728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(111 reviews) 111
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product92 of 104reviews
Rating Breakdown 111 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(68)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product92 of 104reviews
Customer reviews for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Pennsylvania

The Essick

PostedOctober 20, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidistat is on the powercord just outside the unit. It displays 1% increments. Appears to be accurate.
The specs may lead you to believe the "tank" holds 3.9 gallons (14.76 liters). With my measurements the tank holds roughly more than 1.75 gallons and the base and tank together hold 3.9 gallons. So you have to fill the tank twice anyways.
The low fan setting is very quiet but the throughput is quite large. Fan setting 2 and 3 are loud. The airflow is very well designed IMO. There is substantial air movement without irritating breezes.
I noticed the effects of the humidification immediately. In my bedroom the humidity was 74% in 20 minutes which was enough to induce seasonal confusion.
Does not smell and is made in the USA.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Nebraska

Humidifier

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice lightweight humidifier with wheels for easy mobility. Be aware the thank only holds 3.9 gallons of water and pumps out humidity at a rate of 12 gallons per day. However, I've only had to fill the tank twice per day with a setting of 45% humidity in a very dry home. The only complaint is the loudness of the fan at full speed. I turn down the speed to low when I'm in the same room as the humidifier. Otherwise, the "volume" is not horrible, just a little louder than I like. The tank is very easy to fill and the humidifier has worked great in our home (1500 sq. ft., one a half story). I would definitely purchase this humidifier again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Newark, IL

This humidifier is a good investment

PostedFebruary 20, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This humidifier is great. It is powerful and is easy to use. The fan on the high setting is pretty loud, but the unit seems to be as effective on the quiet setting which is barely perceivable. It is pretty easy to fill at the bathtub or kitchen faucets. The digital readout makes it easy to see and will give current humidity level. It has automatic shutoff if it runs dry which is a major plus over many humidifiers on the market. The one main downside is that there is no visual indicator for the water level. You need to pull the reservoir off to see. The other potential downside is the fill opening is on the side of the reservoir which could potentially leak if the gasket fails. (I have not experienced this problem, but the potential is there.) Replacement wick filters are not too expensive.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Tulsa

1st One Didn't Work - but 2nd One Is Great

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The original one we bought had a defective fan and quit after running 2 hours. We bought this online and returned to local store. Had no problem exchanging. The 2nd one works flawlessly and after one day, our humidity level went from 30% to 55%. We have it in a large family room with 20 foot ceilings. Can't say we feel warmer but our eyes don't feel scratchy anymore and our noses aren't stopped up. Much more comfortable environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

Absolutely Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rank the purchase of this humidifier in the top 5 electronic purchases I have ever made. Every review I read was excellent on it. So, I decided to purchase it.
Pros:
- Very simple machine. Basically 3 removable parts: housing, water tank, and filter. Everything is easy to get to for cleaning purposes.
- On low it runs extremely quite. Also, has high output on low setting. (High puts off a little less sound than a small window A/C unit).
- My home is roughly 3000sq ft. The humidity level went from 31% to 50% in a little over 2 hrs on high. Needless to say, we felt the results of the machine in about an hour.
- Unit is very compact (unlike the bulkier whole home humidifiers).
Cons:
- Trust me, I am a stickler for weighing pro's and con's on everything I purchase. It took me 1 month of online research before I decided to purchase this unit. However, I have no complaints.
So, in spirit of being non-bias - I will have to say that my con would be, I wish the product cost was lower. I am super frugal! (Paid $109.00 Home Depot)
Note: I have gone as far as to write a review twice in my life. Shop internet at least 5x per month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Dalton, MA

Well Humidified!

