728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The Ryobi Expand-It Reconditioned Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmers is designed to fit any universal attachment-capable trimmer. This hedge trimmer attachment features a 17-1/2 in. dual-action blade which reduces vibrations for a much more comfortable trimming experience.
Overall rating:
4.236 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(106 reviews) 106
Open Ratings Snapshot
89%of customersrecommend this product85 of 96reviews
Rating Breakdown 106 reviews
4.2 out of 5.0
5
(58)
4
(34)
3
(3)
2
(3)
1
(8)
Features 
4.2 out of 5.0
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.3 out of 5.0
4.3 out of 5
Value 
4.6 out of 5.0
4.6 out of 5
89%of customersrecommend this product85 of 96reviews
Customer reviews for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Review 1 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Sparks, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Unit Overall

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I was looking for an extended reach hedger for some of those hard to reach jobs. This was an inexpensive solution to the problem. As an expansion unit to the trimmer I already have it fit nicely.
The ony negative to the unit I have is the felt square that is at the base of the blade was gone with in moments after the first use.
This is not a crisis, but will require watching that area for debris getting into the mechanism.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Mableton, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like it

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought this to attach to a Troy Bilt trimmer with a 4 cycle engine. It is isn't good for precision trimming. I finish up some shrubs with my handheld electric hedge trimmer for a more precision look. With my Troy Bilt, I need to make use of positioning the hedge trimmer attachment so that I don't stall the engine. I can position the attachment in all three position holes encompassing 270 degrees of travel. If I keep the carburator in the "normal" position or facing up, everything works ok. However, if I face the carburator down, I have stalling problems that can be painful to correct. Other than that, it sure beats dragging around and periodically cutting an electric cord with my other hedge trimmers. If a reconditioned item is available for any product, I always buy it instead of new. The money savings are great and have seldom had problems with reconditioned.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: limited mobility in some cases
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Metairie, LA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Other

Expand It Hedge Trimer and Power Supply

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had doubts about the expand it system but needed a long handled extension hedge trimmer. However it has turned out to be a great buy. I bought the electric cord power supply and the extended hedge trimmer. It has excellent cutting power and reach. It can be taken apart and stored without difficulty. The only complaint is the trigger system. It is not very responsive. It has a safety grip lock on top of the handle and a squeeze trigger below. You must squeeze both to operate. Great for safety but a little hard to manipulate even for big hands.
I purchased a Ryobi electric edger about 15 years ago and still use it. I hope the mechanical and moving parts to this expand It hedge trimmer holds up as well.
Pros: Powerful, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Orange Park, FL, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great features and ease of use

PostedApril 22, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Great product and very easy to transfer on and off the motor shaft .
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Accurate, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Excellent quality and cuts well

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I've attached this hedge trimmer to my Ryobi weed eater. It is excellent quality and out of the box you will not be able to tell it's reconditioned. It looks and works great like new. You can reach areas on the tree or bush that are high or hard to reach. Overall I gave this trimmer good rating because it's fairly heavy once you attach it to the trimmer engine and such. It out performs the electric ones that does not have the capacity to cut large branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

The add on attachments are great

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have several attachments which I use all the time. Hedge trimmer will allow me to trim without having to crawl into bushes due to it's longer reach
Pros: Easy to Use, Light Weight
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Ontario, Canada
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

great for theprice

PostedOctober 15, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
reconditioned but looks new to me, works great but would be better if it could take larger branches
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Accurate
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Much nicer than using manual shears

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
A friend recommended this tool. It saves me an hour of time compared to using manual shears to trim bushes. Because it attaches to the powerhead, it's a little bit unwieldy compared to a dedicated trimmer, but still easy to use.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Tennessee

Great Overall

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Already had a weed eater so the attachment made for a cheap trimmer. It has plenty of HP. It will cut anything that will fit in between the blades. Only bad thing is the overall length makes it cumbersome.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, All In One, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: comersome
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Snellville, GA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great product worth the price

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product works as advertised and is easy to switch off and on to the motor head. Very satisfied with purchase
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Shreveport, LA

Poor quaility control

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shaft was too short an didnt engage my trimmer head. Nice job reconditioning this one. Wonder if you even check them out when returned or just send them to another buyer. Bought Homelite Expand-it. Alot better trimmer
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male

Just what I needed

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
This product shipped promptly, and though reconditioned, it looked new and works very well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Still crossing my fingers

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I have never used a hedge trimmer much so this is a little learning experance for me! I have used a lot of equipment over time and never needed a hedge trimmer much. I was happy that his trimmer interchanged and attached find with my pouland pro . Take Note Companies!!!!!!! So far I just trimmed several bushes around my house and it seemed to work fine. Being a reconditioned unit makes me wonder what happened to it to need reconditioning? I also like the smiple little attachment that comes with it that allows the unit to be hung up out of the way! Would I buy another one? Yea I probably would but hope that I wont wear this one out!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Henrico, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good choice to save money and buy reconditioned, works like a champ

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I had an electric hedge trimmer for 3 years and it cost 3 time more then this one did. It was suppose to cut through thick hedges but it was slow. This attachment to my Ryobi has proven to be easy to attach, and does a great job trimming over grown hedges with out even slowing down like the electric ones. It took me a 1/4 of the time to trim the hedges then it did with an electric 32 inch trimmer
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Radcliff, KY

Reconditioned Expand-It, Hedge Trimmer Attachment

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I purchased this for use on a really overgrown hedge and it surpassed my expectations with its ability to cut through the tough branches (3/8 inch and smaller) without any problem maintaining the stroke.
I have discovered that many reconditioned items are actually better out-of-the-box than brand new items as the flaw has already been found and fixed.
While it is not really suitable for fine trimming it easily handles most trimming and is especially handy for the high stuff that would otherwise require a ladder.
The ability to attach in either a horizontal or verticle orientation ensures proper weight distribution and guarantees adequate fuel flow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent like new product. Will definitely do business with again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

A bit heavy but chops like a ninja

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Once this guy is on and running, it will blaze through your shrubbery like butta
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED

Bang for the buck

PostedFebruary 19, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
i wanted to buy a hedge trimmer but I didn't want to spend the $$$ for a stand alone considering I would only use once every couple of months to trim some hedges on the side of my house. This looked like a good solution, so I bought one. It suits my needs perfectly. The hedges look great and I saved some money. When I received it looked brand new and after 4 uses it's working fine. It's a little cumbersome do to the length of the shaft, but not too bad. Overall great value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Spotsylvania, VA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Fits so so to my Husqvarna but works very well.

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I bought a Husqvarna because of very good reviews and I was told that some equipment would fit just fine. The guy at Homedepot.com was 99% sure that it would fit. When I started working with it, it was not doing a very good job at first but then I figured that I had to mount it pushing it a little further inside and tight it well. It worked very well. I cut some Seagrass bushes with no difficulty at all and then I trimmed my hydrangeas without any problem.
I would have appreciated more if it was clean when I took it out of the box. It would have made me feel better at first. Nonetheless it worked very well.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Good Size & Weight, Powerful
Cons: it is not a perfect fit to husqvarna
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmer-DISCONTINUED
from Bethlehem, PA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Defective assembly

PostedDecember 3, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The internal shaft was 3/8" too short and didnt fully engage my trimmer head. Unlike my three other Ryobi extend-it tools, the shaft does not entend to the end, but is recessed. I returned to HD and re-ordered. The shaft on the the replacement trimmer was 1/4" too short. A little progress??
Wonder if they fully check them out when returned.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>