728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asth mA and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.275 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(149 reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
87%of customersrecommend this product123 of 142reviews
Rating Breakdown 149 reviews
4.3 out of 5
5
(88)
4
(38)
3
(6)
2
(10)
1
(7)
Quality 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
87%of customersrecommend this product123 of 142reviews
Customer reviews for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Raleigh, North carolina

Outstanding Humidifier

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We read the reviews and decided to try it out. It is just amazing how efficient this has been. Because everything was initially sooooooooo dry in our home, we ran the humidifier at 45%, it got there within about 1 1/2 hours, then just maintained within a couple of %. After 2 days, we dropped it back down to 30% as we didn't want to worry about possible mold issues do to too much humidity. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

Absolutely Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I rank the purchase of this humidifier in the top 5 electronic purchases I have ever made. Every review I read was excellent on it. So, I decided to purchase it.
Pros:
- Very simple machine. Basically 3 removable parts: housing, water tank, and filter. Everything is easy to get to for cleaning purposes.
- On low it runs extremely quite. Also, has high output on low setting. (High puts off a little less sound than a small window A/C unit).
- My home is roughly 3000sq ft. The humidity level went from 31% to 50% in a little over 2 hrs on high. Needless to say, we felt the results of the machine in about an hour.
- Unit is very compact (unlike the bulkier whole home humidifiers).
Cons:
- Trust me, I am a stickler for weighing pro's and con's on everything I purchase. It took me 1 month of online research before I decided to purchase this unit. However, I have no complaints.
So, in spirit of being non-bias - I will have to say that my con would be, I wish the product cost was lower. I am super frugal! (Paid $109.00 Home Depot)
Note: I have gone as far as to write a review twice in my life. Shop internet at least 5x per month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Gaylord, MI

Good productivity, poor energy efficiency,cold air

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The productivity of the unit is very good. The humidity can increase at a steady level, unless the unit is competing with the furnace. I heat my home with a wood stove and furnace. If the wood stove is the only heat in the home, the humidifier is great and the humidity stays at a constant level. If the wood stove is not running, the unit and my furnace thermostat compete. Because this unit blows out very cold air, the room temperature is constantly kicking on the furnace. The furnace blows a very dry heat, so it's a viscious cycle between the two.
Also, my electric bill has doubled, or increased about 600 kw for the month. This is a significant increase, and the only change I've made with my electricity is the humidifier.
I called the customer support number for this product, and both the cold air and electric issue are normal with the units.
-4points
1out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Plano, Illinois

Great Digital Humidifier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Delivery from Home Depot web site was only 5 days to my home. Assembly took no more than 4 minutes. Runs great and puts out plenty of humidity. Easy to fill water container. Great product so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Works great

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This humidifier seems a tad flimsy when you first take it out of the box, but once it's all together it's sturdy enough, easy to operate, and is actually doing its primary function of keeping the humidity up in a 1000sq ft + area just fine. We keep it set at 45 and it was two weeks before we needed to refill it. Would definitely recommend this humidifier -- don't bother with a bunch of small ones all over your house.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

too soon to really tell

PostedDecember 13, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
While i like it and it seems like a good product. it's really too early to tell. some things like this really should wait. i've only used it for a few days now that the weather has gotten colder. ask me in March.
The low speed is quiet and probably all you need. The 2 highest speeds are probably meant to just catch up quickly. don't try to relax while they are roaring.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Montana
Gender:Female

Works Well

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
This product seems to be well-made. It does a good job of humidifying the air in our home. Our only complaint seems to be that it's a little awkward to roll from room to room where we have to cross over a threshold. Larger casters would be an improvement. Happy with this purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Alburgh, VT, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

It works very good

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
It works very good. It is keeping the humidity around 45. It is humidifying a large area. I fill up the tank 4 times a day. Would like a easier tank to fill. Over all this is a very good buy and would get another one if needed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Lowder than I expected

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Convenient setup. Recommends cleaning every 2 weeks. But it is noisier than I expected. Even at the lowest setting it is too loud for a TV room. Not sure why a fan has to be so loud.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Fitchburg, MA, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Quiet and well-designed

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I've been running this unit in my 1,500 sq ft house for about a month now. We haven't had one issue with it. The lowest fan speed is quiet enough where you don't need to adjust your TV volume. The wheels are a great feature, as well as the large capacity.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from St Louis, Missouri.. Central West End near Forest Park
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

BUY THIS.. YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED

PostedJanuary 5, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I searched all the reviews on all the evaporative humidifiers and was getting very disolusioned as to which to buy. Im GLAD I threw the dart and picked this one. It is quiet enough. It WORKS which is very important. I had an average 15-18% humidity in my high rise condo in St. Louis MO. NOW i have an average 35-40%. It is EASY to refill. YES it does make a gurgling sound once in awhile when the level of the tank tells the reservoir to add water... so what.. It's music to my ears knowing that it's working.
I would have given it a 5star review, but it is a little clumsy and a bit of a pain to put the main housing back onto the basin tank part when cleaning it. Cleaning is a pain but you have to do that with them all to keep mold and bacteria down.
But I still LOVE it. It works great!! you won';t be disappointed.
Pros: Durable, Lots of Features, Easy to Use, Looks Great, Stylish, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Works Excellent

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
The humidifier is easy to use and does an excellent job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from ny
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

works great filter wicks horrible

PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
We have had this for 2 years and when the filters work, the machine works great and really stabilizes the humidity. However, the filter are expensive and typically only last 3 weeks at best. We use conditioners, never let it run dry and every other trick in the book but 50$ + in filter every year is getting crazy. Looking for a better system. Sorry to see this go.
Pros: Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean
Cons: filters are terrible
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Kansas City Kansas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worked good for a year

PostedNovember 25, 2014
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I bought one of these units based on the positive reviews.
The first year we had it, it worked great and as rated. The second year, I cleaned the unit and put in a new filter/wick. All was well or so I thought. After about 30 to 45 days, it was not working correctly. I found the filter was hard and not wicking water. Back to Home Depot to get another filter at $20+. Worked well for about 3 weeks, and filter was bad again! Got another filter at $20+ and put it in. I replaced 4 filters last year, so the unit got tossed. Nothing has changed in our water supply, so I am not sure what was going on, but something was amiss. Along with the filter problem, the unit did sound like an airplane taking off. I would never buy this type of humidifier again.
Cons: Not Durable, eats filters, very noisy
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

very nice!

PostedDecember 12, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
This works very well. We've had it for a month. It is quiet on 1&2, louder on 3&4. But 2 keeps our house plenty humid. we have a wood stove and had a hard time finding a humidifier that would keep up with how dry it is. This has done very well. Keeps the humidity 30%. We could have it higher if wanted to. Love the lock feature, my 2 year old pushes the buttons so its nice I can lock them. Very please!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Bartlett, IL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

An excellent purchase!

PostedDecember 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
We've had this humidifier now for a little over 3 weeks and it's been wonderful! No dust from it nice quiet operation. The humidity sensor on the cord regulates the humidity in the rooms. My house plants were drying up before the humidifier, now they are flourishing. Our skin and sinuses are not dried up like before. Very happy with my purchase.
Pros: Easy to Clean, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Easy to Install, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Mankato, MN
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

humidifyer

PostedDecember 30, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Works great. The only problem we had was it kept shutting itself off. After a call to tech. support, found out a tab on the bottom had to be removed. No mention of this in the manual.
Pros: Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

fan speed button doesn't work

PostedFebruary 13, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
after 2 months the fan speed button now doesn't respond. it runs at low speed only. but for two months the humidifier worked perfectly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.9 Gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5  ... 8 >>