728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Humidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.282 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product102 of 117reviews
Rating Breakdown 124 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(74)
4
(31)
3
(5)
2
(8)
1
(6)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product102 of 117reviews
Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Central Washington

Just set it and Go

PostedApril 21, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best humidifier I have owned. You just set what humidity level you want and let it go. It turns on and off as needed. We purchased this to cut down on the static electricity in our home and it has worked great. Also the filter doesn't clog like others I have owned>
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Pennsylvania

The Essick

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidistat is on the powercord just outside the unit. It displays 1% increments. Appears to be accurate.
The specs may lead you to believe the "tank" holds 3.9 gallons (14.76 liters). With my measurements the tank holds roughly more than 1.75 gallons and the base and tank together hold 3.9 gallons. So you have to fill the tank twice anyways.
The low fan setting is very quiet but the throughput is quite large. Fan setting 2 and 3 are loud. The airflow is very well designed IMO. There is substantial air movement without irritating breezes.
I noticed the effects of the humidification immediately. In my bedroom the humidity was 74% in 20 minutes which was enough to induce seasonal confusion.
Does not smell and is made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Marietta, GA

Outstanding

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and get operational. The ultra-quiet mode is very quiet in contrast to when HIGH kicks in, you know it. The automatic function works perfectly, and has made a tremendous improvement in the air quality for two stories. It may not be the prettiest design, but it is extremely functional with very little required maintenance. Highly recommend, if short periods of loud fan noise doesn't bother you. In manual mode on ultra quiet it would be fine in a bedroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Raleigh, North carolina

Outstanding Humidifier

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We read the reviews and decided to try it out. It is just amazing how efficient this has been. Because everything was initially sooooooooo dry in our home, we ran the humidifier at 45%, it got there within about 1 1/2 hours, then just maintained within a couple of %. After 2 days, we dropped it back down to 30% as we didn't want to worry about possible mold issues do to too much humidity. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Arrived broken

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this. Got it. Filled tank. Put tank into unit. Water starts spilling out all over the floor. Turns out, the bottom was cracked. Sent back. Awaiting refund. Highly disappointing.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New Lenox, Illinois

Great Humidifier

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two other of these humidifiers. Works great, nice features. Very easy to fill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Dayton, Ohio

Excellent Whole Home Humidifier!

PostedDecember 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for my mother who lives in an old, large Victorian home. She has a Carrier Ultra Furnace but the air is very dry. This model solved the problem with ease.
It is a bit loud for the first half day while building up the humidity level, but once there it automatically reduceses the fan to medium or low and even back to high to keep the humidity at the level you set. Very accurate and in the first night it put 9 gallons of moisture into the air set at 35 percent (outdoor temp 28).
Mom was always cold and had dry sinus and throat, by day two the furnace was turned from 71 to 69 degrees where it still is and the COMFORT level is really incredible.
Extremely Pleased with this product at the end of the first month of ownership.
Now I'm headed back to the store to buy one for my home.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Fredericksburg, VA

Does Okay

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Just purchased this unit today after researching other units online. While this wasn't my #1 choice it still seems to be a very good unit, and is working quite well, and my cats are no longer walking static electricity generators.
Pros:
Unit has a large capacity for water (3.9gal) between the tank and the base. Airflow seems more than adequate for the average home. Digital controls make settings quick and easy. Humidity readings seem accurate within 1%. The unit is NOT that ugly green color in the picture on the HD site, it's actually white.
Cons:
On all but the lowest fan setting the unit is quite loud, and the highest setting scares the heck out of my cats. While the unit does have an "auto" fan setting, most of the time it seems to use the highest fan speed, which is annoying, especially when it roars to life unexpectedly, such as late at night in a quiet house while you're reading a book. While the unit does hold 3.9 gallons of water, between the tank and the base, it takes two trips to the sink to fill it, since the first tankful only fills the base. Any time the unit loses power it resets to the factory default, which is 65% humidity. That humidity level is far too high for winter weather, and can cause mold and other problems if you're not home to reset it, such as if power goes out briefly while you're at work. I consider that to be a design flaw, and think it would have been very easy to retain the programmed settings in memory instead of reverting to such high defaults.
Notes:
As stated above, the unit is NOT pale green, as shown in the photos on the HD website. It's actually white. Also, the unit does not have a 12 gallon water capacity, as stated in the product information. It will ADD 12 gallons of water to the air, per day, but it actually only holds 3.9 gallons, which, if you do the math, means 3 refills a day at maximum.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

