728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Under Sink or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System

The GE Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System allows you to enjoy more than 11 gallons of high-quality filtered water per day. It features the GE twist-and-lock design for tool-free filter changes. The slim filter design takes up little room and allows vertical or horizontal installation under the sink. This 3-stage system can be installed in the kitchen, bathroom or basement. The system includes a sleek and durable reverse osmosis faucet that continuously monitors water quality.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(2)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
75%of customersrecommend this product9 of 12reviews
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Review 1 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
bach
from San Diego, CA

More expensive is less quality

PostedJanuary 10, 2010
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
The PXRQ15F model does NOT remove flourides and mercury. Read the specifications. I also emailed GE customer service since the PXRQ15F and the GXRM10 have a revcerse osmosis filter made of the same type of material. A GE engineer veirified that this model (the PXRQ15F) does not remove flourides and mercury; the filter material in the PXRQ15F is somewhat different from that used in the better GXRM10. The GXRM10 does remove fluoride and mercury.
The GXRM10 is the better model and it is $ 100 cheaper!
+14points
14out of 14found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
harrio
from Everett, WA

GE profile reverse osmosis filtration system

PostedOctober 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have had a GE profile reverse osmosis filtration system for about 5 years now. It has been the best home improvement I have had. With the amount of water, coffee and tea I drink, I have come out ahead of the game. Water, coffee and tea taste so much better. Soups, broths, etc taste immensely better as well. There is a a difference in taste.
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
iPasties
from Lake Havasu City, AZ 86403, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

My review, with PH & PPM numbers

PostedFebruary 16, 2012
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Quality 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Install is easy since each hose connection is labeled underneath the unit. I let it do its thing overnight and in the morning the tank was full. It has great pressure and will fill a glass of water in seconds. If ran until empty, I get about 2.5 gallons and then it trickles slowly and steadily, which is how an RO works.
I tested my tap water with a PPM meter and it was 867 ppm. I tested the R/O water and it read 58ppm. My tap water pH is 7.1, the R/O water pH is 7.6.
The filters are marked so you don't put them in the wrong spot and buying replacements is easy.
It's still a new unit, I'll just have to see how it holds up.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
shaw
from Texas

Good

PostedAugust 30, 2009
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
This filter is over all very good. The water is very clean and clear and you can definitely tell the difference in taste between the filtered water and the unfiltered. However, it does take up a lot of room under the sink! Also, it may be because it's time to change our filter, but after a while the water runs very slowly out of the spout, where you can only get about half a glass of water before it slows to a trickle. We're looking up how to buy new filters now. Filters are $40 to replace all 3 and it is recommended once a year. Kind of expensive. It's also recommended the tank be replaced every 5 years, EXPENSIVE! Also found out that it filters out all fluoride in the water, so we have to buy fluoride water for our kids every once in a while.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Orangecloud
from Washington State

Confidence of Fresh Clean water.

PostedJune 14, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Install was estimated 2 hours.
Filter change is easy, compared to the first Reverse Osmosis I had.
The water is crisp, clear and clean tasting.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
bach

Does not remove fluoride or mercury

PostedDecember 17, 2009
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
the GE Model #: GXRM10RBL has better specs than this GE Profile. The GE profile does NOT remove fluoride or mercury, e.g..
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
GoodbyeGE
from Arizona, USA
Age Range:45 to 54
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

High maintenance, poor support from GE

PostedNovember 12, 2011
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
I am about to replace this unit after just under two years...But not with another GE unit. I have had to rebuild the check valve and flow valve assemblies twice. GE parts supply has been miserable as far as getting me the correct repair parts. I bought this unit to replace another GE unit that practically took up all of our under-counter space.
This unit definitely is a space saver, and filter changes are a breeze. My local HD doesn't even carry the filters, so I have had to order them online...Not exactly super convenient.
Pros: Space saving design, super easy filter changes.
Cons: Not dependable, high maintenance, and you get NO support from GE when it comes to parts.
+1point
3out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Rockandsandman
from Charlotte, NC

This product works great, however it has limits.

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My home is on well water, it contains alot of sediment and is hard. I knew that if I installed this Reverse Osmosis system by itself that filter life would be short lived by the GE R/O unit. This is also the case with about all homes on well water. I also installed a whole house sediment and a water softner, although a water softner may be a little over board, I would still suggest a simple whole house water filter (Filters are cheaper on whole house fiter units than on a Reverse Osmosis system). You will get alot more life out of your filters on your GE R/O system. My whole house water filter looks like a mud pie in only a month, I would hate to see what the R/O fiters would look like without it. Also I noticed that there was concerns of this unit not filtering arsenic
or flourides as good as cheaper GE units, however if you look close it is such a small amount of difference, it is not a health problem. My water that comes from this unit now tastes great and I feel more safe drinking it. I recommend this product highly if you have water that taste or smells bad or is not clear on your home, this unit will solve that problem for excellent drinking water.
+3points
4out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Waverider

Awsome system

PostedFebruary 11, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
My plumber installed this in about two hours. It took a day & 1/2 to fillter the water like the Instruction said. When it was ready it was great to have clean ice and water. No more five gallon water jugs to carry. I have had it in for a week and it works great.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
Lomita1924
from Lomita Pines, CA

1924 Art Deco

PostedJuly 10, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
The taste is indeed the quality of bottled water. This was expensive, but consider the cost of bottled water over the years and it becomes a good deal. I still do not quite understand its method of filtering, but the MAGIC is impressive tasting.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
bwire
from Mpls, MN

Great product!

PostedOctober 1, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I am so happy that this system removes the fluoride from the water! Fluoride may be beneficial when the dentist paints it on the TEETH ONLY, but it is NEVER TO BE INGESTED!
-2points
2out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Profile Reverse Osmosis Water Filtration System
malc1
from Vermont

This really works

PostedMarch 24, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We live in an area with very heavy water, its really undrinkable. This allows us to drink the water from our Well. Its amazing. We want to get one for all the bath rooms as well, but that's over kill............ I guess.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.