728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Humidifiers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.28 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(143 reviews) 143
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product118 of 136reviews
Rating Breakdown 143 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(85)
4
(36)
3
(6)
2
(9)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.3 out of 5
4.3 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product118 of 136reviews
Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New Lenox, Illinois

Great Humidifier

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Bought two other of these humidifiers. Works great, nice features. Very easy to fill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Marietta, GA

Outstanding

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Very easy to set up and get operational. The ultra-quiet mode is very quiet in contrast to when HIGH kicks in, you know it. The automatic function works perfectly, and has made a tremendous improvement in the air quality for two stories. It may not be the prettiest design, but it is extremely functional with very little required maintenance. Highly recommend, if short periods of loud fan noise doesn't bother you. In manual mode on ultra quiet it would be fine in a bedroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from South Central Washington

Excellent Value

PostedFebruary 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Purchased this unit Sept 2010 at the start of the heating season. It replaces 2 ultrasonic humidifiers and their horrible white dust. I love this unit. As many other reveiwers have said it is easy to set up, easy to fill and does a great job. It is an amazingly simple unit with very few moving parts - the fan and the float. An excellent design in my view. My home is approximately 1700 sq, I have the unit set at 45% humidity and need to refill the tank only once or twice a week. I'm using the low speed fan setting and never hear it running. I have it located next to the stairway to the second floor of my home because that is the main cold air return for the furnace which is on the second floor. This has been effective in facilitating distribution of humidified air throughout my home. After using this unit for over four months, I have absolutely no complains. One of the things I really love about this humidifier is the ease of cleaning. Because it uses a replaceable media that acts as a giant wick, scale does not accumulate in the reservoir - it all gets wicked up into the media. So when it gets too encrusted with scale you just replace the media. I started out cleaning the unit every two weeks as recommended but found that there was really nothing to clean in the reservoir. A quick wipe down, then reassemble, add water and your ready to go again. I'm still using the original medai (after 4 months) and it looks like I won't need to change it this season. After a few weeks of operation, the air going through the unit had that "wet dog" smell. It was easily cured by removing the media and soaking it in the kitchen sink for a few minutes in cool water with a generous slosh of clhlorine bleach added to kill the bacteria. After a thorough rinse in cold tap water I reinstalled the media, started it up and the nasty odor was gone. I have not had to do this again yet and it's not something to be dreaded because you can do it without emptying the reservoir or tank. Just remove the tank and the top cover and lift the media out. You'll want to have something to put media in so you don't drip all over the floor while transporting it to the sink (or wherever). Over all, it's a relatively inexpensive unit that does a great job. I've had many different humidifiers over 43 years of home ownership, some of them very expensive and none of them worked as well or required as little maintenance as this one. It's a "keeper"!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tulsa

1st One Didn't Work - but 2nd One Is Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The original one we bought had a defective fan and quit after running 2 hours. We bought this online and returned to local store. Had no problem exchanging. The 2nd one works flawlessly and after one day, our humidity level went from 30% to 55%. We have it in a large family room with 20 foot ceilings. Can't say we feel warmer but our eyes don't feel scratchy anymore and our noses aren't stopped up. Much more comfortable environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Dalton, MA

Well Humidified!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
As a new homeowner, I am getting to know my new home every day. As the days grew colder, I began to notice that this house is VERY good at dry air. I didn't want a small room-size humidifier in every room so I decided on this one. It is efficient and quiet. It reads accurately and is quick to catch up should it go empty (through my negligence.) It holds a lot of water and is well designed to accommodate filling and maintenance. Everyone in the family has noticed the improvement in the air quality even in the reaches of the home farthest from the unit. It may go through filters more quickly then advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Charlotte NC area

humidifier

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This replaced our old humidifier which was a different brand. This unit is much quieter-you can hardly tell it is operating when it's on and the old humidifier rattled when the fans came on. We don't have to fill this unit as often as we did the old one, so I assume this is more efficient outputting moist air. This unit is also smaller than our old one so it takes up less space. I have only had it about a week, but so far, I really like it much, much more than the older unit we had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tyrone, GA

Delivers as promised

PostedDecember 18, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Not sexy, not complicated, but delivers as promised.
Fairly simple moving parts and next to no set-up. Pop it out of the box and you're good to go.
Would strongly recommend using bacteriostatic solution to keep the water & humdifier clean from day one. Follow the manufacturer's instructions for which type.
Easy to set levels (fan, humidity). Easy to refill.
Only possible drawback is that even on low it is still noticeable...roughly about the same as when your furnace blower kicks on to heat the house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Plano, Illinois

