728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.

3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product124 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(38)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product124 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Central Washington

Just set it and Go

PostedApril 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best humidifier I have owned. You just set what humidity level you want and let it go. It turns on and off as needed. We purchased this to cut down on the static electricity in our home and it has worked great. Also the filter doesn't clog like others I have owned>
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Marietta, GA

Outstanding

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up and get operational. The ultra-quiet mode is very quiet in contrast to when HIGH kicks in, you know it. The automatic function works perfectly, and has made a tremendous improvement in the air quality for two stories. It may not be the prettiest design, but it is extremely functional with very little required maintenance. Highly recommend, if short periods of loud fan noise doesn't bother you. In manual mode on ultra quiet it would be fine in a bedroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Raleigh, North carolina

Outstanding Humidifier

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We read the reviews and decided to try it out. It is just amazing how efficient this has been. Because everything was initially sooooooooo dry in our home, we ran the humidifier at 45%, it got there within about 1 1/2 hours, then just maintained within a couple of %. After 2 days, we dropped it back down to 30% as we didn't want to worry about possible mold issues do to too much humidity. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

Absolutely Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rank the purchase of this humidifier in the top 5 electronic purchases I have ever made. Every review I read was excellent on it. So, I decided to purchase it.
Pros:
- Very simple machine. Basically 3 removable parts: housing, water tank, and filter. Everything is easy to get to for cleaning purposes.
- On low it runs extremely quite. Also, has high output on low setting. (High puts off a little less sound than a small window A/C unit).
- My home is roughly 3000sq ft. The humidity level went from 31% to 50% in a little over 2 hrs on high. Needless to say, we felt the results of the machine in about an hour.
- Unit is very compact (unlike the bulkier whole home humidifiers).
Cons:
- Trust me, I am a stickler for weighing pro's and con's on everything I purchase. It took me 1 month of online research before I decided to purchase this unit. However, I have no complaints.
So, in spirit of being non-bias - I will have to say that my con would be, I wish the product cost was lower. I am super frugal! (Paid $109.00 Home Depot)
Note: I have gone as far as to write a review twice in my life. Shop internet at least 5x per month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Tyrone, GA

Delivers as promised

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sexy, not complicated, but delivers as promised.
Fairly simple moving parts and next to no set-up. Pop it out of the box and you're good to go.
Would strongly recommend using bacteriostatic solution to keep the water & humdifier clean from day one. Follow the manufacturer's instructions for which type.
Easy to set levels (fan, humidity). Easy to refill.
Only possible drawback is that even on low it is still noticeable...roughly about the same as when your furnace blower kicks on to heat the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Gaylord, MI

Good productivity, poor energy efficiency,cold air

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The productivity of the unit is very good. The humidity can increase at a steady level, unless the unit is competing with the furnace. I heat my home with a wood stove and furnace. If the wood stove is the only heat in the home, the humidifier is great and the humidity stays at a constant level. If the wood stove is not running, the unit and my furnace thermostat compete. Because this unit blows out very cold air, the room temperature is constantly kicking on the furnace. The furnace blows a very dry heat, so it's a viscious cycle between the two.
Also, my electric bill has doubled, or increased about 600 kw for the month. This is a significant increase, and the only change I've made with my electricity is the humidifier.
I called the customer support number for this product, and both the cold air and electric issue are normal with the units.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Cary, NC

Good For The Money

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This is a good product. Easy to assemble out of the box. I put on the wheels and filled it up with water. Very easy to operate with an on/off button; fan speed and humidity level buttons. Set and forget. The removable tank is easy to fill with the openeing in the side. This allows you to fill it from most any faucet type. When the base and tank are full the unit runs about 24 hours (depending on humidity settings). The unit is also compact taking up 1/3 the space of what it replaced. The only thing I would like to see is a fill check window to know how much water is in the system. Overall this is a great unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Plano, Illinois

Great Digital Humidifier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery from Home Depot web site was only 5 days to my home. Assembly took no more than 4 minutes. Runs great and puts out plenty of humidity. Easy to fill water container. Great product so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Newark, IL

