive that resists stalling. The unit offers easy trigger starting and an adjustable handle.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Rating Breakdown 26 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(12)
4
(8)
3
(2)
2
(2)
1
(2)
81%of customersrecommend this product21 of 26reviews
Customer reviews for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
Review 1 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
LAD42
from Chicagoland

Power to spare, but not battery life

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great machine with surprising power for a medium to small yard due to a relatively short battery life. I got about 15-20 minutes of run time (maybe 30-40 minutes of weed-eating) which was enough to do my 1/3 acre yard about 1.5 times. More power than my cranky gas trimmer without all the hassle that goes with the gas. The bump feed works well, which is good because this feature is why I bought this model.
Overall, I am happy with the purchase and would recommend it to others with a normally sized subdivision sized yard.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
weedwacker

Battery replacement is not available

PostedJune 29, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It does not appear that replacement batteries are available for this product. It is a pretty expensive trimmer for only getting a year of service for the product.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
CSN123

As powerful as a gas trimmer

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This quality built trimmer is powerful and works great but lasts only about 20 minutes before the Nicad battery needs to be recharged. Recharging the battery takes 12 hours. Should either have a lithium battery or come wih a second battery. You can purchase a second battery which costs about $100.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
zeeker

great power, get 2 batteries

PostedJune 25, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Only used it once so far. I didn't baby it. I used it to weed whack around the house & stuff plus I figure 700' of heavy edging on the sidewalks. Battery ran @ max rpm for 20-25 min. Good thing I got 2 batteries. The line advance worked good. I like having 2 cutting lines also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
BusyBea
from Florida

Replacement Battery Is NOT Made

PostedJune 23, 2011
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I love this trimmer and it's power and have used it with no problems for about a year and a half but always needed to recharge the battery halfway through trimming my lawn. When I went to purchase a second battery I was told that the trimmer has been discontinued and no more batteries are being made so when this one goes, which would be soon, the trimmer will be useless
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
jacjax
from Florida

Great deal

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
the trimmer has the power of a gas trimmer. The battery lasts the entire project. I am very satisfied.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
Jayson1973
from Ft Worth, Texas

This product has good power and ...

PostedJune 11, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I thought this product was worth the money. It has plenty of power and ran great only problem I had was the battery got hot and it shut off. I think it should come with 2 batterys to prevent the problem
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
bellbell

The noise level is good for the environment

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The cordless trimmer is great for difficult lawn situations. I chose the cordless because of obvious reason. The weight of it is a bit much I think. Given the other positives, it is worth it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
john05
from valpo

a little heavy

PostedMay 28, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
like i said a little heavy but i like to stop anyway. seems when you get into taller wet weeds it just digs right down and does the job. i have 1/2 acre and it does everything i ask and more. like taking a gun to a knife fight. i love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
fengineer

Does a great job

PostedMay 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this string trimmer because I didn't want to deal with using oil and gas. The battery lasts about 25-30 minutes which is enough to do my quarter acre lot. I've seen a lot of people speak negatively about the weight, but i've had no problems handling it. For the record, I'm a 5'2" female. I also love the variable speed throttle which helps control how much power you use (and also conserves battery).
Overall, I'm very pleased with this product - it's a very powerful and easy to use piece of equipment, and I'd recommend it to anyone without a huge yard. Although you could always purchase a spare battery if you needed to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
EshoreDave
from VA Eastern Shore

Great power, short life

PostedApril 8, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I don't know if some units have a better battery than others, but I concur with the reviews that say this 36 volt trimmer has great power, but a VERY limited run time. I followed the instructions about getting a full charge before first use, etc. I only got about 20 minutes of run time from a fully charged battery. If it came with 2 batteries it would be fine, but an extra battery costs around $100, nearly as much as they sell the whole trimmer package for.
The trimmer is plenty powerful - similar ot a gas trimmer, but it only lasted about 20 minutes for me, then it takes 12-14 hours to fully charge it back up - you've got to finish the trimming the NEXT DAY!
If you got 2 batteries, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. Instead, I'm back to a gas trimmer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
ShutupMeg
from Houston, Texas

