728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Trimmers & Edgers or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment

Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment

The Ryobi Expand-It Reconditioned Hedge Trimmer Attachment for Trimmers is designed to fit any universal attachment-capable trimmer. This hedge trimmer attachment features a 17-1/2 in. dual-action blade which reduces vibrations for a much more comfortable trimming experience.
Overall rating:
4.154 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(117 reviews) 117
Open Ratings Snapshot
86%of customersrecommend this product92 of 107reviews
Rating Breakdown 117 reviews
4.2 out of 5
5
(62)
4
(37)
3
(3)
2
(4)
1
(11)
Features 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Value 
4.4 out of 5
4.4 out of 5
86%of customersrecommend this product92 of 107reviews
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
Review 1 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Sparks, NV, USA
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Good Unit Overall

PostedMarch 27, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I was looking for an extended reach hedger for some of those hard to reach jobs. This was an inexpensive solution to the problem. As an expansion unit to the trimmer I already have it fit nicely.
The ony negative to the unit I have is the felt square that is at the base of the blade was gone with in moments after the first use.
This is not a crisis, but will require watching that area for debris getting into the mechanism.
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Northern NY
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Not so good...

PostedMay 12, 2015
Overall rating 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I had read some reviews and noted that some people had problems with this attachment. I was hoping they were isolated incidents and that I would be one of the satisfied ones. Mine seemed to work OK when I installed it on my Craftsman motor, but stopped as soon as I started trimming some branches. This was similar to the experiences other reviewers reported. I disassembled it and was able to make it work, but it would have been much better to have it function correctly as purchased. The item I bought was refurbished, I don't think it was tested before being resold to me.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: didn't work!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Sadler, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Attachments Help expand your tools

PostedMay 19, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ready to use out of the box. Just attach to the power head and start to work. I like the reach of the tool. I bought it trim my roses back.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from ORMOND BEACH,FL
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Great Purchase

PostedMay 20, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
WORKS GREAT WAS ABLE TO GET JOB DONE A LOT QUICKER
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Durable, Easy to Store
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Covnia ca
Age Range:55 to 64
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

dont waste your money

PostedMarch 14, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Did not work out of the box - returned for a refund
Pros: Easy to Use
Cons: Not Durable
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Belleville, IL
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Useless tool-look elsewhere!!!

PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
2.0 out of 5
2.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Out of the box the trimmer would operate only at a very slow speed but as soon as the speed is increased to a usable speed the trimmer blades stop moving completely. It appears that the cable is too short to engage the gas powered head completely and as soon as the speed is increased to a usable speed, the cable disconnects from the head. I'm using with a Craftsman gas powered head. Do not recommend not only from my experience but also there are scores of complaints about this unit on various internet sites. I have several other Ryobi Expand-it items and they all work perfectly but there must be an issue with the design of this hedge trimmer.
Unfortunately, I purchased this reconditioned hedge trimmer attachment in late October and received the 1st of November but due to some health issues didn't get a chance to try to use it until February (after the manufacturers and Home Depot's warranty ran out).
Cons: doesn't operate at all.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Florida
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works fine for the money

PostedApril 29, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Great for trimming small and medium size branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Did not work.

PostedApril 9, 2015
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
Never touched a bush with it. Could hear and feel internals rotating in the unit, but blades moved s l o w l y. One full back-and-forth cycle every 90 seconds slow. You would think, as a recon, that it would be tested. That guy failed.
Cons: Not Durable
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment

This was a reconditioned trimmer attachment but looked like a new item. Very good buy. Shipping was very quick. I highly recommend this product.

PostedMarch 25, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
this was a reconditioned trimmer attachment but looked like a new item. Very good buy. Shipping was very quick. I highly recommend this product.
Pros: Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from San Diego, CA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

good purchase

PostedMarch 4, 2015
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Item was refurbished and half the price of a new one...Works Great
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Gonzales, Louisiana
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

satisfied with product

PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Quality 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
The more expensive models have more features,but It works for what I bought it for.
Pros: Cuts Well, Accurate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Mableton, GA, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

I like it

PostedMay 6, 2014
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I bought this to attach to a Troy Bilt trimmer with a 4 cycle engine. It is isn't good for precision trimming. I finish up some shrubs with my handheld electric hedge trimmer for a more precision look. With my Troy Bilt, I need to make use of positioning the hedge trimmer attachment so that I don't stall the engine. I can position the attachment in all three position holes encompassing 270 degrees of travel. If I keep the carburator in the "normal" position or facing up, everything works ok. However, if I face the carburator down, I have stalling problems that can be painful to correct. Other than that, it sure beats dragging around and periodically cutting an electric cord with my other hedge trimmers. If a reconditioned item is available for any product, I always buy it instead of new. The money savings are great and have seldom had problems with reconditioned.
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Store
Cons: limited mobility in some cases
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
This image was submitted as a sweepstakes entry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Montgomery, Texas
Age Range:65 or over
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Works as I intended it to.

