728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger

Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger

The Black & Decker Grass Hog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger provides plenty of power to help you accomplish most of the tough trimming and edging tasks in your yard. This electric unit features a high-torque design with a good cutting swath to help you cut overgrowth and weeds quickly and efficiently. The product's adjustable height helps to ensure good control and comfortable handling during operation.
Overall rating:
2.333 / 5
2.3
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
32%of customersrecommend this product23 of 73reviews
Rating Breakdown 75 reviews
2.3 out of 5.0
5
(16)
4
(8)
3
(3)
2
(6)
1
(42)
Features 
3.4 out of 5.0
3.4 out of 5
Quality 
2.1 out of 5.0
2.1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.6 out of 5.0
3.6 out of 5
Value 
2.6 out of 5.0
2.6 out of 5
32%of customersrecommend this product23 of 73reviews
Customer reviews for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Review 1 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Paul
from Coeur d'Alene, ID, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Failed after just a few hours of use

PostedMay 8, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When this unit worked it was "ok" although far from perfect. The string mechanism is much less effective than one might think. It doesn't always unwind when you want it to and you don't have any control over it. The motor on it is also ok and when it worked I don't remember thinking that it didn't have enough power. The overall feel of this product is cheap - even for this price. After about 3 hours of use(non continuous) it failed. The motor would spin but power wasn't going to the string. I disassembled it and found the culprit as a plastic gear of sorts. My mind is boggled as to why a company would make such a crucial piece out of plastic... Very disappointed in Black and Decker and will not be buying this brand again. I am now left with a $50 pile of junk. Pictures of the failed part attached.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
+4points
6out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
anonymous2011
from Laurel, MD

not a good sign

PostedApril 22, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this Black and Decker weed eater on april 19, 2011 and at the first time I used it, lasted on 10 minutes while I was in the middle of trimming the yard. Two days later, I went to take it back, just to return and exchange for the same model but while I was looking over in the return bin behind the counter, I saw two more of the same models sitting in there because it did the same thing too. So, after seeing that, my only option was to buy a different brand of a weed eater. My opinion, Black and Decker needs to stick with making small kitchen appliances and leave the rest alone!!!!!!
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
productcannotberepaired

Part breaks, can't be replaced

PostedApril 14, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Nice product while it worked, but after just 1 season, a tangle with the line and I had exactly the same problem described in the review here by "dryrot". There was a loud whirring noise from the head but it ceased turning. I disassembled it and found a "cheap plastic gear, used as a transmission between motor and line drum, split in half", which would be easy to fix if the part was available, but the parts place says the manufacturer does not provide those parts. Another example of a Black & Decker product intended to break and be discarded, rather than made with quality or repaired. Poor Quality!
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
normalguy
from seattle

total junk

PostedJuly 31, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have used this weed whacker for the last 6 months and hate using it every time my simple lawn needs some work. It eats line, and about every 2-3 minutes I have to stop and either cut or fix the line after it self tangles or lets too much line out. DO NOT buy this weed whacker. Every blue moon the whacker works for about 5 min and it is great, motor is fine, etc, but then line monsters come back and it is a frustrating mess every time. Look elsewhere our buy hand clippers (ha!).
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
dryrot

Grass Hog dead dog

PostedMarch 4, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I purchased this trimmer and used it once or twice, put it away till following year, then used it maybe three more times. My wife hit some tougher than usual weeds and it broke. These weeds were what we normally handled with our Ryobi gas trimmer, but my wife wanted something lighter. As the trimmer was out of warranty I dis-assembled it myself and found a cheap plastic gear, used as a transmission between motor and line drum, split in half, an easy fix, but "parts are unavailable," I was told. I would in no way encourage anyone to purchase this product unless you ascribe to their throw away policy.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Anonymous
from COS, Co

Don't waste your money

PostedJuly 9, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The auto-feed line function is total garbage. The length constantly varies and is impossible to keep a consistent trim line. Additionally, the spool that is installed with the unit is the only one that functions near-well. As soon as you have to replace it, you will spent countless sessions respooling the line.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
modelaman
from sunland ca

Don't waste your money

PostedMay 25, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought this weed wacker awhile back but have only used it 4 times and the switch broke. Don't waste your money on this weed wacker.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
JCripp
from San Dieg

BAD

PostedMarch 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I wouldnt even recommend this to my enemy. Dont bother. Returning to get my money abck. Line feed never stopped throwing more and more line until it was all out after about 2mins.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Petefalvo

JUNK

PostedOctober 16, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Worked ok for about 5 minutes then line got tangled. Untangled the line and then the line all fell out.
Brought unit back to the store and got another one. Same thing happened. Returned it and had manager try it out.Sure enough same thing happened.
DON'T waste your money on this trimmer
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
jdub
from Texas, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Worst trimmer I've ever had. DO NOT BUY THIS !

PostedJune 2, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I can never get it to work consistently without it going through line like a knife through butter. This awful tool has been a headache every since I bought it 2 years ago. The line never feeds properly, and when it does, it only lasts a short while before it either gets tangled or I have to respool it.
Total waste of money and time !
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
dusterhome
from Texas
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

The dual line feed was inferioir and did not work properly.