Very Pleased

PostedMarch 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
My Black & Decker 36 volt trimmer has been great so far. Unlike several reviews previously I haven't experienced any short battery life for the uses in my yard. I live on a corner lot so have a lot of curb trimming and this trimmer went through with strong power the entire time.
Having thrown away my gas trimmer due to all the headaches of trying to get it started, I could not be happier with this product. Not only is it effortless to use, it is whisper quiet and as mentioned earlier, it completed my entire yard with power to spare.
One user mentioned that you have to be short in order to use it comfortably, but I would advise him to read the manual, for this shaft is adjustable and as a 6' male, there was plenty of length so I didn't have to stoop to use it. I don't know what he is talking about.
I do agree that it is a bit heavy, but the shoulder strap relieves the stress of holding it up the entire time.
Only con to the product while I use it; the handle on the shaft has to go on one way. Since I use my trimmer more as an edger, so the spinning wheel is upside down, I have to hold the handle at an awkward angle. Otherwise, no problem.
So in closing:
Pros:
Easy assembly
Stylish
Carefree starting
Quiet
No vibration
No fumes
Excellent power
Cons:
-Heavy
-Semi slow charge
-Handle not adjustable around the shaft
-Pricey extra battery if needed
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
edcal
from Roseville CA

B & D 36v Cordless String Trimmer

PostedJuly 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I recently purchased this cordless trimmer and could not be more pleased with it's performance. This unit replaced my gas powered string trimmer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
joneilthe2
from Fort Lauderdale Florida

36 Volt Cordless String Trimmer

PostedJune 19, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this trimmer because I wanted to stay green, but didn't want to drag out the extention cords all over my lawn. After charging all night, the unit ran really nice. It has a smooth start up and you can adjust the speed of the trimmer so you don't have to use it at full speed all the time. Only draw back is the weight, but the strap helps. Worth the money.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
RSD4444
from Atlanta, GA

Cordless Trimmer

PostedJune 2, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have used my cordless trimmer twice and it has worked great. It is a little heavier than my gas trimmer, but the shoulder strap is nice when you are using it for awhile.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
jjgnc
from Fayetteville, NC

Excellent Product / Works As Advertised

PostedJune 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this trimmer at Home Depot, originally with the intention of buying a gas trimmer, because I was tired of dealing with my corded trimmer. I walked through the isle and noticed this one. I looked at it and realized that it would solve my cord problem, as well as giving me the power of a gas trimmer, or so I hoped.
The initial battery charge took 12 hours. I used the trimmer today on my 1/3 acre property, which is about average size for a home lot in this city. The ratings I read on other websites said it had a 30 minute battery life. That's highly deceptive. You don't keep a trimmer on full power for 30 straight minutes when doing your lawn. It has a variable speed trigger, so you can control how long it lasts based on your needs. This trimmer lasted the entire hour I was trimming my lawn and it still had full power when I was finished. I used it mostly at 1/2 to 3/4 power.
The motor is extremely powerful, far more powerful than my old corded Ryobe trimmer. It's got to be at least powerful as any gas trimmer. It ripped right through vegetation like it was nothing. I did test it out a little bit just to see what it could take and it never stopped.
I'd suggest this for anyone who does their own lawn work. I might not suggest it for professional lawn company or someone with a gigantic lawn. But, the average person won't be let down in my opinion.
I rarely write reviews on anything, but I had to take the time to review this trimmer since it actually worked and was decently priced.
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
travers1948
from Framingham, Massachusetts

Great machine!

PostedMay 27, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy assembly just attaching handle and string guard.
Charger included. Complete charge in less than 12 hrs.
Power glalore. Plenty of run time that can be extended
by not using wide open on the trigger. I ran it working
30 minutes. And I could have worked it some more!
I had it for a week now. Only $149.00 USD.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
CleanAir
from North Carolina

36V B&D trimmer

PostedMay 22, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Overall, a good trimmer with plenty of power. My main concern is the bump-feed spool. Sometimes the line doesn't come out as it should and I have to stop and take the spool apart to get the line out properly. Other than that, it is a good trimmer. Be sure to use the shoulder strap because this thing is heavy!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
keepngreen
from Denver area

Lots of power but no battery life

PostedMay 14, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
This product delivers lots of power to cut anything the average homeowner would need to cut. easily as much power as my gas trimmer.
Battery life is 20 minutes, so if you cannot trim your lawn in 20 minutes don't buy this. (I have a small yard so I'm OK for now.
The trigger allows for feathering the trimmer speed but not as easy to get the right RPM as my gas trimmer did. It can be done, just not as easy to control the speed.
Again, 20 minutes is all you get for battery life. I am very concerned how this will hold out next year if I will be down to 15 or 10 minutes, I fully charged it before use and fully discharged it before charging again for the first couple times to best set the battery life and this is all I got.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 14 in. 36-Volt Cordless String Trimmer
minnesota10
from missouri

36v string trimmer

PostedMay 11, 2009
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you can finish your trimming within 15 minutes, than this is a good trimmer, plenty of power(for 15 min.) easy to operate, no gas to deal with. battery recharges in 12+ hours. kind of expensive for 15 minutes of run time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 >>