This humidifier is a good investment

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This humidifier is great. It is powerful and is easy to use. The fan on the high setting is pretty loud, but the unit seems to be as effective on the quiet setting which is barely perceivable. It is pretty easy to fill at the bathtub or kitchen faucets. The digital readout makes it easy to see and will give current humidity level. It has automatic shutoff if it runs dry which is a major plus over many humidifiers on the market. The one main downside is that there is no visual indicator for the water level. You need to pull the reservoir off to see. The other potential downside is the fill opening is on the side of the reservoir which could potentially leak if the gasket fails. (I have not experienced this problem, but the potential is there.) Replacement wick filters are not too expensive.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Nesconset, NY

good product

PostedFebruary 21, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
It does a great job of humidifying the whole house on the low setting so it is not too loud. Do not like that it is not energy effecient but I looked up other humidifiers and I could not find one that was. Also, I have to fill it 3 times per day but it really works great. I have a pellet stove and keep it in the room with the pellet stove and the whole house went from 30 humidity to 45 humidity.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.

works exactly as advertised; no wonder it was a Consumer Report best buy

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Easy set up; easy to maintain; makes our house much more comfortable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is quiet

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this for two months and have run it every night and all day on the weekends. It is easy to refill, and easy to move. So far so good!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from IL

This is an excellent product

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best humidifier. It's very easy to set up with clear, easy to follow instructions on it's use. The product does exactly what it says it will do. I like the fact that there are many levels of humidity you can choose from. Being on wheels is an added plus. It was packaged well and arrived quickly. I'm glad I bought it and would recommend it to anyone. I've had it for about 2 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple effective design with digital control

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
As the box clearly says, this holds 11-12 gallons. But only 3.9 are in the removable "tank," hence the confusion.
You fill up the tank, put it on the humidifier, and it drains into the humidifier until the humidifier is full. At any point, you can refill the tank by lifting it off and taking it to the faucet. Compared to hauling water by the gallon and pouring it in, I find this a wonderful solution. It does require unscrewing the valve/cap on the side of the tank (look at the end of the humidifier in the picture) and then replacing it before you return the tank to the humifier.
Like most humidifiers, the design is simple. The water is wicked up in a flat (3/4" thick mesh) filter media that is wrapped in a circular shape, then distributed by a fan that pulls air through this media. The improvement on the traditional design is that there is no movement of the filter media, only the small fan drawing air through it. This greatly reduces noise and lowers the number of moving parts.
The digital control allows you to specify fan speed (quiet, low, high) and goal humidity level (30-65% in 5% increments). If you do not add more water, eventually the humidifier will enter dry-out mode when all water is eliminated and then the humidifier stops running. This is good for storage between seasons or for cleaning.
You can clean the basin (the base of the humidifier) and replace the filter media. One reviewer suggests you could also control any mold buildup in the filter media with a chlorine bath in the sink. I haven't tried this. We ordered replacement media online, but are still using the first filter after a year. We run the humidifier in the summer (night only, bedroom placement) and in the winter (whole house humidifying.)
We live in a dry climate and find that the media lasts for many months. The cleaning is almost a non-issue as nothing accumulates on the surface except for some minor scaling at the water line inside the base.
Since you are only running a small fan when distributing humidity, energy use is quite low. One reviewer seemed confused about this. The electronics and the small LCD screen take almost no energy, like a handheld calculator.
Since the air in your environment is presumably dry and you are distributing humidity, there is some drop in temperature as the humidity is absorbed in the air (it's physics!), but you should only notice this if you stand directly above the humidifier with the fan on and the fan speed turned up.
+53points
56out of 59found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.

Works great

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humidifier seems a tad flimsy when you first take it out of the box, but once it's all together it's sturdy enough, easy to operate, and is actually doing its primary function of keeping the humidity up in a 1000sq ft + area just fine. We keep it set at 45 and it was two weeks before we needed to refill it. Would definitely recommend this humidifier -- don't bother with a bunch of small ones all over your house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too soon to really tell

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While i like it and it seems like a good product. it's really too early to tell. some things like this really should wait. i've only used it for a few days now that the weather has gotten colder. ask me in March.
The low speed is quiet and probably all you need. The 2 highest speeds are probably meant to just catch up quickly. don't try to relax while they are roaring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.6-gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 3,600 sq. ft.
from Montana
Gender:Female

Works Well

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product seems to be well-made. It does a good job of humidifying the air in our home. Our only complaint seems to be that it's a little awkward to roll from room to room where we have to cross over a threshold. Larger casters would be an improvement. Happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>