Absolutely Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rank the purchase of this humidifier in the top 5 electronic purchases I have ever made. Every review I read was excellent on it. So, I decided to purchase it.
Pros:
- Very simple machine. Basically 3 removable parts: housing, water tank, and filter. Everything is easy to get to for cleaning purposes.
- On low it runs extremely quite. Also, has high output on low setting. (High puts off a little less sound than a small window A/C unit).
- My home is roughly 3000sq ft. The humidity level went from 31% to 50% in a little over 2 hrs on high. Needless to say, we felt the results of the machine in about an hour.
- Unit is very compact (unlike the bulkier whole home humidifiers).
Cons:
- Trust me, I am a stickler for weighing pro's and con's on everything I purchase. It took me 1 month of online research before I decided to purchase this unit. However, I have no complaints.
So, in spirit of being non-bias - I will have to say that my con would be, I wish the product cost was lower. I am super frugal! (Paid $109.00 Home Depot)
Note: I have gone as far as to write a review twice in my life. Shop internet at least 5x per month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tyrone, GA

Delivers as promised

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Not sexy, not complicated, but delivers as promised.
Fairly simple moving parts and next to no set-up. Pop it out of the box and you're good to go.
Would strongly recommend using bacteriostatic solution to keep the water & humdifier clean from day one. Follow the manufacturer's instructions for which type.
Easy to set levels (fan, humidity). Easy to refill.
Only possible drawback is that even on low it is still noticeable...roughly about the same as when your furnace blower kicks on to heat the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Gaylord, MI

Good productivity, poor energy efficiency,cold air

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The productivity of the unit is very good. The humidity can increase at a steady level, unless the unit is competing with the furnace. I heat my home with a wood stove and furnace. If the wood stove is the only heat in the home, the humidifier is great and the humidity stays at a constant level. If the wood stove is not running, the unit and my furnace thermostat compete. Because this unit blows out very cold air, the room temperature is constantly kicking on the furnace. The furnace blows a very dry heat, so it's a viscious cycle between the two.
Also, my electric bill has doubled, or increased about 600 kw for the month. This is a significant increase, and the only change I've made with my electricity is the humidifier.
I called the customer support number for this product, and both the cold air and electric issue are normal with the units.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tulsa

1st One Didn't Work - but 2nd One Is Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original one we bought had a defective fan and quit after running 2 hours. We bought this online and returned to local store. Had no problem exchanging. The 2nd one works flawlessly and after one day, our humidity level went from 30% to 55%. We have it in a large family room with 20 foot ceilings. Can't say we feel warmer but our eyes don't feel scratchy anymore and our noses aren't stopped up. Much more comfortable environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Dalton, MA

Well Humidified!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a new homeowner, I am getting to know my new home every day. As the days grew colder, I began to notice that this house is VERY good at dry air. I didn't want a small room-size humidifier in every room so I decided on this one. It is efficient and quiet. It reads accurately and is quick to catch up should it go empty (through my negligence.) It holds a lot of water and is well designed to accommodate filling and maintenance. Everyone in the family has noticed the improvement in the air quality even in the reaches of the home farthest from the unit. It may go through filters more quickly then advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Charlotte NC area

humidifier

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced our old humidifier which was a different brand. This unit is much quieter-you can hardly tell it is operating when it's on and the old humidifier rattled when the fans came on. We don't have to fill this unit as often as we did the old one, so I assume this is more efficient outputting moist air. This unit is also smaller than our old one so it takes up less space. I have only had it about a week, but so far, I really like it much, much more than the older unit we had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New York, NY

MoistAIR Humidifier

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This humidifier was very easy to set up. From the box, we were up and running in about 15 minutes.
For some, the main problem with this unit is filling the tank. Our kitchen faucet has a hose so it was not a problem for us but the tank is large and will not fit under most faucets.
Another problem with this unit was the accuracy of the humidistat. It was off by 9% right out of the box and there is no way to calibrate it.
The low fan speed is quiet so it is good for use while sleeping. The higher fan speeds are loud.
The routine maintenance (every two weeks) really is no more than any other humidifier brand. Filling the tank is dependent on what your humidity requirements are. We have it at 50% (which is really 41% due to the calibration error right out of the box) which requires refilling every 2 days.
All in all we are satisfied with this humdifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Cary, NC

Good For The Money

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good product. Easy to assemble out of the box. I put on the wheels and filled it up with water. Very easy to operate with an on/off button; fan speed and humidity level buttons. Set and forget. The removable tank is easy to fill with the openeing in the side. This allows you to fill it from most any faucet type. When the base and tank are full the unit runs about 24 hours (depending on humidity settings). The unit is also compact taking up 1/3 the space of what it replaced. The only thing I would like to see is a fill check window to know how much water is in the system. Overall this is a great unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 7 >>