728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Our humidifiers work by adding invisible moisture to your environment by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Maintaining proper humidity levels between 30-50% in your home/office/workplace has been scientifically proven to help prevent the flu and allergies. Proper humidity hydrates your skin, alleviates dry eyes, scratchy throats and can reduce snoring. With a doctor's approval increased humidity can reduce asthma and allergy symptoms. It also protects fine furniture, musical instruments, collectibles and wood floors. Proper humidity makes you feel warmer allowing you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Gaylord, MI

Good productivity, poor energy efficiency,cold air

PostedJanuary 11, 2011
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The productivity of the unit is very good. The humidity can increase at a steady level, unless the unit is competing with the furnace. I heat my home with a wood stove and furnace. If the wood stove is the only heat in the home, the humidifier is great and the humidity stays at a constant level. If the wood stove is not running, the unit and my furnace thermostat compete. Because this unit blows out very cold air, the room temperature is constantly kicking on the furnace. The furnace blows a very dry heat, so it's a viscious cycle between the two.
Also, my electric bill has doubled, or increased about 600 kw for the month. This is a significant increase, and the only change I've made with my electricity is the humidifier.
I called the customer support number for this product, and both the cold air and electric issue are normal with the units.
-3points
1out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

works exactly as advertised; no wonder it was a Consumer Report best buy

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy set up; easy to maintain; makes our house much more comfortable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is quiet

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this for two months and have run it every night and all day on the weekends. It is easy to refill, and easy to move. So far so good!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Iowa, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Very ease to assemble and good features.

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I bought this humidifier because it had a good test rating by Consumer Reports. Although the humidifier is noise on high fan setting. I run the fan on low setting and it does a good. So far very pleased with the humidifier.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Rainier, OR, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

OK

PostedJanuary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product is easy to use and maintain,and works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Easy to operate, awkward to fill

PostedJanuary 31, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This humidifer appears to be efficient in raising the humidity in my house. I placed it in the center of the house near a hallway so the humidity could be shared thorought the house. The product description is misleading since the product only holds two tankfuls of water (7.8) gallons of water and not 12 gallons. The water tank is somewhat awkward to fill.
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from RI
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Excellent product

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had this humidifier for 2 months and have had no problems. After 2 cabinate type "Rube Goldberg" designs, this is excellent in design, construction, ease of filling and ease of changing filter/wick. The 2 high speed fan speeds are somewhat noisy but the low speed is all I use and sufficient. Small in comparison to previous units. Highly recomend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Olympia, WA, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Worth the Price

PostedMarch 13, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this product for about a month now and I am quite happy with the product and what it does in my home. I believe that by raising the humidity level in my home, the gas-fired hot air heating system is operating more efficiently. At least it FEELS that way (which is what I was after in purchasing this humidifier).
Set up was a snap and problem-free. Filling the humidifier is simple. I have learned not to wait for the letter F (for fill) to show up. Instead, I simply lift up on the removable water canister. If there is resistance, the canister still contains water and is not ready to be filled. If there is no resistance, simply remove the canister and fill it at the kitchen sink. In my house, it is necessary to fill the canister three times per day. Can you imagine how many times a day I would have to re-fill one of those little desktop units to get the same effecft?
Other reviewers on this site have mentioned water dripping from the canister when adding water. That may be true, but it is to be expected and quite normal. The bottom of the refillable canister sits in water if the lower water tank is realtively full at the time the refillable canister is removed. The result can be a drip or two falling from the bottom of the refillable canister when you pick it up. There are two fixes for this. One: simply place your had under the refillable canister when you pick it up and take it to the sink for refilling. Two: wait for the letter "F" to show up on the indicator light. That means the bottom tank is empty and there is nearly zero chance that water would drip from the bottom of the refillable tank.
It is difficult to accurately measure how much money I am saving on heat, but I have been able to feel comfortable at lower temperature settings than I could before getting this humidifier. I take that as a good sign that I will save money over the long run. I don't really care. My goal was to feel warmer and this unit accomplished that.
I would be happy to recommend this product to anyone seeking more comfort at lower indoor temperatures.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Seattle, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good quality for the money

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
The build quality is decent, considering the price. When you remove to top, the sides seem flimsy, but while it's together, it's sturdy enough. The fan looks like it is off center. It visibly wobbles while it's spinning. It's still nice and quiet in the low fan setting.
My only real disappointment is that too much inside humidity can actually cause damage to your house. Before purchasing the unit I had a humidity meter that indicated 20% to 30% humidity. My skin is dry and static electricity is a problem, so I thought a humidifier would solve this. What I didn't realize is that with our outside temperatures, these inside humidity levels are about maximum. If they were any higher, condensation would form in the walls which can lead to mold or fungus or even physical damage to the house. Fortunately the manual warns of this. I do get some use out of it on warmer days but unfortunately it can't solve the problems I bought it for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Seaford, DE
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works Well after an Initial False Start

