728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Home>

Customer reviews for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.

The MoistAIR 3.9-Gal. Digital Contemporary Humidifier features a 3-speed motor with high, medium and quiet settings. It adds invisible moisture to your home by moving dry air through a saturated wick. Proper humidity in your home is scientifically proven to help prevent flu and allergies. It reduces static electricity, relieves dry skin and scratchy throat, and protects fine furniture and wood floors. It allows you to lower your thermostat setting which will save money.
Overall rating:
4.321 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Rating Breakdown 109 reviews
4.3 out of 5.0
5
(66)
4
(27)
3
(5)
2
(7)
1
(4)
Quality 
4.1 out of 5.0
4.1 out of 5
Value 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
88%of customersrecommend this product90 of 102reviews
Customer reviews for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Review 1 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
James
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine, but has limitations

PostedDecember 16, 2012
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am a little disappointed in the 1.9 gallon capacity of the tank. A larger tank would have prevented frequent refilling. I believe the filter should have been a complete circle rather than just a rectangle. I had to sew the ends together so that, when the fan sucks air into the humidifier, it will suck it through the mesh rather than the hole between the two ends. In an apparent packing problem, an owners manual was not included, so I had to go online to get one. Other than the above, the humidifier works fine.
Pros: Performs Well, Looks Great
Cons: No Instructions
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
fish
from Pittsburgh
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Product did everything it was supposed to do I have a 2800 square foot Home Worked better than the 1 I had on the furnace
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install, Powerful, High Quality
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
1980

Does the job

PostedJanuary 22, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this because the house was full of static charge. While the machine needs refilled often, it has done a great job getting rid of the static.
Pros: Performs Well, Easy to Install
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
WestbyGodVirginian
from West Virginia, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple, works good

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
We purchased this unit two years ago for our gas heated 2,000sqf home. This unit keeps our home much more comfortable when the heat is running, our humidity is between 20-30% when not using the unit, with the unit we can go 55% plus. The moist air allows us to set the thermostat lower than we used to and remain comfortable. Thats why I give it excellent in energy efficiency. The unit is simple and easy to use, the settings and adjustments have always worked very good for us, and the humidity reading is accurate (checked by a backup humidistat I have) Only complaints I have is that on the higher settings it is a little loud, and we go through two filters per winter. But those are manageable compared to the value.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well
Cons: Noisy
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 5 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Wazi
from Golden Valley, AZ 86413, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Essick Moist Humidier

PostedNovember 13, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We are extremely happy with this product and it's performance.
Pros: Energy Efficient, Performs Well, Easy to Install, Looks Great, Durable, Easy to Clean, Good Size & Fit, High Quality, Eco-Friendly, Nice Design
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Breathless
from Lakewood, NJ
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Female
Home Improvement Profile:Other

CHECK BOX BEFORE LEAVING STORE

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I needed this humidifier desperately after being hospitalized with asthma. I researched and found one in stock at Home Depot. I ordered online with in-store pickup. I should not have purchased the unit since I saw that the box was retaped. There were no instruction manual in the box, it looked like the filter had been used, and none of the parts were nestled securely in the foam forms. I returned it immediately and told the employee not to sell this item again.
Cons: Quality, No Instructions
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Mercury91
from Hampstead, NH, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Awesome!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have a huge living room kitchen combo that was always at 30% Humidity during the winter even worse when the fireplace is going... Now? A Comfy 50% and the House feels amazing
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 8 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
NickT
from Vienna, VA, USA

Great humidifier for the price

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am using this humidifier in the second story of my house. I keep it in the hallway underneath the return vent. It does a good job of increasing the humidity in the three bedrooms. The only downside is that you have to fill up the removable tank three times.
Pros: Performs Well, Good Size & Fit, good value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Roomwithaview
from Benson, AZ

MoistAIR does just that!

PostedDecember 6, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in Southern Az and purchased this humidifier to put in the room with our guitars and other instruments. Altho it's a little noisy on all settings.....more so on the 2 higher settings.....it seems to be doing an excellent job. We've been using it steadily for well over a week and the difference in the air is very noticable. Easy to run and easy to fill. Highly recommend it, especially for the price!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
bradB
from Marietta, GA

Outstanding

PostedDecember 18, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Very easy to set up and get operational. The ultra-quiet mode is very quiet in contrast to when HIGH kicks in, you know it. The automatic function works perfectly, and has made a tremendous improvement in the air quality for two stories. It may not be the prettiest design, but it is extremely functional with very little required maintenance. Highly recommend, if short periods of loud fan noise doesn't bother you. In manual mode on ultra quiet it would be fine in a bedroom.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
BigBad
from Raleigh, North carolina

Outstanding Humidifier

PostedJanuary 11, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We read the reviews and decided to try it out. It is just amazing how efficient this has been. Because everything was initially sooooooooo dry in our home, we ran the humidifier at 45%, it got there within about 1 1/2 hours, then just maintained within a couple of %. After 2 days, we dropped it back down to 30% as we didn't want to worry about possible mold issues do to too much humidity. We would HIGHLY recommend this unit.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
4giants
from North Carolina