PostedMay 19, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had to tighten or reqind the spool every couple of minutes of use, which was very frustrating. After about three non-continuous use of it, the cord tore up the spool cover and quit working. The spool never worked right. I would not recommend wasting your money on this inferior product. I was very disappointed and wasted money on it.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
BDMeyer
from Columbia, SC

Worked great until it self destructed

PostedMarch 27, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I have a dedicated edger also, but after I bought this I never used the edger again. The price was right, it worked as perfectly. I was quite pleased with the product and would have recommended it with a 5 star. The fist time I used it, I thought something had to be wrong with it as it's apparent RPM was off the chart fast. When it edged, it was brutally efficient. About halfway through it's second season, it quit feeding string. one day. I tried it a few times and suddenly, it may a screeching sound and the head went flying off across my yard. I flipped the device over and smoke was coming off the shiny sheared off shaft. I will assume it is some sort of defect, and email B&D to see if they will repair or replace it. it is over a year old so I doubt it. Would I buy another one? I don't know. My leaf blower from B&D also quit working after the thumb sitch only started functioning in one speed. Obviously the switch is pushed down where it can't move to the other speed. I am concerned about B&D quality control. I also have a B&D Battery lawnomoer (Gowing on 4th season, and working perfectly) and a B&D Edger which works great.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Jccortes
from Wilton Manors, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Bad Quality, no replacement parts !!!!!

PostedJune 1, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I used this product for basic and smooth jobs, I can say after 6 months using it only one or twice every month, the internal parts got broken and is not replacement. In other words more garbage for the planet for no reason. Is easy to handled and use.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
JB77
from Brandon, FL

Fails on all levels. Completely useless.

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Right out of the box the "automatic string feed" did not feed automatically. I had to re-wind the spool and reinstall it to get it to feed at all. But it was cheap and I figured I'd deal with it. Then after about a year, it would randomly shoot out about a foot of string which would wrap around the shaft and bind up the trimmer. I tried to take it apart but as far as I can tell the thing isn't serviceable at all.
So the thing is totally useless. I guess there's a reason it's so cheap.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Anonymous

String problems

PostedAugust 15, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I liked the older one line version, but decided to give the newer dual line model a try. The high RPM is a decided improvement as the cutting is fast and efficient. Also the "axle" running to the head is shielded so its hard to get a weed tangle, say if you have to cut vines. The only problem can be replacing the line. If you are not careful you can end up with a real mess. Think of two fishing line reels tangled on one pole. With care and patience you can avoid this problem.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
Nebfarmboy
from Twin Cities Minnesota

Good for many years of use.

PostedApril 22, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased one of the first B&D Grass Hog trimmers and after many years of hard use, wore it out. About 4 years ago (more or less) I purchased a B&D GH400 that I think is the same as the GH700. I've used it hard and have had no trouble. I learned the string comes out fast when you hit a hard object such as landscape stones. I learned to stay away from them. It is especially good for trimming the edge of a sidewalk when the head is set vertically. It really beats using a muscle driven sidewalk trimmer. Also, I can add new string to the spool and install in about 5 minutes. It just takes a little patience and practice. I recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
JunkHater
from Denver Colorado

Auto feed useless

PostedMay 17, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Once you change the spool for the first time the autofeed will never work again! I should have checked posts on other web sites before buying this. It is a frequent problem. Run, don't walk, away from this item.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
pcampbell

Great for the small stuff and not much more..

PostedJuly 7, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5.0
2 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
I have owned my Grasshog for at least 5 years now and have used it reliably to do light trimming. It's fairly light and the handle adjustment is convenient but when it came to thick or tall grass it fell VERY short. Strong or tall grass/weeds will get wrapped up in the head and cause it to fail. I have taken the plastic cover off countless times and removed the debris. I am sure plenty of people have tossed it in the garbage because the screws on the cover are difficult to remove.
Overall for the price and reliability on those little jobs it's worth it but anyone with more than an acre will need something better.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
wishingicouldgetmymoneyba
from Folsom, PA

This product was a total waste of my money

PostedJuly 20, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The biggest problem is the so called automatic line feed. It does not sense when you need more line, it just randomly spits line out whenever it wants, like up near the flower bed or near the garden, taking out your flowers and plants. the line spits out randomly, never when you need it, and any where from a couple of inches to a couple of feet. I would not recomend this to anyone. It was cheap, so if your trying to save money, do it by hand.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Grasshog 14 in. 5.2 Amp String Trimmer/Edger
KJBH

Bummer

PostedApril 25, 2009
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
When I first purchased this item, I was very excited. It seemed to work great and cut through the weeds and grass with ease. There were a few times, throughout the first month or two, that I had to manually pull out the line. I wasn't sure if it was because the automatic feeder wasn't working properly or if the line just got tangled inside the spool and was cut. I wasn't too bothered by the problem because it didn't happen that often. However, after a few months of use, the line would get tangled around the outside of the feeder and cause the product to seize. After untangling the line, the product would be fine for a little while, but then it would get tangled again. This began happening frequently. One day the line was so tangled that it was absolutely impossible to untangle it, making the product unusable. I will never buy another one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 >>