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
As a new homeowner, I am getting to know my new home every day. As the days grew colder, I began to notice that this house is VERY good at dry air. I didn't want a small room-size humidifier in every room so I decided on this one. It is efficient and quiet. It reads accurately and is quick to catch up should it go empty (through my negligence.) It holds a lot of water and is well designed to accommodate filling and maintenance. Everyone in the family has noticed the improvement in the air quality even in the reaches of the home farthest from the unit. It may go through filters more quickly then advertised.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Raleigh, North carolina

Outstanding Humidifier

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We read the reviews and decided to try it out. It is just amazing how efficient this has been. Because everything was initially sooooooooo dry in our home, we ran the humidifier at 45%, it got there within about 1 1/2 hours, then just maintained within a couple of %. After 2 days, we dropped it back down to 30% as we didn't want to worry about possible mold issues do to too much humidity. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Arrived broken

PostedJanuary 22, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Ordered this. Got it. Filled tank. Put tank into unit. Water starts spilling out all over the floor. Turns out, the bottom was cracked. Sent back. Awaiting refund. Highly disappointing.
-5points
0out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from oklahoma city

Didn't last long.

PostedDecember 19, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
There don't seem to be a lot of options when buying a large humidifier. Based on reviews, I bought this one. It had (note past tense) the following qualities: Lowest fan speed was bearable, can't imagine using the higher two because of the roaring noise. Quite ugly and flimsy, but easy to set up. Held enough water for a couple of days (bedroom with forced hot air is very dry) when tank was used to fill it twice as directed.
During it's second winter, its electronics failed. The LED panel flashed a couple of times before blanking out. According to the website, warranty periods have expired. I guess I am not supposed to say what competitor's model I formerly owned (begins with "K"). That one spoiled me by running for 10 years until major pieces started to fall off. Think I will get another of those if available...
To sum up, worked OK until its premature death.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

High capacity unit

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit has self monitoring abilities for water and also will run self clean when empty. Runs about a week on normal filling. Shipping was slow from distribution vendor but received in great condition.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Bellaire, Michigan
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This humidifier is working great so far

PostedJanuary 17, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Haven't had it that long but i'm very pleased so far with the lack of noise and size of the holding tank. I would recommend this unit
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very ease to assemble and good features.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this humidifier because it had a good test rating by Consumer Reports. Although the humidifier is noise on high fan setting. I run the fan on low setting and it does a good. So far very pleased with the humidifier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Santa Rosa, CA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

a little loud but good

PostedFebruary 7, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is an updated review. I have had 2 weeks. It is a little loud on even lowest setting so it would be borderline in a TV room and its too loud on high. So I put it in a less used room leave it on low and it works fine. It is easy to fill and the hydrometer is accurate and turns it on and off as needed.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New York, NY

MoistAIR Humidifier

PostedJanuary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This humidifier was very easy to set up. From the box, we were up and running in about 15 minutes.
For some, the main problem with this unit is filling the tank. Our kitchen faucet has a hose so it was not a problem for us but the tank is large and will not fit under most faucets.
Another problem with this unit was the accuracy of the humidistat. It was off by 9% right out of the box and there is no way to calibrate it.
The low fan speed is quiet so it is good for use while sleeping. The higher fan speeds are loud.
The routine maintenance (every two weeks) really is no more than any other humidifier brand. Filling the tank is dependent on what your humidity requirements are. We have it at 50% (which is really 41% due to the calibration error right out of the box) which requires refilling every 2 days.
All in all we are satisfied with this humdifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Charlotte NC area

humidifier

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced our old humidifier which was a different brand. This unit is much quieter-you can hardly tell it is operating when it's on and the old humidifier rattled when the fans came on. We don't have to fill this unit as often as we did the old one, so I assume this is more efficient outputting moist air. This unit is also smaller than our old one so it takes up less space. I have only had it about a week, but so far, I really like it much, much more than the older unit we had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to Assemble

PostedApril 17, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Operates as advertised. Some parts seem a bit delicate so be gentle when removing and replacing the water bottle. Relatively quiet on low speed. Bottle gurgles occasionally as a large drinking water bottle in a dispenser when the internal tank is refilled. (Not a complaint, just an observation). Can definitely feel the increased humidity when the unit is operating. Used in conjunction with ceiling fans distributes the humidity through out the house rapidly. Used in a single story 1790 sq ft home in Las Vegas, NV. Not yet used in the summer heat with the air conditioner operating so cannot comment on operation under that condition.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>