728*90 Advertising Space
Home Depot Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Home Depot
Shop Generators or
Choose a Category
Home>

Customer reviews for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine

1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine

For dependable power on your next camping trip or tailgate party, the Homelite 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine is the ideal solution. This generator offers a 1.5-gallon fuel tank that runs smoothly without interruption for up to 6 hours. This lightweight generator provides two 120-volt, 15 Amp outlets and one 12-volt DC outlet for battery charging.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
4.0 out of 5.0
5
(7)
4
(1)
3
(1)
2
(0)
1
(2)
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
3.7 out of 5.0
3.7 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
3.3 out of 5.0
3.3 out of 5
80%of customersrecommend this product8 of 10reviews
Customer reviews for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
Review 1 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from colorado springs, CO

husky generator

PostedSeptember 13, 2009
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We really like it. It is lite weight, very portable, like the casing. We run our travel trailer with it and it does its job very well.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Massachusetts, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Can take it anywhere

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Excellent little Generator. I have a plug in at my porch to run our heating system, lights in the kitchen, my cable box and T.V along with our large Fridge. What else would you need during a power outage. What is also great about this is while everyone else is running to find gas, this uses a minimal amount in 12 hrs ( just under a gal) As with any engine, you should always run it every month for 15 mins to keep the carb from gumming up. Then when you really need you know it runs.
Pros: Good Size & Weight
Cons: very loud
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Oakton, VA

Starts easy, good power, but is loud

PostedFebruary 23, 2011
Overall rating 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
I planned to buy a quieter (although much more expensive) generator for use during power outages to keep my tropical fish alive and use for light and/or the refrigerator. We got a winter storm before I could make the purchase and had to run to home depot to get whatever they had, which was only this and a husky model with very similar stats. This one was on sale so we bought it.
It started very easily and kept the fish alive no problem. However, it was much louder than I expected. If we get a power outage lasting overnight I'm going to have to figure out a way to muffle the sound or else I'll irritate all my neighbors. I'm hoping keeping it in the shed and maybe covering it with a box (with holes for air/exhaust) might do the trick.
Overall great value on sale, but if noise is an issue spend more for a different generator. Check the rated decibel (dB) level before you buy. Then buy it BEFORE you need it so you don't get stuck like me.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Connecticut, USA
Age Range:55 to 64
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Very good and portable.

PostedNovember 2, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I have this generator for third season.It works wery well.Few months ago I installed a transfer switch for my furnace.I use it continuously since last Saturday after power outage.It allows me to run oil heating system,supply power for refrigerator ,small LCD tv and two fluorescent lights.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Big Bear Lake, CA

Very Pleased

PostedJanuary 27, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
We bought this Generator 2 weeks ago for our trailer when we go on trips. Last week we had a huge snow storm and our power went out in our house for 4 days. We used it for everything. I tested the unit 1st by plugging in my 1875 watt blow dryer and it worked fine. It supplied power to our refrigerator, heater and so many other things. We are so glad we bought it. I know it will work great for camping but it's nice to have on hand for emergencies as well. It was the quietest one on the street too. Love it........!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine

Perfect for Tailgating

PostedJune 21, 2011
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
I use this generator for tailgating and it runs everything. I have had three t.v.'s, stereo, and a satellite connected to this generator. I have never had an issue. Be careful with the other generator (green one) that HomeDepot sales. It offers more wattage for less price but it makes the television picture jump. Something to do with the type of technology it uses. I returned it and got this one and Im very satisfied.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Alpharetta, GA

Great Value

PostedJuly 9, 2010
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Researched generators for almost a week and found this product to be exactly as described. Out of the box first pull was intentionally weak because I was just priming the engine......it started from that first pull ! Ran 6 hours 5 minutes with 30" fridge/ 500 watt halogen/ and large patton fan on medium speed. I have no affiliation with Home Depot and could care less who sells this generator,however, their warranty is well worth the $80. It bumps the Suibaru warranty from 3 to 6 years and you can deal directly with Home Depot. The Robin/Subaru engine has not hiccuped once. At 88 pounds the engine is robust (I'm not sure light generators = good) and I purchased for use 12hr/7d for 90 day usage. Plan in advance where and when you will use this.....it is loud for it's size. Hope this has been helpful as other reviews helped me in tihs purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from North Florida

Not for camping...

PostedApril 23, 2010
Overall rating 
3.0 out of 5.0
3 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you're looking for something quiet enough to camp with, I wouldn't recommend it unless you wanted to intentionally annoy other campers. Also, pretty heavy, but manageable. On the positive side, it started first pull- very easy to start...and it looks nice. Add gas and GO.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:Professional

will not start

PostedJune 26, 2013
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Features 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Quality 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Ease of use 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Value 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
No, I do not recommend this product.
It started once then could not start it again!!!! I had to by a different generator . the different has more power, lighter, and quieter!!! But Home Depot is GREAT!!!!!
Cons: Not Durable, Too Heavy, Difficult to Use
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Kent, WA, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

Simply Terrible

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Overall rating 
1.0 out of 5.0
1 out of 5
Bought this generator about a year ago. Test ran it almost every month and started on 2nd or 3rd pull. Power went out yesterday and needed the unit to run small fridge and freezer, and it wouldn't even start. When I needed it most, it failed. Would not recommend purchasing this if you intend on relying on it in case of emergencies. Spent 4 hours working on it to try and get it going, and it wouldn't go. Just spend the money and buy a Honda. I know it costs more up front, but when you need it, it isn't worth gambling on this piece of unreliable junk.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 1,800-Watt Gasoline Powered Portable Generator with Subaru Engine
from Apple Valley, MN, USA
Age Range:35 to 44
,
Gender:Male
Home Improvement Profile:DIYer

It worked for me in a pinch perfectly!

PostedFebruary 29, 2012
Overall rating 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Quality 
5.0 out of 5.0
5 out of 5
Value 
4.0 out of 5.0
4 out of 5
Here in Minnesota we just had a pretty nasty snow storm last night and our power went out. Went to home depot and picked up this generator. it ran all my equipment for my Salt water aquarium, computer equipment, LCD TV, and a small heater with no problem. I was looking for a cheaper model but they were out and instead of forcing me to buy the more expensive model they gave me this unit for the same price!!
Unbelievable service from Home Depot! You have my business in the future and I will make sure to recommend them to others!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.