728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asth mA and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(150 reviews) 150
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product124 of 143reviews
Rating Breakdown 150 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(89)
4
(38)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product124 of 143reviews
Customer reviews for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Arrived broken

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this. Got it. Filled tank. Put tank into unit. Water starts spilling out all over the floor. Turns out, the bottom was cracked. Sent back. Awaiting refund. Highly disappointing.
-5points
1out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tulsa

1st One Didn't Work - but 2nd One Is Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The original one we bought had a defective fan and quit after running 2 hours. We bought this online and returned to local store. Had no problem exchanging. The 2nd one works flawlessly and after one day, our humidity level went from 30% to 55%. We have it in a large family room with 20 foot ceilings. Can't say we feel warmer but our eyes don't feel scratchy anymore and our noses aren't stopped up. Much more comfortable environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Dalton, MA

Well Humidified!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As a new homeowner, I am getting to know my new home every day. As the days grew colder, I began to notice that this house is VERY good at dry air. I didn't want a small room-size humidifier in every room so I decided on this one. It is efficient and quiet. It reads accurately and is quick to catch up should it go empty (through my negligence.) It holds a lot of water and is well designed to accommodate filling and maintenance. Everyone in the family has noticed the improvement in the air quality even in the reaches of the home farthest from the unit. It may go through filters more quickly then advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

High capacity unit

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit has self monitoring abilities for water and also will run self clean when empty. Runs about a week on normal filling. Shipping was slow from distribution vendor but received in great condition.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Marietta, GA

Outstanding

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up and get operational. The ultra-quiet mode is very quiet in contrast to when HIGH kicks in, you know it. The automatic function works perfectly, and has made a tremendous improvement in the air quality for two stories. It may not be the prettiest design, but it is extremely functional with very little required maintenance. Highly recommend, if short periods of loud fan noise doesn't bother you. In manual mode on ultra quiet it would be fine in a bedroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is quiet

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have had this for two months and have run it every night and all day on the weekends. It is easy to refill, and easy to move. So far so good!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Richmond, VA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Excellent humidifier

PostedJanuary 3, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of refilling
Easy setup
Quiet operation
Effective humidification
Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Charlotte NC area

humidifier

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replaced our old humidifier which was a different brand. This unit is much quieter-you can hardly tell it is operating when it's on and the old humidifier rattled when the fans came on. We don't have to fill this unit as often as we did the old one, so I assume this is more efficient outputting moist air. This unit is also smaller than our old one so it takes up less space. I have only had it about a week, but so far, I really like it much, much more than the older unit we had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Newark, IL

This humidifier is a good investment

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This humidifier is great. It is powerful and is easy to use. The fan on the high setting is pretty loud, but the unit seems to be as effective on the quiet setting which is barely perceivable. It is pretty easy to fill at the bathtub or kitchen faucets. The digital readout makes it easy to see and will give current humidity level. It has automatic shutoff if it runs dry which is a major plus over many humidifiers on the market. The one main downside is that there is no visual indicator for the water level. You need to pull the reservoir off to see. The other potential downside is the fill opening is on the side of the reservoir which could potentially leak if the gasket fails. (I have not experienced this problem, but the potential is there.) Replacement wick filters are not too expensive.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Norman, Ok
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

MoistAir

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've read more humidifier reviews than I ever, ever cared to. Then bought and tried two different units. Both failed quickly. It seems I could not find any humidifier that got consistently good reviews. Then I ran across this one. Good reviews. Bought one. I can say that so far, it has been fine doing what it's supposed to do and easy to operate and fill. Which is great. That's all I want. Of course it's louder on high, but I just turn it on and up before I go to bed. By the time I go to bed, the humidity is up good, so I turn it down to lowest, quietest setting and it will automatically cycle as needed to maintain the desired humidity level. If I have any problem with the digital display control, I just unplug, replug, and it resets and everything is fine. I'm sure it will keep up with a much larger area, but all I'm doing is a 12x20 bedroom with a 10' ceiling. Works great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tyrone, GA

Delivers as promised

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sexy, not complicated, but delivers as promised.
Fairly simple moving parts and next to no set-up. Pop it out of the box and you're good to go.
Would strongly recommend using bacteriostatic solution to keep the water & humdifier clean from day one. Follow the manufacturer's instructions for which type.
Easy to set levels (fan, humidity). Easy to refill.
Only possible drawback is that even on low it is still noticeable...roughly about the same as when your furnace blower kicks on to heat the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from IL

This is an excellent product

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This is the best humidifier. It's very easy to set up with clear, easy to follow instructions on it's use. The product does exactly what it says it will do. I like the fact that there are many levels of humidity you can choose from. Being on wheels is an added plus. It was packaged well and arrived quickly. I'm glad I bought it and would recommend it to anyone. I've had it for about 2 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from oklahoma city

Didn't last long.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There don't seem to be a lot of options when buying a large humidifier. Based on reviews, I bought this one. It had (note past tense) the following qualities: Lowest fan speed was bearable, can't imagine using the higher two because of the roaring noise. Quite ugly and flimsy, but easy to set up. Held enough water for a couple of days (bedroom with forced hot air is very dry) when tank was used to fill it twice as directed.
During it's second winter, its electronics failed. The LED panel flashed a couple of times before blanking out. According to the website, warranty periods have expired. I guess I am not supposed to say what competitor's model I formerly owned (begins with "K"). That one spoiled me by running for 10 years until major pieces started to fall off. Think I will get another of those if available...
To sum up, worked OK until its premature death.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Gaylord, MI

Good productivity, poor energy efficiency,cold air

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The productivity of the unit is very good. The humidity can increase at a steady level, unless the unit is competing with the furnace. I heat my home with a wood stove and furnace. If the wood stove is the only heat in the home, the humidifier is great and the humidity stays at a constant level. If the wood stove is not running, the unit and my furnace thermostat compete. Because this unit blows out very cold air, the room temperature is constantly kicking on the furnace. The furnace blows a very dry heat, so it's a viscious cycle between the two.
Also, my electric bill has doubled, or increased about 600 kw for the month. This is a significant increase, and the only change I've made with my electricity is the humidifier.
I called the customer support number for this product, and both the cold air and electric issue are normal with the units.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lowder than I expected

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Convenient setup. Recommends cleaning every 2 weeks. But it is noisier than I expected. Even at the lowest setting it is too loud for a TV room. Not sure why a fan has to be so loud.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Plano, Illinois

Great Digital Humidifier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery from Home Depot web site was only 5 days to my home. Assembly took no more than 4 minutes. Runs great and puts out plenty of humidity. Easy to fill water container. Great product so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>