Absolutely Awesome

PostedDecember 16, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I rank the purchase of this humidifier in the top 5 electronic purchases I have ever made. Every review I read was excellent on it. So, I decided to purchase it.
Pros:
- Very simple machine. Basically 3 removable parts: housing, water tank, and filter. Everything is easy to get to for cleaning purposes.
- On low it runs extremely quite. Also, has high output on low setting. (High puts off a little less sound than a small window A/C unit).
- My home is roughly 3000sq ft. The humidity level went from 31% to 50% in a little over 2 hrs on high. Needless to say, we felt the results of the machine in about an hour.
- Unit is very compact (unlike the bulkier whole home humidifiers).
Cons:
- Trust me, I am a stickler for weighing pro's and con's on everything I purchase. It took me 1 month of online research before I decided to purchase this unit. However, I have no complaints.
So, in spirit of being non-bias - I will have to say that my con would be, I wish the product cost was lower. I am super frugal! (Paid $109.00 Home Depot)
Note: I have gone as far as to write a review twice in my life. Shop internet at least 5x per month.
+10points
10out of 10found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
McNish
from Orlando, FL

Humidifer Rescue

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Our home is 2400 sf and gets a dry as a desert. This year we purchased this humidifer expecting it to accomplish marginal results. In just two days of continuous running and 20+ gals of water it reached a level and shut off. It does not need to run any faster than the middle speed which is very quiet. I would recomend this humidiifier to everyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
OwnerOfHome
from North Carolina

4+ Very Good

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Some reviews were stating how it is a 3.9 gallon holding capacity and how the unit is able to DISPENSE up to 10+ galllons/day and they were worried they would have to fill it 3x's per day....well unless you live in the Arctic Circle, your air will not require that much moisture.
This unit was up and running in seconds and had my NC home to 40% humidity in under 20 mins. Be sure to check online for proper humidity settings for your region/temp.
I also only have to fill it up once every couple of days which is quite a relief. I was filling my last one twice/day.
Overall a very good product and would be 5 stars but I save those for SUPER SPECIAL items that ROCK MY WORLD!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 15 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
cattracks31
from Cary, NC

Good For The Money

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This is a good product. Easy to assemble out of the box. I put on the wheels and filled it up with water. Very easy to operate with an on/off button; fan speed and humidity level buttons. Set and forget. The removable tank is easy to fill with the openeing in the side. This allows you to fill it from most any faucet type. When the base and tank are full the unit runs about 24 hours (depending on humidity settings). The unit is also compact taking up 1/3 the space of what it replaced. The only thing I would like to see is a fill check window to know how much water is in the system. Overall this is a great unit for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
1jim1
from Plano, Illinois

Great Digital Humidifier

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Delivery from Home Depot web site was only 5 days to my home. Assembly took no more than 4 minutes. Runs great and puts out plenty of humidity. Easy to fill water container. Great product so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
daffy2

works exactly as advertised; no wonder it was a Consumer Report best buy

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Easy set up; easy to maintain; makes our house much more comfortable
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Mchenry
from McHenry, IL, USA
Age Range:25 to 34
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

This product is quiet

PostedOctober 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have had this for two months and have run it every night and all day on the weekends. It is easy to refill, and easy to move. So far so good!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
9c783nk
from IL

This is an excellent product

PostedNovember 22, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This is the best humidifier. It's very easy to set up with clear, easy to follow instructions on it's use. The product does exactly what it says it will do. I like the fact that there are many levels of humidity you can choose from. Being on wheels is an added plus. It was packaged well and arrived quickly. I'm glad I bought it and would recommend it to anyone. I've had it for about 2 months.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for MoistAIR Evaporative Whole-House Humidifier for 2500 sq. ft.
Spino
from Colorado, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simple effective design with digital control

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Energy efficiency 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of installation 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
As the box clearly says, this holds 11-12 gallons. But only 3.9 are in the removable "tank," hence the confusion.
You fill up the tank, put it on the humidifier, and it drains into the humidifier until the humidifier is full. At any point, you can refill the tank by lifting it off and taking it to the faucet. Compared to hauling water by the gallon and pouring it in, I find this a wonderful solution. It does require unscrewing the valve/cap on the side of the tank (look at the end of the humidifier in the picture) and then replacing it before you return the tank to the humifier.
Like most humidifiers, the design is simple. The water is wicked up in a flat (3/4" thick mesh) filter media that is wrapped in a circular shape, then distributed by a fan that pulls air through this media. The improvement on the traditional design is that there is no movement of the filter media, only the small fan drawing air through it. This greatly reduces noise and lowers the number of moving parts.
The digital control allows you to specify fan speed (quiet, low, high) and goal humidity level (30-65% in 5% increments). If you do not add more water, eventually the humidifier will enter dry-out mode when all water is eliminated and then the humidifier stops running. This is good for storage between seasons or for cleaning.
You can clean the basin (the base of the humidifier) and replace the filter media. One reviewer suggests you could also control any mold buildup in the filter media with a chlorine bath in the sink. I haven't tried this. We ordered replacement media online, but are still using the first filter after a year. We run the humidifier in the summer (night only, bedroom placement) and in the winter (whole house humidifying.)
We live in a dry climate and find that the media lasts for many months. The cleaning is almost a non-issue as nothing accumulates on the surface except for some minor scaling at the water line inside the base.
Since you are only running a small fan when distributing humidity, energy use is quite low. One reviewer seemed confused about this. The electronics and the small LCD screen take almost no energy, like a handheld calculator.
Since the air in your environment is presumably dry and you are distributing humidity, there is some drop in temperature as the humidity is absorbed in the air (it's physics!), but you should only notice this if you stand directly above the humidifier with the fan on and the fan speed turned up.
+44points
47out of 50found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>