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've been really pleased with the performance of this unit. I especially like the humidistat function that makes it come on only when additional humidity is required. My house is about 2,800 ft sq, with about half of that in the living/dining/kitchen/great room where we have the humidifier. It has been keeping that area noticably more comfortable than it used to be. I've been using the unit about a month now, with no problems. But the outdoor weather hasn't been really cold yet. That's when the true test will occur.
We did have a false start. The first unit I brought home simply did not work. Push the "On" button and nothing happens. I took it back to Home Depot and they replaced it with a unit that they allowed me to test before leaving the store. It worked fine in the store, and now works fine at home.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from North of Boston, MA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female

Very happy with this unit

PostedFebruary 2, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
I read all the reviews before purchasing and was torn. People either loved it or hated it which didn't really help but I took a chance figuring I could always return it since HD is close by.
True, the outside case seems flimsy but will stand up just fine with what it needs to do. The only thing I needed to do was put on the wheels, the rest of it is fully assembled.
I live in a 1300 sq ft apartment that was extremely dry and affecting the health of family and our cat. I placed the unit in our living room and within a few hours of running this unit we all noticed a difference in how we felt and after a full 24 hours we were in good shape again.
The unit requires a double-fill. You fill the water container which empties into the bottom. Then you fill it again which acts as the backup. Our unit can run 2-3 days on the whisper setting which is nice and the water container is not too heavy for me to deal with.
When I first turned it on I put the fan on the 2nd setting to get the humidity from 20% to 35%. Directions said 30-40% would be comfortable so I went for the middle. (I experimented with 40% but it was too much for our apartment)
Once we reached 35% I turned the fan to the whisper setting to maintain. Our whole apartment benefits from it and sleeping is wonderful.
My daughter lives in the same apartment building and has noticed the comfort change when visiting and has decided to buy one for her unit tool.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Works Excellent

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The humidifier is easy to use and does an excellent job.
Pros: Durable, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from New Lenox, Illinois

Great Humidifier

PostedMarch 25, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Bought two other of these humidifiers. Works great, nice features. Very easy to fill.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Schenectady New York

mosit air

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
am very pleased with the humidifier. First good night sleep I have had in a long time. Just the right amount of mostiure and a quiet efficent running humidifier.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Charlotte NC area

humidifier

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This replaced our old humidifier which was a different brand. This unit is much quieter-you can hardly tell it is operating when it's on and the old humidifier rattled when the fans came on. We don't have to fill this unit as often as we did the old one, so I assume this is more efficient outputting moist air. This unit is also smaller than our old one so it takes up less space. I have only had it about a week, but so far, I really like it much, much more than the older unit we had.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Nebraska

Humidifier

PostedFebruary 8, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is a nice lightweight humidifier with wheels for easy mobility. Be aware the thank only holds 3.9 gallons of water and pumps out humidity at a rate of 12 gallons per day. However, I've only had to fill the tank twice per day with a setting of 45% humidity in a very dry home. The only complaint is the loudness of the fan at full speed. I turn down the speed to low when I'm in the same room as the humidifier. Otherwise, the "volume" is not horrible, just a little louder than I like. The tank is very easy to fill and the humidifier has worked great in our home (1500 sq. ft., one a half story). I would definitely purchase this humidifier again.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

High capacity unit

PostedSeptember 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Unit has self monitoring abilities for water and also will run self clean when empty. Runs about a week on normal filling. Shipping was slow from distribution vendor but received in great condition.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Ease of seeing what your humidity is in the house.

PostedDecember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
No problems after a couple of weeks. Easy to fill.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

Does the job

PostedDecember 28, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
The first one I received was defective. I returned it for replacement. The second one does the job. It is quiet enough when operated at its lowest speed, and at that speed provides a full 4 gallons of moisture in 24 hours in low humidity conditions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for AIRCARE 3.9 gal. Evaporative Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
from Oklahoma City, OK, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not as Good as I Thought.

PostedJanuary 15, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I read all of these reviews and that's why I purchased this model. It doesn't seem to be as good as I thought.
We have dry winters in Oklahoma and I wanted to alleviate the sinus infections and static everywhere.
I have a 2100 sqft home with 2 air returns, the unit supports 2900sqft. The unit sits in a hallway with one of the air returns. I keep it around 40% humidity. I leave it on the lowest speed because anything higher it is just too loud. Which I thought it wouldn't be that loud after reading some reviews. Also I still have lots of static even with higher than suggested humidity settings. I guess to achieve the settings I need I have to put it on a higher fan setting but the noise is too much.
So it may work with higher fan speeds but I think I may bite the bullet and put in a central humidifier which will cost about $800+.
Hope this reviews help.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>