PostedDecember 10, 2014
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this trimmer to specifically trim a Red Tip Photinia hedge that is about 6 feet high. It did a marvelous job reaching from the front of the hedge to the fence. When I cut it with an electric trimmer I had to shove my ladder into the hedge just to reach all the way to the fence. No more now I can reach all the way to the back with ease. I only wish that my Troy-Built power head wasn't so heavy. I have also found that the edger cuts Hawthornes, Box Leaves, Loropetalum's, and knockout roses with ease. I had a little trouble trimming my Oleander bushes with it though. The limbs were a little to large for the trimmer which made for a slow task. It did cut it successfully, but it was slow going.
The quality of the trimmer was very good and it fit onto my Troy-Built weed eater just fine. The blades seem to oscillate back and forth faster than my old electric trimmer. I do not know if that is good or bad because I had to back off on the speed of the power head to have better luck with the oleander bushes. I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one of these refurbished units. For the price you would be hard pressed to beat this deal.
Pros: Durable, Cuts Well, Sturdy, Good Size & Weight, Easy to Store
Cons: has some difficulty cutting some limbs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Phoenix, AZ, USA

Excellent quality and cuts well

PostedMay 7, 2013
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I've attached this hedge trimmer to my Ryobi weed eater. It is excellent quality and out of the box you will not be able to tell it's reconditioned. It looks and works great like new. You can reach areas on the tree or bush that are high or hard to reach. Overall I gave this trimmer good rating because it's fairly heavy once you attach it to the trimmer engine and such. It out performs the electric ones that does not have the capacity to cut large branches.
Pros: Cuts Well, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
Cons: Too Heavy
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from North Carolina
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Still crossing my fingers

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
I have never used a hedge trimmer much so this is a little learning experance for me! I have used a lot of equipment over time and never needed a hedge trimmer much. I was happy that his trimmer interchanged and attached find with my pouland pro . Take Note Companies!!!!!!! So far I just trimmed several bushes around my house and it seemed to work fine. Being a reconditioned unit makes me wonder what happened to it to need reconditioning? I also like the smiple little attachment that comes with it that allows the unit to be hung up out of the way! Would I buy another one? Yea I probably would but hope that I wont wear this one out!
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Radcliff, KY

Reconditioned Expand-It, Hedge Trimmer Attachment

PostedSeptember 26, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I purchased this for use on a really overgrown hedge and it surpassed my expectations with its ability to cut through the tough branches (3/8 inch and smaller) without any problem maintaining the stroke.
I have discovered that many reconditioned items are actually better out-of-the-box than brand new items as the flaw has already been found and fixed.
While it is not really suitable for fine trimming it easily handles most trimming and is especially handy for the high stuff that would otherwise require a ladder.
The ability to attach in either a horizontal or verticle orientation ensures proper weight distribution and guarantees adequate fuel flow.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Henrico, VA, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

Was a good choice to save money and buy reconditioned, works like a champ

PostedJuly 31, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
I had an electric hedge trimmer for 3 years and it cost 3 time more then this one did. It was suppose to cut through thick hedges but it was slow. This attachment to my Ryobi has proven to be easy to attach, and does a great job trimming over grown hedges with out even slowing down like the electric ones. It took me a 1/4 of the time to trim the hedges then it did with an electric 32 inch trimmer
Pros: Cuts Well, Easy to Use, Sturdy, Durable, Powerful, Easy to Store
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment

A bit heavy but chops like a ninja

PostedMarch 14, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Features 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5
4.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
3.0 out of 5
3.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Once this guy is on and running, it will blaze through your shrubbery like butta
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment

GREAT PRODUCT

PostedMarch 25, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Features 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Ease of use 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5
5.0 out of 5
Excellent like new product. Will definitely do business with again.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Reconditioned Expand-It Hedge Trimmer Attachment
from Shreveport, LA

Poor quaility control

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5
1.0 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The shaft was too short an didnt engage my trimmer head. Nice job reconditioning this one. Wonder if you even check them out when returned or just send them to another buyer. Bought Homelite Expand-it. Alot better trimmer
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 6 >>