Great Digital Humidifier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery from Home Depot web site was only 5 days to my home. Assembly took no more than 4 minutes. Runs great and puts out plenty of humidity. Easy to fill water container. Great product so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Newark, IL

This humidifier is a good investment

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This humidifier is great. It is powerful and is easy to use. The fan on the high setting is pretty loud, but the unit seems to be as effective on the quiet setting which is barely perceivable. It is pretty easy to fill at the bathtub or kitchen faucets. The digital readout makes it easy to see and will give current humidity level. It has automatic shutoff if it runs dry which is a major plus over many humidifiers on the market. The one main downside is that there is no visual indicator for the water level. You need to pull the reservoir off to see. The other potential downside is the fill opening is on the side of the reservoir which could potentially leak if the gasket fails. (I have not experienced this problem, but the potential is there.) Replacement wick filters are not too expensive.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New York, NY

MoistAIR Humidifier

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This humidifier was very easy to set up. From the box, we were up and running in about 15 minutes.
For some, the main problem with this unit is filling the tank. Our kitchen faucet has a hose so it was not a problem for us but the tank is large and will not fit under most faucets.
Another problem with this unit was the accuracy of the humidistat. It was off by 9% right out of the box and there is no way to calibrate it.
The low fan speed is quiet so it is good for use while sleeping. The higher fan speeds are loud.
The routine maintenance (every two weeks) really is no more than any other humidifier brand. Filling the tank is dependent on what your humidity requirements are. We have it at 50% (which is really 41% due to the calibration error right out of the box) which requires refilling every 2 days.
All in all we are satisfied with this humdifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

High capacity unit

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Unit has self monitoring abilities for water and also will run self clean when empty. Runs about a week on normal filling. Shipping was slow from distribution vendor but received in great condition.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too soon to really tell

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While i like it and it seems like a good product. it's really too early to tell. some things like this really should wait. i've only used it for a few days now that the weather has gotten colder. ask me in March.
The low speed is quiet and probably all you need. The 2 highest speeds are probably meant to just catch up quickly. don't try to relax while they are roaring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Madison, WI, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Functions Well, Looks Good too

PostedJanuary 18, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I debated the merits of this design and more traditional faux wood cabinet boxes. Now I am happy with this choice. The plastic case may be a weak point but plastic does not rust. A big clumsy dog or a curious kid might dislodge the water tank but I 've come to appreciate its elegent simplcity. This is quite easy to fill. This sits unobtrusively and, using the slow fan setting, is able to keep my 2,000 sq ft. house at 55%.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Works great

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humidifier seems a tad flimsy when you first take it out of the box, but once it's all together it's sturdy enough, easy to operate, and is actually doing its primary function of keeping the humidity up in a 1000sq ft + area just fine. We keep it set at 45 and it was two weeks before we needed to refill it. Would definitely recommend this humidifier -- don't bother with a bunch of small ones all over your house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Works as expected. No frills.

PostedJanuary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Simple humidifier. The price for these things is a little crazy for how simple they are, but it's all the brands, so I won't hold it against this model. There's a bobber in it that pushes on a switch, and that's how it knows if it needs refilled. On mine, the bobber had a hole in the bottom where it wasn't supposed to be, so it filled with water and stopped floating. That made it think it needed refilled. If that happens to you, just blow in the hole on top until all the water is out, then put a piece of tape over the top hole (the one that is supposed to be there) and no air can get out. No air out, no water in. Problem solved.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Central Wyoming
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Outstanding product

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in the high desert of Wyoming and have very low humidity. Our house is 3,800 sq. ft. (upper level and finished basement) and has a closed boiler system. I bought this unit based on reviews here to replace a smaller unit that quit working and don't know when I've been so happy with a product. We've had the unit a couple of months.
It is very easy to fill by laying horizontally on the center divider in the kitchen sink and swinging the spout over the opening. The tank's carry handle makes it easy to transport to the unit.
We ran the unit on high when we first got it to get the humidity up. Now, I refill twice per day and the unit keeps the humidity at 35-40% on the low setting which is very quiet.
+13points
13out of 13found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of seeing what your humidity is in the house.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
No problems after a couple of weeks. Easy to fill.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>